QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 5 2016, 05:17 PM)
. GXFC ! My M1 rally 8%+, Singtel 6% todayThis post has been edited by yck1987: Feb 5 2016, 05:59 PM
SGX Counters, Discussion on Counters in the SGX
Feb 5 2016, 05:23 PM
808 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
Feb 11 2016, 12:30 PM
12,268 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
Accordia!
Feb 12 2016, 11:28 PM
2,679 posts Joined: Oct 2014 |
Hello.. today i bought some ocbc...start accumulating this counter. Advisable for long term?
Feb 12 2016, 11:30 PM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 2 2016, 11:57 AM) good for you. Hi..where should i keep usd?? I only have Sg savings. Any suggestion?1mdb saga continues into eternity, dragging everyone and everything in the mud. crude price <31, again. rm/usd 4.20, again. reasons for rm to decline >>> reasons to rise. so, keep yr usd, sgd! |
Feb 13 2016, 01:50 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
24,453 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
Feb 13 2016, 08:06 AM
Feb 13 2016, 11:31 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
6,779 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: SEGI Heaven |
QUOTE(prince_mk @ Feb 13 2016, 08:06 AM) Boss avfan...us stocks up and down so fast.. US shares sometime suddenly same day reverse split share same day ex day..My heart beats lile roller coster.... I better observe them first before going in. last time my client kena gao gao.. monday bursa no open so i no come office.. we duno apa berlaku.. next day only know and client oversold the share.. client scold me like mad dog.. next day company dealer buy back the share.. |
Feb 15 2016, 12:18 PM
9,348 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
QUOTE(prince_mk @ Feb 12 2016, 11:28 PM) Hi Prince and everybody,... Gong Xi Fa Cai, and May you all thrive with The Year of The Monkey ! Yes, I would start to accumulate slowly in OCBC from now, especially everythime it drops below the 7.50 mark. Was in Australia, and bought the Aus Fin Review many timies. Caught news many times that Aus is trying to becomes a Financial Hub, and in order to do this, they must compete with SG and HK. Hence, I suspected that some news which indicate to be undermining the strengths of the financial sector of SG and HK may be targetted towards persuading institutional investors and regional HNWIs and UHNWIs to move their assets over to Sydney. I would treat those news by the AFR cautiously. ... To m, no problems at all with the three SG Banks. |
Feb 15 2016, 12:24 PM
QUOTE(prince_mk @ Feb 12 2016, 11:30 PM) If you are keen to be a Fixed Income Nvestor and not a trader, then I will recommend buying into US-denominated instruments that provided good yield. There are a few of such instruments at this moment after the mkt selldowns and the drop in the price of crude.Another alternative would be as AV said : buy US stocks. BUt if you are going down the trail of being a Fixed Income (Dividend) INvestors, please be aware that you have a thirty percent withholding tax against your received US dividends if you plan to reap the US dividends. The issue that you are facing nowis you have US Dollars in-hand, and you wished to maximise the returns from this USDs that you have. |
Feb 15 2016, 02:01 PM
249 posts Joined: Jan 2015 |
QUOTE(Hansel @ Feb 15 2016, 12:24 PM) If you are keen to be a Fixed Income Nvestor and not a trader, then I will recommend buying into US-denominated instruments that provided good yield. There are a few of such instruments at this moment after the mkt selldowns and the drop in the price of crude. Hansel,Another alternative would be as AV said : buy US stocks. BUt if you are going down the trail of being a Fixed Income (Dividend) INvestors, please be aware that you have a thirty percent withholding tax against your received US dividends if you plan to reap the US dividends. The issue that you are facing nowis you have US Dollars in-hand, and you wished to maximise the returns from this USDs that you have. can u share more abt buying into US-denominated instruments ? via fsm sg? can name few counters? wow...so siok going to Australia for holiday. |
Feb 15 2016, 02:03 PM
QUOTE(Hansel @ Feb 15 2016, 12:18 PM) Hi Prince and everybody,... Gong Xi Fa Cai, and May you all thrive with The Year of The Monkey ! I already accumulate 2 out of 3 of the banks.Yes, I would start to accumulate slowly in OCBC from now, especially everythime it drops below the 7.50 mark. Was in Australia, and bought the Aus Fin Review many timies. Caught news many times that Aus is trying to becomes a Financial Hub, and in order to do this, they must compete with SG and HK. Hence, I suspected that some news which indicate to be undermining the strengths of the financial sector of SG and HK may be targetted towards persuading institutional investors and regional HNWIs and UHNWIs to move their assets over to Sydney. I would treat those news by the AFR cautiously. ... To m, no problems at all with the three SG Banks. This post has been edited by yck1987: Feb 15 2016, 02:04 PM |
Feb 15 2016, 02:06 PM
QUOTE(yck1987 @ Feb 15 2016, 02:03 PM) I already accumulate 2 out of 3 of the banks. I only started since few weeks ago. but last Friday, I managed to buy some OCBC at 7.45 and I think it is a good buy.what other bank counters in your basket? dbs? uob? |
