SGX Counters, Discussion on Counters in the SGX

elea88
post Feb 19 2016, 04:08 PM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Feb 19 2016, 11:09 AM)
Elea,...you are absolutely correct on that point, which is also a pull-factor for me whenever I feel like going into the banking stocks. But,...my investing instincts tell me that we still need to have more sturdy counters, and Sgp banks can be regarded as being sturdy enough, reputed to be the strongest in the world. Among the three banks, OCBC happens to be the one which yields the highest now, and if you look at its dividend history, the payout is on a consistent rising trend.

I have plotted the TA for the three banks with a time period from 2008 till now, and the have decided that the first level to buy would be 7.50 for OCBC. Sadly,..I am nit confident that OCBC's price can retrace much further down from 7.50, not in the medium term.

And,...2007/8 levels will be highly impossible to attain.

Edited by adding : Haha,..I just read your articlein the Business Times after finishing the above input. There have been reports saying that OCBC is affected by this and by that, however, the price just refused to fall enough for me to go in... sad.gif  Still waiting....

At a price of 7.88 today, the yield is at :-

1) 4.31% if the payout is at 0.17 Cts and 0.17 Cts.

2) 4.44% if the payout is at 0.17 Cts and 0.18 Cts, and

3) 4.57% if the payout remains similar to last year's, ie at 0.18 Cts and 0.18 Cts.
Hansel.. TQ for yr analysis...
Vector88
post Feb 19 2016, 05:39 PM

817 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Feb 19 2016, 04:08 PM)
Hansel.. TQ for yr analysis...
wouldn't DBS more attractive than OCBC ? div yield almost same with OCBC (4.xx%) but PER of DBS is lower (~8) ...
TSHansel
post Feb 19 2016, 05:59 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(Vector88 @ Feb 19 2016, 05:39 PM)
wouldn't DBS more attractive than OCBC ? div yield almost same with OCBC (4.xx%) but PER of DBS is lower (~8) ...
smile.gif Yep,...thank you for highlighting,... kinda missed DBS because DBS has always been giving low yield due to it higher price.... will study DBS too.
Showtime747
post Feb 19 2016, 07:39 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Feb 19 2016, 05:59 PM)
smile.gif Yep,...thank you for highlighting,... kinda missed DBS because DBS has always been giving low yield due to it higher price.... will study DBS too.
Bro, didn't your broker give you reports ? Many of the brokers have been recommending DBS over ocbc and uob since the start of the price fall

Call your broker to include you in the circulation of their reports. They have more resources to do the analysis including interviewing the company CEO etc in some cases. Definitely better than we do ourselves
prince_mk98
post Feb 19 2016, 08:40 PM

249 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Feb 19 2016, 11:09 AM)
Elea,...you are absolutely correct on that point, which is also a pull-factor for me whenever I feel like going into the banking stocks. But,...my investing instincts tell me that we still need to have more sturdy counters, and Sgp banks can be regarded as being sturdy enough, reputed to be the strongest in the world. Among the three banks, OCBC happens to be the one which yields the highest now, and if you look at its dividend history, the payout is on a consistent rising trend.

I have plotted the TA for the three banks with a time period from 2008 till now, and the have decided that the first level to buy would be 7.50 for OCBC. Sadly,..I am nit confident that OCBC's price can retrace much further down from 7.50, not in the medium term.

And,...2007/8 levels will be highly impossible to attain.

Edited by adding : Haha,..I just read your articlein the Business Times after finishing the above input. There have been reports saying that OCBC is affected by this and by that, however, the price just refused to fall enough for me to go in... sad.gif  Still waiting....

At a price of 7.88 today, the yield is at :-

1) 4.31% if the payout is at 0.17 Cts and 0.17 Cts.

