QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 8 2015, 01:47 PM)
This will required special piping, or use instant water heater that usually don't give you good rain shower pressure.
sorry cant understand lol..got example?
Electricity consumption, Query
Jul 8 2015, 01:49 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
21,962 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: KL |
Jul 8 2015, 01:52 PM
107 posts Joined: May 2012 |
QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 8 2015, 01:38 PM) flash toilet, shower (mind you, rain shower), wash dishes, preparing food, wash car, mop floor, boil water....let's assume pump running on average 100min a day and it's a 700w pump, then the monthly additional energy cost + GST + 1.6% KWTBB is around RM20 my water pump is 500wattagreed on the suggestions given by everyone. will most probably off the water pump and only use it for the rain shower |
Jul 8 2015, 01:55 PM
QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jul 8 2015, 01:49 PM) my rain shower is 15 inch by 15 inch for 1 head. I have two shower heads.so I needed to change all the piping to make sure sufficient water flow and add a water pump so gain optimum use of the rain shower. as for the water pump, there are smaller water pump that may be suited for just a rain shower, but my water pump connects to all my bathrooms upstairs. the instant water heater will give you hot water, but it cannot be considered as a rain shower and may not have enough pressure. This post has been edited by ajai@jakes: Jul 8 2015, 01:57 PM |
Jul 8 2015, 01:56 PM
5,847 posts Joined: Nov 2010 From: Malaysia 🇲🇾 |
Jul 8 2015, 01:58 PM
Jul 8 2015, 02:01 PM
QUOTE(PJusa @ Jul 8 2015, 01:27 PM) this might indicate much higher a/c consumption than before due to lack of insulation. try to meter your regular usage for a week as suggested and then try (if you can tahan) one week without any a/c. compare the figures to find out your a/c portion of the bill. don't think I can live without air conditioning for a week.1200 units is a lot. i a/c 24/7 (but insulated very well) and use all appliances (washing machine, dishwasher, pc, fridges, tv, etc etc.) in approx. 9 units per day per 1000 sqft living space (ceiling height is 12 ft). thats an average for hot/cold season over a couple of years. but this is running all on as energy efficient appliances as i can find (LED lights, inverter a/c, AAA+ or higher rating). if you calculate the volume of your house (and maybe the old) you can also get an estimation of how much A/C you probably need by default. then the lack of shading etc. will greatly increase concumption too. in terms of trees providing shading, that will not happen so soon. as to calculate the volume of my house..i am not a technical person nor am I good with numbers. |
Jul 8 2015, 02:05 PM
QUOTE(ajai@jakes @ Jul 8 2015, 01:58 PM) If you want do accurate m, just list down from 1 day operate from each electronic items wastage.Such as Aircon Hair Dryer Cloths dryer Water pump Fridge Washer Electric teapot & water boiler else Add electric cooker This post has been edited by kimsim: Jul 8 2015, 02:05 PM |
Jul 8 2015, 03:46 PM
2,031 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PJ |
QUOTE(ajai@jakes @ Jul 8 2015, 02:01 PM) don't think I can live without air conditioning for a week. then at least do it for a day when its not too hot and not too cold so you can an estimate. there is no way around if you really want to know. alternative you can buy voltmeter(s) to plug between the power points and gather data. if you want consumption to go down or find the culprit you need to be willing to search for it.in terms of trees providing shading, that will not happen so soon. as to calculate the volume of my house..i am not a technical person nor am I good with numbers. calculate the volume of the house is easy: ceiling height x widh x space of each room in sqft gives cubic feet. you only need to do this for the rooms that you are airconditioning at the moment. open door = adjoining room is also aironditioned. then you do the same for the old place. see how much volume difference you have. this will already give you an idea. for the lack of shading etc. you can possibly also expect that the power needed to cool down to the same temperature caneasily be anywhere between 10-30% more consumption. i am pretty sure its the A/C thats causing the pain. forgot to double check with you: Electrolux clothes dryer = +/-6 hours a week Rubine brand built in oven which I use +/-5 hours a week Deep oil fryer (no brand) which I use +/- 1 hour a day those (same) items you used roughly the same in the old house right? This post has been edited by PJusa: Jul 8 2015, 03:49 PM |