Feb 15 2016, 03:51 PM
QUOTE(prince_mk98 @ Feb 15 2016, 02:06 PM) I only started since few weeks ago. but last Friday, I managed to buy some OCBC at 7.45 and I think it is a good buy. 7.45 very good price. what other bank counters in your basket? dbs? uob? Another counter im holding is DBS. This post has been edited by yck1987: Feb 15 2016, 05:01 PM |
Feb 15 2016, 04:19 PM
QUOTE(prince_mk98 @ Feb 15 2016, 02:06 PM) I only started since few weeks ago. but last Friday, I managed to buy some OCBC at 7.45 and I think it is a good buy. Yes, I too would agree that 7.45 is a good price to enter. Anything below 7.50 is a good price, extrapolating the graph from the 2007/8 global financial crisis. Congrats,.... what other bank counters in your basket? dbs? uob? I would have gone in too,... but I was out of range from internet access and no terminal,... |
Feb 15 2016, 04:26 PM
QUOTE(prince_mk98 @ Feb 15 2016, 02:01 PM) Hansel, Well,... for me, I am currently watching The Mandarin Oriental Hotels and a number of High-Yield Bond Funds which are denominated in the USD. Dividends are also given out in the USD if you elected them to be so. These dividend instruments are now dropping in prices. can u share more abt buying into US-denominated instruments ? via fsm sg? can name few counters? wow...so siok going to Australia for holiday. I wanted to accumulate my USD, and I would not want my divvies to be converted into the SGD as they are paid out to me. Hence, there are quite some mechanics to activate before one can really take advantage of being able to purchase good return instruments in the USD. |
Feb 15 2016, 05:27 PM
4,174 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
QUOTE(Hansel @ Feb 15 2016, 04:26 PM) Well,... for me, I am currently watching The Mandarin Oriental Hotels and a number of High-Yield Bond Funds which are denominated in the USD. Dividends are also given out in the USD if you elected them to be so. These dividend instruments are now dropping in prices. this is interesting.. how to buy these? I wanted to accumulate my USD, and I would not want my divvies to be converted into the SGD as they are paid out to me. Hence, there are quite some mechanics to activate before one can really take advantage of being able to purchase good return instruments in the USD. I notice some SGX counters div are given in foreign currency. Will it be auto convert to SGD ? to be bank into our SGD BANK AC? |
Feb 15 2016, 08:59 PM
QUOTE(Hansel @ Feb 15 2016, 04:26 PM) Well,... for me, I am currently watching The Mandarin Oriental Hotels and a number of High-Yield Bond Funds which are denominated in the USD. Dividends are also given out in the USD if you elected them to be so. These dividend instruments are now dropping in prices. I guess you are referring to this Mandarin Oriental International Ltd. M04 (Singapore: SGX) Price USD 1.24 btw listed in Sg or US ? i guess you are referring to the one listed in Sg.I wanted to accumulate my USD, and I would not want my divvies to be converted into the SGD as they are paid out to me. Hence, there are quite some mechanics to activate before one can really take advantage of being able to purchase good return instruments in the USD. Can share to us how the divvies to be paid out in USD. very interesting. This post has been edited by prince_mk98: Feb 15 2016, 09:25 PM |
Feb 15 2016, 09:49 PM
The USD-denom counters have their specific currency determinations for their divvy payouts. We have to understand the mechanics in details, then adjust to our desire for the currency that we wish to receive the payouts in.
Feb 15 2016, 09:51 PM
QUOTE(Hansel @ Feb 15 2016, 09:49 PM) The USD-denom counters have their specific currency determinations for their divvy payouts. We have to understand the mechanics in details, then adjust to our desire for the currency that we wish to receive the payouts in. So technical. I m using Standard Chartered Online trading. I will check with my side and update you guys later. |
Feb 15 2016, 10:07 PM
QUOTE(prince_mk98 @ Feb 15 2016, 09:51 PM) So technical. I m using Standard Chartered Online trading. I will check with my side and update you guys later. Standard Chartered will have its characteristics, and other brokerages will have theirs too. ... Yes, in terms of receiving divvies from such co's, there is some technicality involved. Not so straight-forward. And it depends on the counters you are holding too.Since you talked about Standard Chartered, I can tell you offhand that for MO4, the dividend given out in the USD will be banked-in to your USD Settlement Account if you choose it to be so, otherwise, it will be converted into the SGD of the GBP. But you have have a GBP Settlement Account f you wish for the dividend to be banked-in in GBP. I'm sure you are aware that your Standard Chartered Account is a nominee account. That's some of the 'technicalities' involved here,... not really THAT TECHNICAL, as you have put it... but quite different from the usual counters that trade in the SGD and can only give out divvies in the SGD. Then you need to ask yourself the question : which currency is more worthy for me ? I have the updates here,.... since you said it's so technical,... |
| Change to: | 0.0180sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:55 PM |