Travel Travel to Korea~, Updated info on pg1

stimix
post Dec 20 2010, 04:57 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Those pretty gals probabaly using special thermal stocking & even special thermal suit/long jogn that I saw in Korean TV. Super thin and can keep body temperature to ~ 18-20C although outside temp freezing...Not sure how much but not cheap..haha
andrekua
post Dec 20 2010, 07:42 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Dec 20 2010, 04:57 PM)
Those pretty gals probabaly using special thermal stocking & even special thermal suit/long jogn that I saw in Korean TV. Super thin and can keep body temperature to ~ 18-20C although outside temp freezing...Not sure how much but not cheap..haha
Maybe... its been quite long since my last winter tour... my wife not a fan of self-touring...

Still, Korea remained the best winter trip I ever had despite some short-comings. Still remember testing how cold 0 degree are compared to China winter. Just walked out of airport main door and cant even stand there for 5minutes. Thought no big deal since already putting on wool long john compared to polyesther one in China.

LOL..

Anyway, dont go too late. Otherwise would be greeted by hot weather sometimes. On our final days, we are actually just dressing like in KL. At first still wearing long john and then everyone kept sweating until beh tahan. Finally took off long john and all winter gears. How does it goes from close to 0 in the first day to 10+C a week later is really unknown. Still early Feb... issit our body already getting used to cold temperature?

This post has been edited by andrekua: Dec 20 2010, 07:44 PM
XterNalz
post Dec 20 2010, 09:31 PM

330 posts

Which is the best/cheapest accommodation if I only want to spend a night at Incheon (after arriving at around 9pm via AAX)?
juDas_x
post Dec 20 2010, 10:38 PM

233 posts

day 5 in korea, 2 more days then fly back so sad~
sfwong1
post Dec 20 2010, 11:44 PM

456 posts

counting down for christmas and my flight to korea.!!!
deanchong
post Dec 20 2010, 11:58 PM

Appreaciate all the info. But if have additional info, pls email to me deanchong@hotmail.sg
sfwong1
post Dec 21 2010, 01:39 AM

456 posts

Eh so change money where is the best for krw? Atria or wawasan? my friend say subang parade quoting 2.9

stimix
post Dec 21 2010, 07:08 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

2.9 is worst than wawasan dy. Atria you need to ask as it's not displayed but good rate for won so far
shwuey
post Dec 21 2010, 08:30 AM

use credit card if you can.
there are a lot of places that accept credit card.
and rate is better, only 2.78 to 2.79.
b00n
post Dec 21 2010, 10:16 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(sfwong1 @ Dec 21 2010, 01:39 AM)
Eh so change money where is the best for krw? Atria or wawasan?  my friend say subang parade quoting 2.9
Actually Sg Wang still have the best rate. The one corner same row as Al-Ikshan on the lower ground floor BB Plaza side.

QUOTE(shwuey @ Dec 21 2010, 08:30 AM)
Agreed. Big ticket item better use cards. Or even if one went to the restaurant, can also consider pay by card. Cheaper rate actually.
jolene812
post Dec 21 2010, 10:32 AM

13 posts

Just got back from Korea 8 Days tour with ABC Holidays tour by Airlines Booking Centre Sdn Bhd. So called winter tour but after paying RM200+ for the entrance and rental of jacket, pants...we were only allocated with 1 hour of skiing. What a rip-off.

http://www.abcholiday.com.my/

Suppose to have sashimi as stated in the itinenary but the tour guide tried to bluff us by saying that sushi is sashimi instead.
Shopping at Myeondong and Dongdaemun are reduced to 1 hour each.
Reach Lotte World at 8.30pm when rides close at 10pm.
Unhelpful and uncaring tour guide.
Hotel standard not up to 4-5 star as advertised.
Had to check out at 5am on the last day coz they don't let us have breakfast in hotel. Cut cost?
Tour leader left us on the 6th day and went back to Malaysia.
Very bad planning which left us with a messy itinerary for the following days.

Many many more!

Shall elaborate more later.

This post has been edited by jolene812: Dec 21 2010, 10:55 AM
sfwong1
post Dec 21 2010, 11:07 AM

456 posts

QUOTE(jolene812 @ Dec 21 2010, 10:32 AM)
Just got back from Korea 8 Days tour with ABC Holidays tour by Airlines Booking Centre Sdn Bhd. So called winter tour but after paying RM200+ for the entrance and rental of jacket, pants...we were only allocated with 1 hour of skiing. What a rip-off.

http://www.abcholiday.com.my/

Suppose to have sashimi as stated in the itinenary but the tour guide tried to bluff us by saying that sushi is sashimi instead.
Shopping at Myeondong and Dongdaemun are reduced to 1 hour each.
Reach Lotte World at 8.30pm when rides close at 10pm.
Unhelpful and uncaring tour guide.
Hotel standard not up to 4-5 star as advertised.
Had to check out at 5am on the last day coz they don't let us have breakfast in hotel. Cut cost?
Tour leader left us on the 6th day and went back to Malaysia.
Very bad planning which left us with a messy itinerary for the following days.

