7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Proton Prevé V23, Livin la vida loca

plumberly
post Aug 14 2017, 09:53 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(ChuanHong @ Aug 14 2017, 09:00 AM)

3 years service = 60k?! if yes then really above 1k lo.. spark plug, gear oil, gear oil filter all those very expensive stuff..
Mine is 36 months but only 36,000 km.

After this change, feel the ride is smoother (release the pedal, can feel the car floating in the air! ha), and with power when I press on the pedal. Ha.

plumberly
post Oct 27 2017, 04:36 PM

4,761 posts

Got a problem with my Preve last night. Hope friends here can help.

Could not start the car. No engine sound, only lights in the dashboard. Could not change gear. Checked battery, 12+V.

Removed the battery cables, left it for more than 10 mins, reconnected and tried to restart. No success.

Opened the small hole near the gear and pressed on the switch inside to release the gear. Could not.

Called a tow truck, he could not release the gear too for him to tow the car. Proton tech came, could not release the gear too. They tried this and that and finally the gear was released. Asked what was the solution, he did not know. Guess he put a lot of force to to pull the gear.

The tow guy said my car was his 5th Preve he towed with the same problem.

Is this a common problem with Preve?

Anyone having such problem?

What was the diagnosis?

Solution?

Really hate to see that problem again. Really turned my day upside down today.

Got a call saying I can only pick up the car tomorrow. Still need some checking. Think they have not really solved it yet though now can start the engine.

Help ! SOS ! Ha.

P/S Didnt know Preve is so low that the car front bottom rubbed on the tow plate while setting it up for the towing. Sad to see paint scratches there!

plumberly
post Oct 28 2017, 09:48 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(Turbopower @ Oct 28 2017, 08:39 AM)
If it was the fifth time then for sure the tow truck guy would know or have the slightest of idea what was wrong or what you do. the car
aint that low, matter of fact the clearence is quite decent at 155mm....
The tow guy doesnt know the cause or solution to the car problem. He was involved only at the start to tow the car to the service center. Checks are by the service center. Unless he is a busy body, stay there to find out with the service technicians.

I am not the high IQ guy, I will not know if I were the tow guy to know the cause just by towing the car. Ha.
plumberly
post Oct 28 2017, 11:34 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(winners8 @ Oct 28 2017, 10:55 AM)
That's why I always put the gear in "N" mode when parking and used the handbrake to secure the vehicle.  I'll never put the gear in "P" mode during parking nor stationary and can say totally won't use the "P" mode.  But those PROTON service mechanics will always like to put in "P" mode after their servicing.

My recent service was done by a newly recruited mechanic and he only pressed the START/STOP button once to kill the engine.  I told him that this is not the correct procedure.  The START/STOP button must be pressed twice to fully OFF the system.  Otherwise, the 12-volt supply is still being connected and will not only causes unnecessary power drain from the battery but also unnecessarily wearing out the ECU and other electronic parts.  He should know because the "beep" notification will sound when he removed the key FOB without pressing the START/STOP button for the second time.  Stupid mechanic I would say.
Gee, good idea on parking in N. Will find out the pros and cons before I use that. But will the car start when in N?

Did not know about the 2 pushes for the stop. I only push it once.

My stuck gear may be due to the way I start the car. When I bought the car, that is what I was told.

A Press on the foot brake.
B Insert the FOB (or whatever it is called).
C Press the start button.

Some youtube videos say the correct way to start is

A Insert the FOB (or whatever it is called).
B Press the start button.
C Press on the brake
D Press the start button another time

The B here will energise the car electrical system first. This sequence is like the normal car key system, turning the key clockwise will activate the ACC first before START.

Thanks for your input.

P/S Shocked to see the service guy removing the +ve battery cable first and then the -ve cable. Their manual says -ve first then +ve.
plumberly
post Oct 28 2017, 12:48 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(winners8 @ Oct 28 2017, 11:50 AM)
The car will start in exactly the same way whether in "N" or "P".

What I normally do to start is: 

Insert the key FOB.
Press START/STOP to activate the ACC switch.
Press START/STOP again to hear the fuel pump to complete its operation.
Step the brake pedal to hear the brake pump to complete its operation (sometimes not necessary, especially if it had just been switched OFF a short while ago).
Finally, press START/STOP again to crank the engine.

But again, those PROTON mechanics will always just step on the brake pedal and press the START/STOP button straightaway, which I think is not a good practice.

