QUOTE(samurai1337 @ Dec 6 2006, 01:13 PM)
By the way, do you know Tiwanon Road? My customer's office is there...is it a busy place or rather unheard of?
Travel Bangkok, Interesting places?
Dec 6 2006, 06:22 PM
1,575 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Singapore, Chicago, Appleton WI, Bangkok, KL |
QUOTE(samurai1337 @ Dec 6 2006, 01:13 PM) By the way, do you know Tiwanon Road? My customer's office is there...is it a busy place or rather unheard of? |
Dec 7 2006, 09:04 AM
1,575 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Singapore, Chicago, Appleton WI, Bangkok, KL |
Dec 10 2006, 12:06 AM
QUOTE(sunbeams @ Dec 9 2006, 11:39 PM) Here's a list of Tha-Siam food that I usually enjoy: 1. Kuey teow moo dwoon (braised pork with noodles) 2. Yen Ta Four (fish assortment noodles in red sauce, which I think it's something like tau ju) 3. Look chin ruam (mixed boat of fish / meat balls) Now when ordering noodles in Thailand, there is a special lingo to it. While kuey teow in Malaysia refers to the fat, flat noodles, keuy teow is a generic term for "noodles". So how do I tell the right kind of noodles? Here's some help: a) Fat, flat white noodles (known as kuey teow in M'sia) - Shen Yai b) Bee Hoon - Shen mee c) Glass noodles (dong fen) - woon shen d) Yellow noodles that is usually used for Wan Tan Mee - Bak Mee e) Yellow, fat noodles usually used for fried hokkien mee - Soba f) Magi mee - Mama mee Hope this helps! to add to sunbeam's list, 2 more useful words for ordering boat noodles: i) Dry - hang ii) soup - naam |
Dec 14 2006, 10:26 AM
QUOTE(zenix @ Dec 14 2006, 01:51 AM) well, maybe 1 more of my favorite places. go have dinner or drinks at Sirocco or Sky Bar at State Tower. breathless view of Bangkok at night i assure you...http://www.thedomebkk.com/web/corp_home03.html |
Dec 16 2006, 09:43 AM
QUOTE(dude @ Dec 16 2006, 12:10 AM) yeah, but it's out of the metro area. most of the sales people don't speak english so can be a bit difficult. price wise, i think almost same as klang, some tyres are cheap especially when they have offer - dirt cheap - and rim selection are more "branded" than klang. i wonder which area you might be referring to. is it the one in Pathumthani? there is another short section towards old bangkok city, near to Chinatown but i can't remember the road. |
Dec 18 2006, 05:57 PM
QUOTE(tytaniumism @ Dec 18 2006, 03:49 PM) Sawasdee krup guys try Emporium or Siam Paragon. There should be shops that offer the cute cute things that you saw at B2S. one such shop is called propaganda if i remember correctly. the anchor tenant department store (can't remember the name off hand) at Siam Paragon should have those things as well (like pillow cases, salt pepper shaker, coasters etc).Currently I'm ini Bangkok for a business trip, will be here until Friday. Unfortunately this trip is working purpose, I only have spare time to walk around at night. Frankly speaking I'm more interested in sight-seeing (especially to religious places with exotic buildings). And I'd like to buy some special christmas presents for my frens. Any place you guys can recommend? (I wish to buy some cute, special christmas gift for my female friends. I went to Siam discovery, MBK & Central Point yesterday, and honestly only a shop called B2S in Central Point offers what I want. Any other places that I can find those cute cute special thingy?) Khob khun krup then |
Jan 6 2007, 09:11 PM
i've been here since last Wed Jan 3rd and it is business as usual for most Thais. there are of course increase security at the malls now and there is a cursory check on your backpack at the entrance. the bombs were quite frankly, designed to distract rather than to destroy.
Jan 15 2007, 05:13 PM
Trinity has an interesting location. It is not as convenient as the hotel would make it out to be. Located just behind the Bangkok Bank building along Silom Road, the nearest BTS station is Sala Daeng which is probably 15-20 mins BRISK walk away. But you are only a minute away from a busy street market that opens during lunch time on weekdays but it has mainly stalls for womens clothes and accessories.
Jan 24 2007, 10:42 AM
the wear yellow year started in 2006 as it was 60 years of being on the throne (or something like that...)...
