come wassap
sniper on the roof
post May 20 2016, 04:23 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ May 20 2016, 03:01 PM)
i have a suggestion, add in a tail of cleaning crew, like 24k pleco, or a piece of apple snail, which will help clean the leftover food on the bottom. this will help you slow down the worsen condition.
So small tank add pleco meh? laugh.gif

Anyway, my philosophy is keep it simple. The guppies themselves will pick up the leftover food. The places that the adults cannot reach, the juveniles will do the job thumbup.gif

In my company (a number of my colleagues also keep guppies in the office), we come to one conclusion.... snails are more trouble than they're worth. Some months ago, we all went and get 黑金剛 snails aka snail poo machine. Now we all got rid of them laugh.gif
tehoice
post May 20 2016, 06:55 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ May 20 2016, 04:23 PM)
So small tank add pleco meh?  laugh.gif

Anyway, my philosophy is keep it simple. The guppies themselves will pick up the leftover food. The places that the adults cannot reach, the juveniles will do the job  thumbup.gif

In my company (a number of my colleagues also keep guppies in the office), we come to one conclusion.... snails are more trouble than they're worth. Some months ago, we all went and get 黑金剛 snails aka snail poo machine. Now we all got rid of them  laugh.gif
who say small tank cannot add pleco? get those really small ones lar.

put 1 snail mah can lor. don't let them take over the population in your tank. haha...
frequency
post May 21 2016, 01:28 AM

我要挑战十个!
2,567 posts

putting net, the view no longer nice

but save the last pair from being food of birds and lizards

heard nsk replenished stock already so tomorrow will sneak out to get few pairs more smile.gif
SUSXnet
post May 21 2016, 03:16 AM

1,862 posts

Where is nsk
ZeroKunz
post May 21 2016, 11:27 AM

205 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ May 20 2016, 11:48 AM)
awww... i dont really know how to send shrimps via post... too bad tongue.gif
what type of shrimp u put inside?
dp82
post May 21 2016, 12:55 PM

862 posts

Anyone know where i can buy those rack in PJ area? Back side feels itchy to start a project.

http://www.storagerack.com.my/, something like this.

This post has been edited by dp82: May 21 2016, 02:53 PM
novo
post May 21 2016, 11:37 PM

120 posts

Sorry kind of out of topic but did anyone saw alot Corydoras catfish available while u guys browsing ur nearest lfs since at my hometown Ipoh theres like 2 in 15 lfs selling this fish.. lookng for more species variety. Willing to go to KL for it.

All help is appreciated thanks.
ZeroKunz
post May 22 2016, 12:23 AM

205 posts

i have a tank which can fill up 1.6 gallon of water... how many guppy u think i can put in?? worry i put too many in 1 tank
sniper on the roof
post May 22 2016, 10:30 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ May 20 2016, 06:55 PM)
who say small tank cannot add pleco? get those really small ones lar.

put 1 snail mah can lor. don't let them take over the population in your tank. haha...
No point for extra bioload.

Anyway, just setting up another 5 gallon at homev.

QUOTE(ZeroKunz @ May 22 2016, 12:23 AM)
i have a tank which can fill up 1.6 gallon of water... how many guppy u think i can put in?? worry i put too many in 1 tank
Maybe 1-2 adults max but you'll have to micromanage everything. Everyday drip change 50% water and clean off fish poo whenever you see it.
ZeroKunz
post May 22 2016, 09:52 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ May 22 2016, 10:30 AM)
No point for extra bioload.

Anyway, just setting up another 5 gallon at homev.
Maybe 1-2 adults max but you'll have to micromanage everything. Everyday drip change 50% water and clean off fish poo whenever you see it.
what if i put more than 2?? coz for me the tank still got alot of space
sniper on the roof
post May 23 2016, 09:44 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(ZeroKunz @ May 22 2016, 09:52 PM)
Depends on how you look at it lah... if you follow the western style.... nothing less than 5 gallon. In fact there's even a law in Germany that fish tanks must not be smaller than 54 liters sweat.gif sweat.gif

But we're Asians.

Guppies are very tough fishes but as with all fishes, the more stable the environment the better.

Small tanks are hard to maintain... you turn on the AC, the water temperature change.... you ter-feed too much or lazy didn't maintain a few days, the whole tank turn to a algae+poo puddle and then u need to spend the next week slowly bringing it back to its former glory. Too big of a change... everything falls apart. Have to micro manage.

Or if you have mix male and female... the female may either kena kacau by the male with no where to run and decide to harakiri by jumping out of the tank. Or female gets pregnant and become aggressive chase the males until they harakiri. And that's before they give birth and overcrowd the tank even more.

A lot of my colleagues keeps small guppy tanks in the office. There's one who had an awesome heavily planted jungle ~8 liter with shrimps and at least 10 guppies... lasted quite a long while until one day she decide to clean it up and the whole tank's balance crash. Everything died.

In fact just last month, another colleague's 20+ blue tuxedo in a 11 liter tank all died from white spot. The disease spread so fast due to overcrowding and by the time he noticed it, too late.
EternalC
post May 23 2016, 11:03 AM

Take what you can, give nothing back
845 posts

QUOTE(ZeroKunz @ May 21 2016, 11:27 AM)
what type of shrimp u put inside?
i have blue velvet in my tank biggrin.gif
tehoice
post May 23 2016, 02:17 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(dp82 @ May 21 2016, 12:55 PM)
Anyone know where i can buy those rack in PJ area? Back side feels itchy to start a project.

http://www.storagerack.com.my/, something like this.
i bought from a shop near puchong lpd toll here, next to ldp, near the KIA/2nd hand car seller there.

QUOTE(ZeroKunz @ May 22 2016, 09:52 PM)
if you know what you are doing, that's perfectly fine.

I once put about 70-80 fishes in a 14 litre aquarium and i can still manage it well. thought i change water almost on daily basis. but those weak ones would still die.
tehoice
post May 23 2016, 02:17 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ May 23 2016, 11:03 AM)
i have blue velvet in my tank biggrin.gif
sorted out liao mah? haha
EternalC
post May 23 2016, 02:34 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ May 23 2016, 02:17 PM)
sorted out liao mah? haha
not yet bro, busy these few days. giv me some times ya hehehe
tehoice
post May 23 2016, 02:45 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ May 23 2016, 02:34 PM)
not yet bro, busy these few days. giv me some times ya hehehe
lol no problem la. take your time biggrin.gif
tehoice
post May 23 2016, 02:46 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(novo @ May 21 2016, 11:37 PM)
Sorry kind of out of topic but did anyone saw alot Corydoras catfish available while u guys browsing ur nearest lfs since at my hometown Ipoh theres like 2 in 15 lfs selling this fish.. lookng for more species variety. Willing to go to KL for it.

All help is appreciated thanks.
what kind of Corydoras ? there are many types available....

EternalC
post May 23 2016, 02:49 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ May 23 2016, 02:45 PM)
lol no problem la. take your time  biggrin.gif
the ice is what ice? ice cube make from fridge ah?

95 Pages « < 69 70 71 72 73 > » Top

0.0319sec    1.04    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:00 AM