Jul 8 2015, 08:07 AM
5,847 posts Joined: Nov 2010 From: Malaysia 🇲🇾 |
Like s'pore would be different all flat charge
Bill Summary Jun 2015 Your current account balance of $150.21 will be due on 14.07.2015 Usage Comparison Your Usage All Neighbours National Average Usage* Usage** Electricity Usage 470 kWh Water Usage 16.5 Cu M We have 3 units Aircon for 1hp x2 units turn on 8 hrs per night, also 1.5hp for around 5 hrs per dally. Water storage tank 25L turn on around 3-4 hrs per day, dryer heat pump daily + FL washer daily + hair dryer + Pana inverter fridge 600L & the rest bla bla. Actually like auto gate non DC & water pump + 2.5hp Aircon may cost you more than average usage Also non LED lighting too This post has been edited by kimsim: Jul 8 2015, 08:10 AM |
Jul 8 2015, 08:17 AM
25,802 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
QUOTE(billylau @ Jul 7 2015, 05:59 PM) Last month 1813 kwh, RM916.92.. You can verify it by checking whether the compressor is running non-stop at full speed.I was suspecting it is my York inverter aircond, the compressor broke down 3 months back, and despite that I still turned it on, and it was not really cooling, so I had to turn on like 24 hours. Do you think this is the culprit? I do have 5 adults living in the unit tho. 1 being my maid. But on weekdays, all 4 of us are not at home till 5pm onward. Things that 24/7 on are my wine chiller, fridge, water dispenser(coway). Inverter that always running 100% full speed, won't save you any power compared to non-inverter. Your maid may switch on the air-cond non-stop when you are not at home. Any appliance involving heat exchange one normally consume plenty of electricity, eg water heater, boiler, air-cond, fridge etc. |
Jul 8 2015, 08:18 AM
1,280 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
some readings
1) Usage Cost of Electrical Appliances at Home http://www.tnb.com.my/residential/energy-s...es-at-home.html 2) energy saving at home http://www.tnb.com.my/tnb/application/uplo...Domestic_EN.pdf 3) how to read your energy meter http://www.tnb.com.my/residential/billing/...ergy-meter.html 4) home enrgy calculator http://hec.tnb.com.my/ This post has been edited by enduser: Jul 8 2015, 09:47 AM |
Jul 8 2015, 08:19 AM
12,019 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(MonsterPips @ Jul 8 2015, 07:38 AM) Do note that tariff increase exponentially. If aircond consume 100kwh and heater also 100kwh,but when total up, you have to pay differently. Kawan, yours is old rate. New Rate is on the Right side. http://www.tnb.com.my/residential/pricing-...riff-rates.html - 301Kwh - 600Kwh is RM 0.516 + 6% GST - 601Kwh - 900Kwh is RM 0.54.60 + 6% GST |
Jul 8 2015, 08:21 AM
QUOTE(kimsim @ Jul 8 2015, 08:07 AM) Like s'pore would be different all flat charge Autogate don't use much electric, where you get the autogate uses lots of energy? A backup battery can last up to 2 days, if it eat energy, you need a car battery for it.Bill Summary Jun 2015 Your current account balance of $150.21 will be due on 14.07.2015 Usage Comparison Your Usage All Neighbours National Average Usage* Usage** Electricity Usage 470 kWh Water Usage 16.5 Cu M We have 3 units Aircon for 1hp x2 units turn on 8 hrs per night, also 1.5hp for around 5 hrs per dally. Water storage tank 25L turn on around 3-4 hrs per day, dryer heat pump daily + FL washer daily + hair dryer + Pana inverter fridge 600L & the rest bla bla. Actually like auto gate non DC & water pump + 2.5hp Aircon may cost you more than average usage Also non LED lighting too Non LED, CFL is way better efficiency compare to LED. Lumen / Watt, LED no where close to CFL. And did you factor in Switching power losses? |
Jul 8 2015, 08:27 AM
QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 8 2015, 08:21 AM) Autogate don't use much electric, where you get the autogate uses lots of energy? A backup battery can last up to 2 days, if it eat energy, you need a car battery for it. Not too sure my close to 10 yrs old auto gate non DC type may drink more energy, has few time the fuse broken end out put few copper wires added for extra power, till now never broken fuse already.Non LED, CFL is way better efficiency compare to LED. Lumen / Watt, LED no where close to CFL. And did you factor in Switching power losses? If not mana boreh tahan, each time come to servicing and pay for Rm80 just change fuse only |
Jul 8 2015, 08:33 AM
QUOTE(kimsim @ Jul 8 2015, 08:27 AM) Not too sure my close to 10 yrs old auto gate non DC type may drink more energy, has few time the fuse broken end out put few copper wires added for extra power, till now never broken fuse already. That is motor issue, noting to do with AC or DC autogate, even DC if motor have issue you will blow the circuit board. My mom house using AC sliding Autogate with two AC motor. Everyday using so many round no issue, and hardly notice any high consumption.If not mana boreh tahan, each time come to servicing and pay for Rm80 just change fuse only |
Jul 8 2015, 08:37 AM
QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 8 2015, 08:33 AM) That is motor issue, noting to do with AC or DC autogate, even DC if motor have issue you will blow the circuit board. My mom house using AC sliding Autogate with two AC motor. Everyday using so many round no issue, and hardly notice any high consumption. But still works fine.. Ya same on both side has motor on ground.Just wait till can't works then replace to DC motor also slient work. |
Jul 8 2015, 08:43 AM
25,802 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