This post has been edited by ihawk98: Jan 24 2007, 10:42 AM |
Feb 8 2007, 11:24 AM
QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Feb 7 2007, 07:46 PM) Erm, btw, i dun see much places selling Tom Yam and Nasi Pattaya when i was there. Strange. I thought they famous for this thing. The only one i got to taste tomyam is at Chatucak Weekend Market. Nothing to shout about..Hehe |
Feb 22 2007, 10:43 AM
QUOTE(ahsoon @ Feb 22 2007, 01:05 AM) you can fly to koh samui from BKK via Bangkok Airways and they have a monopoly on that route to the island so be prepared to pay a lot for the airfare. when i went there last Oct, the airfare from Bangkok to Koh Samui was just as expensive as my air asia ticket from KL to BKK.you can also fly THAI airways to Suratthani airport. then take a shuttle transfer (1 hour) to Donsak Pier, and then a 1 1/2 hour boat ride to Koh Samui..... i don't know whether Pelangi Air still flies direct to Koh Samui from KL.... This post has been edited by ihawk98: Feb 22 2007, 10:43 AM |
Mar 2 2007, 11:47 AM
Mar 3 2007, 10:58 AM
if using mobile to do the calling or sms, always use +<country code><area code><phone no> and it will work wherever you are. but if using fixed line or if using IDD dialing code (e.g. 00, 011), just omit the extra "0" in front of area code.
Mar 3 2007, 03:15 PM
QUOTE(wk_wong @ Mar 3 2007, 12:03 PM) hi hawk, hi wk_wong,is this how it works? 1. +6608-1111-1111? (from m'sian mobile line in m'sia to thai mobile line in thailand) 2. +4408-1111-1111? (from m'sian mobile line in m'sia to thai mobile line in uk) 3. +6012-666 6666? (thai mobile line in thailand to m'sian mobile line in m'sia) Added on March 3, 2007, 12:42 pmhere is the taxi rate from airport to sukhumvit nana when im travelling to bkk: - from airport to sukhumvit nana = 370 THB (with 50 THB taxi service charge on the taxi counter in airport plus motorway tolls) journey = around 35min without traffic. - from sukhumvit nana to airport = 260 THB (plus motorway tolls) journey = around 1 hour with slow moving traffic around sukhumvit. weird, i took longer time to airport but more expensive then i took shorter time from airport to hotel. 1) omit the "0" 2) nope, regardless of where the thai number is roaming, just call +66-81-111-1111. 3) correct. |
Mar 5 2007, 01:19 AM
Mar 6 2007, 11:50 AM
QUOTE(jy14 @ Mar 6 2007, 11:17 AM) But, I appreciate the extra guides to the floating market. Is that not the normal ones that the travel agencies arranges ? Coz, long long time ago i've been there once and it was like real boring, only a few boats, not like those advertised with lots of boats. There is another one closer to Bangkok and is much smaller and nothing to shout about. |
Apr 23 2007, 09:25 PM
QUOTE(ChocolateChipCookies @ Apr 23 2007, 07:48 PM) Hey guys, quick question... far..not walkable. you might have to take a MRTA to Petchburi and then take a cab west on Petchburi road towards Pratunam.How far is, Emerald Hotel 99/1 Ratchadapisek Road, Din Daeng ,Bangkok,Thailand Location: Ratchadaphisek http://www.hotels2thailand.com/thailand-ho...-map.asp?id=168 http://www.emeraldhotel.com/MAP_large.htm to Pratunam. Let say Baiyoke Tower. |
Mar 21 2008, 04:19 PM
i can confirm what stimix said. i just did a BKK trip early March and there is no need to buy airport tax when leaving BKK.
Mar 25 2008, 02:36 PM
QUOTE(flameboy3 @ Mar 25 2008, 01:44 PM) Im going to bangkok next week on thursday and coming back on tuesday I just checked with my thai friend for you. suan lum night bazaar is still in business right now. |
Apr 1 2008, 02:28 PM
QUOTE(Blackbird @ Mar 30 2008, 05:43 PM) No double charge, but you will hv to pay for the toll though. For me, I paid ~ 65baht for the toll in addition of the 300baht for the taxi. Depends on your location. i could have sworn there was a 50% extra charge for after midnight....maybe i remembered incorrectly then. |
| Change to: | 0.0485sec
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 05:26 AM |