LYN Christian Fellowship V10 (Group)

tinarhian
post Jun 9 2015, 09:55 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Jun 9 2015, 10:29 AM)
can buy it straight from gty.org

all cost $363 + a whopping shipping fee of $303 to your doorstep in Malaysia.

The result is two big boxes arrived, with fedex calling me to clear kastam issue =)
Oh, I checked Amazon and I can get it for $343.99 and download it via Whispernet. Need a Kindle device to work though.

My fiance already have a Kindle device so I can use it.

Sophiera
post Jun 9 2015, 11:16 PM

Sophtopus
706 posts

QUOTE(pehkay @ Jun 9 2015, 05:48 PM)
THE LORD'S GOING FOR HIS COMING BACK TO THE DISCIPLES AS THE SPIRIT

Chapter 14 is the turning point of the Gospel of John. At the beginning of this chapter the Lord surprised the disciples by telling them that He was about to leave them. The disciples were greatly disappointed at the thought of losing the Lord. Then the Lord told them the truth, the fact, that His going would be not a loss to them but a gain. His going was not His leaving but His coming back; His going was His coming.
In verse 17 the Lord Jesus said that the Spirit of reality would be with the disciples, and then in verse 18 he said, “I am coming to you.” While He was speaking, He was already coming. His going was His coming. The day of His coming would be the day of resurrection (v. 20). It is as if the Lord were saying, “There is no need for you to worry. You should be happy. I am leaving, but I am coming. Moreover, My coming is to come into you. Now I am in the flesh; for that reason, I can only be among you. As long as I am in the flesh, I can never be in you. Therefore, I need to be transfigured from the flesh into the Spirit. I need to have a change in form. Through death and resurrection I will be transfigured, changed in form from the flesh into the Spirit.” It was in this way, by death and resurrection, that Christ became the life-giving Spirit.

After Christ was resurrected from the dead, and on the day of resurrection He came back to the disciples in a very mysterious way. On that evening the doors were shut in the house where the disciples were for fear of the Jews, but suddenly Christ was among them. Even though no one opened the door, He came into the room and told His disciples to touch His resurrected body. He came back in this mysterious way in order to do one thing, that is, to breathe Himself into the disciples.

He breathed into the disciples and said to them, “Receive the Holy Spirit.” Spirit in Greek is pneuma, which also means “breath.” At that time He was the Holy Breath for His disciples to breathe. It was in this way that Christ came into the disciples. In the Gospel of John there is no record of Christ’s ascension to the heavens. From that time on He was continually in the disciples as the Spirit, the Holy Breath.
rclxms.gif Thank you for writing up this deep contemplation, Pehkay.

Lots of insight.
Sophiera
post Jun 10 2015, 06:08 PM

Sophtopus
706 posts

??? This board seems quiet lately.
alexkos
post Jun 10 2015, 07:49 PM

2,275 posts

compare preaching

1) biblical doctrine in biblical context
2) biblical doctrine in today's context
3) today's doctrine in today's context, with some verses coated around them to sound that it's from the Bible.

Discuss =D
alexkos
post Jun 10 2015, 07:51 PM

2,275 posts

QUOTE(tinarhian @ Jun 9 2015, 09:55 PM)
Oh, I checked Amazon and I can get it for $343.99 and download it via Whispernet. Need a Kindle device to work though.

My fiance already have a Kindle device so I can use it.
ya...a luxury to have it in hardcopy. and the result is......*drum*.....

alexkos
post Jun 10 2015, 07:52 PM

2,275 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Jun 10 2015, 06:08 PM)
??? This board seems quiet lately.
come sing a song biggrin.gif
tinarhian
post Jun 10 2015, 11:39 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Jun 10 2015, 07:51 PM)
ya...a luxury to have it in hardcopy. and the result is......*drum*.....
It maybe a luxury to you but I'm saving mother nature.

alexkos
post Jun 11 2015, 08:23 AM

2,275 posts

u made me guilty =(
de1929
post Jun 11 2015, 08:52 AM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Jun 10 2015, 07:49 PM)
compare preaching

1) biblical doctrine in biblical context
2) biblical doctrine in today's context
3) today's doctrine in today's context, with some verses coated around them to sound that it's from the Bible.

Discuss =D
Different denomination different reply brows.gif and each claim to be the correct one.

btw: what denomination are you coming from ?
de1929
post Jun 11 2015, 06:44 PM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(kron_ka @ Jun 11 2015, 05:45 PM)
Well I don't want to get into another debate.

