post Jun 24 2015, 06:50 PM

---------------------
65,281 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Jun 3 2015, 07:58 PM)
CIMB promotion getting worse,
3.9%p.a for 3 months,
4.0% for 1 yr,
minimum 50k, do remember to apply for CIMB prime if you can fork out such amount  brows.gif
cimb
QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jun 24 2015, 06:05 PM)
Just rec'd a text from CIMB Bank
3.90% pa on 3 mths FD with min RM50k n valid till 30/6
same promo as before thumbup.gif

Castor Troy
post Jun 25 2015, 04:42 PM

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jun 24 2015, 04:28 PM)
Besides HSBC, Citibank also takes up lots of one's time when opening account for the very first time.

We have mentioned many times before it previous threads that one has to consider time (plus petrol and and stress in finding a parking spot if applicable) which I also mentioned in my article Earn More FREE Money with The Right Fixed Deposit.

As far as I'm concerned, HSBC promos is really a waste of time as they only offer special promo rate to NEW customer and for 3 months TD deposit only. And once you become an existing customer - you will never be offered any more TD Promo (so far for the last 5 years that I know off) and you have to maintain minimum AUM or else you'll be imposed penalty. And HSBC TD board rates are amongst the lowest in Malaysia. So then got hassle to go terminate the account after Promo ends. Having said that, if you have RM1M and got nothing better to do, then getting the extra interest for 3 months may be worth while.

Most of the regulars here that chase after FD really got nothing better to do but go waste time seeing leng luis (for the ladies leng chais) at the banks, hahahaha.
blush.gif Sorry, didn't heed your warning advice but thanks for the recapping. Sometimes like ppl say, hafta learn d hard way... Nevertheless even so, I didn't expect it to be that looong... that's why half way the process, i also kindda regretted abit but no choice liao.. if move to another bank tat time lagi waste more time. Worst thing is the bank officer is jantan, so nothing to see. yawn.gif

At this moment HSBC is giving the best promo rate for short term.... so happen my matured $$ budget also ngam ngam fit their criteria and cannot commit too long duration oso... I think maybe next time must go for at least 6 months punya... can lessen the frequency burden of travelling to banks.
cybpsych
post Jun 25 2015, 04:56 PM

---------------------
65,281 posts

OCBC e-SmartSavers Account [ OCBC | Promo T&Cs | FAQ | APPLY NOW ]

When you open an online SmartSavers account with us from now until 30 September 2015, you will receive a special* interest rate of: 4.00% p.a.

*Rates applicable on account balances until 31 December 2015.

If you withdraw money within the month, you will only receive 0.5% interest a year.
If you deposit minimum of RM50 monthly, you will be enjoying 4.00% interest a year until 31 December 2015.

Additional info clarified by CS:

1) You need to deposit RM200 as account opening deposit (similar to opening a new savings account). Then another RM200 to activate the e-SmartSavers account.
2) Transfer of RM200 for activation must be from other banks via IBG or deposit via walk-in to OCBC branch.
3) Subsequent monthly deposit (min RM50), must be from other banks via IBG or CDM. Intrabank transfer from other OCBC Savings account (e.g. SmartSavers) will not be eligible for the promo rate. That means, to enjoy the 4.00% p.a. promo rate, you need to begin from new fund deposit. <-- workaround is to cash-out/IBG out then bank-in to e-SmartSavers instead.
4) e-SmartSavers account closure, need to visit the Preferred OCBC Branch (selected during registration from eForm).

Some FAQs...

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Jul 1 2015, 09:16 AM
Human Nature
post Jun 25 2015, 06:06 PM

- student of human nature -
26,524 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jun 25 2015, 04:56 PM)
FYI, open OCBC e-SmartSavers Account from now until 30 September 2015 and you'll receive a special interest rate of 4.00% p.a. on account balances until 31 December 2015.

Just need to deposit minimum of RM50 monthly to enjoy this rate.

Read more here and here.
Too bad, existing SmartSavers account holder not eligible to open e-SmartSavers account  mad.gif
This is interesting. From what I understand from the T&C, looks like there is no hidden agenda.

Account balance refers to the balance at the end of every month and the interest will be credited monthly?

Assuming I bank transfer 10000 to the account now, I stand to obtain RM33.33 at the end of this month and after 6 months (31 Dec 2015), it will be compounded to a total of RM10201.67?
cklimm
post Jun 25 2015, 06:08 PM

2,337 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jun 25 2015, 06:06 PM)
This is interesting. From what I understand from the T&C, looks like there is no hidden agenda.

Account balance refers to the balance at the end of every month and the interest will be credited monthly?