Jul 8 2015, 03:50 PM
QUOTE(ajai@jakes @ Jul 8 2015, 02:01 PM) don't think I can live without air conditioning for a week. The main issue what is the actual temperature are you setting now?in terms of trees providing shading, that will not happen so soon. as to calculate the volume of my house..i am not a technical person nor am I good with numbers. Also how big the room size with the right Aircon now? Just simple list here |
Jul 8 2015, 04:02 PM
QUOTE(PJusa @ Jul 8 2015, 03:46 PM) then at least do it for a day when its not too hot and not too cold so you can an estimate. there is no way around if you really want to know. alternative you can buy voltmeter(s) to plug between the power points and gather data. if you want consumption to go down or find the culprit you need to be willing to search for it. the airconds I consistently use are in the bedrooms, so hardly any open and shut of doors once we sleep.calculate the volume of the house is easy: ceiling height x widh x space of each room in sqft gives cubic feet. you only need to do this for the rooms that you are airconditioning at the moment. open door = adjoining room is also aironditioned. then you do the same for the old place. see how much volume difference you have. this will already give you an idea. for the lack of shading etc. you can possibly also expect that the power needed to cool down to the same temperature caneasily be anywhere between 10-30% more consumption. i am pretty sure its the A/C thats causing the pain. forgot to double check with you: Electrolux clothes dryer = +/-6 hours a week Rubine brand built in oven which I use +/-5 hours a week Deep oil fryer (no brand) which I use +/- 1 hour a day those (same) items you used roughly the same in the old house right? my current bedrooms are about +/-250sqft each. I think the rooms at my old place would be about +/-170sqft. the difference are the air conditioners used. the old condo, I used national brand 1hp non inverter air-conditioners, each maybe about 10 to 12 years old. the temp I used to set was about 21c with the second fan. the new place, I used York 1hp inverters with temp set at 26c with the lowest fan. I am also pretty sure that it is the air conditioning. will have to figure this out soon. the clothes dryer I have reduced usage to about 90% since I am on landed property now. oven was also used at the old condo about the same number of hours. also used the same deep fryer. |
Jul 8 2015, 04:03 PM
QUOTE(kimsim @ Jul 8 2015, 03:50 PM) The main issue what is the actual temperature are you setting now? =/-250 sq ft with 1hp inverter air conditioning set at 26c with the lowest fan.Also how big the room size with the right Aircon now? Just simple list here I also use a ceiling fan at the lowest speed for air circulation. |
Jul 8 2015, 04:05 PM
12,019 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(ajai@jakes @ Jul 8 2015, 04:02 PM) the airconds I consistently use are in the bedrooms, so hardly any open and shut of doors once we sleep. 1HP for 250 sqft is way small leh.my current bedrooms are about +/-250sqft each. I think the rooms at my old place would be about +/-170sqft. the difference are the air conditioners used. the old condo, I used national brand 1hp non inverter air-conditioners, each maybe about 10 to 12 years old. the temp I used to set was about 21c with the second fan. the new place, I used York 1hp inverters with temp set at 26c with the lowest fan. I am also pretty sure that it is the air conditioning. will have to figure this out soon. the clothes dryer I have reduced usage to about 90% since I am on landed property now. oven was also used at the old condo about the same number of hours. also used the same deep fryer. |
Jul 8 2015, 04:09 PM
QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 8 2015, 04:05 PM) well, that is the size of the room before putting in all the built in cabinets, chest of drawers, carpets, queen size beds. so after putting everything in, it should be down to about +/-200 sqft.by the way, I actually brought the air cond supplier to my house to measure the rooms before I bought the air conds and it was based on his advice I bought the 1hp inverters. but lets just say, for argument sake, the air conds are underpowered, it still should not cost more than the non inverter air conds (12 year old) which I set at 21/22c with the second lowest fan right? |
Jul 8 2015, 04:13 PM
Jul 8 2015, 04:14 PM
QUOTE(kimsim @ Jul 8 2015, 04:13 PM) Seriously 250 sq ft = 4.5x 5m wide the right Aircon Hp should be on 1.5hp at least, otherwise may runs non stop. lets just say, for argument sake, the air conds are underpowered, it still should not cost more than the non inverter air conds (12 year old) which I set at 21/22c with the second lowest fan rightCause under size hp |
