Strata act 757

okuribito
post Dec 24 2016, 12:00 PM

1,021 posts

I'm looking for a sample copy of by-laws under the strata management act.

In the case of companies Act, there's always a standard M&A included in the companies act which companies can adopt with or without amendment.

But I can't find a standard by-laws in the strata management act. Am I looking in the right place? Can some kind soul point me to an online resource where i can d/load the pdf please?

TQ

PS: i d/loaded my act757 from this link

In schedule 2, can find all the rules & regulations for the running of the mgt corp, akin to M&A of a company

This post has been edited by okuribito: Dec 24 2016, 12:05 PM
okuribito
post May 21 2019, 03:58 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(crewmy @ Jan 30 2019, 09:07 PM)
Thank you. Do you know what is the terms used for all these "rules"? SOP? House Rules?
QUOTE(ulala2 @ Jan 31 2019, 08:38 AM)
Special Resolution?
The "rules" are actually called the BY-LAWS. 3rd Schedule of the Strata Management (Maintenance & management) Regulations 2015 are the BY-LAWS that apply to all strata properties. The "rules" in the BY-LAWS bind all parties related to a strata property - developer, owner, even lessees (eg tenants)

You don't have to "adopt" the BY-LAWS - you are automatically bound by it by law.

The management corporation (ie the legal entity comprising all owners) can make "additional by-laws" by SPECIAL RESOLUTION as long as they are not inconsistent with those in the 3rd Schedule. If they are inconsistent, then the 3rd Schedule takes priority.

A resolution is a motion/proposal presented to owners in a general meeting. It must achieve a certain level of votes for it to be passed & adopted.

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jan 31 2019, 10:45 AM)
Resolution.

Resolution is an important document that govern a corporation/company activities, what the corporation can or cannot do or suppose to do in specific condition.
In a company that important document is the memorandum of association. For a management corporation, it is called the constitution

hth

okuribito
post Jun 13 2019, 02:10 PM

1,021 posts

Transfer from https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=92966891

Question about making/amending additional by-laws:

I think 757 says that JMB/MC can make/amend additional by-laws by special resolution which needs 21 days' notice. Instead of convening an EGM, let's say an MC decides to propose additional by-laws at the AGM. So instead of 14 days notice, the MC will have to give 21 days' notice, right?

Assuming an owner wants to propose a by-law at that AGM, must he give 21 days' notice? OR can he use Rule 12(2) of the SMMMR  and write in "not less than seven days before the AGM" to propose a motion to adopt the additional by-law he drafted?

QUOTE(ulala2 @ Jun 13 2019, 12:39 PM)
I believed your above question is posted at the wrong thread, you should post it at https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3608743

Anyhow, i try my best to answer you.

1) If JMB/MC want to make new additional by-law, they need use special resolution and obtain majority vote in AGM/EGM.

2) If this is special resolution, u need to provide 21 day notices to all the proprietor. Meaning that, the Notice of AGM/EGM need to send out at least 21 days before the meeting date. Adding to that, the Notice of AGM/EGM must attached with the special resolution to list out all the proposed additional by-law, and this also as part of Agenda in the Notice of AGM/EGM.

3) Please take note that on Motion, Second Schedule, 13(1),
If you read carefully, IN THE AGENDA OF THE NEXT GENERAL MEETING. Means, u submit a motion in this AGM/EGM, will only discuss in the next AGM/EGM.

4) The additional by-law only can make by JMB/MC, not a single proprietor.

TQ
1) & 2)
yup understand the requirements

3)
hehehe did not pay much attention to that "next" - good one tongue.gif

Say today I receive notice of this year's AGM to be held on 5 July 2019 ( at least 21 days notice). I take 1 week to draft my proposed by-law & on 20 June 2019, i send a notice under Second Schedule 13(1) asking them to include my proposal in the agenda of the 5 July AGM. Three scenarios:

A) Your interpretation
The jmb/mc says it cannot be done for 5/7/2019 AGM. TQ, but we will include it in 2020's AGM. Can? imho hmm.gif

B) What I think should happen
The jmb/mc puts up my proposal on the notice boards on 21 June 2019 ie notifies all proprietors of my proposal. Effectively giving other/all proprietors 14 days notice.

Come 5 July, the Chairman of the meeting informs that a notice was received from me. But he explains to the proprietors that it cannot be considered/voted on because the notice was only 14 days and not the 21 days necessary for a special resolution.

C) What i think can happen
The jmb/mc puts up my proposal on the notice boards on 21 June 2019 ie notifies all proprietors of my proposal. Effectively giving other/all proprietors 14 days notice.

Come 5 July, the Chairman allows voting on my additional by-law & the necessary majority of those present vote for it. After the AGM, the house rules are updated with my additional by-law.

The question then is the validity of the new by-law that I proposed via Second Schedule 13(1) AND as shown above, other proprietors were given only 14 days notice

Sifus, which scenario is the correct one? A, B or C? If C, my additional by-law valid or not?

4) Yes not by a single proprietor. But not by the jmb/mgt committee either. To be anal about it, 70(2) in 757 says the "management corporation" ie the legal entity comprising all proprietors smile.gif

This post has been edited by okuribito: Jun 13 2019, 02:16 PM
okuribito
post Jun 13 2019, 02:33 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(ulala2 @ Jun 13 2019, 02:22 PM)
okuribito, none of your option will happen.

1) if the meeting to be held on 5/7/2019, 21 days from 5/7/2019 is 13/6/19.
2) if u submit on 20/6/19, which will be considered not a valid special resolution.
3) U is refer to u as JMB/MC or a single proprietor?? Only JMB/MC can make additional by-law, not a single proprietor.
4) u may need to discuss with JMB/MC during one of their regular meeting to table them ur proposed additional by-law, if they accept only to issue as special resolution and need to issue 21 days from the meeting date.

So assuming u are a normal proprietor, u drafted additional by-law, and would like to submit to JMB/MC to be consider in AGM/EGM.
Say meeting on 5/7/19, u submitted on 20/6/19, if i'm JMB/MC, i will say

"you cannot submit your draft additional by-law to be consider as special resolution, reason is u d't have that authority"
rclxms.gif TQ ... u very well versed - u lawyer or have experience as jmb or mc member?

0.0337sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:46 AM