SGX Counters, Discussion on Counters in the SGX

elea88
post Oct 2 2015, 10:01 AM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 2 2015, 12:26 AM)
What is the duration for an inactive account? In Malaysia if there are no transaction in 7 years, the account is close and money will be moved to unclaim monies.

Also, how can you carry SGD4000 cash pass Malaysian & SG customs? As far as I know Malaysian law state that one cannot carry >RM10k cash out of the country.
its USD 10K not RM10K.....

Opening Ac in Sg is easy.. the difficult part is transfering or putting money into SG if u are from Msia..
elea88
post Oct 14 2015, 12:12 PM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 14 2015, 10:39 AM)
I was waiting to go into more SGX dividend counters and selected REITs today, thinking that the mkt will fall after the ann't of a technical recession by the Monetary Authority of Sgp (MAS).

The STI performed the contrary by rising instead of falling just like the other bourses around region.

Let's see what happens later on,.... Market is unpredictable.
what SGX div counters u shortlisted? dun mind sharing?
I hv some not utilized SGD sitting in DBS. dunno what to buy.....

Since today free.. looking around....

elea88
post Oct 14 2015, 01:59 PM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 14 2015, 12:26 PM)
Okay,......

I have been watching KEPPEL CORP closely for the following reasons :-

1) big cap stock.
2) good time to enter now because of oil price weakness.
3) quite sustainable and consistent dividend payout.
4) yield is around 6.55% at current price today.
5) company is heavily diversified in terms of business lines and in terms of geography.

Negative qualities for me :-

1) giving-out dividend only twice per year, not the usual 4 times per year that we are used to enjoying.
2) must watch closely in order to buy because it 'jumps back up' very fast.
3) institutions are always watching this counter.
4) though the DPU is QUITE consistent, but still it is not as consistent as the REITs in my portfolio.

can't think of any other reasons,.... Good luck, Elea,...

The price yesterday dipped to 7.19, but I was hesitant to enter,....thinking that the whole SGX will dip today and drop all boats,... but, well, I was wrong.

Wait a little bit more,.. since oil price is still dropping. When the euphoria of the MAS announcement has died down, then oil price will again re-couple itself to the price of Keppel REIT.

Really frustrating, this SGD and Sgp,... MAS says easing, the immediate reaction is the SGD rises,... the STI rises and everything abt Sgp rises,...
thank you.

Non reits that I hv collected so far is
telco co , UMS, Lee metal, Sheng Siong, Neraltel, silverlake.
Now thinking of disposing Silverlake since got CAP appreciation as the price also YOYO very fast.

elea88
post Oct 15 2015, 08:03 AM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 14 2015, 10:05 PM)
You are welcome.

Silverlake - how long have you held on to this counter ? What are your opinions of this counter ?
I wanted to invest much earlier however price did not match.
just as well, coz the price came tumbling down.
then i just bought some at .52 on 16 sept . So now thinking dispose.
As there is cap appreciation and they they not settled the accounting issues yet.

elea88
post Oct 19 2015, 02:06 PM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 16 2015, 04:52 PM)
Hi,...if Silverlake has not settled the accounting issues yet, then it is a good time to do some trading now and take some profits while awaiting further. However, if the acct'g issues are settled via a report from the independent auditors appointed by Silverlake, then I believed the price of this counter would go up nearer to 90 cents. I have not followed this counter very much,... when is the independent auditor due to release the report of its findings ?

The thing that caught my eye about Silverlake was its recurring income stream after a software package has been sold, or an upgrade has been completed for a banking customer. Many large financial organizations in South East Asia use their software solutions.

I have started to buy-in into Keppel Corp today. Gotten-in at 7.28.... Couldn't resist it anymore.... At 7.28, the dividend yield is at 6.60% annually, paid twice a year. I will be receiving the first dividend payment round about the first week of May next year.

I am estimating even if the orders and the rig production processes run into problems, the dividend yield will drop to 6.00% at my Buy price. If Keppel should go down further, I will be able to average down.
Hansel, take a look at : Keppel Infrastructure Trust (A7RU)

100% owned by KEPPEL CORP.

What u think?
elea88
post Oct 28 2015, 01:24 PM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 27 2015, 11:50 AM)
After almost one week since Keppel Corp reported her earnings, the mkt lost some faith on the words by the BOD. This is reflected by the drop in the share price to a low of $7.17 this morning.

In the meantime, crude price has dropped to USD43.30/bbl.

On my side. I wouldn't mind if Keppel's price drops till below $7.00.
PRICE STILL stablize at 7 plus.... u collecting?
elea88
post Oct 29 2015, 09:11 AM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 28 2015, 11:21 PM)
better to wait for more details from them.
now too much speculation  blush.gif
in response to news.. First reit stats to dipped.
elea88
post Oct 31 2015, 06:59 AM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 30 2015, 06:39 PM)
http://www.theedgemarkets.com/sg/article/f...-reuters-report

this riady guy is either testing for reaction for hidden agenda or an idiot, should know how to communicate better and more responsibly.

i have lost faith in INDON equities.
yes,.. just stick to those Prop inSingapore....!!!!! Less forex headache.
elea88
post Nov 2 2015, 10:51 AM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 28 2015, 11:00 PM)
Hi,... it looks like Keppel Corp has more to drop. I'll hold my bullets for now. In the meantime, Keppel has announced this evening that it has completed delivery for one unit of FELS rig for an entity in Saudi Arabia. This is one good piece of news.
Keppel Corp. Below 7 . Any idea if still consistent div?
elea88
post Nov 2 2015, 01:13 PM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 2 2015, 11:52 AM)
I'm sorry,... I have not counted yet,... I have got my hands full with Saizen REIT and First REIT.  smile.gif

On a very broad-based strategy, I would say the move now should be to hold back our purchases. The Feds are hinting again of a rate hike in mid-December - the mkt will look at this and chances are it will drop further. At this time, for whatever funds we have available, out it into Sgp FD first.