All I can say if in doubt go back to the scriptures. Any church that leave out the scripture to differentiate itself from the rest, is just a church that wants vanity and attract as many people as possible to become a mega church, I am going to stay away.

I am not saying people won't grow there but when they do those kind of stuff, to me, they don't have the best interest of their congregation in heart...they only want vanity.
go back to scripture ? or go back to denomination thinking ?
tinarhian
post Jun 11 2015, 08:21 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Jun 11 2015, 08:23 AM)
u made me guilty =(
It saddened me that humans have almost ruined God's beautiful creations by our pursuit of greed, happiness, wealth, etc

To the destructions of mother nature, weird weather phenomenon, etc...

But what did the Bible says about new heaven and earth in Revelations? God will restore back everything right?

QUOTE(kron_ka @ Jun 11 2015, 05:41 PM)
No..its an American company.

I won't work 10++ hours a day unless the company is paying me darn well. I have to divide my time - dating (praying to God that he will make it work with her ! I have been always close to achieving but never ever achieve), my hobbies, church and watching TV.

Well, Poltergeist is showing at cinemas, you can try another horror movie.
Well I worked around 10++ hours. The pay is good. No complaints.

Oh yeah Poltergeist... shocking.gif
De_Luffy
post Jun 12 2015, 02:44 PM

737 posts

A good testimony from Taya Smith, one of Hillsong lead worship leaders and the voice for Broken Vessels(Amazing Grace)

http://hillsong.com/conference/blog/2015/0...h/#.VXp_Kvmqqko
TSpehkay
post Jun 13 2015, 11:20 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(tinarhian @ Jun 11 2015, 08:21 PM)
It saddened me that humans have almost ruined God's beautiful creations by our pursuit of greed, happiness, wealth, etc

To the destructions of mother nature, weird weather phenomenon, etc...

But what did the Bible says about new heaven and earth in Revelations? God will restore back everything right?

Oh yeah Poltergeist... shocking.gif
Yeah. So, those who bring the Lord back is the true ecologist tongue.gif
TSpehkay
post Jun 14 2015, 08:40 AM

145 posts

CHRIST AS THE ALL-INCLUSIVE SPIRIT BEING THE SPIRIT THAT WAS FROM THE BEGINNING WITH FURTHER ELEMENTS ADDED TO HIM

From the beginning, Christ was God, and God is Spirit. Then God as Spirit became a man to die on the cross to bear our sins and accomplish redemption. After this, He was resurrected, and in and by resurrection He became the life-giving Spirit.

What then is the difference between the Spirit that was from the beginning and the life-giving Spirit? Are they two Spirits or one?

We may illustrate the answer in the following way. Originally, I may have a cup of plain water, but if I gradually pour some juice into it, followed by some milk, tea, honey, and a little salt, eventually I will have a wonderful drink. It is still the water I had originally, but now there is a difference. At first it was purely, plainly, and uniquely water. Now it is still water but with certain elements added to it. Christ as Spirit in eternity was the “plain water,” but the life-giving Spirit has further elements added to Him, including incarnation, crucifixion, resurrection, and ascension.

The life-giving Spirit is still the original Spirit, but many wonderful elements have been added to Him (c.f. John 7:39). Without crucifixion, redemption, resurrection, and ascension the original Spirit could not come into man. It was not until Christ accomplished redemption, passing through incarnation, crucifixion, resurrection, and ascension that He came into man. How wonderful this is! Now Christ as God is the all-inclusive Spirit with redemption, incarnation, crucifixion, resurrection, and ascension.

Christ as the last Adam became a life-giving Spirit with many wonderful elements added to Him. This is the Spirit in the book of Acts who was spreading to produce the Body of Christ. In the Acts this wonderful Spirit is no longer only the Spirit of God. Acts 16:6-7 says, “And they passed through the region of Phrygia and Galatia, having been forbidden by the Holy Spirit to speak the word in Asia. And when they had come to Mysia, they tried to go into Bithynia, yet the Spirit of Jesus did not allow them.” In the Acts the Spirit of God, the Holy Spirit, has become the Spirit of Jesus, who is Christ Himself. It is through the spreading of this wonderful all-inclusive Spirit that the church, the Body of Christ, came into existence.

