7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Proton PrevĂ© V23, Livin la vida loca

ChuanHong
post May 3 2017, 10:17 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

Agreed that 100 to 160km/h is okay.. Beyond 160km/h actually doesnt give me a very firm feeling already..

100km/h and below is most quiet cabin in that range with my michelin p3st. 110km is most noisy.. Above 110km/h, ady used to the noise.. Hahahaha..

But 100km/h with preve feel slow seriously.. Lets say we compare within 70k budget car.. So far my preve turbo doesnt give me major problem.. i have the version with vt3+ blue tag gearbox.. So normal drive in city is quite quiet..
ChuanHong
post May 5 2017, 10:45 AM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

sure or not.. Johor to Penang in 3 hours..
ChuanHong
post May 9 2017, 08:55 AM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(terryble @ May 7 2017, 09:15 PM)
Guys i own a Preve CFE and i really find it hard to accelerate above 150KM/hr~~it is only when i floor the pedal on a down hill situation i manage to hit 160 mark once or twice on MEX~~i always thought there is a speed limiter that limits the speed??

hmm~~so is it my car problem? any comments?
floor the pedal 160km/h? how long the 160km/h lasts there..

i would say 0~160km/h are quite okay.. from 160km/h to 200km/h which is need some time.. definitely i managed to get 205km/h in meter while GPS show 200+-km/h..

tested in penang second bridge..
ChuanHong
post May 16 2017, 04:36 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(Yoooo @ May 11 2017, 10:34 PM)
I see, because I just go the SC to change it when it failure every time. it costs me RM 25 for the original OSRAM H7.
2 years down the road, already spend RM 100 for it.
I thought the stock OSRAM H7 quality issue but seems like not after you stated you have used branded.
I just order from Lelong the OSRAM night breaker unlimited H7 about RM100. haiz.....
1.2k is quite a lot for me. if like that, then I have no choice just can stay with the stock normal OSRAM H7.
cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
I just burned 2 pairs in previous.. recently changed Philips White Vision.. Will see how long it can survive.. I did install unbrand HID and LED in previously..

HID - I scare kena caught by police/jpj.. 4300k but it looks whitish.. (Most brightest in these options)
LED - White light looks good, brightness, cut off okay, but LED cant work for long time.. Burn out due to mechanical design issue.
Halogen - use the high beam bulb and replace into low beam.. works so far.. but recently switch to new philips white vision.

#try to replace by yourself and dont touch the glass of bulb.. i did saw outside workers did accidentally touch the glass and confirm cannot last long..

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ May 12 2017, 09:14 AM)
1. Doesn't work, I used two different VS,still the bulbs burnt out.
2. Same like #1, in fact this was the most suspected reason.
3. I wanted to change to LED, but ultimately chose HID retrofit. I figured that with the cramped space, it is almost impossible to install LED bulbs, no?
LED confirm can cramp into the space.. but problem is the heat from LED cannot stand on.. must use the copper heat wire to dissipate the heat instead of fan design.. i did use fan design which all in 1 LED bulb.. brightness, cut off okay, just failed after few weeks..

Will try LED again in future if my philips halogen failed.. but will look for copper wire type of LED bulb.
ChuanHong
post May 16 2017, 07:22 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(oto1202 @ May 16 2017, 06:58 PM)
Mine also using C6 LED HIGHLIGHT, nothing got problem. 30000 hours lifetime, got 1 year warranty.. Turbo fan design, less power consumption 36watt, 6000k.. Rm170. Please check wiring installation, maybe got some problem.
Yeah I'm using C6 as well? No problem? I'm not sure it isn't my personal installation problem? There is a positive and negative sign at the end of bulb cable.. need to concern about this? If it able to turn on in first installation should be work right. I believe if put in wrong sign should not work for LED bulb.
ChuanHong
post May 17 2017, 10:30 AM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(oto1202 @ May 17 2017, 09:02 AM)
Maybe LED problem. Is better to buy from accesories car shop that include warranty.
hmm.. are u still using the led bulb? how long it lasts for u ady?
ChuanHong
post May 18 2017, 09:12 AM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(Yoooo @ May 17 2017, 10:52 PM)
I just installed the H7 Osram Night breaker unlimited by own self. It looks brighter but don't know whether can last longer than the standard Osram H7 or not.

worried with the same reason with for HID and LED that is why I stay back using halogen bulb.

