Fund Investment Corner, Please share anything about Fund.

dzi921
post Oct 9 2007, 10:55 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(kingkong81 @ Oct 9 2007, 10:49 PM)
if u found one, do let me know  rolleyes.gif
How we wish If really got and is a guarantee type hor...

dzi921
post Oct 18 2007, 11:27 AM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(kikurazz @ Oct 18 2007, 11:14 AM)
what's PM? noobie here  tongue.gif
PM = Project Manager / Prime Minister tongue.gif

<joking>

PM = Public Mutual http://www.publicmutual.com.my/
dzi921
post Oct 19 2007, 04:46 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(bengang13 @ Oct 19 2007, 04:36 PM)
So when the market is down, you switch to Bond? and when it goes even lower(an acceptable level) you buy at lower cost?
For me when I think the market is at top or has reached my target, I will switch to bond to lock the profit and wait for the next correction

My target for now is 20% to 25%, now 18.16% (as of last fri). So I will be switching out soon

This post has been edited by dzi921: Oct 19 2007, 04:46 PM
dzi921
post Oct 19 2007, 04:53 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(SK2 @ Oct 19 2007, 04:48 PM)
can i ask, any bond fund can recommend?
I have PISBF / PSBF

PIEBF (Bond + Equity) - Can go up and down faster compared to pure bond

Personally, I don't really bother about Bond's performance cause it is meant for parking
dzi921
post Oct 19 2007, 05:04 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(bengang13 @ Oct 19 2007, 04:57 PM)
I think its relatively safe to buy any Bond. it doesn't flactuate as much. I have PBOND
Too bad PBOND sudah tutup sad.gif Cannot open new account shakehead.gif
dzi921
post Oct 19 2007, 05:20 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(bengang13 @ Oct 19 2007, 05:07 PM)
Doesn't make much difference to you..haha. since you dun "park" much. btw. rule of tumb, how much do you keep aside in fix deposit, mutual funds or other investement?
You can see my portfolio diversified by % in my signature

QUOTE(SK2 @ Oct 19 2007, 05:09 PM)
so, u mean u buy bond fund just leave it as saving is it? and also can be paking area for equity fund? then is it u use little money to invest in bond fund only?
how about the PISBF? is it better to choose old or new bond fund? please enlighten me... icon_question.gif
Bond tend to drop slower then Equity

So my term of parking means, when market is quite high/expensive/unstable, I will be moving my funds from Equity into Bond for parking.

Reason, if the market has a correction, Bond will usually drop slower/little compared to Equity, meaning I'm locking my profit by switching Equity into Bond

Why am I switching into Bond and not parking in Equity for long term? Reason, to maximize profit brows.gif

PS: This is based on my experience. I might be wrong sweat.gif
dzi921
post Oct 19 2007, 05:29 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(SK2 @ Oct 19 2007, 05:26 PM)
so is it adviceable for me to buy a bond ? cos it is better if i want to switch fund to equity to bond when market correction...

jes give me advice base on ur experience..thanks...dzi921..
Then if based on my experience,

Yes, you should at least open a Bond fund account. This is going to be useful during correction time. With a phone call (telemutual), you can switch from Equity to Bond easily

If you do not have that, you have to sell it off and can be troublesome (in terms of time and procedures)

The benefit of switching compared to selling off and buying again:-
You safe in terms of service charge (6.5%)
dzi921
post Oct 20 2007, 11:16 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Oct 20 2007, 11:07 PM)
For me, I prefer DIY, even for UT which is managed by fund managers..
We need to make our own decisions so we will not blame anyone when it goes wrong..
If we let our agents do it, we might blame them if things go wrong..
In addition to that, imagine when you ask your agent to switch and he didn't. Rugi...

So I prefer to DIY too
dzi921
post Oct 22 2007, 11:47 AM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Oct 22 2007, 11:11 AM)
That's why you need to switch wisely and not blindly. Make sure that your return is able to cover the switching cost.
IMHO, If the investment is only a few k, then the switching cost of RM25 might not justify the switch
dzi921
post Oct 24 2007, 09:40 AM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(SK2 @ Oct 24 2007, 09:33 AM)
can i ask if i want to buy PIADF today at lunch time before 4pm, is it follow yesterday price(monday) 0.2697 or today(tuesday) price?
thanks...a bit confused..
it will be wed's price

Added on October 24, 2007, 9:40 amToday is Wed smile.gif

This post has been edited by dzi921: Oct 24 2007, 09:40 AM
dzi921
post Oct 24 2007, 10:23 AM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

The price on the site is usually 1 day late late

E.g.
For monday's closing result:-
Top portion will be showed on Tues Morning (around 11am)
Bottom portion will be showed on Mon Evening (around 8pm)

If today you want to buy any fund, you wouldn't know until the market is close

Added on October 24, 2007, 10:24 amThe price on the site is not like stocks which is updated every few seconds. The NAV needs to be calculated when the market is close

This post has been edited by dzi921: Oct 24 2007, 10:24 AM
dzi921
post Oct 29 2007, 03:42 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

I wonder do many people actually use their EPF money to buy UT?

10 Pages « < 8 9 10Top

0.0528sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 10:39 PM