Motorcyclist Thread V2 !

Oyaji
post Sep 21 2007, 10:06 PM

516 posts

Hi, I'm riding a honda wave (early version) and I would like to know

1.how much the cost of converting the front drum brake to disc brake

2.What is the best size for the front tyre. Right now I using a big tyre pretty much like the dunlop tt and the handling suffers a bit especially when riding at slow speed and while carrying passenger. What tyre do you recommend?

3. What is the best rear shock absorber for my bike. of course, it must be affordable. right now I'm using rm 30 china made shock absorber and everytime when I try to turn or taking corners I feel like it start to lose some balance a bit.
long3016
post Sep 21 2007, 10:25 PM

568 posts

i thinking if ur bike original dont have disc brake then convert to disc brake. that should be illegal against laws.

the tyre depend. normally i use 70/80 for front n rear. i use duro. its quite ok. but coming to raining day, it will slip. the motor slow when u carry a passenger maybe due to the setting of ur sprocket ratio. different sprocket for different purpose. for carry passenger n pickup u maybe need to change to bigger size. for the top speed, u need to change to small size.

the absorber i not much idea.....

correct me if i was wrong

This post has been edited by long3016: Sep 21 2007, 10:25 PM
Oyaji
post Sep 21 2007, 11:05 PM

516 posts

i thinking if ur bike original dont have disc brake then convert to disc brake. that should be illegal against laws.
Really? Eventhough it is meant to improve the motorcycle braking capabilities?

Have you guys noticed that there is a trend to have a NOS like sound on motorcycles when braking? What are your opinions about it? For me it's kinda like annoying and stupid. mad.gif
wevilli
post Sep 21 2007, 11:15 PM

noob fella
867 posts

QUOTE(byfc2010 @ Sep 21 2007, 09:57 PM)
ohx...
it's the clutch plate lar...
thx...
when i start it n leave the motor oso it will die off wor sumtimes...
related to clutch plate ah?
that why i m asking you ... when your bike is not moving.. then when you enter 1st gear .. it will die off ?

if not.. it is not the clutch plate. Need more information .. more details like... before this you dint touch your engine setting ( carburator, etc )

what is the situation ? cold start ?
byfc2010
post Sep 21 2007, 11:34 PM

947 posts

QUOTE(wevilli @ Sep 21 2007, 11:15 PM)
that why i m asking you ... when your bike is not moving.. then when you enter 1st gear .. it will die off ?

if not.. it is not the clutch plate.  Need more information .. more details like...  before this you dint touch your engine setting ( carburator, etc )

what is the situation ? cold start ?
not cold start d...
mostly stop at traffic light...
it doesn't die off immediately...
die after a while shift to 1st if din move or when wan start moving...
sent to formen be4...
he change the slide needle...
then cold start very easy to start...
rpm sounds smooth...
bt still same problem...
be4 changing spark plug n slide needle rpm wasn't smooth...
StarNet
post Sep 21 2007, 11:38 PM

retired overclocker(tm)
3,140 posts

everybody here pls beware... double lock ur bike... my lovely EX5 has juz being stolen at bukit jalil vista komanwell block B !! sad.gif number plate AFF 8675 ... anybody there if see this bike around can let me knw asap ...

This post has been edited by StarNet: Sep 21 2007, 11:38 PM
wevilli
post Sep 21 2007, 11:53 PM

noob fella
867 posts

QUOTE(Oyaji @ Sep 21 2007, 10:06 PM)
Hi, I'm riding a honda wave (early version) and I would like to know

1.how much the cost of converting the front drum brake to disc brake

2.What is the best size for the front tyre. Right now I using a big tyre pretty much like the dunlop tt and the handling suffers a bit especially when riding at slow speed and while carrying passenger. What tyre do you recommend?

3. What is the best rear shock absorber for my bike. of course, it must be affordable. right now I'm using rm 30 china made shock absorber and everytime when I try to turn or taking corners I feel like it start to lose some balance a bit.
Q1
Depends on your product. If you choose expensive goods of course going to cost allot ... definately more than RM 1K. If you use china brand ones... it will be under RM 350 ! My advice is get Japan made pump ... and you can use Thailand made quality calipers ! DONT use china made one. doh.gif

Q2
my recommendation is ... front tire use 70/80 dunlop TT 900 or Michelin Pilot (2.25 or 2.50). Front tyre normally will last you dman long compared to rear tyre. If you suffer from speed.. then you can get a smaller size tire. Dont worry front tyre also wont easily get punchure.

