125 Pages « < 61 62 63 64 65 > » Bottom

Fundsupermart.com v11, Grexit or not, Europe will sail on...

SUSwankongyew
post Aug 14 2015, 05:26 PM

1,177 posts

My star performer is RHB Asian Total Return Fund. Just topped up a few weeks ago to get out of holding too much ringgit. Now up more than 6%. Crazy.
T231H
post Aug 14 2015, 06:53 PM

5,143 posts

FSM downgraded US star rating to same as Thailand doh.gif sweat.gif

Downgrading The Stars And Stripes To 2.0 Stars “Unattractive”

In this article, we explain our reasons for lowering our star ratings of the US Equity market from a prior 2.5 Stars to 2.0 Stars.
iFAST Research Team August 14, 2015

https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/artic...tractive--10687
SUSyklooi
post Aug 14 2015, 10:42 PM

8,188 posts

Looks like there is another FH option to select if wanted to invest in Japan....
http://www.eastspringinvestments.com.my/do...nd_Infomemo.pdf

FSM don't have yet.
SUSDavid83
post Aug 14 2015, 10:52 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 14 2015, 10:42 PM)
Looks like there is another FH option to select if wanted to invest in Japan....

FSM don't have yet.
It's going to be a wholesale fund: Wholesale (Feeder) / Growth
SUSyklooi
post Aug 14 2015, 11:06 PM

8,188 posts

page 18

wil-i-am
post Aug 15 2015, 07:39 AM

10,001 posts

Investors to look at Fed, earnings with China filter
http://www.reuters.com/article/2015/08/14/...N0QJ25320150814

Volatility to continue until Fed settle with int rate hike hmm.gif
mois
post Aug 15 2015, 09:40 AM

Enemy Territory
3,626 posts

Those professional financial/investment advices really no use one. Remember for last 1-2 years, mostly including fsm recommend china funds. It does rise alot in the first half. Now look at second half, vomit blood.

Lesson: Trust no one. Research your own and diversified.
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 15 2015, 10:07 AM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Aug 15 2015, 09:40 AM)
Those professional financial/investment advices really no use one. Remember for last 1-2 years, mostly including fsm recommend china funds. It does rise alot in the first half. Now look at second half, vomit blood.

Lesson: Trust no one. Research your own and diversified.
nod.gif

That is one.

Another, market is RARELY rational. China/HK undervalued? How to say undervalued? What is your definition of "value"? Just because it used to trade at PE 15 times, and its now 10 times, so it's cheap?

Value is subjective.

U see LV bag 20% discount, good value. But I see it's just an ugly piece of leather, u sell me RM100 I also don't want, I rather have a tower of beer with that money. tongue.gif

US/Europe/Japan overvalued yes, but I'm buying names like ExxonMobil, CITIBANK, BMW, General Electric, Toyota, SONY etc. How many years of heritage, how many years of steady growth?

Compare that to Asian growing companies. Yeah recent growth was booming, but how many companies boom like a star and then disappear abruptly? See HTC now? whistling.gif

I'm still sticking to my 1/3 Developed Markets 2/3 Asia+EMs strategy wink.gif

Actually on a hindsight, 50/50 is even better doh.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Aug 15 2015, 10:16 AM
kimyee73
post Aug 15 2015, 11:56 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Aug 13 2015, 11:03 PM)
Price really can swing up and down like mad.
You see EISC , KGF also same.

So can we say better lock in our profit the next time they show 15-20% ROI rather
than holding them waiting for 30% ROI or more and risking all this mad swings?
You need to let the profit runs. I have done some backtest and locking up profits along the way performs slightly lower than letting the profits run up with a trailing stop.
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 15 2015, 12:00 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Aug 15 2015, 11:56 AM)
You need to let the profit runs. I have done some backtest and locking up profits along the way performs slightly lower than letting the profits run up with a trailing stop.
+100

I also would have been SLIGHTLY better off had I not run away during the crash of 2010-2011.

End up cash out and gambled spent away large chunk of the money doh.gif
xuzen
post Aug 15 2015, 12:14 PM

4,436 posts

As of today, I did some housekeeping and my equity portion of my portfolio is as follow:

In total my portfolio total loss is 0.9%; the China portion loss the most at -4% but is helped by my US exposure and of course the appreciation of USD versus MYR!

The AWESOME POWAR of DIVERSIFICATION and Modern Portfolio Theory!

