Travel Cameron Highland, Recommended things to see and do?
etigge
May 21 2010, 03:51 PM

QUOTE(eujin @ May 21 2010, 01:06 PM) how can i go to Cameron in kl?And is it very busy will take the Tapah route? Take the North-South highway. Exit in Tapah, after paying toll, turn left at the traffic light and that's it. You on your way up. The Tapah road although has a lot of bends and hairpin turns, it is faster if you are going to Brinchang or Tanah Rata. The road is not really busy and if you travel on Saturday, it is quite lorry free as most farmers rest on Saturdays, so no delivery. Another alternative is take the NS highway and exit in Simpang Pulai. Pay toll, at the traffic light turn right and at the next traffic light (Simpang Pulai) turn right. This way is easier to drive but a bit further and you reach Kg.Raja first which is the furthest village in C.Highlands and you have back track back to Tanah Rata or Brinchang. This post has been edited by etigge: May 21 2010, 03:52 PM
lonewolf
May 24 2010, 02:14 PM
any good trekking agent to recommend?
etigge
May 24 2010, 02:54 PM

QUOTE(lonewolf @ May 24 2010, 02:14 PM) any good trekking agent to recommend? You mean jungle trekking in CH. Most of the trails are marked and the trail maps can be found at the tourist counter in Tanah Rata. They also organises tours to other attractions and jungle walks to mountain climbs, usually Mt.Irau and Mt.Berembun. The counters are easy to spot in Tanah Rata, they have pictures of all the attractions pasted up.
stimix
May 24 2010, 03:02 PM
Dunno
Try this one..Instead of full day which cover Rafflesia trail, Butterfly farm, Boh plantation, u can opt for cheaper 1/2 day by exclude those butterfly farm & Plantation ~ RM60 only. I have marked the trail head of the hunt for rafflesia at N4 39.745 E101 29.329 U do need the orang asli & that Francis guy who drive the land rover...The Jalan Balak really scary... http://www.cameronsecrets.com/Articles/Loc...Rafflesia-Tour/QUOTE(lonewolf @ May 24 2010, 02:14 PM) any good trekking agent to recommend?
lonewolf
May 24 2010, 03:55 PM
uncle stimix...thanks....
want to go hunt for rafflesia..
mashimoro85
May 25 2010, 03:31 PM

planning to go cameron on 2july, and we have 4 people
how low can the apartment rates go during that time?
can get round RM150?
nitrox
May 25 2010, 03:36 PM

QUOTE(mashimoro85 @ May 25 2010, 03:31 PM) planning to go cameron on 2july, and we have 4 people how low can the apartment rates go during that time? can get round RM150? thanks Check out Heritage Hotel. They have a new hotel wing about RM230/day. Just top-up a little more from your budget to get a better room.
mashimoro85
May 25 2010, 03:49 PM

thanks for the info!
but i think apartment is better as i can have steamboat in apartment at night! haha..
dun think can cook in hotel room
etigge
May 25 2010, 06:02 PM

QUOTE(mashimoro85 @ May 25 2010, 03:31 PM) planning to go cameron on 2july, and we have 4 people how low can the apartment rates go during that time? can get round RM150? thanks Did you call the number that I have posted? Carnation Apartments (also in Tanah Rata) - contact Ah Ling 05-4915306, 05-4911328
a_pearl
May 26 2010, 09:41 AM

which apartment allow dog?  can bring dog jalan-jalan at the plantation field ah?
etigge
May 26 2010, 02:40 PM

QUOTE(a_pearl @ May 26 2010, 09:41 AM) which apartment allow dog?  can bring dog jalan-jalan at the plantation field ah?  I think apartments allows dogs as most operators are chinese or indians. Many of the apartments tenants have dogs themselves. I used to take my dog for jungle trekking. I think plantation wise it should be OK if you hold it and not disrupts other tourist.
a_pearl
May 26 2010, 05:59 PM

thx etigge. u provide contact numbers for royal lily and carnation apartment. these 2 also can ah?
etigge
May 26 2010, 08:41 PM

QUOTE(a_pearl @ May 26 2010, 05:59 PM) thx etigge. u provide contact numbers for royal lily and carnation apartment. these 2 also can ah? Should be OK, I guess but you don't have to tell the landlords actually. I am sure you are not bringing a rottweiler or St.Bernard. Are you?
jaclynjac
May 27 2010, 10:06 AM

actually how to go without driving ourself ? any travel agency provide travel to cameron ?
etigge
May 27 2010, 11:52 AM

QUOTE(jaclynjac @ May 27 2010, 10:06 AM) actually how to go without driving ourself ? any travel agency provide travel to cameron ? Most local inbound tour agencies have packages to Cameron Highlands. Or take public bus services there and explore yourself. There are two companies doing express bus services but I recomend Unititi. There can be found in Puduraya.
jaclynjac
May 27 2010, 11:56 AM

QUOTE(etigge @ May 27 2010, 11:52 AM) Most local inbound tour agencies have packages to Cameron Highlands. Or take public bus services there and explore yourself. There are two companies doing express bus services but I recomend Unititi. There can be found in Puduraya.  but then what public bus available from KL to cameron ? and after that, if i wanna explore myself, is they any bus at the highland will fetchus go around.. mean... if i wanna go out from my hotel to tea plantation, how ? any shuttle bus at there ?
stimix
May 27 2010, 12:00 PM
Dunno
Better drive there-lah...public transport in CH is almost none. U reach there, just book 1 day or 2 days tour wth them ~ RM90/day.
stimix
May 27 2010, 12:07 PM
Dunno
You will enjoy driving up there.. No need 5 hrs. Only 3 hrs nia if use the new Highway at Spg Pulai. For shorter & abit slower & sometime slow down by slower buses & lorries, The Tapah winding road ~ 3-4hrs
jaclynjac
May 27 2010, 12:16 PM

ya. at the corner need slowdown.. sometime bus hon to remind opposite side got car coming....