Jul 8 2015, 04:18 PM
2,031 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PJ |
QUOTE(ajai@jakes @ Jul 8 2015, 04:09 PM) well, that is the size of the room before putting in all the built in cabinets, chest of drawers, carpets, queen size beds. so after putting everything in, it should be down to about +/-200 sqft. ok first of you have rooms which are roughly 20% larger. hence for the same temperature you need factoring in other factors mentioned about 30-40% more cooling power. but the inverter is set to 26° vs. 21° on non-inverter which should totally offset this.by the way, I actually brought the air cond supplier to my house to measure the rooms before I bought the air conds and it was based on his advice I bought the 1hp inverters. but lets just say, for argument sake, the air conds are underpowered, it still should not cost more than the non inverter air conds (12 year old) which I set at 21/22c with the second lowest fan right? 250sqft is no problem for a 1HP aircon if the place is not super-badly insultated. are the rooms under the ceiling (how hot is the ceiling)? this might be a problem. windows - do they leak air a lot? put a power meter between each a/c to see daily consumption to pinpoint. it could be a/c problem (running full force for whatever reason), too much heat from ceiling or walls, bad insulation or all. the other things wont contribute much to justify 40 units a day. i would guesstimate (!!) 10-15, tops 20 units go to ur non-A/C appliances. the rest is A/C. |
Jul 8 2015, 04:20 PM
637 posts Joined: Jul 2010 From: West Malaysia |
That's a huge jump.. in the billing amount.
I know inverters are energy saving but frankly if a air con is underpowered to cool a room, doesn't it require alot of energy to cool a big room that requires adequate HP size? Then it would explain why your bill hiked considering the number of hours it is on and the energy taken to cool the room. |
Jul 8 2015, 04:21 PM
3,000 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: PeeJay |
night time running and temperature setting of 26 deg C..
i am pretty sure the AC can reach the set temperature and the compressor will reduce speed to save power. the fan speed of the AC will not consume much electricity. the main thing is the compressor, but even at 80% running, it'll be around 640W x 10 hours? 6.4kWh.. x 0.5 cents x 30 = RM 96.. try sleeping with your kids 1 night and see read the meter again in the morning! |
Jul 8 2015, 04:26 PM
QUOTE(ajai@jakes @ Jul 8 2015, 04:14 PM) lets just say, for argument sake, the air conds are underpowered, it still should not cost more than the non inverter air conds (12 year old) which I set at 21/22c with the second lowest fan right Ok talk with Aircon for single unit won't cost you more than 300 kWh per monthly, I guess you have others heavy input watt thing or either used too many time of water boiler |
Jul 8 2015, 04:27 PM
QUOTE(PJusa @ Jul 8 2015, 04:18 PM) ok first of you have rooms which are roughly 20% larger. hence for the same temperature you need factoring in other factors mentioned about 30-40% more cooling power. but the inverter is set to 26° vs. 21° on non-inverter which should totally offset this. Based on the York catalogue, the inverter I have is capable of 9100btu, which should be sufficient for a 250sq ft room.250sqft is no problem for a 1HP aircon if the place is not super-badly insultated. are the rooms under the ceiling (how hot is the ceiling)? this might be a problem. windows - do they leak air a lot? put a power meter between each a/c to see daily consumption to pinpoint. it could be a/c problem (running full force for whatever reason), too much heat from ceiling or walls, bad insulation or all. the other things wont contribute much to justify 40 units a day. i would guesstimate (!!) 10-15, tops 20 units go to ur non-A/C appliances. the rest is A/C. you are right, the difference in size, I would think is off set by the setting I put on my current inverter 26c (inverters) as opposed to 21c (old). the windows have black out curtains plus it is only 2 window panes (4ftx2ft I think, I am not too sure), plus its a new house, doubt whether the windows leak. so what exactly shud I be looking at? how many units in total should I basically use in a day considering everything which I have put forward in this forum? I have logged my numbers for 7pm yesterday and 7am today. I will get my number for 7pm today and 7am tomorrow and post it up here to see what my usage is. I hope it is about 40 units a day. if it is 40units a day, what roughly should my tnb bill be for a month? |
| Change to: | 0.0241sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:58 PM |