Income Tax Issues v4, Scope: e-BE and eB only

mini orchard
post Jul 14 2021, 06:27 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(starry-starry @ Jul 14 2021, 04:23 PM)
I have the same question about this, can anyone confirm? Tried to check online and found this..

"In June last year, the additional special tax relief was introduced for YA2020 as part of the government’s efforts to boost work from home arrangements due to the Covid-19 pandemic. It was then announced this year that the special tax relief would be extended to 31 December 2021. However, it is not entirely certain yet whether those who claimed the relief for YA2020 would also be able to claim it for YA2021; it is likely that LHDN will provide further clarification on this next year."

https://ringgitplus.com/en/blog/income-tax/...for-ya2020.html
If LHDN is silent on the restriction, in my opinion is claimable.
starry-starry
post Jul 14 2021, 09:43 PM

919 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jul 14 2021, 04:47 PM)
i got this from lhdn
http://phl.hasil.gov.my/pdf/pdfam/Explanat...es_BE2020_2.pdf

from that example, looks like can add,...what do you think?
QUOTE(mini orchard @ Jul 14 2021, 06:27 PM)
If LHDN is silent on the restriction, in my opinion is claimable.
Oppppsss.. seems like I read and interpreted TS question wrongly... I already claimed RM2500 in YR 2020 income tax for this lifestyle thingy... bought a laptop... I wonder if I can get another laptop or hp for YR 2021 income tax deduction.

This post has been edited by starry-starry: Jul 14 2021, 09:46 PM
MUM
post Jul 14 2021, 09:46 PM

14,975 posts

QUOTE(starry-starry @ Jul 14 2021, 09:43 PM)
Oppppsss.. seems like I read and interpreted TS question wrongly... I already claimed RM2500 in YR 2020 income tax for this lifestyle thingy... bought a laptop... I wonder if I can get another laptop of hp to utilize this extended RM2500 this year, for YR 2021 income tax deduction. Gonna get one if I can claim!
i am not in the position to confirm it 100%,
but i think i am "sure" can get one EACH year as the claim are for calendar year like internet subscription or gym membership

for if they were to limit it to only one time for this 2 years pandemic package,...they would have stated it in like previously for the computer thing like as per image..

This post has been edited by MUM: Jul 14 2021, 09:52 PM

WaNaWe900
post Jul 25 2021, 12:30 PM

చąហ ąచҽ™
1,399 posts

QUOTE(starry-starry @ Jul 14 2021, 09:43 PM)
Oppppsss.. seems like I read and interpreted TS question wrongly... I already claimed RM2500 in YR 2020 income tax for this lifestyle thingy... bought a laptop... I wonder if I can get another laptop or hp for YR 2021 income tax deduction.
QUOTE(MUM @ Jul 14 2021, 09:46 PM)
i am not in the position to confirm it 100%,
but i think i am "sure" can get one EACH year as the claim are for calendar year like internet subscription or gym membership

for if they were to limit it to only one time for this 2 years pandemic package,...they would have stated it in like previously for the computer thing like as per image..
The "lifestyle thingy" meant to be yearly... and yes I'd claimed it last year buying new tablet and this year getting another notebook again rclxm9.gif
wookiedookie P
post Jul 25 2021, 03:17 PM

Probation

Hi all. Need some advice here.

I received an email from LDHN, dated 25 Jul 2021 (automated generated email and did due diligence in ensuring the email's legit-ness). It was a CP38 - Monthly salary deduction, basically LDHN is issuing an instruction to my employer to deduct my salary for the next 6 months. However it just mentioned that I have an outstanding tax balance and did not mention specifically when did i delay payment and why. A few pointers below :-

1. My tax is deducted under PCB - automatically by my employer every month.
2. Filled my taxes promptly every year - got tax refunds for all years.
3. When I logged in to LDHN's online account, there was no indication that any letters were sent out to require proof of declaration. (this can be checked under the "Mailbox" section".
4. Owning some shares (as a small retail investor) and got some gains and dividend payout from my holdings. But I don't these are taxable.

I'm definitely planning to give them a call during the operating hours to inquire further details. But anyone here has experienced the same? If yes, what are some of the preparations needed. Thanks smile.gif

MUM
post Jul 25 2021, 04:42 PM

14,975 posts

QUOTE(wookiedookie @ Jul 25 2021, 03:17 PM)
Hi all. Need some advice here.

