Proton Prevé V23, Livin la vida loca

ChuanHong
post Sep 15 2020, 09:31 AM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(clockpulses @ Sep 14 2020, 10:42 AM)
The shop at my hometown abit far.

My mechanic here suggest to do high speed balancing.

Is this okay with the Preve? Dont want it to mess up the cvt
same as other forumer mentioned above.. not recommend to do on wheel balancing.. just need to get an experienced worker to help on fixing it.. i have found few in penang which can adjust my preve balancing and alignment nice nice.. if feel not ok, go back the shop next day or next few days.. they fix it again for FOC..

dont change whatever camber etc... once changed u are gone.. okay.. btw my preve alignment never go to 0 based on machine.. definitely will off based on orginal setting.. if u do alignment and balancing in proton SC (provided you do not have bodykit or skirting), they will never ask u to change camber.. LOL..

some other shop alignment machine software might be out to date.. balancing stuffs may fall off just 1 day.. just try to figure out at nearby tyre shop with good review lo..
ChuanHong
post Sep 18 2020, 09:22 AM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(fix24311 @ Sep 17 2020, 12:51 AM)

I watched above YouTube and it got me thinking. What is the best aftermarket engine mounting for our cars?
Anyone saw this "poly" bushing mounting for Preve before?  hmm.gif
original mounting should be sufficient.. price is not that expensive.. wear and tears part.. normally i just hv to change engine mounting (1pcs) only.. total mounting i believe there are 4.. but normally they changed 1 for me.. rm150 and below... no more shaking during idle.. i could detect even very subtle/minor vibration.. most likely every 60k we could change once.. but some people cant even notice that vibration at early stage.. 60k mileage about 3 years.. if less driving, maybe 5 years change once? i think its okay
ChuanHong
post Sep 29 2020, 09:31 AM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(clockpulses @ Sep 28 2020, 04:02 PM)
Done the normal balancing and alignment.

But still got minor vibration on steering wheel. When i let go my hand, still going left

They said my steering rack problematic.

Beside changing the steering rack, should i try changing the rack bush, under tie rod, and the tour road end

Got rattle sound when i turn right at low speed too
steering rack bush is okay to change as it is wear and tears stuffs..

normally sure will going to left a bit as normal highways road should be designed in that way.. cause water drain thingy.. you may get tyreman to help adjust for highway ride.. they might tweak it a little bit so u wont feel it..

your steering wheel vibration is during idle mode or driving at 110km/h or certain speed?
ChuanHong
post Dec 18 2020, 08:44 AM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(clockpulses @ Dec 17 2020, 10:48 PM)
Found your post after searching. Which one did you change bro usually?  Rear, front?
CVT mounting.. i searched back my service history..description is BRKT ASSY, TM MTG CVT; T/M MOUNTING REPLACEMENT

basically let proton technician test drive and check for you.. mine one last year have 1 recalled part for CVT damper if not mistaken.. so after they took off the things and reinstall back, i felt the vibration.. so i decided to change CVT mounting..

just around RM150 things.. to me it is okay to change rather than have little vibration..

This post has been edited by ChuanHong: Dec 18 2020, 08:46 AM
ChuanHong
post Dec 21 2020, 10:27 AM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(clockpulses @ Dec 18 2020, 11:27 AM)
Thanks bro. Is rm150 include labour cost?

My case is a little diffetent. I already change almost all suspension parts, even the brake caliper pin but still have noises on uneven road (kruk krak) on left side, not lower arm for sure coz already changed and kok sound after bump somewhere is centre. And banging sound when i stopping the car. But the vibration also got but not much.

Last year i changed the engine mounting TCA brand, abit regret it, the left n right mount still in good condition. Only the black colour mount worn out a bit. This time will change one mount only first.

Few months back i drove over a very huge pothole, after that all these nonsense and weird noises came out which still cant be solved yet
your casing is not mounting issue ba.. mounting is for vibration during idle mode.. is there any items inside drawer? in my car, i have a place a rubber mat in all drawer or location that i will put an items.. so it will not cause the noise that item hitting the rubber case. if drove over pothole, try to look at your absorber, wheel bearing, and tyres..

This post has been edited by ChuanHong: Dec 21 2020, 10:27 AM
ChuanHong
post Dec 21 2020, 10:28 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(clockpulses @ Dec 21 2020, 08:49 PM)
Thabks for your reply

I dis remove all items inside drawer and test drive, nope the sound was not from the drawer, it was from the wheel. I changed all things already except for wheel bearing. Looks like i have to spend again haih looks like neverending
wheel bearing can be check by any tyre shop.. or go abck to proton sc and let them do inspection.. cause noise is something hard to fix without knowing root cause..
ChuanHong
post Feb 11 2021, 05:17 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Feb 11 2021, 03:20 PM)
Hi guys, my preve suddenly the temperature rise to 6 bar, then aircon feel hot, but it is like awhile only then the temp drop back. I send workshop they say no issue with fan. Radiator water still have, so not sure wat is the problem. I tried flushing of the radiator coolant, now still have the problem but also awhile only. Not until overheat. Could it be the relay problem?
Fan motor might causing issue or weaker.. sometimes might not running which will cause temperature increases.

If genuine part will change entire fan + motor with bracket. Total about 6xx to 7xx.. my 7 years cars.. got this issue and recently have relay issue. Changed entire fusebox and it cause another 5xx to 6xx.. then starter motor can't start engine another 5xx..
ChuanHong
post Feb 12 2021, 11:38 AM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Feb 11 2021, 06:04 PM)
ouch, mine is 9 yrs.. tat day i send to my notmal workshop they checked all okay. But they did not do electrical check, probably tat one need to go aircond service centre? If relay issue, will cause problem to the car temp increase? How about car thermostat? Cos i heard my dad say older car people tends to remove the thermostat terus which cause the car fan to owes turn on, but intro another issue, car engine too cold.

