7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

GPS (general: wat is it? how does it work?), Get your answers here!

TSBaronic
post Oct 30 2006, 01:13 AM, updated 17y ago

Problem?
7,533 posts

Hey there GPS users. I'm planning to get a GPS cuz i'm always lost in KL. I was wondering,....

a) is it worth the money? is the connection always available in Malaysia here?
b) my friend told me that GPS shows the road and direction, but dangerous to use cuz some roads are 1 way street, GPS doesnt tell. true or false? do advise, and the GPS programme that u use
c) wats the difference between 16 channel and 32 channel??

any other pointers for someone who never use GPS before?

looking to buy bluetooth GPS for Ipaq 4150, hence all these questions.

the questions above i already posted in another section, under networks and broadband, but i post again here cuz i got additional questions, and i felt the above questions might be linked

i wanna ask, like i said earlier, i using Ipaq 4150, and planning to use GPS. Is it good enough?? the specs of my 4150? so far i love my 4150, small, compact, and fast enough. but for GPS (using bluetooth some more) i wanna ask ok or not?

This post has been edited by Baronic: Dec 31 2006, 01:21 PM
TSBaronic
post Oct 30 2006, 09:27 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

owh ic ic. well, it has 64 mb ram, but of course, not all 64 is available. i right now have 15 mb for program running space. ok?

hmmm, cant seem to find that chipset ben83

http://www.lelong.com.my/Auc/List/2006-11DSale4108763.htm

that one good ar? worth the money?

or this one

http://www.lelong.com.my/Auc/List/2006-11DSale4018301.htm

both is not the chipset u mentioned ben83
TSBaronic
post Oct 30 2006, 01:01 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

okay cool. wat about the ram requirements as i said above regarding my 4150. okay?? about 15 mb free app running space
TSBaronic
post Oct 30 2006, 03:46 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

alright cool. thanks for the info. smile.gif
TSBaronic
post Oct 30 2006, 04:09 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

WHoa wait, one more question. Do u all recommend i get a GPS thingy for my Ipaq 4150? or buy a new pocket pc? like a hp 6515
TSBaronic
post Oct 30 2006, 09:52 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

owh....didnt know about the roof thing. cooll cool. luckily u tell me. guess i'll have to buy a pda car holder then. thanks dude
TSBaronic
post Nov 1 2006, 09:07 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

hmmm, probably not that accurate, but someting would be better than nothing.

@titan u can either buy a bluetooth GPS receiver, or a standalone GPS unit. Bluetooth = 350-550 while standalone can be about 1.6k.

try lelong.com.my and search "GPS"

as for apps, all must pay, but if u know how, can easily get 'ahem' versions. also, people now saying malsing maps are the best (see posts above). i havent personally tried it yet, no time. but i think its the most updated
TSBaronic
post Nov 2 2006, 09:08 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

@titan

thats a bit offtopic, but the bluetooth-mp3 capability is software and bluetooth headset dependant.
TSBaronic
post Dec 29 2006, 11:42 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

I'm trying to get mapking to work now, found that malsing maps seem to always lead me away from highways. take me through residential area. long, triring, and easy to get lost.

also, bringing up the thread cuz people asking questions on GPS
TSBaronic
post Dec 29 2006, 02:53 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

Imagine this,

GPS = Bluetooth. Do u have to pay for bluetooth? lol, no right? ok, so all u need is a GPS receiver first (like a bluetooth receiver, if u dun have, u cannot use bluetooth mar)

Once u got bluetooth receiver, yay, u can use bluetooth. (or GPS, anyway, just using bluetooth as reference)

However, u need a GPS map software. U already have the hardware, but u need software too.

This is the part u must pay. Usually a one time payment, to buy a software, and then install in your pocket pc. Once such commercial software is MapKing. One such free (and more up to date, since its by malaysians for maaysians) is malsing maps

TSBaronic
post Dec 29 2006, 02:56 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

This is me. (seeing an example maybe can help u understand better)

I bought a pocket pc, Dopod p100. It has inbuilt GPS receiver, so that solves my hardware problem, i dun need to buy another GPS receiver.

But i need software. So, i elect to use malsing maps, which is free. I install into my pocket pc, and thats it! I'm good to go! No additional charges d. All i paid for is my pocket pc.
TSBaronic
post Dec 29 2006, 11:04 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(zepple @ Dec 29 2006, 03:35 PM)
Ohh..okay! thanks dude! hmm so i guess u are paying for that Mapking software eh?
well, i use malsing maps. I do have mapking, but dunno how to use. (its ahem version, aisay, all the shops when u buy GPS they give u mapking also ahem version la. how i know? cuz they give u version 7. If u know where to find u can get version 10)
TSBaronic
post Dec 30 2006, 09:56 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

well usually maps made for one software can be only used by that software. so can say software also wat the maps

This post has been edited by Baronic: Dec 30 2006, 09:57 AM
TSBaronic
post Dec 30 2006, 10:00 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

U want a standalone GPS unit, (hyper expensive, normally for rich people lol, can cost a few thousands i think)

a GPS receiver, that connects through bluetooth to either laptop or pda? (about 300-500 bucks)

for PDA with INBUILT GPS i recommend Dopod p100, i'm using, lowyat selling rm999 brand new
TSBaronic
post Dec 30 2006, 11:51 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(Deani_77 @ Dec 30 2006, 10:11 AM)
Anyone have the answer?
GPS is used for both mapping (finding how to get from point A to point B) and perimeter and land surveying.

The thing is, our current GPS that we buy all those, even stand alone receivers, have an accuracy of 5 meters or 3 meters. That means your location might be off by 3-5 meters.

For land surverying, u need almost pin point accuracy. So u need a much much more powerful GPS unit, which is superbly expensive. I dun know about that, since that's more of a profession thing.

However, if u use Qarmin Que with Malsing maps, the program can show u your current speed, distance traveled etc. So that can help a bit. But dun expect it to me 100 percent accurate. i would say about 70-80 percent accuracy only.
TSBaronic
post Dec 30 2006, 12:51 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(liewss80 @ Dec 30 2006, 12:41 PM)
GPS can provide you coordinate... The rest of the features all depends of software you are using. Since u can plot the route u drive, you could calc the perimeter, area, etc (its all methematically solutions, u can even calc it manually)
yes can calculate, but like i said lor, depends on the sensitivity of your GPS device. How accurate is it. I guess, i can easily lets say u have a GPS PDA, u can start the GPS from one location, then walk to the next location and check how far u've walked/traveled. but again, will prob be like 70-80 percent accurate
TSBaronic
post Dec 30 2006, 12:53 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(Deani_77 @ Dec 30 2006, 12:49 PM)
Thanks for the info. But first of all I must get the GPS unit. What kind of shop sell this device (h/phone shop, computer accesories shop or other)? Hope when I go back to Semenanjung this coming January, I will able to get one.
see www.lelong.com.my, search key word GPS for GPS receivers.

If u want PDA with built in receiver, one good pda i recommend is Dopod p100. Lowyat selling rm999 i hear, but i dunno where in lowyat.
TSBaronic
post Dec 31 2006, 01:20 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

cool cool. thread title changed from GPS for pocket pc, to GPS
TSBaronic
post Jan 1 2007, 11:55 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

my accuracy Dopod p100 stated 5 meteres.

some people sell product together with map. But most of the time (not all the time la, but i think most) the software is "cracked" or "ahem" version. So not up to date, especially MapKing. Best is use malsing maps. free and up to date
TSBaronic
post Jan 1 2007, 04:02 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

yeap, as kucau said.

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0169sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:25 AM