Fund Investment Corner, Please share anything about Fund.
dzi921
Aug 29 2007, 05:21 PM
QUOTE(ejleemy @ Aug 29 2007, 05:16 PM) PIX somehow overlap with PRSF. Refer to your quarterly report top holdings for each fund and you will get what I mean. PIX is a little more aggressive than PRSF. You have a lot of local equity funds already. Maybe it's time to diversify a bit ? So what do you suggest
dzi921
Aug 29 2007, 05:35 PM
QUOTE(aichiban @ Aug 29 2007, 05:30 PM) Last week I gave my agent rm5k to topup on my Mutual Fund. Yesterday she called me, said she didnt top up becoz the market is volatile. She also said suddenly market shot up by quite a margin. Asking me what should she do. Should I just f**k her and tell her to f**king top up when I asked her to? I begin to think they are agents becoz they are brainless edit - its not convenient to do it myself. and wats an agent for? Wah, you instruct her to topup and she didn't topup So what happened to your RM5k? Still in her bank account? If I'm you, I will screw her up! And threaten her that I will complain all the way up to her management
dzi921
Aug 29 2007, 06:36 PM
QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 29 2007, 06:29 PM) dzi921, do you want to consider some off-shore fund? The funds that you have or opened recently has a heavy weightage in KLCI. That is true, I'll look into it later today Off my head, I'm thinking PCSF. I heard this fund is hot cake
dzi921
Aug 29 2007, 06:50 PM
QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 29 2007, 06:40 PM) Besides, it's an agressive fund. If you like aggressive style, you could consider this fund. I'm a moderate person, but I think I have enough moderate fund so go a little aggressive Anyway, I think today's PM closing prices will be Redish Have to hope DJ doing well tonight (but doubt so, no good news yet  )
dzi921
Aug 29 2007, 07:23 PM
QUOTE(Assassin @ Aug 29 2007, 07:17 PM) Is there a way to know when is the investment distribution? I already told my agent to inform me whenever there is a distribution but he always say forgot. I always only know about it whenever i received the statement. If check bank website also very slow update. Is there a way to get the bank to inform us by email or whatever method? Jangan harap agent and bank to email or whatever method I think it would be best to monitor yourself. You can get all the financial year end month from PM website (check the reports - pdf)
dzi921
Aug 30 2007, 07:47 AM
QUOTE(ejleemy @ Aug 29 2007, 11:16 PM) Depends on your risk appetite, Aggressive - China Select, Smallcap (Smallcap doesn't overlap much with your PRSF) Moderate - Asian/Far East Dividend funds (strong fundamentals) Conservative - Bond funds Try to avoid direct exposure to US/Europe. Expect volatility from credit issue in short term. I'm looking into aggressive. I've got PSmallCap already I've now short listed. Public Asia Ittikal Fund (Is this good?) Public China Select Fund Which is better? Public Far-East Dividend Fund This is good but a moderate fund (surprisingly, it's benchmark from 17/08/2007 till now is at 9%+ which is good) This post has been edited by dzi921: Aug 30 2007, 07:47 AM
dzi921
Aug 30 2007, 07:57 AM
I was wondering, there are around 48 funds in PM Left 44 funds opened Imagine buying all of them to average out your investment Wouldn't it be a good strategy? One thing that is going to be troublesome is switching of funds. Can talk half day to switch  I wonder anyone out there using doing this? I believe dunia ini macam macam ada. Sure got people doing it this way
dzi921
Aug 30 2007, 07:59 AM
QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 30 2007, 07:50 AM) PAIF has great potential fund. I'm putting high faith on it.  If it could perform like PITTIKIAL, that would be marvellous. So far, the performance is average and its age is less than a year. And you have both the fund PAIF and PCSF
dzi921
Aug 30 2007, 08:11 AM
QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 30 2007, 07:59 AM) Let say if you allocate RM 1k for each fund. That would be a minimum of RM 44k for 44 funds. That's a lot of money excluding your topup and etc.  Definitely I'm not one of those people since I don't that huge amount of money. It's not like you going to buy one shot at a time. Open one by one also can wat Let me ponder whether this strategy is practical or not... QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 30 2007, 08:01 AM) Don't have PCSF. PAIF is not as aggressive as PCSF. I thought you planning to buy sometime ago. So are you planning to buy now? The price still below opening price. Kesian all those that buy when it launched
dzi921
Aug 30 2007, 08:14 AM
Just to double confirm, according to my agent
For any fund, I can switch all my units out (meaning left 0 units). The account will still remain active. I can later on still switch back into it
True/False?