Another thing is, possibly the fan motor connection loose? Cos i wan see wat can i buy lol.. ori too exp..
Where got people remove thermostat one.. usually when temperatures increase once a while mean fan issue. Sometimes works. Sometimes didn't work.. once change then it's should be ok Ady..
ChuanHong
post Feb 13 2021, 02:40 AM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Feb 12 2021, 07:15 PM)
Thats wat my dad told me, cos normally thermostat spoilt then fan wont run, so they wan get rid of tis to make sure fan owes run.

U know la, old ppl de thing, they most don like sensor one.
If you go back to proton and they will do inspection whether your fan motor is strong enough.. but genuine part is entire set of fan with bracket. 6 months warranty..

But want save cost then go external shop and change only motor. Usually no warranty but at least save half price..
ChuanHong
post Apr 9 2021, 09:12 AM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(deepan84 @ Mar 3 2021, 10:36 AM)
fair point.. but reason i bought the preve was due to affordability. It became expensive towards the end of life. and i wouldnt have been able to afford repairing the CVT/Turbo. sold it and now waiting for Honda City to arrive.
assuming after 7~8 years then only get fan motor broken, ok la.. RM700 is entire set of fan including bracket.. some shop they are okay to just change OEM fan motor itself only..

so far i have faced fan motor, engine starter... the rest like engine oil, car battery, OCH, all are consider as maintenance as usual..

if finished paid i will just keep it as backup car.. why sold.. paid for installment many years and sold in cheap price.. not worth la..
ChuanHong
post Apr 9 2021, 09:22 AM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(deepan84 @ Apr 9 2021, 09:16 AM)
My car kept dying when at standstill. Especially when approaching traffic light. Even the SC is trying and testing every part without guarantee it’s the solution. Can’t afford to keep repairing la. And the gearbox I suspect was beginning to show signs of age. Repairing the gearbox and turbo will again cost a bomb.
oo.. kept dying.. hmmm.. i dont have this issue with my 7years+ turbo preve yet..

Mine is year 2014 with turbo (CVT3+, blue tag).. if you are getting red tag gearbox then... ya sell it then.. =)
ChuanHong
post May 18 2023, 08:49 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(henry@lyn @ Apr 16 2023, 12:10 PM)
I've noticed my Proton Preve 2015  engine roar is worryingly loud when going downhill.The only way to reduce the engine noise is to manually upshift to higher gear or step on the accelerator. It is not  comfortable to drive due to the loud noise and also dangerous as have to use accelerator and then brake quickly just before a sharp bend especially when going down Genting Highlands.

Is this normal?

I checked with SC and ask if anything to do with CVT i.e. wrong gear selection or update firmware but was told it is normal.
engine braking.. it is fine for me and i think it is a safety feature to me.. cause i could maintain my car speed during downhill without over heat my brake pad.. but of course you could upshift the gear by paddle shift (turbo) to the speed limit you feel you can control.. genting maybe 30~40km/h (gear 3), ipoh hill highways maybe 80km/h (gear 5) as example..

yes sounds annoying but i think it is good..
ChuanHong
post Apr 4 2024, 03:08 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

after 10 years of ownerships, the car still solid.. engine mounting changed, timing belt & tensioner done..

absorber havent change.. brake pad only changed once (after MCO seldom drive car cause wfh till now)..

good to drive Preve except CVT whining sounds/road noise.. even i changed quiet tyres still same.. new VIOS also have same noise.. so okay la.. continue to drive my Preve Turbo..

the only cons is that petrol fuel consumption is not that good in city driving.. Around RM10 for every 40km.. maybe it's time to change spark plug & fuel pump..
ChuanHong
post Jan 2 2025, 01:43 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Aug 12 2024, 05:01 PM)
My preve aircond now not cold and suspect is climate control system faulty. Keep getting tak tak sound i think is the vent servo motor unable to reset. Damn so many prob duno how to solve lol
pull the wire behind the left knob of AC controller.. hmm contrl the flap of AC direction one.. then no more tak tak sounds.. u are right, the motor.. not worth to change it as it need to take off entire dashboard if not mistakne.. just knee down from driver side go behind there unplug the connector.. make sure u change to the direction you like for example face direciton blowing only then unplug it..
ChuanHong
post Jan 20 2025, 08:52 AM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jan 18 2025, 02:32 PM)
Change the whole aircond switch and blower and all working now. But aircond seems not working. Mean no cold air, probably no more gas. But my aircond vent the small tab to hold the louvre is missing.. dunno where can buy that small piece lol. Cant find in shopee
woo.. high cost.. air cond not cold could be many reason..

difficult for small pieces.. can try on subsale or those selling dismantled parts shop then for those after accident and total lost cars.. they selling parts..

touch wood mine all good except recent there is some oil leak.. suspect flywheel oil seal there.. need to leave car for days.. just leave it first.. mayb after CNY only consider..
ChuanHong
post Jan 20 2025, 08:53 AM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jan 18 2025, 02:32 PM)
Change the whole aircond switch and blower and all working now. But aircond seems not working. Mean no cold air, probably no more gas. But my aircond vent the small tab to hold the louvre is missing.. dunno where can buy that small piece lol. Cant find in shopee
woo.. high cost.. air cond not cold could be many reason..

difficult for small pieces.. can try on subsale or those selling dismantled parts shop then for those after accident and total lost cars.. they selling parts..

touch wood mine all good except recent there is some oil leak.. suspect flywheel oil seal there.. need to leave car for days.. just leave it first.. mayb after CNY only consider..

7 Pages « < 5 6 7Top

0.1258sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:23 PM