Ramjade
post Jun 9 2015, 02:15 PM

24,329 posts

QUOTE(Y.J.S @ Jun 9 2015, 01:48 PM)
3 months for 5%.
Min 5k max 30k
so those rich ones can open as many accounts as they want to benefit fully from this promo drool.gif
Well if interest goes down, that is bad choice as one only gets high interest for the first 3 months. After that one gets lower interest than lock in for 12-15 months.

I rather lock in at higher rates for longer time than at higher rates for shorter time
cklimm
post Jun 9 2015, 02:41 PM

2,337 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 9 2015, 02:15 PM)
Well if interest goes down, that is bad choice as one only gets high interest for the first 3 months. After that one gets lower interest than lock in for 12-15 months.

I rather lock in at higher rates for longer time than at higher rates for shorter time
i am happy with the HSBC free coffee, i will keep the 30k there after 3 months. Who needs Starbucks when you have HSBC? brows.gif
SUSY.J.S
post Jun 9 2015, 02:44 PM

MLM
1,353 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 9 2015, 02:15 PM)

Will manually close down the accounts like what you advised after 3 months flex.gif

Then turn to Affin Bank 15 months 4.33% FD thumbup.gif
BoomChaCha
post Jun 9 2015, 02:59 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 9 2015, 01:31 PM)
In RHB this morning. Met the branch manager. He said OPR likely going down next qtr. That view echoed by more and more people nowadays.  sad.gif

Need to go for longer term FD.  hmm.gif
Just called BR branch to follow-up my lowered FD interest rate issue:

Me: Boleh saya cakap dengan xxx?
BR: xxx sekarang rehat..

Rehat...? doh.gif BR provides recess for their employees..?

QUOTE(Y.J.S @ Jun 9 2015, 02:44 PM)
Will manually close down the accounts like what you advised after 3 months  flex.gif

I did the same.. cheers.gif
culain99
post Jun 9 2015, 03:04 PM

-----
765 posts

Affin Bank 15 months 4.33% FD - dont need to open any other savings account right?
going to move fd from hsbc with bad rates elsewhere
Ramjade
post Jun 9 2015, 03:05 PM

24,329 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Jun 9 2015, 02:41 PM)
i am happy with the HSBC free coffee, i will keep the 30k there after 3 months. Who needs Starbucks when you have HSBC?  brows.gif
What happen after 3 months? If opr drops, the other fd bank promo will drop.
BoomChaCha
post Jun 9 2015, 03:09 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(culain99 @ Jun 9 2015, 03:04 PM)
Affin Bank 15 months 4.33% FD - dont need to open any other savings account right?
going to move fd from hsbc with bad rates elsewhere
You need to open an Affin saving account to let the FD principal + FD interest to be
deposited to your saving account upon FD maturity.
Ramjade
post Jun 9 2015, 03:09 PM

24,329 posts

QUOTE(Y.J.S @ Jun 9 2015, 02:44 PM)
Will manually close down the accounts like what you advised after 3 months  flex.gif

It looks like opr will drop. Affin t&c said that their rates will drop according to opr
BoomChaCha
post Jun 9 2015, 03:12 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 9 2015, 03:09 PM)
It looks like opr will drop. Affin t&c said that their rates will drop according to opr
Where is the T&C stated this..? hmm.gif
Ramjade
post Jun 9 2015, 03:18 PM

24,329 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 9 2015, 03:12 PM)
Where is the T&C stated this..?  hmm.gif

See the last sentence
BoomChaCha
post Jun 9 2015, 03:38 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 9 2015, 03:18 PM)

See the last sentence
The last sentence is quite misleading... hmm.gif

I will go to Affin Bank to get confirm about it when I have time..
Ramjade
post Jun 9 2015, 03:53 PM

24,329 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 9 2015, 03:38 PM)
The last sentence is quite misleading...  hmm.gif

I will go to Affin Bank to get confirm about it when I have time..
Good. Hope to hear from you. But based from forum members opinion, they said the promo rates is based on opr interest. So if opr decrease, promo rates will either remain the same or decrease.
BoomChaCha
post Jun 9 2015, 04:14 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 9 2015, 03:53 PM)
Good. Hope to hear from you. But based from forum members opinion, they said the promo rates is based on opr interest. So if opr decrease, promo rates will either remain the same or decrease.
I do not think so.

In version 8, a forum member mentioned that because this Promo duration is very long (valid until end of the year),
so this 4.33% will change based on OPR; but for those who already placed the FD, the original FD rate will not change
regardless of the OPR change. I more agree to what he said about this.

In fact, I already called 2 Affin branches sweat.gif about this issue, they all said that FD rate would not be changed
after we placed the FD.

Anyway, I will grab this flyer to ask Affin Bank face to face about this issue, then I will get back to you..

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Jun 9 2015, 04:16 PM
wil-i-am
post Jun 9 2015, 04:15 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 9 2015, 03:53 PM)
There is no such clause in the FD cert
Ramjade
post Jun 9 2015, 04:27 PM

24,329 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 9 2015, 04:14 PM)
I do not think so.

In version 8, a forum member mentioned that because this Promo duration is very long (valid until end of the year),
so this 4.33% will change based on OPR; but for those who already placed the FD, the original FD rate will not change
regardless of the OPR change. I more agree to what he said about this.
That's what I meant.

Eg, if next month opr drops affin promo rates might drop as well for new placement.  But those who
placed before the drop will get enjoy the 4.33%

That is just my opinion. I could be wrong

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 9 2015, 04:28 PM
BoomChaCha
post Jun 9 2015, 04:35 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 9 2015, 04:27 PM)
That's what I meant.

All of you have to honor the FD rate printed on the FD cert,
otherwise I will suspend your bank license..

BoomChaCha
post Jun 9 2015, 04:43 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 9 2015, 04:27 PM)
That's what I meant.
Yes, this is what I mean, but I will go to double confirm with Affin..

cybpsych
post Jun 9 2015, 04:49 PM

---------------------
65,258 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 9 2015, 04:43 PM)
Yes, this is what I mean, but I will go to double confirm with Affin..

provided the bank revise the rate. if they still honor existing promo rate regardless of OPR change, then no difference.

if bank suddenly itchy/kancheong due to OPR change, they could revise the promo rate overnight, hence the clause is to protect them, and as a little disclaimer for customers to be aware of (their intention to revise without prior notice).
BoomChaCha
post Jun 9 2015, 04:51 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jun 9 2015, 04:49 PM)
provided the bank revise the rate. if they still honor existing promo rate regardless of OPR change, then no difference.

if bank suddenly itchy/kancheong due to OPR change, they could revise the promo rate overnight, hence the clause is to protect them, and as a little disclaimer for customers to be aware of (their intention to revise without prior notice).
Yes, 100% agree.. thumbup.gif
steven1107
post Jun 9 2015, 11:42 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Jun 9 2015, 02:41 PM)
i am happy with the HSBC free coffee, i will keep the 30k there after 3 months. Who needs Starbucks when you have HSBC?  brows.gif
I also planning to do FD..currently how much HSBC FD rate ? The ocbc of offer 4.4%

132 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0269sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:40 AM