Xuzen

p/s on the local front... I started investing in UT since 2009 using my KWSP money first. I remember the Index was below 1000 pts. I did DCA all the way until even now. Imagine the growth of my KWSP-MIS-UT versus if I was leave it in KWSP. Recall that the KWSP dividend rate of 6% is a very recent thing... it was 4.XX% back then.

This post has been edited by xuzen: Aug 15 2015, 12:21 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 15 2015, 12:27 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Aug 15 2015, 12:14 PM)
As of today, I did some housekeeping and my equity portion of my portfolio is as follow:

In total my portfolio total loss is 0.9%; the China portion loss the most at -4% but is helped by my US exposure and of course the appreciation of USD versus MYR!

The AWESOME POWAR of DIVERSIFICATION and Modern Portfolio Theory!

Xuzen

p/s on the local front... I started investing in UT since 2009 using my KWSP money first. I remember the Index was below 1000 pts. I did DCA all the way until even now. Imagine the growth of my KWSP-MIS-UT versus if I was leave it in KWSP. Recall that the KWSP dividend rate of 6% is a very recent thing... it was 4.XX% back then.
xuzen

Your portfolio 12-months rolling return how?

How about your portfolio inception to-date IRR?

Share and discuss notworthy.gif
j.passing.by
post Aug 15 2015, 01:07 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Aug 15 2015, 11:56 AM)
It depends on what you were doing; whether it was a long-term DCA or a short-term VA. It would be incorrect to take a short-term view on a long-term investment, and vice-versa.

T231H
post Aug 15 2015, 01:44 PM

5,143 posts

Why Active Asset Allocation Makes Sense But Why It Needs to be Done Properly.... August 13, 2015
The attached note looks at the importance of active asset allocation but more significantly why it needs to be undertaken with a rigorous process.
http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...?articleNo=6170

river.sand
post Aug 15 2015, 01:58 PM

3,816 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 15 2015, 10:07 AM)
nod.gif

That is one.

Another, market is RARELY rational. China/HK undervalued? How to say undervalued? What is your definition of "value"? Just because it used to trade at PE 15 times, and its now 10 times, so it's cheap?

Value is subjective.

U see LV bag 20% discount, good value. But I see it's just an ugly piece of leather, u sell me RM100 I also don't want, I rather have a tower of beer with that money. tongue.gif

US/Europe/Japan overvalued yes, but I'm buying names like ExxonMobil, CITIBANK, BMW, General Electric, Toyota, SONY etc. How many years of heritage, how many years of steady growth?

Compare that to Asian growing companies. Yeah recent growth was booming, but how many companies boom like a star and then disappear abruptly? See HTC now? whistling.gif

I'm still sticking to my 1/3 Developed Markets 2/3 Asia+EMs strategy wink.gif

Actually on a hindsight, 50/50 is even better doh.gif
Well said notworthy.gif
Many great US/Europen/Japan companies make their fortunes in emerging markets.
And, while China is the world leader in manufacturing solar panel, many top Chinese solar panel makers have gone bust.

This post has been edited by river.sand: Aug 15 2015, 02:21 PM
xuzen
post Aug 15 2015, 08:37 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 15 2015, 12:27 PM)
xuzen

Your portfolio 12-months rolling return how?

How about your portfolio inception to-date IRR?

Share and discuss notworthy.gif
I panicked during Qtr4Yr2014, "You'd recalled it was all sea of red as well like now" and move everything to CMF, therafter do DCA all over again....

I learned my lesson and hence this time, I did not panic and sell everything like I did previously.

For this round I am determine to persevere with DCA until I hit my desired Fixed Income Fund to Equity Fund ratio. Currently I am at 27% Equity Fund. I am targeting 40% Equity, and when I am comfortable with the risk, I will slowly move up my equity exposure.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Aug 15 2015, 08:37 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 15 2015, 09:46 PM

16,872 posts

Bangganya aku

My 12-months return currently 10%+
Win xuzenballs™ liao tongue.gif
woonsc
post Aug 15 2015, 10:37 PM

Financial Padawan
2,032 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 15 2015, 09:46 PM)
Bangganya aku

Viet Balls!! brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
woonsc
post Aug 15 2015, 10:43 PM

Financial Padawan
2,032 posts

I think EM will be volatile now right?
asian better place to top up
xuzen
post Aug 16 2015, 09:52 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 15 2015, 09:46 PM)
Bangganya aku

The Dragon forsake me; Uncle Sam saved me;
The Elephant is still in the jungle,
Will he charge and stampede forward?
That! One should consult Algozen™ next!

Xuzen

125 Pages « < 61 62 63 64 65 > » Top