126 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Bottom

Travel Bangkok, Interesting places?

saturniq
post Aug 7 2008, 05:43 PM

110 posts

If you are flying with Air Asia, just book the hotel at the same time via their flight + hotel option. Its cheaper and very convinient.

On the food, you must try:

1) Somboon Seafood (http://www.somboonseafood.com). You will never go wrong here.
2) Crab meat "khorn lor mee" - situated in Silom (cant remember which lane) but it is at the road side next to a Japanese restaurant.
3) Chinatown - must try the seafood there (just go to where the most ppl are eating and you will be safe).
4) Durians - Excellent

These are the few that I will surely eat when I am in Bangkok. Will be going in Sept. Waiting for AA cheap tickets.

royz
post Aug 8 2008, 02:44 PM

24 posts

Saturniq,

Somboon seafood website looks nice but is it expensive?
saturniq
post Aug 8 2008, 05:21 PM

110 posts

It is not expensive. Reasonable and not cut throat. Its clean and delicious. I tried the Bangkok and Chiang Mai branch too

The Chiang Mai branch has 5 floors!

Packed with ppl, mainly Thais and some tourist. Food and service is good. I heard it is owned by some royalty in Thai, which go back in history. Highly recommended.
JessyK
post Aug 9 2008, 11:51 PM

13 posts

Oh my goss.. I can't believed I actually read the whole thread! Haha.. AND get many information too. Thx to all forumers.
But seems no one stay @ TakeANap before... =( Just a few ques:

1. I read about Chinatown is wholesales during day time. Do they open to public say walk-in people like me tongue.gif ?

2. Is there any recommended taxi driver that could come, pick us up && send to airport. AND also pick us from the hotel to airport ? tongue.gif Kinda worry three 'sotong' girls ( us lor ) will get con when getting taxi from airport. sweat.gif

Thxxxxxxxxx
c26
post Aug 10 2008, 01:48 AM

67 posts

I'll stay in menam riverside hotel on 22nd August.
Anyone know where can find a good thai massage in bangkok city and what is thr price there? tongue.gif
stimix
post Aug 10 2008, 07:44 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Not all areas are wholesales only few streets esp those selling shoes & fashion accessories (Onlt 1 backlane street if I srtill can remember. (There are more back lanes streets on both Yaowarat road and those backlanes are where all the activities happening & not Yaowarat road!. If u hv been to Hatyai...The atmosphere almost similar..side lanes & back lanes converted to shopping streets!...Ny rough estinate, Chinatown in BKK is about 3-4 times the size of KL Chinatown except all activities end at 6pm except restaurants...

QUOTE(JessyK @ Aug 9 2008, 11:51 PM)
Oh my goss.. I can't believed I actually read the whole thread! Haha.. AND get many information too. Thx to all forumers.
But seems no one stay @ TakeANap before... =( Just a few ques:

1. I read about Chinatown is wholesales during day time. Do they open to public say walk-in people like me tongue.gif ?

2. Is there any recommended taxi driver that could come, pick us up && send to airport. AND also pick us from the hotel to airport ? tongue.gif Kinda worry three 'sotong' girls ( us lor ) will get con when getting taxi from airport.  sweat.gif

Thxxxxxxxxx
cokee
post Aug 11 2008, 09:09 AM

QUOTE(c26 @ Aug 10 2008, 01:48 AM)
I'll stay in menam riverside hotel on 22nd August.
Anyone know where can find a good thai massage in bangkok city and what is thr price there? tongue.gif
http://www.healthlandspa.com/spamenu.html

Quite reasonable price and good service, enjoy! thumbup.gif
wiNd
post Aug 11 2008, 09:16 AM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

QUOTE(JessyK @ Aug 9 2008, 11:51 PM)
2. Is there any recommended taxi driver that could come, pick us up && send to airport. AND also pick us from the hotel to airport ? tongue.gif Kinda worry three 'sotong' girls ( us lor ) will get con when getting taxi from airport.  sweat.gif
airport = city...should be around RM40-RM50 (for std taxi)

insist on using taxi meter. if rushing to airport, ask them to use highway, add another few bucks for toll.

finally, tip the driver if u like him. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by wiNd: Aug 11 2008, 09:18 AM
jasz_24
post Aug 11 2008, 08:15 PM

hi all... need some help here...
which tour agencies are better in JB? I am looking at F&E to BKK or HK... but issit better deal if booking airticket & hotel from agent? any bro & sis can help pls... thanks
stimix
post Aug 11 2008, 08:40 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Air Asia

QUOTE(jasz_24 @ Aug 11 2008, 08:15 PM)
which tour agencies are better in JB? I am looking at F&E to BKK or HK... but issit better deal if booking airticket & hotel from agent? any bro & sis can help pls... thanks
JessyK
post Aug 11 2008, 09:27 PM

13 posts

I'm not sure about others. But I been to BKK & HK before.
Personally I dun think both of this place required tour. F&E will be better to explore the city.

Maybe BKK might be bit hard due to language barrier..