All mechanics should know that to disconnect the battery, it should start from the -ve terminal.  This is also to avoid unnecessary arcing at the battery terminals.  That's why I've said some mechanics are plain stupid.

Just learnt a trick to disengage the stuck gear. Will try it the next time I get a stuck gear which cannot be freed even after pressing on the small hole to activate the release switch.

Remove the battery cables, leave for a few minutes. reconnect the battery.

Press on the start button 1, 2 & 3 times (don't press on the foot brake).

Repeat the above for another 2 times.

Then see if can release the gear.

Good luck! Ha.

plumberly
post Oct 30 2017, 07:50 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(oto1202 @ Oct 30 2017, 06:26 AM)
Mostly happen to preve that use push start button. It happen to me 2 years ago when OCH burst, towing truck cannot tow because stuck at "P". 1x engine start without engine oil to shift gear to "N". Another 1x at SC when care arrived. So, twice start without engine oil. 😩

Only this year i got the solution from preve club, then i try immediately. It work..

1. Insert your key FOB
2. Push start button twice to perform all indicator at dashboard
3. Remove your key FOB
4. Use your key to push a shift lock hole
5. Try shift from "P" to "N"

P/S : step 1&2 is mandatory, to ecu known that true immobilizer are use. This system protect theft from shift gear without the right immobilizer.

Tried that, still no success.

Does Proton provide a replacement car when our car is under maintenance during the warranty period?
plumberly
post Nov 4 2017, 06:02 PM

4,761 posts

Like to close and share my "stuck shift gear" thing. Then those having similar problem will not have to suffer for days waiting for your service center to diagnose to find out the cause.

Could not shift the gear even after using the over-write hole near the shift gear.

Service tech thinks the problem is the start/stop push button. He found that when he could not start the car, just put his hand at the back of the start stop push button and moved the wires there. Then by magic, could start the car again! I know this is not scientific. My wife used the car later and could not start the car. Told her by phone to do the same hand at the back of the push button trick. At first, no success. Later managed to start the car.

They have replaced the push button and now monitoring the progress.

By the way, this push button warranty is only 3 years. I am just weeks over the 3 years warranty. Damb! RM150+.

Also, read the service booklet to find out more on the 3 and 5 years warranty. I read that when I bought the car but most of it I have forgotten now. The reverse sensors are faulty and I could not be bothered to service them earlier. Now, no more warranty on these!
plumberly
post Jun 3 2018, 07:51 PM

4,761 posts

AA
Need to replace my low beam bulb. H7/55W type. Can use non Proton brand bulb? Semua brand boleh? Price around RM15?

BB
When reversing, some noise from the back. Hard to describe the noise. Not from the engine, more from the mechanical body. No such noise when going forward. How to get rid of this noise?

plumberly
post Aug 27 2018, 01:26 PM

4,761 posts

Noted a small screw stuck on my rear wheel last Sunday. Went to a shop to repair the puncture today. Surprised to see the extent of wear on the thread and the thickness is the same as the wear indicator. My car is 4 yrs old now with 47000 km only. I rotated the tyres once and surprised that the rear tyre can wear out so fast. Front tyres are not as bad. Maybe due to wheel alignment problem.

Like to have feedback from friends here:

AA
Advisable to get a new pair for the front and switch the old front to the rear?

BB
Thinking of getting Micheline Primacy 3ST. Good tyre? Price?

plumberly
post Aug 27 2018, 04:17 PM

4,761 posts

Why?

I know it is new. Better in what areas?

plumberly
post Aug 27 2018, 07:36 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(stevenlks @ Aug 27 2018, 06:07 PM)
I had hankook ventus v12 evo2, much better than the stock GT Radial rubbish tyre.
Hankook ventus v2 also very value for money

Had a look on the web on this. More for those into sport driving which I am not. More for family driving, comfort and noise come to mind.
plumberly
post Aug 30 2018, 06:31 PM

4,761 posts

Changed my tyres to Michelline P3ST today. Saved RM100+ before SST kicks in. Ha.

* now the car is more responsive and smoother to drive. Think it is due to the new tyres and also the alignment. Did alignment after my previous wheel rotation. Think the other shop did not do a proper job as there was still a red reading when he finished the job. I asked and he said that was normal. The wear out on the tyres was on one side.

* cannot tell whether it is now more quiet.

* new tyres should always go to the rear as stated in Michelline poster. Why? Rear wheel are hard to control and thus put new tyres there for better control.