Q3
You can find allot of absorber range in the spart spart shops. Gas absorbers do provide better handling. Trust me. If you use normal absorbers ...when you take corner fast around 90kmj .. when the road is not smooth... the bike rear will go down and the absorber will push back then.. you will feel the bike "buang". If use gas absorbers the respond of pushing back will be slower resulting better handling.
ok... find a motor with gas absorbers... sit on it... and push it down.. then you see the respond. You will find the answer

PLEASE check your rim the |||| dont know call what.... see picture below... must be tight so that high speed connering more stable. IF not get sport rim... thumbup.gif

some one can teach me how to put the picture here ? the picture is way down below cry.gif i m soooo noob

Added on September 22, 2007, 12:02 am
QUOTE(byfc2010 @ Sep 21 2007, 11:34 PM)
not cold start d...
mostly stop at traffic light...
it doesn't die off immediately...
die after a while shift to 1st if din move or when wan start moving...
sent to formen be4...
he change the slide needle...
then cold start very easy to start...
rpm sounds smooth...
bt still same problem...
be4 changing spark plug n slide needle rpm wasn't smooth...
ok friend... what i can tell you here ... IF your motor is in good condition since you said that he tune your engine smooth already... i can assure you that it is comfirm is the clutch plate. Go get it tune. If cannot tune , then it because it is maximum already.. you need to change it.. NO DOUBT.

It is around RM 8 per piece. You need 4 pieces. so around RM 36 and work manship around RM 20 ( i guess)

The needle is original one or a new one ? He change the whole needle or just change the position of the pin ?
my advice dont change the needle.. stick to factory setting. the needle pin should be in the middle... based on your story.. cold start easy.. because he had set the pin up one level.

if you change the clutch plate.. please ask the machanic to check the auto-clutch also.. 80% will wear off also ! 100% comfirm !

Added on September 22, 2007, 12:08 am
QUOTE(StarNet @ Sep 21 2007, 11:38 PM)
everybody here pls beware... double lock ur bike... my lovely EX5 has juz being stolen at bukit jalil vista komanwell block B !! sad.gif  number plate AFF 8675 ... anybody there if see this bike around can let me knw asap ...
sorry to hear that....

normally hard to get back... people will keep the motor and open up all the parts to be used in illegal racing.

the crankshaft is most presious. MOD to FULL clutch + J*** **d... bike will fly.. and normally will break into 2 pieces.. that why people steal motor and take engine parts.

my bike also "A" plate.. my bike - AEF **** biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by wevilli: Sep 22 2007, 12:15 AM
TSAdvanz
post Sep 22 2007, 12:17 AM

669 posts

sorry to hear that, StarNet.... its kinda sad la if ur bike kena stolen..btw, ur bike kena stolen inside vista komanwel block B or what ? btw, my bike oso start with A too....." AFS xxxx" .... smile.gif
StarNet
post Sep 22 2007, 12:45 AM

retired overclocker(tm)
3,140 posts

QUOTE(Advanz @ Sep 22 2007, 01:17 AM)
sorry to hear that, StarNet.... its kinda sad la if ur bike kena stolen..btw, ur bike kena stolen inside vista komanwel block B or what ? btw, my bike oso start with A too....." AFS xxxx" .... smile.gif
inside vista komanwel lor.. duno wat the hell the security doing... when asking them got c a EX5 anot they said duno cos they're new here... shitttt... i got abit suspect is those security do it...
long3016
post Sep 22 2007, 12:59 AM

568 posts

my hometown near to u only. sorry to heard that ur bike has been steal
2kia
post Sep 22 2007, 01:01 AM

Custom member title?
1,985 posts

QUOTE(StarNet @ Sep 22 2007, 12:45 AM)
inside vista komanwel lor.. duno wat the hell the security doing... when asking them got c a EX5 anot they said duno cos they're new here... shitttt... i got abit suspect is those security do it...
sorry to hear of your loss..

but if you suspect smthg amiss bout the security, do tell the police...
StarNet
post Sep 22 2007, 02:03 AM

retired overclocker(tm)
3,140 posts

QUOTE(2kia @ Sep 22 2007, 02:01 AM)
sorry to hear of your loss..

but if you suspect smthg amiss bout the security, do tell the police...
yup... i told the sarjan juz now... he still ask me b... "mau saya tangkap dia org ke ? nanti bawah dia orang pergi mahkamah..." den i said dun need 1st cos no prove ... doh.gif
TSAdvanz
post Sep 22 2007, 05:20 AM

669 posts

talk bout this vista guard fellas...they all no use one lar...they all hire duno what ppl and guard the surrounding....even last time my bike got pecah oso, ask the guard..the guard fella say duno....and can't even speak properly....and it seems that the vista security there not secured.....most of the people can go in and out easily...
byfc2010
post Sep 22 2007, 07:40 AM

947 posts

ok friend... what i can tell you here ... IF your motor is in good condition since you said that he tune your engine smooth already... i can assure you that it is comfirm is the clutch plate. Go get it tune. If cannot tune , then it because it is maximum already.. you need to change it.. NO DOUBT.