Many many more! 

Shall elaborate more later.
ok noted bad tour guide.

Added on December 21, 2010, 11:09 amsg wang very far leh... maybe go atria check it out.

This post has been edited by sfwong1: Dec 21 2010, 11:09 AM
aeiou228
post Dec 21 2010, 11:22 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(shwuey @ Dec 21 2010, 08:30 AM)
Nett rate ? Which issuer ?

b00n
post Dec 21 2010, 11:39 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

I checked my Citibank for both me and my wife and the conversion rate is also around 2.78-2.79 where max is 2.7878. Cheapest is 2.7808

Added on December 21, 2010, 11:44 amooopppss wrong infor. Just check again and this is it:
14-12 RED FACD 2200387SEOUL KR
KRW 204,000 RM 572.73
So this is 2.8075

13-12 UNIQLO Seoul KR
KRW 193,200 RM 542.42
So this is 2.807557

This post has been edited by b00n: Dec 21 2010, 11:44 AM
aeiou228
post Dec 21 2010, 12:06 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(b00n @ Dec 21 2010, 11:39 AM)
I checked my Citibank for both me and my wife and the conversion rate is also around 2.78-2.79 where max is 2.7878. Cheapest is 2.7808

Added on December 21, 2010, 11:44 amooopppss wrong infor. Just check again and this is it:
14-12  RED FACD 2200387SEOUL KR     
  KRW 204,000  RM 572.73 
So this is 2.8075

13-12  UNIQLO Seoul KR     
  KRW 193,200  RM 542.42 
So this is 2.807557
Great info. rclxms.gif I changed too much won, no chance to use plastic. balance 200kwon sapu by ah mix. tongue.gif

stimix
post Dec 21 2010, 12:41 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

The 200kwon I almost used up all on 1st till 2nd nite bcos of the 90Kwon for the t-money, 30Kwon for the taxi from Gimpo to hotel & misc on food & souvenirs..haha..Hunting like hell for money changer on 2nd nite & found out Maybank ATM is useless although ATM having the PLUS network sign!!
b00n
post Dec 21 2010, 01:13 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

My funny experience with ATM is it's in Korean language even Citibank.
It never occurred to me to 1st press the screen then only slotted the card.
Slot in the card and it gives me all this Korean character where I don't know which to press.
Tried a few times then it pops up error msg "Pls contact card issuer". Phoned back to M'sia using skype (free service) from the hostel and the staffs told me my card is ok.
Finally test it out, have to press the screen first i.e. for Citi, click on the foreign card then only slot in the ATM card. But never withdraw the money, just check on the balances. smile.gif
aeiou228
post Dec 21 2010, 01:29 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Dec 21 2010, 12:41 PM)
The 200kwon I almost used up all on 1st till 2nd nite bcos of the 90Kwon for the t-money, 30Kwon for the taxi from Gimpo to hotel & misc on food & souvenirs..haha..Hunting like hell for money changer on 2nd nite & found out Maybank ATM is useless although ATM having the PLUS network sign!!
This is a good experience to share. It is imperative to have a minimum cash in hand of 300K won upon arrival to over come contingency such as one have to take taxi due to late arrival, arrival on weekend, ATM card not compatible etc etc..
spidergirl
post Dec 21 2010, 03:32 PM

144 posts

Is there a minimum deposit amount for T-money? For 4 days trip and travel just within Seoul city area + tourist area, what is the best deposit amount? 90k won is like RM300...is it a bit too much? I'm taking airport limousine bus to Hongik Univ from Incheon airport

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Dec 21 2010, 02:29 PM)
This is a good experience to share. It is imperative to have a minimum cash in hand of 300K won upon arrival to over come contingency such as one have to take taxi due to late arrival, arrival on weekend, ATM card not compatible etc etc..
stimix
post Dec 21 2010, 03:41 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

oppss forgotten to mention..the 90K won was for 3 pax not 1 and for 5 days and yet still can get back ~ 3600won..furthermore I used the card to pay the Seoul city tour bus too bcos they dunwan to accept my printed voucher via the visit korea website bcos no serial number! Anyway, Ok-lah for 5% discounted city tour bus. Even KL city tour bus also .RM30/day if I'm not mistaken

Minimum top up probably 10K only? bcos the convenience shop guy asking me whether wanna top-up 10K won? And they are abit shock that I top-up to 30K won haha

BTW, T-money si not valid for Normal train ticket to Gapyeong /Chuncheon

This post has been edited by stimix: Dec 21 2010, 04:19 PM

125 Pages « < 89 90 91 92 93 > » Top

0.0240sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:27 AM