Strata act 757

kochin
post Aug 18 2016, 11:11 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

does the jmb or management office have the right or authority to request and keep:
1. copy or relevant pages of the Sales & Purchase Agreement
2. NRIC of people residing within (be it owners or tenants alike)
3. tenancy agreements

if they do, do they need to draw up a PDPA policy first?

lucerne
post Aug 28 2016, 10:47 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Aug 18 2016, 11:11 AM)
does the jmb or management office have the right or authority to request and keep:
3. tenancy agreements

under the act, JMB have to keep record of owners ' details

Register of parcel owners

18. The register of parcel owners to be prepared and maintained by the developer during the developer's management period or by the joint management body under subsection 30(1) of the Act, as the case may be, shall be in Form 9.

when you apply syabas, tnb etc, u also need to attach your ic, so no secret.

TA ; i think many condo practice this when apply for access cards.
aurora97
post Sep 14 2016, 02:05 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Aug 18 2016, 11:11 AM)
3. tenancy agreements

is a good question whether PDPA policy applies to JMB/MC.

According to PDPA commission, the PDPA policy applies to all with exception of certain industries, which are specifically named and required to go through a registration process.

To have a PDPA policy in place is easy but to keep up with the principles enshrined in the Act is a different story all together. As if JMB/MC don't have enough problems (defects, leakages etc...) and no they are saddled with PDPA requirements?

In terms of the PDPA policy, the answer is "Yes" but i reckon the JMB/MC should be guided by COB or by JMB association. At the moment, none forthcoming.

Back to your question 1,2 and 3.

It's a practice, whereby a person furnish information and a supporting be presented. This is to verify the genuineness of the person making the application.

If I say John is the owner of unit A-4-4, how do you prove it? Do you take my word?

Than again practice doesn't mean it is right in the eyes of the law (as you correctly pointed out PDPA) but than you will have a problem... if you don't give the management the information requested, management will than deny your request/application, since he/she is unable to process ur request/application.
Airoha
post Oct 6 2016, 10:13 AM

36 posts

I bought a landed strata title house 2 years ago and the developer sent a registered mail stating the house is ready for vacant possession (VP). When collecting the keys, the developer told us there is NO electricity yet, claiming delay from TNB. They can't tell us when can we go and apply for TNB meter. Should I take the VP or wait? The mail stated the VP will be assume to be handover to owner after 14 days. I need to pay for maintenance fee and service my loan as of now.
??!!
post Oct 10 2016, 01:42 AM

2,548 posts

QUOTE(Airoha @ Oct 6 2016, 10:13 AM)

I bought a landed strata title house 2 years ago and the developer sent a registered mail stating the house is ready for vacant possession (VP). When collecting the keys, the developer told us there is NO electricity yet, claiming delay from TNB. They can't tell us when can we go and apply for TNB meter. Should I take the VP or wait? The mail stated the VP will be assume to be handover to owner after 14 days. I need to pay for maintenance fee and service my loan as of now.
The critical point to determine if developer has complied with conditions for vp will be (inter alia)

Is the " unit ready for connection for electricity supply" by TNB to supply electricity? If it is, but TNB does not supply the electricity , then it's not developer's fault. However, if works are not complete resulting in TNB not being able to supply electricity, then you can challenge the vp notice.

This post has been edited by ??!!: Oct 10 2016, 01:51 AM
kochin
post Dec 2 2016, 05:50 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

What is the condition to be a committee member?
Does the person needs to obtained his strata first?

nookie188
post Dec 2 2016, 06:50 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Dec 2 2016, 05:50 PM)
you need to be the actual owner not proxy..

if the strata title is out, then yes, you need to have the title transferred to your name before you
are eligible to vote and be voted in as a committee member..
sam sam
post Dec 2 2016, 07:53 PM

814 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Dec 2 2016, 05:50 PM)
Yes for management corporation
No need for jmb as long owne
kochin
post Dec 7 2016, 09:12 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

what happens when jmb or mc have failed to adhered to the timeline to submit their minutes to COB and also failed to displayed it at the notice board as per the act?
nookie188
post Dec 7 2016, 10:35 AM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Dec 7 2016, 09:12 AM)
what happens when jmb or mc have failed to adhered to the timeline to submit their minutes to COB and also failed to displayed it at the notice board as per the act?
you can file your complaint to COB but whether they respond or not, no one knows really blink.gif

sam sam
post Dec 7 2016, 01:09 PM

814 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Dec 7 2016, 09:12 AM)
We experience the same. Filed complaint with Cob
Cob send letters but didn't treat it urgently

The mc delay until it was like 3 months later.