I received an email from LDHN, dated 25 Jul 2021 (automated generated email and did due diligence in ensuring the email's legit-ness). It was a CP38 - Monthly salary deduction, basically LDHN is issuing an instruction to my employer to deduct my salary for the next 6 months. However it just mentioned that I have an outstanding tax balance and did not mention specifically when did i delay payment and why.  A few pointers below :-

1. My tax is deducted under PCB - automatically by my employer every month.
2. Filled my taxes promptly every year - got tax refunds for all years.
3. When I logged in to LDHN's online account, there was no indication that any letters were sent out to require proof of declaration. (this can be checked under the "Mailbox" section".
4. Owning some shares (as a small retail investor) and got some gains and dividend payout from my holdings. But I don't these are taxable.

I'm definitely planning to give them a call during the operating hours to inquire further details. But anyone here has experienced the same? If yes, what are some of the preparations needed. Thanks smile.gif
because you did that,....it is best you get ready "ALL" your past 7 yrs of tax submission document, including all tax receipts or documented proof of the items & value, for each of the items that you claimed for tax relief.

then seek and appointment date with them (since now is MCO,.....maybe that is required now)

(hopefully, it was just some inputting mistakes that lead them to dispute your tax submission thus issued out a CP38....)

EDIT - added image:

This post has been edited by MUM: Jul 26 2021, 11:13 AM

starry-starry
post Jul 26 2021, 02:27 AM

919 posts

QUOTE(WaNaWe900 @ Jul 25 2021, 12:30 PM)
The "lifestyle thingy" meant to be yearly... and yes I'd claimed it last year buying new tablet and this year getting another notebook again  rclxm9.gif
Yes, understand about the yearly RM2500 lifestyle claim. Am wondering the additional RM2500 for laptop/desktop/handphone/tables actually..
wookiedookie P
post Jul 26 2021, 05:19 PM

Probation

QUOTE(MUM @ Jul 25 2021, 04:42 PM)
because you did that,....it is best you get ready "ALL" your past 7 yrs of tax submission document, including all tax receipts or documented proof of the items & value, for each of the items that you claimed for tax relief.

then seek and appointment date with them (since now is MCO,.....maybe that is required now)

(hopefully, it was just some inputting mistakes that lead them to dispute your tax submission thus issued out a CP38....)

EDIT - added image:
Thanks for the response MuM. Have been calling them since morning, attempts were futile. Tried using the chat service, waited for quite some time and the chat was terminated because "all staffs were occupied". Sent them a feedback form and hopefully will hear from them. Have also applied for an appointment. All slots are full until 5th Aug. GG.
triple02
post Jul 30 2021, 12:13 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

I was wondering if anyone could help me out

Our PCB usually gets calculated based on month to month basis?

For example if changed company mid year my new employer will calculate the PCB based on my previous accumulated income and my income from the new company moving forward?

Will the PCB be readjusted back to current income from January 2022 onwards?

Because right now after changing company my PCB is quite high.it was around 23% total Inc EPF deductions now its around 34% ,

I got laid off on 24 hours notice my ex company paid my salary in lieu of 3 months which pushed my income earnings to around 90k..

This post has been edited by triple02: Jul 30 2021, 12:51 AM
ky33li
post Jul 31 2021, 01:38 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(triple02 @ Jul 30 2021, 12:13 AM)
I was wondering if anyone could help me out

Our PCB usually gets calculated based on month to month basis?

For example if changed company mid year my new employer will calculate the PCB based on my previous accumulated income and my income from the new company moving forward?

Will the PCB be readjusted back to current income from January 2022 onwards?

Because right now after changing company my PCB is quite high.it was around 23% total Inc EPF deductions now its around 34% ,

I got laid off on 24 hours notice my ex company paid my salary in lieu of 3 months which pushed my income earnings to around 90k..
Unless your are laid off on by reason of "redundancy" otherwise your salary is taxable like normal wages. If your employer gave you sufficient notice or pay you enough notice period as per your normal contract, i dont think there is additional tax deduction to it. in any case you can always get your tax refunds when you file it next year.

This post has been edited by ky33li: Jul 31 2021, 01:42 PM
alesi616
post Aug 1 2021, 10:15 PM

810 posts

hi sifu-sifu,

Currently I own a sole proprietorship for online selling business and renting a premise for business purpose (to put my stocks), the rental agreement is under my name.

So, in order to deduct rental expense in tax form e-B, the rental receipt should be to my company name, or my name?

This post has been edited by alesi616: Aug 1 2021, 10:19 PM
subaiku
post Aug 2 2021, 07:27 PM

445 posts

Hi guys, sorry if this has been asked before... if I use one of my rooms in my personal home for work, can I claim part of the rental and utilities for tax purposes?