QUOTE(kimsim @ Jul 8 2015, 08:27 AM) Not too sure my close to 10 yrs old auto gate non DC type may drink more energy, has few time the fuse broken end out put few copper wires added for extra power, till now never broken fuse already. Look at wattage of the motor will tell the story how much the motor needs to "drink". If not mana boreh tahan, each time come to servicing and pay for Rm80 just change fuse only Gate motor generally only work for a few second of mins, even the motor is 1000watt (about 1.5hp), it won't consume much electricity bill, as your electricity bill is counted in KWH If total a month time, the motor work for 2 hours, the total consumption will be 2KWH, at the highest rate of 0.546, the bill will be 2 x 0.546 = RM1.09. |
Jul 8 2015, 09:11 AM
QUOTE(cherroy @ Jul 8 2015, 08:43 AM) Look at wattage of the motor will tell the story how much the motor needs to "drink". Wow so cheap only Gate motor generally only work for a few second of mins, even the motor is 1000watt (about 1.5hp), it won't consume much electricity bill, as your electricity bill is counted in KWH If total a month time, the motor work for 2 hours, the total consumption will be 2KWH, at the highest rate of 0.546, the bill will be 2 x 0.546 = RM1.09. |
Jul 8 2015, 10:30 AM
107 posts Joined: May 2012 |
QUOTE(Zot @ Jul 7 2015, 04:48 PM) How many people in your house? Are all the room occupied. If you can use the room downstairs for a while, you can see the difference. Now hot season. It makes it even worse. Actually, night or day, the ceiling in Malaysia is not insulated. The "coldness" loss through conduction is still significant, I believe. The wall is another direct heat radiator. It has no insulation at all Only two rooms occupied plus maid's room which pasang kipas only.Anyone here do ceiling-roof insulation? the 2 rooms I just reset the settings to 26c with lowest fan. I also decided to switch off the water pump at night and only use it during the day. whatever appliances which is plugged but not in use I have unplugged. now I am keeping a log on my usage. I took my tnb meter reading yesterday at 7pm and this morning at 7am. later today will check again reading at 7pm. will do this a few days to have a rough estimate of my usage, then see how or what to cut down. I am also going to keep a log on usage of deep fryer and oven. just for comparison. |
Jul 8 2015, 10:33 AM
QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 7 2015, 05:05 PM) The heat build up in the room during day time will need some energy to cool it down. For me, I have a ventilation fan that usually switch it on to suck the cooler air from outside to my room, than to the roof. This way I cool the roof, and also cool the room before switching on the AC. normal island and peninsular house. I went up to the roof when we did the renovations, no insulation. at that time, no budget for insulation cause of costs overrun and lousy contractors who messed up stuff.If rainy season, I just switch on the open up the windows, Vent + Fan, this will be very cooling. only my bathrooms and kitchen has the ventilation fan. did not think to put it anywhere else. for ventilation, normally what we do is keep the fan on for a short while and open the windows to circulate the air. its not effective but no other way unless I spend big to do ventilation fans and insulation. |
Jul 8 2015, 10:34 AM
QUOTE(billylau @ Jul 7 2015, 05:46 PM) Yea I am facing this bill increase as well. My first two months when I moved in the bill was around 400-500 each month. Just last 3 months, it jumped up to RM1k, RM900, and RM 850 per month... crazy. same billy...my first month bill 586, my second month bill 700 plus. |
Jul 8 2015, 10:57 AM
would there be any difference between a three phase unit and a single phase unit?
Would this have any effect on the bill even though the electrical items used are pretty much the same? |
Jul 8 2015, 11:20 AM
5,867 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
QUOTE(ajai@jakes @ Jul 8 2015, 10:57 AM) would there be any difference between a three phase unit and a single phase unit? Your RM600+ and RM700+ bill are E bill or N bill ?Would this have any effect on the bill even though the electrical items used are pretty much the same? This post has been edited by aeiou228: Jul 8 2015, 11:21 AM |
Jul 8 2015, 11:28 AM
Jul 8 2015, 11:40 AM
QUOTE(ajai@jakes @ Jul 8 2015, 10:57 AM) would there be any difference between a three phase unit and a single phase unit? no diff in terms of tariff used. Just ur advised to upgrade ur power supply to three phase if ur load is exceed 10kW or 50A.Would this have any effect on the bill even though the electrical items used are pretty much the same? This post has been edited by enduser: Jul 8 2015, 11:43 AM |
Jul 8 2015, 11:41 AM
Jul 8 2015, 11:49 AM
QUOTE(ajai@jakes @ Jul 8 2015, 10:33 AM) normal island and peninsular house. I went up to the roof when we did the renovations, no insulation. at that time, no budget for insulation cause of costs overrun and lousy contractors who messed up stuff. Perhaps you want to monitor how your maid use electricity, is your fridge regularly open for long? And you have any PC running for long hours? only my bathrooms and kitchen has the ventilation fan. did not think to put it anywhere else. for ventilation, normally what we do is keep the fan on for a short while and open the windows to circulate the air. its not effective but no other way unless I spend big to do ventilation fans and insulation. Sometime small things will add up. e.g. - if you have downlight of 2 bulbs, it take say 36watt, and switching on for 1 month will use minimal 27 units of electric. - cctv, one unit is about 5watt, if you have 4 units is about 20watt, and switch on for 1 month will use about 15 units. DVR may take up another 10 units. - Vacuum if use 2 hours a week, it may take up to 8 units a month. |
| Change to: | 0.0287sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:10 AM |