Added on August 11, 2008, 9:28 pmThanks, stimix & wiNd!!! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by JessyK: Aug 11 2008, 09:28 PM
wiNd
post Aug 12 2008, 10:30 AM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

QUOTE(JessyK @ Aug 11 2008, 09:27 PM)
I'm not sure about others. But I been to BKK & HK before.
Personally I dun think both of this place required tour. F&E will be better to explore the city.

Maybe BKK might be bit hard due to language barrier..

Added on August 11, 2008, 9:28 pmThanks, stimix & wiNd!!! rclxms.gif
before going for a Free & Easy trip, go do some research on the places you wanna visit, prepare maps/info,etc. there are lots of websites on Thailand, Bangkok, etc. try airasia.com for air tics and asiarooms.com for cheap rooms, lots of choices there.

its not that hard to F&E in Bangkok, just ask for directions and the locals there are willing to point you to the right place. if not, just consult your hotel's receptionist before you head to a place, im sure they know the place and speak English.

and taxis r everywhere, no worries .... rclxms.gif

teasers ... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by wiNd: Aug 12 2008, 10:34 AM
panasonic88
post Aug 12 2008, 10:36 AM

37,028 posts

i heard that the BKK taxi are actually Toyota Altis, rite? biggrin.gif

ahhh i gonna give that a try~!

wiNd
post Aug 12 2008, 10:38 AM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Aug 12 2008, 10:36 AM)
i heard that the BKK taxi are actually Toyota Altis, rite? biggrin.gif

ahhh i gonna give that a try~!
yeah...most of the cars r Toyota and Honda
nexuz
post Aug 13 2008, 03:50 PM

109 posts

Sirocco cost a bomb. RM500 for a set dinner per pax.

But the view is worth the price.

Or you can just opt for a drink at the Sky Bar, just beside Sirocco

PrinceCaspien
post Aug 14 2008, 08:24 PM

Unique
1,717 posts

QUOTE(maximsilentfoot @ Aug 3 2008, 10:58 PM)
never tried, but from what i've heard its  VERY nice and luxurious hotel. 5-star category i think smile.gif ur not that far from siam area either so its in quite an ok location.
yup not far from Siam area.....2 stations away......RM2.50 per BTS ride....cheap

Will be in Bangkok again in October.....hope this time can stay at the Court Yard by Marriot....smile.gif from the net it looks more class than Pullman...smile.gif

Went to GoodView Restaurant and it was a fantastic place to eat.
Went to Siam Niramit for dinner and Show, food was ok and the show about history of thailand was fantastic, big theather and fantastic show........(heard the show cost 1500Baht per person for VIP seating)-worth the money for people who love live theather show.

QUOTE(wiNd @ Aug 12 2008, 10:30 AM)
before going for a Free & Easy trip, go do some research on the places you wanna visit, prepare maps/info,etc. there are lots of websites on Thailand, Bangkok, etc. try airasia.com for air tics and asiarooms.com for cheap rooms, lots of choices there.

its not that hard to F&E in Bangkok, just ask for directions and the locals there are willing to point you to the right place. if not, just consult your hotel's receptionist before you head to a place, im sure they know the place and speak English.

and taxis r everywhere, no worries .... rclxms.gif

teasers ... tongue.gif

Just get a map called Groovy Map-Bangkok......full of explanation for each locations, recommendation of places to go, eat....etc.....You can get when you arrive at airport at level 2 for 200Baht only.

1 piece of advice, (Taxi-use meter, don't use if the driver says the meter spoilt.plenty of taxi around) more cheaper than TUK TUK......
washabushi
post Aug 15 2008, 09:51 AM

pandu cepat mati selamat
1,678 posts

i've already book my flight to bkk
23 - 28
will be staying at 1st house hotel
panasonic88
post Aug 15 2008, 11:26 AM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(nexuz @ Aug 13 2008, 03:50 PM)
Sirocco cost a bomb. RM500 for a set dinner per pax.

But the view is worth the price.

Or you can just opt for a drink at the Sky Bar, just beside Sirocco
omg! this is insane!!

but yeah, from the website, the view is breath-taking!

i will be going to BKK on December. will be checking in on two different hotels. for the sake of testing, lol.

i wonder did anyone stay at Baiyoke Sky Hotel? it claimed to be the tallest hotel in Bangkok city. do check out the website!

man, this is enjoying-life!!! thumbup.gif
sawadikaa
post Aug 16 2008, 04:55 AM

Is is safe to take my child to bangkok for holiday? whats the cheapest and also safe way to travel there?
hellokitty82
post Aug 17 2008, 12:03 AM

272 posts

QUOTE(washabushi @ Aug 15 2008, 09:51 AM)
i've already book my flight to bkk
23 - 28
will be staying at 1st house hotel
anybody else staying at 1st house hotel before?
from the website, telling that the location is very good, near to all the shopping area
http://www.firsthousebkk.com/
and the hotel rooms look so nice...is it exactly the actual with the pic shown? rolleyes.gif
asiarooms offer very cheap price for 1st house hotel...so i'm considering now...
anybody staying 2st house hotel mind to share review or experience?? thanks notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

126 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.0246sec    1.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 08:07 PM