Assuming I bank transfer 10000 to the account now,  I stand to obtain RM33.33 at the end of this month and after 6 months (31 Dec 2015), it will be compounded to a total of RM10201.67?
the hidden agenda is, if you make any withdrawal, your rate will be reduced to 0.50% p.a, for that calendar month
Human Nature
post Jun 25 2015, 06:12 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Jun 25 2015, 06:08 PM)
the hidden agenda is, if you make any withdrawal, your rate will be reduced to 0.50% p.a, for that calendar month
I am okay with that as will treat it like a 1-month eFD. On the other hand, if we pump in more fund on the next month, it will enjoy the 4% p.a. too. But really sound too good? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Jun 25 2015, 06:15 PM
bbgoat
post Jun 25 2015, 06:22 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Castor Troy @ Jun 25 2015, 04:42 PM)
blush.gif Sorry, didn't heed your warning advice but thanks for the recapping. Sometimes like ppl say, hafta learn d hard way... Nevertheless even so, I didn't expect it to be that looong... that's why half way the process, i also kindda regretted abit but no choice liao.. if move to another bank tat time lagi waste more time. Worst thing is the bank officer is jantan, so nothing to see.  yawn.gif

At this moment HSBC is giving the best promo rate for short term.... so happen my matured $$ budget also ngam ngam fit their criteria and cannot commit too long duration oso... I think maybe next time must go for at least 6 months punya... can lessen the frequency burden of travelling to banks.
Short term FD has its purpose. Right now I also have some 1 mth, 3mth FD placed. Some has been renewed. These are short term ones which I foresee to use them in the immediate future. I keep these at CB at low monthly rate as I can even call them to cancel it and use them immediately. biggrin.gif

But for those FD which I don't foresee I will be using them, I placed them long term, 1 year, 2 years and 3 years. biggrin.gif
cklimm
post Jun 25 2015, 06:26 PM

2,337 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jun 25 2015, 04:56 PM)
FYI, open OCBC e-SmartSavers Account from now until 30 September 2015 and you'll receive a special interest rate of 4.00% p.a. on account balances until 31 December 2015.

Just need to deposit minimum of RM50 monthly to enjoy this rate.

Read more here and here.
Too bad, existing SmartSavers account holder not eligible to open e-SmartSavers account  mad.gif
I wonder if RinggitPlus will give any freebies for this Promo
BoomChaCha
post Jun 25 2015, 06:33 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 24 2015, 08:38 AM)
OK lah, admit also eats CD. Taste great ! Don't you also like it ? brows.gif Share, share !  tongue.gif
Wasai, from real world to virtual world ! Taking another step .........................???????  rclxms.gif 
Ha..? You want to eat me..? Come lah.. brows.gif

Yes, HSBC has a lot of paper work for FD..
But anyway, Congratulations..!! You made a right decision for this FD promo 5% cheers.gif
Especially during this inflation, we should try our best to get the best rate...
And in addition, you managed to open 3 a/c (2 individual + 1 joint).. worth it lah...

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 24 2015, 05:03 PM)
The other one I encountered is OCBC. But have good time looking at the leng lui RM.

Experience with HSBC not that bad. Have been CB customer for years so cannot remember "the first time" when I opened acct there.  tongue.gif
Haha, taking a swipe at some of the regulars ? 

I would go for FD with eyetertainment in mind.  icon_idea.gif But, I passed on the HSBC one. Too short in duration for me. Ah Boom brought gf's there to maximise his profits. Ha ha ha ! 
Ah Sir...of course I want to shoot to the maximum profit..... thumbup.gif
BoomChaCha
post Jun 25 2015, 06:39 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jun 24 2015, 06:05 PM)
Just rec'd a text from CIMB Bank
3.90% pa on 3 mths FD with min RM50k n valid till 30/6
Banks nowadays are asking for more FD deposit..
I think minimum RM 50K is too much... hmm.gif

QUOTE(cklimm @ Jun 25 2015, 06:08 PM)
Yes...not easy to withdraw from OCBC Smart Savers... sweat.gif
If want to withdraw, the best timing to do it is during first day of the month..

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Jun 25 2015, 06:45 PM
bbgoat
post Jun 25 2015, 06:43 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 25 2015, 06:33 PM)
Ha..? You want to eat me..? Come lah..  brows.gif
laugh.gif Eat you ? tongue.gif I am straight. Only eat CD. Not sure of you now ................ brows.gif
cybpsych
post Jun 25 2015, 06:54 PM

---------------------
65,281 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jun 25 2015, 06:06 PM)

Assuming I bank transfer 10000 to the account now,  I stand to obtain RM33.33 at the end of this month and after 6 months (31 Dec 2015), it will be compounded to a total of RM10201.67?
mechanism works like traditional smartsaver account. very very good interest rate if u don't need immediate fund.