It is around RM 8 per piece. You need 4 pieces. so around RM 36 and work manship around RM 20 ( i guess)

The needle is original one or a new one ? He change the whole needle or just change the position of the pin ?
my advice dont change the needle.. stick to factory setting. the needle pin should be in the middle... based on your story.. cold start easy.. because he had set the pin up one level.

if you change the clutch plate.. please ask the machanic to check the auto-clutch also.. 80% will wear off also ! 100% comfirm !

oh ok...
thx...
btw i not sure bout the pin...
seems tat he had changed a RM25 slide needle...
the label is
"slide needle assy
EX5
(racing design)"
my father bring my motor to repair so i duno anything...
btw, the formen say if not the needle problem he will replace bac my stock one...

This post has been edited by byfc2010: Sep 22 2007, 12:47 PM
genome
post Sep 22 2007, 01:11 PM

125 posts

hello guys, i wanna you about the absorber gas, i wanted to getone for my lagenda. im using stock absorber, sometime when i take corner feels like rear tyre is slipping on the road, dont know how to describe it. someone say "buang", hahaha..don know the right term to use.first i thought tyre is the problem but i already change the tyre convert to tubeless..prob still there. so i think its the absorber. what is the best absorber? the price?
hihihehe
post Sep 22 2007, 01:43 PM

13,775 posts

QUOTE(StarNet @ Sep 22 2007, 12:45 AM)
sad to heard tht...n i also feel abit suspicious on the security
nk3371
post Sep 22 2007, 02:32 PM

4 only ah?
536 posts

QUOTE(genome @ Sep 22 2007, 01:11 PM)
hello guys, i wanna you about the absorber gas, i  wanted to getone for my lagenda. im using stock absorber, sometime when i take corner feels like rear tyre is slipping on the road, dont know how to describe it. someone say "buang", hahaha..don know the right term to use.first i thought tyre is the problem but i already change the tyre convert to tubeless..prob still there. so i think its the absorber. what is the best absorber? the price?
Have you tried Dunlop T900 tire yet...?
Dunlop T900 is the best low cost tire I've ever used...
If with Dunlop T900 also 'buang' then it is surely the suspension problem...

I've tried Dunlop T900 60/80 at the front and Dunlop T900 70/80 at the back with 125ZR sport rim...
And of course I'm using stock front/rear suspension...
Tried to 'layan lap' until I scratched my single 'tongkat' on the tarmac in 60km/h speed...I'm still on the bike lor.. thumbup.gif
Then I'm using alloy spokes rim + same tyre...even at 40km/h I feel like I'm floating at the same corner... shakehead.gif

So I come with a conclusion that using sport rim is better for 'layan lap'...
That's why most of the cup prix cubs using sport rim...Syok nk layan lap lor...

If you want a better grip, use Brigestone Battlax...The same as cup prix cub's tire...
Rm180 per piece... shocking.gif Not for my level... sweat.gif

For the suspension, now I'm sneaking over the Yamaha Lagenda Limited Edition rear suspension which have the 'gas' tank...
Original KYB Rm120...

This post has been edited by nk3371: Sep 22 2007, 02:34 PM
TSAdvanz
post Sep 22 2007, 02:37 PM

669 posts

btw, anyone here using 3-spoke sport rim for their bikes?
hihihehe
post Sep 22 2007, 02:38 PM

13,775 posts

QUOTE(Advanz @ Sep 22 2007, 02:37 PM)
btw, anyone here using 3-spoke sport rim for their bikes?
i using it few years ago at my rg sports...but only for front..rear just use normal rim

Added on September 22, 2007, 2:59 pm
QUOTE(nk3371 @ Sep 22 2007, 02:32 PM)
Have you tried Dunlop T900 tire yet...?
Dunlop T900 is the best low cost tire I've ever used...
If with Dunlop T900 also 'buang' then it is surely the suspension problem...

I've tried Dunlop T900 60/80 at the front and Dunlop T900 70/80 at the back with 125ZR sport rim...
And of course I'm using stock front/rear suspension...
Tried to 'layan lap' until I scratched my single 'tongkat' on the tarmac in 60km/h speed...I'm still on the bike lor.. thumbup.gif
Then I'm using alloy spokes rim + same tyre...even at 40km/h I feel like I'm floating at the same corner... shakehead.gif

So I come with a conclusion that using sport rim is better for 'layan lap'...
That's why most of the cup prix cubs using sport rim...Syok nk layan lap lor...

If you want a better grip, use Brigestone Battlax...The same as cup prix cub's tire...
Rm180 per piece... shocking.gif Not for my level... sweat.gif

For the suspension, now I'm sneaking over the Yamaha Lagenda Limited Edition rear suspension which have the 'gas' tank...
Original KYB Rm120...
btw i also use dunlop T900 for my 135lc...but i felt tht cornering not so stable...

This post has been edited by hihihehe: Sep 22 2007, 02:59 PM
long3016
post Sep 22 2007, 03:52 PM

568 posts

last time i using tt900. during raining day, sure slip when u take corner.
now using duro tyre.

127 Pages « < 123 124 125 126 127 >Top

0.0264sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:03 PM