I also noticed the bulb installation position will cause the output light uneven of focus.

[attachmentid=8823813]
Photo 1.
[attachmentid=8823817]
Photo 2.
Photo 1 is previous installed by the SC. after installed I felt the light focusing is not same as the previous.
Photo 2 is installed by my own self. The output of light will be even and focus like the original when you received your car at day 1.

if you also got the same felling as me, you may the installation as above.
photo 1 is definitely in wrong way.. yes, i did like yours in photo 2. must make that part enter the hook of clip..

light beam should be something ( ) or | | on our headlamp..
ChuanHong
post May 18 2017, 05:00 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ May 18 2017, 01:07 PM)
Is that even possible? I thought the bulb housing can be fitted one way only.
yes it's possible.. some people will mentioned their headlamp not that bright then this is the issue.. only for projector headlamp la.. reflector type mostly no issue..
ChuanHong
post May 21 2017, 11:17 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(Yoooo @ May 21 2017, 03:41 PM)
Yup, you are right. but my SC technician just installed it as long as got light.
Supposing to be fixed it like photo 2, but some people just fixed it as long as got light is ON.
I found if not fixed like photo 2, the clip of the light bulb will be difficult to be clipped in or open.
Btw, I got cross check with my friend who drive the Turbo Preve about 2 yrs time, her H7 bulb is still working from the day 1 receiving her car.
My is CFE Preve. Don't know whether Proton make anything different between the Turbo and CFE or not.
Just use the step to start car. Press 1 button, then brake and press again.. a lot of people recommend press twice before brake pedal..
ChuanHong
post May 24 2017, 10:26 AM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ May 24 2017, 09:10 AM)
Appreciate feedback from those who are experiencing or have experienced this problem.

Now my auto screen wiper will cut in now and then even during sunny dry days.

I cleaned my screen yesterday and hope that will stop it.

Or is it some electronic problem in this auto setup?

try to adjust the sensitivity?!
ChuanHong
post May 24 2017, 02:39 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ May 24 2017, 10:42 AM)
Sensitivity is at its lowest.

Looked up the web on how it works. It uses LED light. On clear days, the light will be reflected back from the screen and the sensor will see most of the reflected light.

When there is water on the screen, some of the LED light will be refracted and thus less light will be reflected back to the sensor, thus telling it there is water (rain) on the screen.

Think mine is dirty wind screen. Did a better cleaning and hope no more of this annoying wiper activation. Ha.

Wife thinks it is related to when the left or right signal light is activated. Sometimes it happened when she activated the signal light but not always. Cannot be unless someone changes the program inside or some cross linking of the signal wires. Highly unlikely.
Erm if there's some watermarks on windscreen might trigger the auto wiper. Not dry completely or different temperature between inside my car and outside will create water vapor. Auto wiper will keep trigger and wipe windscreen
ChuanHong
post May 31 2017, 12:30 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(kitiii @ May 29 2017, 12:46 AM)
hi. i want to upgrade my car from myvi to preve. however, im thinking about buying 2nd hand preve turbo version. the question is, is it any problem with turbo version or should i go normal version for 2nd hand car? top speed for non turbo version is?

its really helped if someone can briefly provided some information for both version performance. thanks in advance biggrin.gif
have to understand your objective to change car and priority..

speed? safety? handling? spacious? boot space??

2nd preve turbo should be fine if year 2014 & above.. which come with 6 airbags and newer CVT gearbox (VT3+ with blue tag). if Preve CFE which is earlier batch come with 4 airbags with VT3 gearbox.. i will suggest the first one..

between Turbo and Non-Turbo, the diff are engine, HU (lousy touchscreen), automatic wipe, headlamp, cruise control & etc... but safety features are same at all.. performance wise, definitely turbo provide better acceleration.. but top speed, i guess not much difference..
ChuanHong
post Jun 9 2017, 11:41 AM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(ThisWorldisWeird @ Jun 9 2017, 08:54 AM)
Hello~ some questions I have here for my Preve

1. I finished my 100k service, 5 years also over. Wanna look for a good and not cutthroat price service center since warranty already over, any recommendations? (Klang/Shah Alam/Subang).