We need a new understanding, comprehension, and view of all the matters in the book of Acts. What is taking place in this book is the spreading of Jesus as the wonderful Spirit to produce the Body of Christ, which is the church. If we consider this book and the churches in the early days with this point of view, we will have a new understanding. This wonderful Christ mingled Himself with many human beings, including Peter, John, James, Paul, Timothy, and thousands of believers in the early days. All the believers in the Acts were joined to Christ and made one with Christ as the Spirit (1 Cor. 6:17)

This post has been edited by pehkay: Jun 14 2015, 02:34 PM
tinarhian
post Jun 14 2015, 05:52 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(pehkay @ Jun 13 2015, 11:20 AM)
Yeah. So, those who bring the Lord back is the true ecologist  tongue.gif
Go Green dude!

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Why do people desire worldly pleasures more compared to Christian pleasures?

Isn't seeking God give more pleasures?

What is your desire(s) in your own life?

I know I seek pleasures in certain materialistic things. blush.gif

Aren't we all like that? We have our own sinful pleasures.

So how do we overcome those "sinful and worldly pleasures?"

Psalm 16:11

11 You make known to me the path of life; in your presence there is fullness of joy; at your right hand are pleasures forevermore.

de1929
post Jun 15 2015, 07:58 AM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(tinarhian @ Jun 14 2015, 05:52 PM)
Go Green dude!

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I know I seek pleasures in certain materialistic things.  blush.gif

11 You make known to me the path of life; in your presence there is fullness of joy; at your right hand are pleasures forevermore.
Christian pleasure or GOD's pleasure ?

for Mr A. It's GOD's pleasure if he drinks and hangout in bar so he can know about his future ministry. reaching out people in bar.
for Mr B. It's GOD's pleasure to abstain from drinking bir ?

GOD's pleasure ? Mr A or Mr B ?

This post has been edited by de1929: Jun 15 2015, 07:58 AM
TSpehkay
post Jun 15 2015, 08:30 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(tinarhian @ Jun 14 2015, 05:52 PM)

I know I seek pleasures in certain materialistic things.  blush.gif

I will respond in this way:

Philippians 3:8 says, "On account of the excellency of the knowledge of Christ Jesus my Lord."

Second Corinthians 4:7 says, "But we have this treasure in earthen vessels that the excellency of the power may be of God and not out of us."

Excellency here means transcendence or super-eminence.

Here is one testimony which fits your question biggrin.gif

In January and February of 1937, I went from Shanghai, passing through Hangchow, to Nanking to hold a gospel conference. During that conference, a group of highly educated people came to hear the gospel. One of them was a very modern lady who listened with complete attention to the gospel that I was preaching. After one evening meeting, she came up to the front to see me and said, "Mr. Lee, what you have preached in these past few evenings has touched me very much; I am willing to believe. But I would like to ask you if I can do a certain thing after I have believed in the Lord. If I can do it, then I will certainly believe the gospel which you preach. My believing is totally dependent on your answer to this question." Then she continued, "After believing in the Lord, I will be able to give up anything, but there is one thing that will be very difficult for me to give up. I like to go to the opera. From my youth I went to the opera with my father, and I have become addicted to it. I can give up breathing, but if I cannot go to the opera, then I"ll not be able to live. My husband has also been influenced by me. Now that I have heard you speak about Jesus, you have really persuaded me and made me very willing to believe. But if I believe in the Lord Jesus and cannot go to the opera, what will I do? If you say that I cannot go, then I will not believe. If you say that I can go, then I will believe." This question was certainly a hard one to answer. It so happened that by her side she had a three- or four-year-old child, and the Lord gave me wisdom to answer. I said, "Madam, all children like to play with knives. If your child was playing with a sharp knife and was about to have an accident, what would you do? Would you grab the knife away from him?" She was very clever and immediately thought of the chocolate candy which was so famous in Shanghai and Nanking at that time, so she said, "That is easy; I would scatter pieces of chocolate candy all over the floor, then the child would go to pick up the candy, and in the end he would not want the knife." I said, "Chinese opera is a sharp knife. Without Christ, you have nothing that can satisfy you, so you need to go to the opera. But now I am scattering the pieces of chocolate candy. Do you see? I have lots of "chocolate"; this is Christ. Do not ask me if you can go to the opera, but only believe in Christ and see if He satisfies you to the extent that you will not want other things." She said, "That is very reasonable; I will believe in Him."

Christ is truly far superior to all other things and matters.

The issue is not that we tried very hard not to love the world .... that is being religious ... also hypocritical and will not last.

Rather, have you seen or experience THE transcending, super-eminence, ultimate, CHOCOLATE!! biggrin.gif Then, spontaneously, you will drop the lesser things.