* from Preve manual, it says front-rear whell rotation. Did not know about the cross rotation. Now the schedule is 3 rotations, every 8000 km

front-rear
cross
front rear

Warranty is 6 yrs, the 3 rotations will cover 3 yrs only for me. Then what to do for the remaining 3 yrs?

That shop is more professional than I expected. Many staff, each responsible for their divided jobs. Will go back to that shop.

My wife just used the car for her jogging, said the car is smoother to drive now. Bagus.

plumberly
post Sep 1 2018, 12:00 PM

4,761 posts

Found this video. Useful infor on putting new tyres at the rear.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HdSf0KJie_E
plumberly
post Sep 1 2018, 03:46 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(jmas @ Sep 1 2018, 01:19 PM)
erm... Preve is FWD, new tires should goes in front.
That was what I thought before. Watch the video again. Need deeper threads on the rear to stay away from hydropaning.
plumberly
post Feb 7 2019, 09:02 AM

4,761 posts

Gong Xii Fatt Chai to all!

Realised yesterday that my Preve car GPS map rosak again when I wanted to use it to send my girl to her classmate's house for the CNY visit. Car is only 4+ years. Failed the second time. it showed a wrong map, think the GPS system is rosak. Last time same issue about 2 years ago, they reloaded the program. Annoying.

Anyone facing similar problem?

plumberly
post Feb 16 2019, 12:16 PM

4,761 posts

AA
Sent my Preve for 54 months service. They could not fix the faulty GPS road map and the clock GPS problems. Need to send to KL for them to check.

Like to know if there is a better Proton replacement for this radio tv screen combo. Hard to see the image during day time. If they need to replace this unit with the same model, I would like to ask Proton to replace with a new better model and I will pay the difference. So any new Proton unit for this? Price?

BB
I used to get petrol smell on getting out of the car. Found that the petrol cap was loose though I had tighten it till I hear a click. Dont know why it can get loosen by itself. Maybe high pressuree inside? If you get the petrol smell, check the cap to see if it is loose.

P/S By better combo unit, I meant clearer image during day time. Now hard to see the map while driving in the afternoon.

My current screen is 5 inches while the whole unit is 9 inches. Will be brilliant if I can get one with 9 inches screen (with touch screen buttons, dials etc).

This post has been edited by plumberly: Feb 16 2019, 12:51 PM
plumberly
post Feb 16 2019, 09:17 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(mr_geforce @ Feb 16 2019, 04:27 PM)
that HU, even if you sent your car to HQ COSE, they would still need to taken it out and sent to Bosch Penang for repair and it takes weeks of times.

Preve produced end of 2014 is getting Blaupunkt brand (dunno if its model New York or what) of HU and you would need to cut wire & modification at the HU connector (Which SC will not do it for you, can ask accessory shop to do)

Any HU Proton is using with:
* bigger than 5 inch screen
* better screen quality when under sunlight?

If so, which HU model is that?

plumberly
post Feb 17 2019, 11:16 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(mr_geforce @ Feb 16 2019, 10:56 PM)
I am also searching for an after market HU, 2 DIN.

with a latest android system, able to play FLAC audio file, able to install offline android navigation apps such as papago M11.

So far still looking at taobao, and plan to order if find a suitable one and ask some accessories shop to install for me with some charges.
I see. Let me know once you have decided on which brand. I may consider and get one too. Yours is also a Preve? Then the size etc should be OK for me too.
plumberly
post Feb 18 2019, 03:31 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(mr_geforce @ Feb 17 2019, 01:01 PM)
yup. preve 2014 reg july.
Mine is Preve 2014 Aug! So yours is the elder bro! Ha.

plumberly
post Feb 18 2019, 03:45 PM

4,761 posts

Just sent my car for the SC to remove the HU to be sent to KL & Penang for repair. Quite a lot of work just to remove the HU!

Took some photos as I am planning to get the plug and cable ready so that I can hook up a cable to the HU (for the rear camera) when they reinstall the HU back (in the event that they can repair the HU and thus I cannot ask for a better HU with me paying the price difference). I dont want to install the cable myself as it is a big hassle to get access to the back of the HU.

Hope friends here who have done it before or electrical/electronic savy can tell me where to hook up the camera cable. Then I can get the plug ready, ask the SC to plug it in when they reinstall the HU. I will connect this cable to the camera later.

Many thanks.

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.1263sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:12 AM