QUOTE(adamdacutie @ Jul 24 2015, 10:34 AM)
Gold status not enough, need platinum for 1.25% SC.Fundsupermart.com v11, Grexit or not, Europe will sail on...
Fundsupermart.com v11, Grexit or not, Europe will sail on...
Jul 26 2015, 03:22 PM
1,007 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: island up north |
Jul 26 2015, 03:29 PM
Jul 26 2015, 03:32 PM
QUOTE(brotan @ Jul 25 2015, 04:02 PM) no trade mark. just simple common sense Ha ha... What a coincidence. This is about the same method I'm using as well.what i normally do is 1. go to "funds info" 2. then "fund selector" 3. click "generate table". for filters, i leave the default settings 4. it will list all the funds with average return for a few different periods 5. copy the whole content to excel 6. do some formula in excel to calculate the final data i need for this "final data", what i try to generate is the yearly return for individual year. meaning i want to know, what's the return for year no 7, the return for year 4, etc note that i mean the return for that particular year, not the average return for the past whatever year once i have that info (i try to do year 1 to year 7), i try to find which fund makes consistent reasonably high (i normally set at 8%) positive return every single year what i want is consistency and not super high return 1 year but sluggish other years based on the short listed results, i make my final decision |
Jul 26 2015, 03:56 PM
QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Jul 25 2015, 09:18 PM) erm.... not to say I'm gonna time the market.... haha. just a question. cause i read research that put lump sum investment vs dca. 2/3 of the times, lump sum investment wins dca over 10 years. You lump sum only if you have cash on hand. If not, just perform DCA whenever you have the cash. It is not worth it to save the cash just to perform lump sum later as you'll miss on the return while waiting.this condition is. lump sum investment = at year 0, you got 1 million. you directly put in all. dca = at year 0, you got 1 million. you dca your 1 million over every month until the end. Now I'm thinking how about. at year 0, you got no budget or shit. If you decide to lump sum. means for the first few months perhaps, or few years you are accumulating cash.(static cash). then only you lump sum later. vs at year 0, every month you put in little by little. It seems for this more realistic scenario, dca wins. I think. |
Jul 27 2015, 07:15 PM
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jul 26 2015, 10:25 PM) Personally, i think the Platinum thinggy is useless. Our Ringgit is so bad I'm reluctant to TT any new fund to TDA except moving my stocks given by company to TDA and sell options on it. Hoping for pullback on USD for a chance to do that.I mean, if i have 750K to invest at "one place", U'd think i'd be better informed and have ways to do ETFs right? ETFs with lower upfront cost and yearly costs. IF FSM wants to encourage people to really go for Platinum, do lar 0.5% or even 1% entry cost / service charge (average now 2%) AND 0.88% yearly costs (average now being 1.75%+/-) That's a simple half of the current average costs. Until then, i'm still plonking mostly into ETFs these days, just shuffling around my holdings in FSM & perhaps EPF investments since can't do direct stocks liao since May/June. Just a thought |
Jul 28 2015, 02:44 PM
QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jul 28 2015, 10:12 AM) China market entering into a free fall mode. Siapa berani masuk sekarang? Blood is on the street. Good opportunity to get in when it is getting out from oversold region. Right now still going into oversold. My Greater China is still having +5.6% ROI as of today.My current Greater China portfolio:- (1) China 26.71% (2) Hong Kong 8.51% (3) Taiwan 5.68% Total : 40.9% This post has been edited by kimyee73: Jul 28 2015, 02:48 PM |
Jul 29 2015, 10:23 PM
QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 29 2015, 09:49 PM) Gold Is Only Going to Get Worse From paid subscription of investment advisory, hedge funds have collectively gone bearish on gold for first time on record. That is a contrarian indicator. So don't count gold out yet.The problem for gold isn’t just that prices are dropping. For many, the metal also has lost its charisma. Sentiment means a lot in the bullion market, where only about 60 percent of what gets mined or recycled each year is used in jewelry and industrial applications. The rest is sold as coins or bars, so when demand from investors dries up, there can be painful consequences for the bulls who remain. Prices will drop to $984 an ounce before January, according to the average estimate in a Bloomberg News survey of 16 analysts and traders. That would be the lowest since 2009 and a 10 percent retreat from Tuesday’s settlement. Speculators are shorting the metal for the first time since U.S. government data began in 2006, and holders of exchange-traded products are selling at the fastest pace in two years. URL: http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/201...ls-lower-prices |
Jul 30 2015, 09:52 PM
QUOTE(brotan @ Jul 30 2015, 09:24 AM) You made the right choice on the fund except for not keeping some dough in CMF. I'm getting 7.45% IRR, DCA since mid 2013. If I stop DCA after 1 year, IRR would be 8.6% now. Would be much higher if lump sum back in 2013. |
Jul 30 2015, 10:10 PM
Jul 31 2015, 10:14 PM
QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 31 2015, 12:57 PM) Gold heads for longest weekly losing streak in 16 years Gold is setup for a short rebound. Can play short term for quick profit.MANILA: Gold slipped to near 5-1/2-year lows on Friday and was on course for a sixth straight weekly fall, its longest retreat since 1999, after upbeat U.S. economic data strengthened expectations for a near-term hike in interest rates. URL: http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...ears/?style=biz |
Aug 10 2015, 10:30 PM
My portfolio profit at 3.2% and IRR at 5.4%
Top 3 profitable UT. CIMB Global Titan 18.72% Eastspring Small-cap 18.2% Kenanga growth fund 14.34% Worst performing are Amprecious metals -30.92% AMB Ethical trust -15.74% Eastspring My focus fund -4.19 |
Aug 11 2015, 10:35 AM
QUOTE(T231H @ Aug 10 2015, 10:41 PM) ex... ROI 10% 3 yrs = abt 3.x% irr ROI 20% 5 yrs = abt 3.x% irr am I correct? |
Aug 11 2015, 10:41 AM
QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Aug 11 2015, 12:19 AM) 6) Please remember that the IRR is "making the ROI rate to an annual percentage". Ha ha. That is true. I just bought Manulife India Equity on 31/7 and now profit 3.5% and IRR is 218.23% So, if you buy a fund today, and it increases by 0.3% the next month or in 30 days, the ROI is 0.3%. The IRR is = (100.3%)^(1/(30/365))-1 = 3.71% If you buy another fund today, and it jumps 3% tomorrow, the ROI is 3%. The IRR is = (103%)^(1/(1/365))-1 = 4848172.45% |
Aug 11 2015, 10:54 AM
QUOTE(repusez @ Aug 11 2015, 09:43 AM) IMHO, the general statement that IRR is less accurate if the time invested is less than 1 year is due to the fact that there's no guarantee the fund will continue to grow at that rate for the remaining period of that year. The reason it is not accurate is because of the extrapolation of the return. It will amplify it quite a lot in both profit or loss. After 1 year, the effect of new investment is not that high.if the IRR is calculated based on a longer period say 3 years where the fund would have gone through some ups and downs then it would paint a more accurate growth rate of the fund. eg eastsrping bond fund managed to recover some defaulted bond in may (causing a spike in their NAV) which is a one off thing, if you use it in your IRR calculation for a short period of 3 months, the IRR would spike ,but if the IRR is calculated 3 years , it will just increase the IRR by a bit. so just don't be too excited if the IRR is high if you've invested in a short period. |
Aug 11 2015, 11:24 AM
Malaysia is very well known now with news all over the world. Today it appears in Agora Financial's 5 Min. Forecast. Snippets below. BTW Jim Rickards is the author of Currency Wars. You can get it from Popular bookshop.
QUOTE The story is not as sunny for the nation that lies just north of Singapore -- where Jim Rickards paid a recent call. Jim was in Malaysia at the invitation of Mahathir Mohamad, who was prime minister from 1981-2003. Joining them, says Jim, were “a select group of current and former ministers, central bankers, academics and business people in a closed-door dialogue. “Malaysia is facing powerful head winds from two sources that will stand in the way of its growth and development for the time being,” Jim tells us. “The first head wind is called the ‘middle-income trap. ’Even if Malaysia explores new high-value added technology, it may take a decade or more before results appear on a sufficient scale to move the needle on GDP growth. “The second head wind is more immediate. Recently, credible reports have emerged in The Wall Street Journal and Bloomberg that the current prime minister of Malaysia, Najib Razak, and his cronies have looted almost $1 billion from Malaysia’s sovereign wealth fund, called 1MDB, using unauthorized loans, sweetheart asset purchases, front companies and hidden bank accounts. “The current prime minister has responded by closing newspapers, dismissing his deputy and the chief prosecutor and threatening others with arrest. In the weeks ahead, observers expect street demonstrations and more turmoil inside the ruling Umno party.” A military coup can’t be ruled out. “Investors are highly averse to political uncertainty,” says Jim, “and will keep away from Malaysia until the situation is resolved.” Bad news for anyone invested in EWM -- the big Malaysia ETF. |
Aug 11 2015, 01:45 PM
QUOTE(xuzen @ Aug 11 2015, 11:35 AM) Real Investors talk about IRR or xIRR because they will hold their investment assets over a period of multi-years. I'm both. My unit trust is for investment and my Ameritrade account is for trading.Punters aka speculators will talk about ROI because they will hold their stock in hand over a period of perhaps hours, days or week. IRR or xIRR is meaningless to punters and ROI is meaningless to Real Investors. ROI is a measurement of gain per trade; whereas IRR or xIRR is a measurement of gain over a period (p.a. is the standard measurement). So which one are you? Punter or Real Investors? Many Punters will disguise or trick themselves thinking they are investors. Xuzen |
Aug 11 2015, 10:45 PM
Aug 13 2015, 12:14 PM
My KGF ROI drop 2.57% in 3 days to 17.59%, IRR at 11.52%
Aug 13 2015, 06:55 PM
QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Aug 13 2015, 05:44 PM) My RHB Asian Total Return Fund is really going up these 1-2 weeks. Now at +6.81%. Apa sudah jadi? Same goes for my GITF and TA European Equity Fund. My RHB Asian Total Return Fund ROI at 2.53% and RHB-OSK Emerging Markets Bond Fund at 2.58%. Both bought about 2 weeks ago but only 4.3% of my portfolio each. Now holding 55% in CMF waiting to shoot.As usual, being human, we will always say...." I should have bought more". This post has been edited by kimyee73: Aug 13 2015, 07:01 PM |
Aug 13 2015, 11:37 PM
| Change to: | 0.0261sec