The Christian life is not a matter of cultivating character. The Christian life is a matter of transformation. To be transformed we need a new element. This element is the real and living Lord. In Him God's attributes and the riches of all that God is become the fullness. Furthermore, as the Spirit, the Lord has become our bountiful supply. We need to love Him, fellowship with Him, read His word, pray to Him, and always call on His name, which is to breathe Him in. In this way we receive His element into us. This element will have a metabolic effect within us to transform us.

This post has been edited by pehkay: Jun 15 2015, 09:19 AM
unknown warrior
post Jun 15 2015, 09:38 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

Bible Devotion with UW

Though I walk

Psalm 23:4 (NIV) - Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.

I asked God what if I was downtrodden, not walking right before God. Am I vulnerable before my enemies? What if there are wrong type of "psychic" prayers prayed against my life by disgruntled Christians (I bind UW Ministry, I bind this, I bind that nonsense) that may cause complications in one's life?

This verse jumped at me. Then I'm reminded, Jesus came for the sinners. He came to lift them up, not push them away. Why? I'm reminded how some Churches today teaches that when a Christian so called "Sin" God the Father does not see Him and is separated. Then I remember the story of the prodigal Son and all the matter of God's Grace. The Father Ran to his Son. He never waited for the son to come to fall prostrated before Him with the disdain look of contempt. And neither did the father pushed Him away despite that the prodigal son has sin against his own father. God ran to Him.

Then I'm also reminded of Romans 5:20 (NIV) - The law was brought in so that the trespass might increase. But where sin increased, grace increased all the more,

Where there is Sin even among Christians, God's Grace super abounds in greater measure over his sin.

So to cut the story short and bring this home. God will never leave his children even when they has fallen.

A Christian life is one that is lead by the Holy Spirit. One who depends on the shoulders of Jesus, who carries Him. What if he is no longer led?

Psalm 23:4 is an indication that he is no longer led, because he walks (on his own). And He walks through the darkest valley, meaning in times when he is downtrodden and in trouble.

King David had this revelation, He knew that even if He walks rather than being lead, He can fear no evil because "For you art with me"
If God is for you, who can be against you?

Take heart and don't lose hope, God will never let you go because you are his Son and Daughters.

God Bless guys. Blessed ver 10.
De_Luffy
post Jun 15 2015, 10:24 AM

737 posts

been skipping church services alot since this year and last year, mainly because of foot arch pain which make me very uncomfortable when i walk or sitting down also my nephew sometimes nobody available to take care of him when he decided not to go sunday school (lazy to wake up)........so i have to either wake him up and attend CHC which would be late already when i got there only can send him to sunday school then myself and another friend sit down in the cafeteria for another 30 mins or longer waiting for the sunday school to end
unknown warrior
post Jun 15 2015, 11:23 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(kron_ka @ Jun 15 2015, 09:52 AM)
Talking in context of relationships.

The girl I been going out with, she invited me to her church. Then we both sat together and worshipped together. For me, its like, she won't simply ask any guy to join her sit with her one to one, right? at church some more. I mean, people know her at church would surely notice.

I then took her out for dinner...and manage to hold her hand. But question still linger in my head, is she my gf?

So I failed to ask her to be my gf and go steady that evening...aw gosh...

But she did admitted to me that she is going out with other guys as friends, then that made me anxious.

So I watsapp her next day, to ask her to be my gf...so very suspense....have to wait because she dun have data plan, only can wait till evening.

I ask her out again for next week, but she say she's busy, ask me to ask her out again the next 2 weeks.

I almost made the same mistake to my ex gf when I sounded very controlling, she was pissed with me, when I tell her that we must date exclusively and not see other guys. My ex told me off and said that I am very controlling because even guy friend I not allow her to see one to one. SO this time I won't say it to this girl, I almost wanted to tell her date exclusively, but I was afraid I would get the same reaction as my ex.

So this time, I try the soft method instead. I wonder if I am doing it right.
Make sure you practise the soft method even after marriage. laugh.gif

QUOTE(De_Luffy @ Jun 15 2015, 10:24 AM)
been skipping church services alot since this year and last year, mainly because of foot arch pain which make me very uncomfortable when i walk or sitting down also my nephew sometimes nobody available to take care of him when he decided not to go sunday school (lazy to wake up)........so i have to either wake him up and attend CHC which would be late already when i got there only can send him to sunday school then myself and another friend sit down in the cafeteria for another 30 mins or longer waiting for the sunday school to end
Have you tried, there's a special sandal called birkenstock sandals designed especially for foot arch pain. May want to invest for better comfort.

And also don't neglect the reading the Bible in this trying time.

94 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0321sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:27 AM