Travel Cameron Highland, Recommended things to see and do?
aeiou228
Mar 30 2010, 10:37 AM
QUOTE(holoman @ Mar 29 2010, 10:23 AM) hello , plan going to cameron on this july for 4 person any suggestion for good hotel/apartment 2room ? .. budget not high .. Hotel Titiwangsa @ brinchang RM128nett for standard room inclusive of steamboat dinner and breakfast for two person. Very good value for money. Quart room (2 king size bed) @ RM218 This post has been edited by aeiou228: Mar 30 2010, 10:41 AM
holoman
Mar 30 2010, 10:46 AM
erm.prefer apartment with 2 room  any other suggestion ?
stimix
Mar 30 2010, 11:06 AM
Dunno
Just google for Royal lily, Villa Dahlia, rainforest, Desa Anthurium, Parkland apt. However getting a 2 rooms for RM150 is almost impossible..well u can try..  ..If you can find do update us. QUOTE(holoman @ Mar 30 2010, 10:46 AM) erm.prefer apartment with 2 room  any other suggestion ?
aeiou228
Mar 30 2010, 01:15 PM
QUOTE(holoman @ Mar 30 2010, 10:46 AM) erm.prefer apartment with 2 room  any other suggestion ? Then why asked for hotel suggestion in your earlier post ? QUOTE(holoman @ Mar 29 2010, 10:23 AM) hello , plan going to cameron on this july for 4 person any suggestion for good hotel/apartment 2room ? .. budget not high .. This post has been edited by aeiou228: Mar 30 2010, 01:17 PM
holoman
Mar 30 2010, 03:30 PM
aeiou228 ; sorry bro,my mistake
ukiya
Apr 8 2010, 03:19 PM
is the road from Raub to Cameron (exit Ringlet) open d? the road completed? no more rocky path?
stimix
Apr 8 2010, 04:37 PM
Dunno
Read earlier review by traveler here: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=31583843QUOTE(Traveler @ Jan 30 2010, 12:40 PM) Update from Cameron Highlands on the Sg Koyan-Ringlet new highway: About 9km remains uncompleted, at the Bertam Valley end of the highway; a mix of partially paved and completely unpaved (red earth, sometimes muddy, with deep ruts). The security guards there now say that the construction site is now closed to all traffic without permits (no idea where to get a permit, but I presume from the construction company), or unless you have construction site related business. I managed to get through because there were a bunch of SUVs and cars that came up around the same time, and I think the security guard took pity on us and didn't want to send us back. Some parts of the red earth section have quite deep muddy ruts and one of the Wiras managed to snag a big branch under the exhaust. Generally the sedans got through ok, but I think they probably scraped the bottom on some of the deeper ruts. There were occasional traffic jams with the construction lorries as some parts of the red earth trail was narrow (also one steep section). SUVs should have no problems crossing this stretch.
ukiya
Apr 8 2010, 06:31 PM
Thanks stimix. Juz looking for latest update wonder any1 of d lyn member travel latest via sg koyan - cameron! Because if i m recall it correctly, last year did saw the star in the following link below stated it will be schedule to be complete in March 2010. So I m just wonder is it really completed as schedule or it's delay or postpone? I m stay in Bentong, Pahang. Juz wondering ... a sedan can drive through anot!? Sauce claims to finish in March. http://thestar.com.my/metro/story.asp?file...&sec=southneast
stimix
Apr 8 2010, 06:34 PM
Dunno
Well you can try..as the report was in Jan 2010...do feedback once you're back..haha
ukiya
Apr 8 2010, 06:54 PM
haha... plan go there end of this month again... but juz afraid the condition of the road especially after rain! And afraid if anything happen need turn a big round via gua musang exit to Kg Raja ...
anywhere, if there's any1 who went there via tat road recently i mean around March / April 2010. Do feedback. Thanks!
barista
Apr 19 2010, 12:59 PM
Interesting. I also want to know
kevin_kwfoong
Apr 19 2010, 02:21 PM

I thought I saw it here in lowyat.net but can't seem to find it anymore. Looks like a good getaway place!
