SGX Counters, Discussion on Counters in the SGX

Vector88
post Oct 24 2015, 03:35 PM

817 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 23 2015, 07:37 PM)
Frasers Centrepoint Trust :-

Quarterly report was released yesterday morning. In short, all metric were up, the DPU was higher compared to the same period last year and the suburban malls are looking good. Yield at current price = 7.18%.

Keppel Corp :-

Quarterly report was also released yesterday. All metrics were down, collection problem from a client in Brazil but still highly motivated. The price opened at 7.40 today, surprisingly, then dropped back to the lowest of 7.19. Couldn't catch any at 7.19 though, so bought at 7.25. Yield at current price = 6.62%. Still believed Keppel will come back.
I like Frasers Centrepoint Trust, own mostly suburban malls, should be more resilient in challenging times ...

Vector88
post Oct 25 2015, 05:52 PM

817 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 25 2015, 03:29 PM)

Are you keen on a good big-cap counter which has a good yiled at present ?
Ya, any recommendations?
Vector88
post Oct 25 2015, 08:10 PM

817 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 25 2015, 06:49 PM)
At this point in time, I spotted Keppel Corporation, BN4. Share price has been depressed because of oil price problems affecting their Offshore & Marine business segment. The management has taken this opportunity to right-size, and to streamline their operations.

What I like about their web presentation is when they said this : Throughout history, Keppel Corp has always survived through all economic cycles, and have always come out to be in better shape after the cycle has ended.

I love the way they do their reporting, via webcasts. What are your opinions ?
Thanks for the heads up... Will research more on this stock.

Vector88
post Nov 11 2015, 08:28 PM

817 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 11 2015, 07:36 PM)
I'm still watching Frasers Centrepoint Trust and Keppel Corp. Keppel DC REIT is a 'boutique' REIT that I'm looking at too. It came out in the Business Times last week that the non-traditional REITs are slowly finding their ways into the SGX.

Perhaps investors should have a look at non-traditional, boutique REITs too.
I like keppel DC too and hence vested. Data center demand will have healthy growth thanks to exponential growth in internet and cloud computing...

Keppel DC price didn't move much in recent market rout...

Vector88
post Nov 11 2015, 08:41 PM

817 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 11 2015, 08:34 PM)
The biggest challenge for KDC REIT is forex risks. Many of the assets are overseas, except for the USA. The SGD, being such a strong currency is now seen to be disadvantageous to REIT investors when it comes to rental collection, unless the rental is TO BE COLLECTED in the SGD, or even partially denoted in the SGD, like First REIT.

Unfortunately, since the days of First REIT's IPO, investors have NOT MANAGED to influence for rentals to be collected in the SGD anymore. The magic could only work once, and that was with First REIT.
Another cons is it is trading well above its NAV, about 20% premium i think.
Good thing is it is quite a young reit, and with its healthy gearing of 30%, it should growing inorganicly via acquisition, translating into higher DPU. This should be able to offset any drop in DPU due to forex risk
Vector88
post Nov 11 2015, 09:02 PM

817 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 11 2015, 08:53 PM)
Thanks gents,.. okay, I have this to say about the price being below the nav.

Sometimes, it does not really mean that a REIT or a stock is worthy to buy if the price is below its nav. Experience tells me that if a REIT or a stock cannot get its price above nav, there are reasons for this. One possibility is because the REIT or stock is not good enough, that's why the mkt does not accord the proper price to the counter.

On the other hand, if a ctr has its price being above its nav, the reason could be because it is good enough to be there, and the mkt is willing to buy it at the higher price. But of course, certainly 20% is a bit too high-lar,...

The concept of : good things not cheap and cheap things not good is applicable to REIT units and stocks too.
On this NAV thing, Keppel Dc reit is still in growing phase, meaning it will grow its asset via acquisitions. So NAV will go up sooner or later right? So probably market is anticipating this and hence willing to pay premium above its CURRENT NAV ?

Vector88
post Dec 8 2015, 08:31 PM

817 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Dec 8 2015, 08:07 PM)
Hi Av,... not that keen for Singtel, sorry.