Accumulate bullets, 'when the prices have dropped sufficiently', then buy-up the targetted counters.

If we can enter at a good price, even if the dividend drops, the yield will still be acceptable.
SAIZEN.. u make money

FIRST REIT.. that one is pening..
as current price above NAV.
elea88
post Nov 9 2015, 07:47 PM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 9 2015, 05:10 PM)
i like this JUMBO story!

sgd40 mil cap of chili crabs, bakuteh and ramen. thumbup.gif
after sale of FIRST REIT, what u getting?

JUMBO?.... Food items recession proof.. haha
elea88
post Nov 16 2015, 06:05 PM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Nov 16 2015, 02:18 PM)
What's you guys waiting for ?  tongue.gif
Waiting for Hansel to advise.. haha
elea88
post Dec 11 2015, 11:36 AM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(yck1987 @ Dec 11 2015, 10:13 AM)
Ya, my bad. Shall directly look at the FCT website itself.
http://www.fraserscentrepointtrust.com/Inv...px#.VmouYNJ96M8

Based on current price (1.81) , divident yield is stand at 6.41%.
Hansel, did you add on units since it drop to 52 weeks lowest now?  blush.gif
6.41% is good. Price today is 1.82.

Anyone else considring FCT?
elea88
post Dec 15 2015, 11:08 AM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(Vector88 @ Dec 14 2015, 04:50 PM)
First day of the week, blood everywhere... FCT closer to 1.80 now
all waiting 16.. means will not be super RED... already absorbed in
elea88
post Dec 16 2015, 09:06 AM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Dec 15 2015, 07:31 PM)
First Day of Fed Mtg starting tonight,.... watch the news closely,.....
so, when can start shopping? Today seems green..
elea88
post Jan 6 2016, 09:30 PM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(Vector88 @ Jan 6 2016, 08:43 PM)
Not a good day for Keppel, downgrade with TP: 5.80 by Barclays

SINGAPORE (Jan 6): Barclays has lowered its recommendation as well as target price for rig builders SembCorp Marine and Keppel Corp as it forecast new rig orders drying up in 2016 to 2017 and risks to existing orders.

In a research report, Barclays gave SembCorp Marine an "Underweight" rating and slashed its target price by 52% to $1.10. It downgraded Keppel Corp to "Equal Weight" and dropped its target price by 33% to $5.80.
aiyoyo...
elea88
post Jan 6 2016, 09:37 PM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jan 6 2016, 04:17 PM)
Prophet,...things are so hard to tell now,...today's drop could be a knee-jerk reaction from that suspected nuclear test in NK.

I am so tempted to load-up more of Keppel Corp, but still carrying much hesitation.

There is a new point being put out by net residents. Is oil and commodities getting phased out by the world ? Will green energy replace fossil fuel ? If it is going to be so,... there will really be a big shakeup. Oil price will never recover to their glory days again, and oil-related counters will follow suit.

I recalled one experience that I had back in 2008/9. I bought many of my counters back then, and had huge capital gains, and kept them throughout the years till today. Have reaped lots of dividends too. But I made a wrong call on one counter that never got back to its heydays, namely Singapore Airlines.

After the global financial crisis, everybody started taking AirAsia, and SIA could not reach the glory that it used to command before the GFC.

I wonder if the same thing is going to happen to oil price, hence, causing Keppel Corp not to return to its glorydays anymore ?
Hansel, i dun think KEPPEL CORP can return to its glory days unless we see a sharp rebound in oil price...
and future, we are seing ELECTRONIC & SOLAR energy powered vehicles.. hence a slow down in being reliant on O&G.
Even simple task like using OIL FOR FRYING (palm oil not crude oil).. IS BEING replaced by AIR FRYERS..
elea88
post Jan 7 2016, 10:36 AM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 7 2016, 10:24 AM)
ya, nothing is spared...

only consolation is sgd/rm = 3.08.
what u shopping today?
elea88
post Jan 7 2016, 05:00 PM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jan 7 2016, 03:54 PM)
Prepare your bullets,..... get ready to back-up the truck, and enjoy the dividends again for the next 8 to 10 years of your lives....
buy what? buy what?

elea88
post Jan 11 2016, 01:35 PM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 11 2016, 11:06 AM)
all sgx is deep red today...

reading these, it looks like more to come.

http://www.cnbc.com/2016/01/10/goldman-sac...to-persist.html
http://www.cnbc.com/2016/01/10/asian-stock...orries-oil.html

worldwide stocks down, oil down, commodities down, all but 2 currencies down.

i see only 2 things that stay high or going higher - USD and YEN.
so buy JAPANESE REIT?

26 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1632sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:27 AM