Mobile Number Portability (MNP), Switching mobile no. to other telco

aspire2oo6
post Aug 13 2008, 10:45 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

last time 012 can only call 012 or any telco it took them awhile to implement it too. or 019 only 019
shakiraa
post Aug 13 2008, 11:27 PM

hips dont lie
785 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Aug 13 2008, 09:01 PM)
http://www.sinchew.com.my/node/77872?tid=1

it state September will be starting in Klang valley.......
so we can just change provider with same number?
aspire2oo6
post Aug 13 2008, 11:43 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(shakiraa @ Aug 13 2008, 11:27 PM)
Yeap.
unknowndevices
post Aug 13 2008, 11:59 PM

***StaRs oF NakamA uP***
2,915 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Aug 13 2008, 09:01 PM)
http://www.sinchew.com.my/node/77872?tid=1

it state September will be starting in Klang valley.......
we need more news coverage and not let them take back their words... flex.gif

QUOTE(shakiraa @ Aug 13 2008, 11:27 PM)
yups!...yups!...that's all the discussion is about... whistling.gif
ivanchuah8939
post Aug 14 2008, 12:47 AM

i tink maxis will be lose bcs maxis call rates very high
but mnp release also good bcs it can benefit our people 2 get lower call rates.i tink if maxis no wan the user change 2 another telco.better it reduces the call rates...so can fight with digi. digi is always smarts choice
clsia1001
post Aug 14 2008, 12:50 AM

1,290 posts

hope mnp will bring more benefits to consumer....but coverage play important role as well...
iRonTech
post Aug 14 2008, 08:32 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Aug 13 2008, 10:45 PM)
last time 012 can only call 012 or any telco it took them awhile to implement it too. or 019 only 019
blink.gif that was SMS isn't it?
qedx
post Aug 15 2008, 07:05 AM

712 posts

QUOTE(rajulkabir @ Aug 13 2008, 01:50 PM)
I want to do my own call routing. When I lived in USA for a while, I had two numbers that all my contacts knew: one for HP and one for fixed line. When I left, I ported them both to a VoIP provider and now have them ringing on my Digi line (depending on caller identification and time of day).

Also, having full portability presupposes that calls to all numbers (fixed and mobile) are terminated at the same cost. Reducing mobile termination charges in Malaysia would improve competition.
nice setup you have going notworthy.gif
uhlaw
post Aug 15 2008, 09:17 AM

-[L]aw -
2,896 posts

Do we need to change sim card also if we change provider?
unknowndevices
post Aug 15 2008, 09:38 AM

***StaRs oF NakamA uP***
2,915 posts

QUOTE(uhlaw @ Aug 15 2008, 09:17 AM)
Do we need to change sim card also if we change provider?
hmmm...i think that should be the basic of everything for telco...unless they introduced some kind of sim-hacked... whistling.gif
maybe others mind have other thoughts?... cool2.gif
nimrod2
post Aug 15 2008, 09:45 AM

the imba one
2,521 posts

haha i want to be a 016 maxis biggrin.gif

anyway, i think better for competition among telco operators also right?

This post has been edited by nimrod2: Aug 15 2008, 09:46 AM
vin_ann
post Aug 15 2008, 10:18 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(unknowndevices @ Aug 13 2008, 11:59 PM)
we need more news coverage and not let them take back their words... flex.gif
yups!...yups!...that's all the discussion is about... whistling.gif
still no use. it's our flip-flop Govt le....
dos
post Aug 16 2008, 11:37 AM

188 posts

How do you know which service someone is on after mnp? Will they notify us if the active10/FnF etc numbers change?
eyez98
post Aug 18 2008, 12:11 AM

Isaactan.Net
1,521 posts

waiting eagerly for this to materialize..
can't wait to see what promotions the telcos will cook up.
rajulkabir
post Aug 18 2008, 05:35 AM

1,428 posts

QUOTE(dos @ Aug 16 2008, 11:37 AM)
How do you know which service someone is on after mnp? Will they notify us if the active10/FnF etc numbers change?
Probably you just have to ask your friend.

When I visit the USA, I use a prepaid SIM from AT&T. Part of the deal is unlimited free calls to all other AT&T customers. But I never know until after I talk to someone if they were on AT&T - if I see that the last call cost was $0.00, they were. Otherwise not; no way to tell from the number, and no other indication given either.
vin_ann
post Aug 18 2008, 03:21 PM

10,912 posts

18-08-2008: Mobile numbers to be in 11 digits

Email us your feedback at fd@bizedge.com

KUALA LUMPUR: Mobile phone users may soon find themselves having to deal with an additional digit at the end of their numbers after the implementation of mobile number portability (MNP), which is slated for implementation later this year.

According to the Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (MCMC), the new 3+8 structure will only take effect after the implementation of MNP, which allows mobile phone users to retain their phone number when they switch providers. A notice on the impending change of the number structure was issued in April.

Through an amendment to the Numbering and Electronic Addressing Plan which came into effect in April, the existing 3+7 structure of mobile phone numbers for cellular services such as those offered by Celcom, DiGi and Maxis will be expanded to 3+8.

The plan and its amendment fall under the jurisdiction of the MCMC.

http://www.theedgedaily.com/cms/content.js...294000-8b6c9445

qedx
post Aug 18 2008, 04:45 PM

712 posts

QUOTE(rajulkabir @ Aug 18 2008, 05:35 AM)
Probably you just have to ask your friend.

When I visit the USA, I use a prepaid SIM from AT&T. Part of the deal is unlimited free calls to all other AT&T customers. But I never know until after I talk to someone if they were on AT&T - if I see that the last call cost was $0.00, they were. Otherwise not; no way to tell from the number, and no other indication given either.
Which is just awesome. And also, it's not the business of anyone else but me who my mobile carrier is.

This post has been edited by qedx: Aug 18 2008, 04:56 PM
cucubud
post Aug 18 2008, 05:05 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Aug 18 2008, 03:21 PM)
18-08-2008: Mobile numbers to be in 11 digits

Email us your feedback at fd@bizedge.com
KUALA LUMPUR: Mobile phone users may soon find themselves having to deal with an additional digit at the end of their numbers after the implementation of mobile number portability (MNP), which is slated for implementation later this year.

According to the Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (MCMC), the new 3+8 structure will only take effect after the implementation of MNP, which allows mobile phone users to retain their phone number when they switch providers. A notice on the impending change of the number structure was issued in April.

Through an amendment to the Numbering and Electronic Addressing Plan which came into effect in April, the existing 3+7 structure of mobile phone numbers for cellular services such as those offered by Celcom, DiGi and Maxis will be expanded to 3+8.

The plan and its amendment fall under the jurisdiction of the MCMC.

http://www.theedgedaily.com/cms/content.js...294000-8b6c9445
Huh? All the VVIP numbers will become normal numbers. blink.gif
unknowndevices
post Aug 18 2008, 07:05 PM

***StaRs oF NakamA uP***
2,915 posts

QUOTE(cucubud @ Aug 18 2008, 05:05 PM)
Huh? All the VVIP numbers will become normal numbers. blink.gif
unless you go to the telco HQ and "slow-talk" with them... whistling.gif
-Teddy-
post Aug 18 2008, 07:27 PM

meh
1,939 posts

More competition among the telcos, expect more advertisement wars and better pricing structure. I'm been with Maxis since 5 years ago, time to change perhaps? Hopefully this will reduce the amount of spam and scam sms-es too. Imagine one telco couldn't stop people from stealing your credits, while the other have no such thing. Everyone will start ship jumping. The thing is I'm afraid there might be a fee for it, an expensive one.

206 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0195sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 12:31 PM