Fired my first salvo today for Frasers Centrepoint Trust at $1.870 per share.Decided not to waut till next week for the theory of all events have been priced in may hold true this time. If it is, then if Ms Yellen does increase rate next Wed morning, then FCT may not drop further. BUt if Ms Yellen does NOT increase rate next week, then FCT may rise, for which I may miss the chance to buy.

At any rate, at the current yield of 7.70%, if the DPU is reduced due to any reason and the yield drops, even if it drops by 1.00%, I can still live with 6.70%.

Subsequently, if the price drops to compensate for the yield drop, I will continue to hold this counter for I believe in its fundamentals. I will average down if this counter continues to fulfill my investment strategies.

Watching the other counters in my radar now.
Bro, FCT current yield got so high ar? My calculation shows ard 6.x% with current price...2.9cents per quarter against 1.87 price..

Btw, i am vested too at 1.9, bought few weeks ago...
Increased my cash holding to 30% and wait for the show... smile.gif

Vector88
post Dec 9 2015, 05:34 PM

817 posts

QUOTE(yck1987 @ Dec 9 2015, 05:09 PM)
My calculation show yield at 7.82% wo, (0.14497/1.855*100=7.82%)                                                                              For easy DY reference , u can always refers to http://www.dividends.sg/ .
Btw, I vested in Frasers too  icon_rolleyes.gif
Where got 14cents dividen per annum? Last fiscal yr only 11.8cents dividen per annum.

Vector88
post Dec 11 2015, 08:51 PM

817 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Dec 11 2015, 11:36 AM)
6.41% is good. Price today is 1.82.

Anyone else considring FCT?
Me...smile.gif
Thinking to top up after 16Dec...
Vector88
post Dec 14 2015, 04:50 PM

817 posts

First day of the week, blood everywhere... FCT closer to 1.80 now
Vector88
post Dec 14 2015, 07:14 PM

817 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Dec 14 2015, 05:54 PM)
Yes, steady, steady,... hold your fire,....
Positive thing is SGD is at 3.07 against MYR today smile.gif
Vector88
post Dec 22 2015, 03:35 PM

817 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 22 2015, 03:04 PM)
hey, share their names here la...!

no point discussing and share nothing. tongue.gif
Ya, pls share the rock solid dividen stocks name here... Thinking to add more in 2016...

Vector88
post Jan 5 2016, 01:18 PM

817 posts

Has anyone look into Sembcorp? Yielding ard 5% and its price is almost @ 5year low...
Vector88
post Jan 6 2016, 08:43 PM

817 posts

Not a good day for Keppel, downgrade with TP: 5.80 by Barclays

SINGAPORE (Jan 6): Barclays has lowered its recommendation as well as target price for rig builders SembCorp Marine and Keppel Corp as it forecast new rig orders drying up in 2016 to 2017 and risks to existing orders.

In a research report, Barclays gave SembCorp Marine an "Underweight" rating and slashed its target price by 52% to $1.10. It downgraded Keppel Corp to "Equal Weight" and dropped its target price by 33% to $5.80.

This post has been edited by Vector88: Jan 6 2016, 08:44 PM
Vector88
post Jan 7 2016, 10:15 AM

817 posts

Blood all over today.

Stocks in my radar:
Keppel almost 6, singtel 3.5, sembcorp 2.8 , singpost 1.5, st eng 2.8x

This post has been edited by Vector88: Jan 7 2016, 10:17 AM
Vector88
post Jan 13 2016, 11:09 PM

817 posts

https://www.fool.sg/2016/01/12/a-tsunami-ma...orp-marine-ltd/

Hansel, elea88 and whoever interested in sembcorp and keppel, have a look at the article above and do furher due diligence...
Vector88
post Jan 14 2016, 09:09 AM

817 posts

Sibeh red today, esp keppel.. Broke 5 bucks within 10mins of trading...
Vector88
post Jan 21 2016, 06:32 PM

817 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 21 2016, 02:41 AM)
whoever made money with stocks in the last year or so can pat themselves on the back.
I think if one started in SGX 3 yrs ago, overall should be still positive
Vector88
post Jan 22 2016, 06:01 PM

817 posts

RM macam makan steroid today, 1SGD now 2.999MYR..what happened?
Vector88
post Jan 22 2016, 10:24 PM

817 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 22 2016, 07:00 PM)
SRR cut.
Can enligthen what is that going to do with MYR?

0.1802sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:06 PM