Cob said to file to tribunal. Perhaps to reduce their workload

nookie188
post Dec 7 2016, 04:29 PM

2,515 posts

sometimes the JMB /MC deliberately delay sending out the minutes and by the time they sent out most people would not
remember exactly what transpired at the meeting which could run into hours..

also encountered minutes that are not accurate dunno deliberate or not lah.. Minutes that are incomplete pun ada..

so nowadays better to tape the entire meeting so no dispute later..
okuribito
post Dec 24 2016, 12:00 PM

1,021 posts

I'm looking for a sample copy of by-laws under the strata management act.

In the case of companies Act, there's always a standard M&A included in the companies act which companies can adopt with or without amendment.

But I can't find a standard by-laws in the strata management act. Am I looking in the right place? Can some kind soul point me to an online resource where i can d/load the pdf please?

TQ

PS: i d/loaded my act757 from this link

In schedule 2, can find all the rules & regulations for the running of the mgt corp, akin to M&A of a company

This post has been edited by okuribito: Dec 24 2016, 12:05 PM
Rayshah
post Jan 15 2017, 04:18 AM

28 posts

Hi all.. I want to buy an property in Ukay perdana but this apartment is still under master title even after 5 years. After checking with the jmb they said that the developer were bancrupt and it already taken over by liqiudator. And the agent said that there should not be any problem to buy.

Ive made some research and found that i need to get deeds of assignment from liquidator etc to buy this property and i read that the process to buy a property without strata sometimes will take 1-2 years.

Can anyone advise on this?
kochin
post Mar 10 2017, 11:49 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

i came across a property for sale which they plan for the ac ledge to be beside the balcony.
but yet they refuse to mark it as an ac ledge.
hence it pique my curiousity of whether are they in breach of any act that mandates labelling of these area?
does ac ledge form part of the saleable area or it's an accessory parcel instead?

aurora97
post Apr 17 2017, 05:46 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Mar 10 2017, 11:49 AM)
i came across a property for sale which they plan for the ac ledge to be beside the balcony.
hence it pique my curiousity of whether are they in breach of any act that mandates labelling of these area?
does ac ledge form part of the saleable area or it's an accessory parcel instead?
accessory parcel.

a side note, private lift lobby is also considered as accessory parcel. (i got blind sided by this, learnt a very expensive lesson x2)
SowYau
post Apr 17 2017, 07:44 PM

I try to be a movie reviewer
604 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Mar 10 2017, 11:49 AM)
Usually, If the access to the a/c ledge is climbing out from a window, then it is accessory parcel.

If the a/c ledge is next to the balcony, then likely it is direct access from balcony to a/c ledge, isn't it? If it is, it can be part of the saleable area, in other words, part of the main parcel, not accessory parcel.
SowYau
post Apr 17 2017, 07:47 PM

I try to be a movie reviewer
604 posts

QUOTE(Rayshah @ Jan 15 2017, 04:18 AM)
Hi all.. I want to buy an property in Ukay perdana but this apartment is still under master title even after 5 years. After checking with the jmb they said that the developer were bancrupt and it already taken over by liqiudator. And the agent said that there should not be any problem to buy.

Ive made some research and found that i need to get deeds of assignment from liquidator etc to buy this property and i read that the process to buy a property without strata sometimes will take 1-2 years.

Can anyone advise on this?
Please ask for the proof that it was taken over by liquidator.
PEACE BRO
post Apr 20 2017, 03:37 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ Apr 17 2017, 05:46 PM)
accessory parcel.

a side note, private lift lobby is also considered as accessory parcel. (i got blind sided by this, learnt a very expensive lesson x2)
Mind to elaborate on ur "expensive lesson"... like to learn from all the sifu here..
aurora97
post Apr 21 2017, 01:53 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(PEACE BRO @ Apr 20 2017, 03:37 PM)
Mind to elaborate on ur "expensive lesson"... like to learn from all the sifu here..
When people advertise, they will say...

Example 2200 sf inclusive private lift lobby, when actually it is not.

It should be 2000 sf excluding private loft lobby. They inflate the psf price.

Depending on design, the private lift lobby area maybe subject to mgmt approval since its an accessory parcel. U can just design as u like.

I acknowledge accessory parcel pay cheaper maintainance by 1/2 but paying rm 600 psf for 200 sq... doesnt make economical sense n there's not much u can put in the lift lobby area...

U may get the privacy u want... but it can also potentially backfire... so imagine if i want to rob ur house... no one can actually hear u shout for help.

26 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0164sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:02 PM