Is there a diff between the map got S60 and for PDA from Garmin?
GPS (general: wat is it? how does it work?), Get your answers here!
Aug 17 2008, 06:18 PM
1,820 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL/Singapore |
Is there a diff between the map got S60 and for PDA from Garmin?
Aug 17 2008, 06:33 PM
7,533 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Lowyat.net Malaysia Sex: Yes please |
chchyong, probably, for internet charges. somehow nokia needs the internet for gps.
i dun use s60, but i believe u are refering to the maps. depends on the map creator i guess. or if diff map creator bound to be different |
Aug 18 2008, 01:36 AM
152 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
QUOTE(chchyong89 @ Aug 17 2008, 05:50 PM) the monthly subscription is only for voice nav. if i'm not mistaken its RM400/yr.you can still go offline mode and search for your place and play around with nokia's pathetic maps. evertime u go online, and get some POI's, its money. each time u go online to nav, its money. my advice for u, if u're stingy with your money, get a proper standalone unit. nokia maps are for noobs. smart2go....pah.....install nav4all better. |
Aug 18 2008, 01:30 PM
1 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
Just want to ask a few question regarding my GPS Nuvi 200. It now pops out a message " Updating GPS firmware" every 15 secs. I have gone to the malsingmaps website to enquire and they told me what I should do but I am still facing this annoying problem. Things i have done is use the Webupdater programme to update the firmware version, rename the GUPDATE.GCD file to GUPDATE.org. By the way bought this GPS from Starlite Technology in Seremban 2 and the dealer is quite arogant and his aftersales service really sucks. I really miss playing with my Nuvi.
Rdgs |
Aug 18 2008, 02:35 PM
3,251 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: Kuala Rompin, Pahang |
QUOTE(nvernon @ Aug 18 2008, 01:30 PM) Just want to ask a few question regarding my GPS Nuvi 200. It now pops out a message " Updating GPS firmware" every 15 secs. I have gone to the malsingmaps website to enquire and they told me what I should do but I am still facing this annoying problem. Things i have done is use the Webupdater programme to update the firmware version, rename the GUPDATE.GCD file to GUPDATE.org. By the way bought this GPS from Starlite Technology in Seremban 2 and the dealer is quite arogant and his aftersales service really sucks. I really miss playing with my Nuvi. Did you successful update your Nuvi to the latest version using Web updater application? You also can go to Garmin site to check your unit already have the latest version of it firmware or not.Rdgs |
Aug 18 2008, 02:52 PM
Aug 19 2008, 10:51 AM
Aug 19 2008, 04:25 PM
Aug 19 2008, 04:26 PM
7,533 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Lowyat.net Malaysia Sex: Yes please |
but the contents of the map maybe different no?
Aug 19 2008, 04:59 PM
327 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Cheras , Kuala Lumpur |
Aug 19 2008, 07:57 PM
QUOTE(shanelai @ Aug 19 2008, 10:51 AM) ic. but i tot diff is only with the gps software itself like Garmin Mobile XT for S60 and WM? Map also diff? if u install tomtom's software into your mobile or others like nav2gho it cant read malsingmapor garmin maps. so depending on the platform and software, i would have to say the map is different. |
Aug 20 2008, 12:05 AM
351 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Selangor |
Hi guys, i should be leaving for the UK soon...so just wondering if I download (purchase) the garmin XT Uk version, does it already include maps for UK area specifically London? If yes, will i get free updates of the maps or must I always purchase new maps? Thanks.
Aug 20 2008, 12:18 AM
QUOTE(bonedragon @ Aug 20 2008, 12:05 AM) Hi guys, i should be leaving for the UK soon...so just wondering if I download (purchase) the garmin XT Uk version, does it already include maps for UK area specifically London? If yes, will i get free updates of the maps or must I always purchase new maps? Thanks. bon voyage friend, and yes, if u've legally purchased a british ready unit, it would come with brit maps. AFAIK garmin never gives free updates nor are there any special offers for upgrading to newer maps kinda policy. Unfortunately they need to make a lot of profit and if u've already bought that map this year you WILL have to purchase a newer map each time you feel like its getting outdated. Bear in mind, i am talking about legal rights and all. A non-violated person will always have to repurchase the maps that they want or need. A pirated person like us m'sians find alternatives that are F.O.C. if u know what i mean la. |
Aug 20 2008, 10:07 AM
QUOTE(pokokpals @ Aug 19 2008, 07:57 PM) if u install tomtom's software into your mobile or others like nav2gho it cant read malsingmapor garmin maps. so depending on the platform and software, i would have to say the map is different. OIh... Make it simple... If i got a htc diamond and also nokia N95. I installed Garmin Mobile XT into both gadgets and i know both garmin xt software is diff btw both right. After i install the software then can i use the same map image into both gadget of each map is diff? |
Aug 20 2008, 12:04 PM
QUOTE(shanelai @ Aug 20 2008, 10:07 AM) OIh... Make it simple... If i got a htc diamond and also nokia N95. I installed Garmin Mobile XT into both gadgets and i know both garmin xt software is diff btw both right. After i install the software then can i use the same map image into both gadget of each map is diff? Yes, it can use the same Garmin map format for both application. Garmin had 4 version of Garmin Mobile XT. For Palm OS, Symbian S60, Symbian UIQ and Windows Mobile. |
Aug 20 2008, 12:51 PM
QUOTE(shanelai @ Aug 20 2008, 10:07 AM) OIh... Make it simple... If i got a htc diamond and also nokia N95. I installed Garmin Mobile XT into both gadgets and i know both garmin xt software is diff btw both right. After i install the software then can i use the same map image into both gadget of each map is diff? GMXT same map. |
Aug 20 2008, 11:13 PM
QUOTE(Deani_77 @ Aug 20 2008, 12:04 PM) Yes, it can use the same Garmin map format for both application. Garmin had 4 version of Garmin Mobile XT. For Palm OS, Symbian S60, Symbian UIQ and Windows Mobile. QUOTE(pokokpals @ Aug 20 2008, 12:51 PM) Oh.. I got it then! Thx for the info |
Aug 21 2008, 11:24 AM
2,546 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: far far away... |
bro try to search 4 foc map... should be compatible
since my fren use garmin n use free map |
Aug 21 2008, 03:55 PM
QUOTE(nelienuxe_sara @ Aug 21 2008, 11:24 AM) Yes, you can get a lot of freebies from the web. But it must be Garmin map. Not all free map was Garmin map. Free map for Garmin can be found at mapcenter and mapcenter2. Google for it. |
Aug 22 2008, 01:24 AM
i really try not to encourage people looking for freebies but its really difficult. eventhough i always recommend original i myself have to admit sometimes i do get into the piracy bit. but i have my reasons for that.
(i buy original dvd movies from speedy video) because of the strain that i get from my latest AGPS unit, which is a nokia 6220 classic, i am really dissapointed when i heard i had to pay for the voice nav and routing after my 3 month trial. hence i had no choice but to buy original GMXT and pre load in with the latest malsingmap. original GMXT i can get for RM 150 at digital mall Garmin center. Its right at the main entrance next to the kopi place. |
| Change to: | 0.0205sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:51 AM |