dzi921
Aug 30 2007, 08:25 AM
QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 30 2007, 08:15 AM) Even I'm not going to buy them in one shot. To earn or save RM 44k, that'll take ages; at least few years. Not going to buy any new funds at the moment. My agent has advised me not to go into PCSF.I might want to consider a local equity fund. My agent recommended PIOF but I might eye for PRSF too. Let see how it goes and just want to complete my portfolio. After PITTIKIAL has been closed, I don't have a local equity fund You got ask why?
dzi921
Aug 30 2007, 09:01 AM
QUOTE(ejleemy @ Aug 30 2007, 08:57 AM) You can always switch into any fund (except for the closed funds). Only req = Minimum units 1k and NAV RM 1k. That is what I thought too, but he said minimum units/NAV = 0 also can switch into
dzi921
Aug 30 2007, 09:09 AM
QUOTE(ejleemy @ Aug 30 2007, 09:04 AM) The investment area of Asia Ittikal and China select are very different. It depends on which part of the market do you expect to see higher gains. China select is a bit high now.. Many of their stocks are trading at 20+ P/E ratio. It's only worth it if the growth can be sustained. Personally I only inject my money there when the NAV goes below 0.215, at that price, the holding average P/E is around or less than 20 P/E from my calculation. So is Asia Ittikal a good buy instead of China now? Or you would recommend Far-East Dividend Fund instead? Added on August 30, 2007, 9:39 amDoest Asia Ittikal has insurance? If yes, do I need to fill in the nominee section? This post has been edited by dzi921: Aug 30 2007, 09:39 AM
dzi921
Aug 30 2007, 07:02 PM
QUOTE(Revinnier_ice @ Aug 30 2007, 06:44 PM) In recent news there's a downturn on our stock market. Do you is it a good time to invest in mutual funds? Am aiming to buy Public China Select Fund. Since its Olympic in Beijing next year, do u think the market price will be improved overseeing the downturn in recent news? Our friend/agent here has quoted this today QUOTE(ejleemy @ Aug 30 2007, 09:04 AM) China select is a bit high now.. Many of their stocks are trading at 20+ P/E ratio. It's only worth it if the growth can be sustained. Personally I only inject my money there when the NAV goes below 0.215, at that price, the holding average P/E is around or less than 20 P/E from my calculation. If you ask me whether now is good time to invest? My opinion is that it has dropped below my target. I'm all out already
dzi921
Aug 30 2007, 10:11 PM
QUOTE(leekk8 @ Aug 30 2007, 09:55 PM) Public Mutual declare gross distribution 9cent for PSmallCap and 6cent for PBIEF. So fast you know the news liao ah
dzi921
Sep 2 2007, 10:24 PM
QUOTE(lelong1234 @ Sep 1 2007, 05:13 PM) erm logically speaking, i think the distribution thing should have something to do with how long you have been holding that particular fund for also. If not, I think people would just buy alot of a particular fund just before the usual distribution date. Then sell off after the distribution to buy the next fund which is soon to be announcing their distribution and so on.... Not sure if what i said makes sense or not... but yeah... just my 2 cents... That is what I thought so too, but every time after they distribute, the price would be adjusted lower. So if you were to buy last minute and sell it off right after distribution, the amount will not be a lot. Not to mention -6.5% service charge
dzi921
Sep 3 2007, 08:31 PM
  Finally recover Service Charge I hope will UP UP UP! Go Go Go!!!
dzi921
Sep 3 2007, 09:05 PM
QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 3 2007, 08:50 PM) NAV is net asset value. How they derive it? Good question. I also don't know. Perhaps any expert in here? This is something which is not transparent lor
dzi921
Sep 3 2007, 11:16 PM
QUOTE(shih @ Sep 3 2007, 10:26 PM) NAV = Total Asset Value/Total Units Where to get Total Asset Value?
dzi921
Sep 5 2007, 05:21 PM
QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Sep 5 2007, 04:25 PM) Quick question. can i switch RM800 worth of units into money market? I don't have MM account yet. Switching only need to fulfill 1000 units min requirement rite? You can switch whatever amount of units Whether or not can switch to money market, I think yes (correct me if i'm wrong cause I've never had money market fund)