2. Wanna change all 4 tyres, Conti CC6 reviews seem very good. What's the usual price ah for Preve rim size?
using michelin primacy 3ST.. good and like it.. quiet tyre.. price around 360~400..
ChuanHong
post Jun 14 2017, 10:11 AM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

im driving through penang second bridge daily with 100km/h or 110km/h most of time.. i managed to get 70km/ RM10 or more..

basically depend on traffic condition and your driving speed. for me, if i have 50km/rm10 i'm fine.. which this translate to 10km/1litre of petrol.. quite good in C segment car especially our preve turbo have weight of 1370kg

recent travelling from KL selangor PJ SS2 area to penang states with around 335km distance with rm45 petrol ron95 only..

This post has been edited by ChuanHong: Jun 14 2017, 10:15 AM
ChuanHong
post Jul 8 2017, 07:20 AM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(axsatr @ Jul 3 2017, 08:53 AM)
Yup, had one for 1 year+ (about 35k kms)
FC is good, my average is 8 lit/100 kms
Best FC so far is 6.1 lit/100 kms (about 90% highway at 100-110 km/h)

Oh my normal average FC includes daily drive in town with slow traffic, minimal jams, and weekend highway drive at speeds of 140-170 km/h...so it could be better actually if you're better at controlling your right foot

The car is also very quiet, no CVT droning. Only slight wind noise from the rear left door (replaced the power window rubber assembly but problem is still there, no problem from other doors)

Rattling for me was minimal too, but there's one rattling from the meter on hot days with bad roads. Day to day driving is good

But my car had a problem where sometimes the engine just doesn't wanna start. It takes anywhere between 2-5 tries to start it.

Had brake judder and their replaced my discs FOC

For service, don't get conned like me, proton normally says only full synthetic can service 10k, but I can assure you that's nonsense. In the service booklet also says 10W-30 Syntium 800 for 10k kms.

For a period of time, there was ESC warning light (maybe one week), tire pressure was okay, and the suddenly one day the problem just went away on its own.

The clutch operation is also very good. The clutch is decently light (not too light) and not tiring. I once got stuck in a 12 hour jam during raya, but my legs were still okay.

The gear at first will be tighter, and grinds when you select first or reverse. Sometimes, it just wouldn't select reverse, but this is normal, after a few weeks it will get much better. Now no more grinding or gear tak masuk.

It's also very easy to crawl in jams, the engine won't judder or stall if you let go clutch without pressing throttle.

Something to get used to is the clutch/throttle feel. The throttle is drive-by-wire and it's tuned to be "heavier" or eco. So just press more if you want the power. And mine gear 1 no power, but gear 2 suddenly a lot of power. It's weird but you'll get used to it

The car will go up Genting/Cameron with ease, Karak you could do Gear 3-4 depending on your speed, Gear 5 is too heavy and your engine will be lugging.

RPM
100 - 2.5k
110 - 2.7k
120 - 2.9k
170 - 4.2k
If you don't mind driving a manual, and an older car like preve, then go for it. Protons manual is really good as far I know.

Parents have a first generation 2008 Proton Persona manual. Still haven't changed clutch/pressure plate assembly until today. The pressure plate is more likely to be very badly worn, since the clutch pedal is stupidly heavy, but it still works!
The rear door wind noise u can settle it by apply gam permanently.. Apply at thr edge of rubber..mine fixed like that.

Esc light, go to sc and change brake switch.
ChuanHong
post Jul 8 2017, 09:46 AM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(xphr3ak @ Jul 8 2017, 08:05 AM)
1. Can you share some photos?
2. What kind of gam you used?

Any super glue will do the job.. how I found this, I use something like play doh to do testing. Top 2 corner will get the noise disappeared.

Attached sample of the edge of that small rear window..