etigge
Apr 19 2010, 04:47 PM

QUOTE(kevin_kwfoong @ Apr 19 2010, 12:58 PM) I remember coming across a bungalow for rent in Cameron Highland, but I forgot where I saw it. I was wondering if anyone recognize the following image, is it a bungalow for rent at Cameron? Any idea?  This bungalow is called Bukit Lowick.Bookings can be made thru 03-2093600 and the person to speak to is Norsamsiah. There's another nice bungalow owned by Eu Yan Sang also for daily rentals, RM1000 plus minus a day The place is called Hilltop Bungalow. Can google it and the contact is in the webpage. This post has been edited by etigge: Apr 19 2010, 08:35 PM
g r a p e k e y
Apr 21 2010, 11:33 AM
anyone heard of the very famous herbal steamboat at brinchang? or was it somewhere else? I don't really recall where is it, only remember how to get there..
it used to be located near the night market.. & the restaurant is inside an apartment. Price is RM16.90..
Now the restaurant moved to a new and more spacious place which is not very far from where it was located before. I think walking distance 7minutes.
The restaurant is located right in front of the main road to the night market ( as far as I can remember). Sorry kinda forgot the name of the restaurant already but the food is seriously a MUST try. Very AWESOME~!!
Remember to oder the Herbal Steamboat =) or have anyone tried the Herbal Steamboat before? or doesn't know where I'm referring to? If you still don't know where's the location, then sorry I can't help you ^-^
stimix
Apr 21 2010, 11:39 AM
Dunno
I hv not try this steamboat but I already boycott all those restaurants at brinchang liao...Not worth the price.....RM16.90 is not cheap hor...more expensensive than KL!! & during Holiday, they san simply mark-up wan!!
You can get reasonable priced steamboat & better tasted at Tanah Rata..only RM13/head.
ukiya
Apr 21 2010, 02:12 PM
QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 21 2010, 11:39 AM) I hv not try this steamboat but I already boycott all those restaurants at brinchang liao...Not worth the price.....RM16.90 is not cheap hor...more expensensive than KL!! & during Holiday, they san simply mark-up wan!! You can get reasonable priced steamboat & better tasted at Tanah Rata..only RM13/head. agreed! Well, why dont lent/get a portable gas stove, get some cheap bowl from Tesco Kampar/ anywhere nearer... n get some fishball/meatballs and stuff, quite cheap if can get around RM4.50 (all in one steamboat stuff mini packs) get in indian mart in Brinchang.
g r a p e k e y
Apr 21 2010, 02:54 PM
QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 21 2010, 11:39 AM) I hv not try this steamboat but I already boycott all those restaurants at brinchang liao...Not worth the price.....RM16.90 is not cheap hor...more expensensive than KL!! & during Holiday, they san simply mark-up wan!! You can get reasonable priced steamboat & better tasted at Tanah Rata..only RM13/head. hello.. the herbal steamboat is really nice.. wasted you've already boycotted it..hehe. Tanah Rata's steamboat all so little portion given, not worth your penny Added on April 21, 2010, 2:59 pmQUOTE(ukiya @ Apr 21 2010, 02:12 PM) agreed! Well, why dont lent/get a portable gas stove, get some cheap bowl from Tesco Kampar/ anywhere nearer... n get some fishball/meatballs and stuff, quite cheap if can get around RM4.50 (all in one steamboat stuff mini packs) get in indian mart in Brinchang. not conducive.. This post has been edited by g r a p e k e y: Apr 21 2010, 02:59 PM
trinityz
Apr 21 2010, 03:02 PM
QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 21 2010, 11:39 AM) I hv not try this steamboat but I already boycott all those restaurants at brinchang liao...Not worth the price.....RM16.90 is not cheap hor...more expensensive than KL!! & during Holiday, they san simply mark-up wan!! You can get reasonable priced steamboat & better tasted at Tanah Rata..only RM13/head. wanna go holiday dun be cheapstake
stimix
Apr 21 2010, 03:26 PM
Dunno
Not the matter of cheapskate but I hv tried those restaurants along the main road of brinchang..all slaughtering houses...Try asking those came back from brinchang..sumore taste so lousy (well no comment on the herbal steamboat-lah since I hv yet to try).... Try reading few pages b4 this especially experienced by AEIOU ..  ....& not all Holiday spender are rich as you hor...  ..There are lotsa poor folks here as well.. QUOTE(trinityz @ Apr 21 2010, 03:02 PM) wanna go holiday dun be cheapstake  This post has been edited by stimix: Apr 21 2010, 04:51 PM