2) 4.44% if the payout is at 0.17 Cts and 0.18 Cts, and

3) 4.57% if the payout remains similar to last year's, ie at 0.18 Cts and 0.18 Cts.
Agreed with you Hansel. drool.gif
yck1987
post Feb 19 2016, 09:06 PM

808 posts

QUOTE(Vector88 @ Feb 19 2016, 05:39 PM)
I keep both of them tongue.gif Both consider true blue chip to me, hardly u see banking counter give yield higher than 4% and lower in price per book value. P/S: currently my DBS paper loss more than OCBC.
prince_mk98
post Feb 19 2016, 09:28 PM

249 posts

I will keep accumulating ocbc for an appetizer.
Vector88
post Feb 21 2016, 10:51 AM

817 posts

Comparison of dbs and ocbc, extracted partly from the edge this week:

Dbs 4.x% dy, p/nav 0.89, per 7.9, price vs 31/12/15 -16%
Ocbc 4.x% dy, p/nav 0.99, per 8.x, price vs 31/12/15 -10%

Both are solid. Concerns are exposure to China, both has around 30%+ loan exposure to China ...
elea88
post Feb 22 2016, 10:57 AM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(Vector88 @ Feb 21 2016, 10:51 AM)
Comparison of dbs and ocbc, extracted partly from the edge this week:

Dbs 4.x% dy, p/nav 0.89, per 7.9, price vs 31/12/15 -16%
Ocbc 4.x% dy, p/nav 0.99, per 8.x, price vs 31/12/15 -10%

Both are solid. Concerns are exposure to China, both has around 30%+ loan exposure to China ...
i will nimble both.. slowly... thx for the info.
Vector88
post Feb 22 2016, 11:21 AM

817 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Feb 22 2016, 10:57 AM)
i will nimble both.. slowly... thx for the info.
This morning dbs reported its strongest earnings ever for 2015. But concern is NPL charges went up 17% showed some of its borrowers are struggling, hence outlook is not as rosy as the numbers showed.

elea88
post Feb 22 2016, 11:29 AM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(Vector88 @ Feb 22 2016, 11:21 AM)
This morning dbs reported its strongest earnings ever for 2015. But concern is NPL charges went up 17% showed some of its borrowers are struggling, hence outlook is not as rosy as the numbers showed.
yes, i agree.... i look see not yet nimble.
coz today up already in view of their results. so, might not be a good day to go in today.
TSHansel
post Feb 22 2016, 11:43 AM

9,348 posts

Good morning, thank you to all forummers for your feedback.

Bro Showtime,... yes, I am subscribed to a few broking houses. Err,.. tend not to to be 'overclouded' by their inputs. Preferred to read some paper reports here and there, read financials and call some bros to discuss before acting.
TSHansel
post Feb 22 2016, 11:47 AM

9,348 posts

Is the world economy recovering ??? I am not seeing 4.75 again on KepCorp, nor below 1.20 again on MO4 (myself and Prince's counter smile.gif ) and similar patterns over a few other counters. Hoping the Buy window is not beginning to run away,....
TSHansel
post Feb 22 2016, 11:51 AM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk98 @ Feb 19 2016, 08:40 PM)
Agreed with you Hansel. drool.gif
Tq Prince,...

OCBC has moved above 8.00 this morning, making the yields slightly lower against my analyses earlier...
Vector88
post Feb 22 2016, 01:37 PM

817 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Feb 22 2016, 11:29 AM)
yes, i agree.... i look see not yet nimble.
coz today up already in view of their results. so, might not be a good day to go in today.
My hand itchy, nimble some this morning ...
elea88
post Feb 22 2016, 02:58 PM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(Vector88 @ Feb 22 2016, 01:37 PM)
My hand itchy, nimble some this morning ...
now turning red liao.. DBS.
Vector88
post Feb 22 2016, 03:37 PM

817 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Feb 22 2016, 02:58 PM)
now turning red liao.. DBS.
Ya lor.... When i nimble it was still green... sad.gif

This post has been edited by Vector88: Feb 22 2016, 07:07 PM
whitehairbin
post Feb 22 2016, 04:21 PM

230 posts

Any Keppel Corp kaki here ?
TSHansel
post Feb 22 2016, 07:39 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(whitehairbin @ Feb 22 2016, 04:21 PM)
Any Keppel Corp kaki here ?
Here,... smile.gif
TSHansel
post Feb 22 2016, 08:24 PM

9,348 posts

Came across this one-line comment this evening : •next offshore cycle may not return to Singapore as China has overtaken local yards.

Has this shakeup caused a new normal, and companies like SembCorp and KepCorp will not return to their heydays even if oil price recovers in future ?

330 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0272sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:27 AM