I've been getting lots of free money by depositing 1k every month (as early as possible, usually 1st working day due to IBG, since interest is calculated over daily balance).
cybpsych
post Jun 25 2015, 06:57 PM

---------------------
65,281 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jun 25 2015, 06:12 PM)
I am okay with that as will treat it like a 1-month eFD. On the other hand, if we pump in more fund on the next month, it will enjoy the 4% p.a. too. But really sound too good?  hmm.gif
yes, keep on pumping in money the next month to regain the high interest rate. biggrin.gif

remind yourself not to withdraw the fund within calendar month .
BoomChaCha
post Jun 25 2015, 07:04 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 25 2015, 06:43 PM)
laugh.gif Eat you ?  tongue.gif I am straight. Only eat CD. Not sure of you now ................ brows.gif
You don't know the man in the picture..? hmm.gif

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jun 25 2015, 06:54 PM)
mechanism works like traditional smartsaver account. very very  good interest rate if u don't need immediate fund.

I've been getting lots of free money by depositing 1k every month (as early as possible, usually 1st working day due to IBG, since interest is calculated over daily balance).
Free money..? Can share how do you get free money..? hmm.gif
Human Nature
post Jun 25 2015, 07:05 PM

26,524 posts

mechanism works like traditional smartsaver account. very very  good interest rate if u don't need immediate fund.

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jun 25 2015, 06:57 PM)
yes, keep on pumping in money the next month to regain the high interest rate. biggrin.gif

remind yourself not to withdraw the fund within calendar month  .
alright, thanks. I have been depositing small amount every month to CIMB eFD for 3.15% only
Ramjade
post Jun 25 2015, 08:12 PM

24,339 posts

They should allow withdrawal a minimum sum a month. Not really worth it as I used like rm1k a month. Cause if I withdraw every month rm1k, I only get interest of 0.5%

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 25 2015, 08:16 PM
BoomChaCha
post Jun 25 2015, 08:21 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jun 20 2015, 09:39 AM)
you are exactly correct - and Bro, like any other pyramid scheme, part of your "new deposits" besides paying for BoomChaCha's dividend will be used to entice others (by using your money to pay for stuff to give to others as free gift) to join in the fantastic run. The moment we have an Economy Collapse and NPL (from PLs which have no physical collateral) sky rocket, the party stops.
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 20 2015, 09:09 AM)
Uncle Boom, getting the 5 yrs rate from BR not that simple, eh ? shakehead.gif  tongue.gif

Luckily the longest I have with them is 2 years and now going to <1 year. So far my experience is still positive with them.  biggrin.gif

But admire our High Magician with FREE RENTAS from BR !!  notworthy.gif
Captain, Ah Goat Sir & Big Magician.... A Good News... thumbup.gif

BR paid my FD dividend calculated from the first day of May until 24th of June, total 55 days interest.

I calculated the earned interest rate based on 55 days in my iRakyat account..

BR did not lower my FD rate.
BR keeps their promise to give me back the original FD rate...

Must count correctly ma....Cannot miss one single cent....
cybpsych
post Jun 25 2015, 08:28 PM

---------------------
65,281 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 25 2015, 08:12 PM)
They should allow withdrawal a minimum sum a month. Not really worth it as I used like rm1k a month. Cause if I withdraw every month rm1k, I only get interest of 0.5%
that's why smartsavers is only good if you dont intend to use the fund in a particular month to enjoy the high-interest rate. if withdrawal happens, then it's like a normal savings account, that's all.

i use this smartsavers for 2 reasons: 1) ocbc super deal fd promo where i gotten the medklinn air steriliser, 2) the fund will be accumulated and used to reduce my housing loan in one lump sum, also from ocbc, hence i dont have immediate need to use the fund, while getting free money generated from the interest wink.gif

use this in conjunction with m2u savers, then you gets higher interest rate too by maintaining min 2k balance.
Ramjade
post Jun 25 2015, 08:32 PM

24,339 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jun 25 2015, 08:28 PM)
that's why smartsavers is only good if you dont intend to use the fund in a particular month to enjoy the high-interest rate. if withdrawal happens, then it's like a normal savings account, that's all.

i use this smartsavers for 2 reasons: 1) ocbc super deal fd promo where i gotten the medklinn air steriliser, 2) the fund will be accumulated and used to reduce my housing loan in one lump sum, also from ocbc, hence i dont have immediate need to use the fund, while getting free money generated from the interest wink.gif

use this in conjunction with m2u savers, then you gets higher interest rate too by maintaining min 2k balance.
But the 4% is just promo rates right or usual rates?
cybpsych
post Jun 25 2015, 08:33 PM

---------------------
65,281 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 25 2015, 07:04 PM)
Free money..? Can share how do you get free money..?    hmm.gif
haha free money from the interest lor... so far with remaining balance of ~RM8k (depositing RM1k each month for the past 8 months), i've been getting ~RM21.xx interest dy.

total interest gained so far is about RM103 thumbup.gif

132 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0301sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:54 AM