This post has been edited by subaiku: Aug 2 2021, 07:29 PM
MUM
post Aug 2 2021, 07:37 PM

14,975 posts

QUOTE(subaiku @ Aug 2 2021, 07:27 PM)
Hi guys, sorry if this has been asked before... if I use one of my rooms in my personal home for work, can I claim part of the rental and utilities for tax purposes?
while waiting for value added responses form real sifus on tax matters,
i google and found this, hopefully this can help to provide some info

"Consider claiming “home office” expenses, for example, electricity, telephone bills, quit rent and service charges of apartments. If the business owner pays rent for the working area, it can be deducted from the business income. This applies to rent that is paid to a spouse who owns the home but is not involved in the business."

https://www.thestar.com.my/opinion/letters/...nd-partnerships

just hope it is applicable to your situation

subaiku
post Aug 3 2021, 04:34 PM

445 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 2 2021, 07:37 PM)
while waiting for value added responses form real sifus on tax matters,
i google and found this, hopefully this can help to provide some info

"Consider claiming “home office” expenses, for example, electricity, telephone bills, quit rent and service charges of apartments. If the business owner pays rent for the working area, it can be deducted from the business income. This applies to rent that is paid to a spouse who owns the home but is not involved in the business."

https://www.thestar.com.my/opinion/letters/...nd-partnerships

just hope it is applicable to your situation
Wah, your Google skills better than mine, I couldn't find much online. Thanks for this. Wish it had more details on the specifics of claiming. Do we need to draw up an official tenancy agreement? etc...

I've been working from home even before the pandemic and have always claimed a portion of the rental as I use a room as a work studio. No problem over the years but then suddenly LHDN coming to korek this. dry.gif
MUM
post Aug 3 2021, 05:09 PM

14,975 posts

QUOTE(subaiku @ Aug 3 2021, 04:34 PM)
Wah, your Google skills better than mine, I couldn't find much online. Thanks for this. Wish it had more details on the specifics of claiming. Do we need to draw up an official tenancy agreement? etc...

I've been working from home even before the pandemic and have always claimed a portion of the rental as I use a room as a work studio. No problem over the years but then suddenly LHDN coming to korek this.  dry.gif
hmm.gif tricky question,..
if you did not have an agreement, how to justify the actual amount to to claim for your "business use"?
if you have a rental agreement,...the "owner" must report that income to LHDN??....
hmm.gif hmm.gif
anyway, how did it go?...i meant the koreh by LHDN? hope it is not serious...

subaiku
post Aug 4 2021, 03:35 PM

445 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 3 2021, 05:09 PM)
hmm.gif tricky question,..
if you did not have an agreement, how to justify the actual amount to to claim for your "business use"?
if you have a rental agreement,...the "owner" must report that income to LHDN??....
hmm.gif  hmm.gif
anyway, how did it go?...i meant the koreh by LHDN? hope it is not serious...
The korek-ing still ongoing. Actually it started as LHDN asking me to pay backlog tax for rental income from a condo unit I own. But they were not accounting for paying for loan interest. Had to submit several rounds of documents, then they started looking into other things. Latest one was this lah. dry.gif

Yeah, no rental agreement. But that's what I want to know too.
Thrust
post Aug 8 2021, 06:31 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,762 posts

Can we claim for medical relief for "Chiropractic & Physiotherapy" session?
MUM
post Aug 8 2021, 06:51 PM

14,975 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Aug 8 2021, 06:31 PM)
Can we claim for medical relief for "Chiropractic & Physiotherapy" session?
while waiting for qualified and value added responses to your query.

you can try read this Explanation Guidebook form LHDN to see if "Chiropractic & Physiotherapy" session can be qualified for tax relief claim or not

http://phl.hasil.gov.my/pdf/pdfam/Explanat...es_BE2020_2.pdf

my wild, unqualified, guess is "no, cannot"
amirulikhsan90
post Aug 14 2021, 11:00 PM

52 posts

Hi guys. Does anybody have any experienced being audited? And usually how long after you submit the documents does it take for LHDN to process?
Utopian
post Aug 18 2021, 11:48 AM

Hi guys, I am planning to buy a Mac Mini (the one without monitor just the CPU), so I would need to get a seperate monitor for it. Can I claim the tax relief for both since it's considered a set but it's from a different vendor and seperate receipt?

537 Pages « < 380 381 382 383 384 > » Top

0.0459sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 10:12 PM