ChuanHong
post Jul 12 2017, 04:49 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(jmas @ Jul 10 2017, 03:56 PM)
Hi Guys, I am getting my first car and now targeting to get Preve. Want to ask:
1) Is it true that there is multiple "versions" of Preve? ie. built 2017 vs 2016?
2) If there is, is the car better now comparing to older "versions"?
3) Is it true that Proton car will start rattling after 3yrs?
4) Lastly, do you still recommend Preve to new drivers?
1. first batch of Preve vs updated.. example CFE vs TURBO.. and latest variants of preve all come with 6 airbags vs 2 airbags below CFE and 4 airbags for CFE
2. not sure the definition of better.. most importantly, u should consider whether it is the car that u want from different aspect. preve aim for safety, spacious, handling.. TURBO is not for racing, but to assist in fuel consumption.
3. very hard to say.. but luckily mine dont have.. except the rear C pillar windows wind noise.. but settled it easily by DIY. also, changed engine mounting through warranty at around 40k mileage.
4. if u are new drivers with skills then no issue.. btw, any drivers can drive preve in normal situation.. only those situation like deep slope which need some basic knowledge.. handbrake, release brake, press pedal & release handbrake..

if u are constant highway driver, u can get 12~13km/l or below 8l per 100km.. if you are heavy city driver with a lot of jam, pls do expect 10l~12l per 100km (depending on how bad is the condition).

this is my opinion.. im driving preve 2014 with turbo badge. i suggest to get any with year 2014 onwards are fine. at least turbo variant come with newer gearbox like suprima VT3+ (blue tag).. really a lot quieter than previous version.
ChuanHong
post Jul 12 2017, 05:23 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(aureliux @ Jul 12 2017, 05:07 PM)
Hi all,

I m planning to get a new car - Preve Turbo variant to be exact. I have a question as the sales personal offer me 2 option:
a) Manufacturing year 2016 with RM6000 dicount + 5 years maintenance OR
b) Manufacturing year 2017 with RM 2000 discount + 5 years maintenace.

Which is a better choice?
Thanks for the advice in advance.
maintenance normally in voucher form which cover engine oil (mineral oil type), oil filter, air filter & labours.. around rm170 each.. but can further ask with your SA.. for me i dont mind to choose older year.. since car is depreciating item.. but it depend on u..

QUOTE(jmas @ Jul 12 2017, 05:17 PM)
Thanks! Initially I went to showroom for New Persona, tested Persona and Iriz (Preve took out for roadshow), going back to test it this sat.
Both me n GF is more skewed to getting Preve Turbo now, since more spacious inside. Definitely getting new car, just dont know which manufacturing year (2016/17).
Which center offer this deal? 6k discount is very tempting. drool.gif
persona also a not bad car in my opinion.. just the design are depending.. however no difference to me.. i knew from year 2015 end onwards, turbo variant come with newer HU, blaukpunkt if not mistaken.. better version than older one.. u can update the map personally.. also can install rear reverse camera with third party.. (need appropriate socket only)

ChuanHong
post Jul 12 2017, 05:46 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(jmas @ Jul 12 2017, 05:35 PM)
Persona problem for us is space, we both feel abit claustrophobic in Persona, like suffocating.
He in PJ? I will find you for contact if cant get better offer.
IMHO, if company paying with no strings attached, I wont care of the discount and go for the newer car.
no doubt preve have more spacious interior.. can sit 2 to 3 adults at rear seat with comfort legroom and shoulder.. but also depend on the size as well.. but so far, my family, friends & colleague didnt complaint about this.. only those drive expensive car will complaint the seat material only.. but its okay.. do whatever we are affordable..
ChuanHong
post Jul 14 2017, 12:12 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(Turbopower @ Jul 14 2017, 10:25 AM)
PLEASE SOMEONE...ANYONE... HOW TO USE THE S GEAR... HOW BEST TO USE IT. WHEN TO USE IT? PLEASE NEED HELP.
not really need to use S gear unless u want more aggressive reaction from engine..

u can test yourself.. and i dont think it will efficient like D mode.. probably use S gear only during hill climb

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0327sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:38 AM