11 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

GPS (general: wat is it? how does it work?), Get your answers here!

Deani_77
post Dec 29 2006, 04:07 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

Is this GPS receiver can be use for other thing, like perimeter survey or something else than use it for find location to one place from another.
Deani_77
post Dec 30 2006, 09:57 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

How much this device cost (GPS)? Any recommended (popular, most valued for money, easy to set up and use).
Deani_77
post Dec 30 2006, 10:11 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(Deani_77 @ Dec 29 2006, 04:07 PM)
Is this GPS receiver can be use for other thing, like perimeter survey or something else than use it for find location to one place from another.
Anyone have the answer?
Deani_77
post Dec 30 2006, 11:47 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(civic98 @ Dec 30 2006, 11:35 AM)
GPS tells you where you are in coordinates, by capturing GPS satellite signals and then plot the coordinates on the maps you have, so you need maps to know where you are. From there the softwares are capable of routing, telling you how to get to a place from another through roads on the map, and you can choose faster time or shorter distance. Works best with constantly updated maps.

GPS depends a lot on accuracy, meaning satellite signals AND accuracy of the maps in use. The best GPS signal can provide up to 3 meters radius, it may or may not be sufficient for the uses you mentioned.
Deani_77
post Dec 30 2006, 12:20 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Dec 30 2006, 11:51 AM)
GPS is used for both mapping (finding how to get from point A to point B) and perimeter and land surveying.

The thing is, our current GPS that we buy all those, even stand alone receivers, have an accuracy of 5 meters or 3 meters. That means your location might be off by 3-5 meters.

For land surverying, u need almost pin point accuracy. So u need a much much more powerful GPS unit, which is superbly expensive. I dun know about that, since that's more of a profession thing.
However, if u use Qarmin Que with Malsing maps, the program can show u your current speed, distance traveled etc. So that can help a bit. But dun expect it to me 100 percent accurate. i would say about 70-80 percent accuracy only.
Thanks for the info. Reason i'm asking that question beacause I work in plantations sector (oil palm estate). It can be useful if I can use it for perimeter survey.
Deani_77
post Dec 30 2006, 12:49 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(liewss80 @ Dec 30 2006, 12:41 PM)
GPS can provide you coordinate... The rest of the features all depends of software you are using. Since u can plot the route u drive, you could calc the perimeter, area, etc (its all methematically solutions, u can even calc it manually)
Thanks for the info. But first of all I must get the GPS unit. What kind of shop sell this device (h/phone shop, computer accesories shop or other)? Hope when I go back to Semenanjung this coming January, I will able to get one.
Deani_77
post Jan 1 2007, 11:31 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

Are this device come with the sofware? or we must buy the sofware saperately (map sofware)
Deani_77
post Jan 1 2007, 12:41 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Jan 1 2007, 11:55 AM)
my accuracy Dopod p100 stated 5 meteres.

some people sell product together with map. But most of the time (not all the time la, but i think most) the software is "cracked" or "ahem" version. So not up to date, especially MapKing. Best is use malsing maps. free and up to date
How to get malsing map, and how to install it to PPC
Deani_77
post Jan 2 2007, 02:24 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(kucau @ Jan 1 2007, 12:50 PM)
goto www.malsingmaps.com and read the wiki
Thankz. ALready install garmen
Deani_77
post Jan 3 2007, 11:00 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

Is the expensive GPS device better or it just different in brand and manufacturer? Cause the lowest I see at lelang.com was around RM300 and other nearly touch RM1k
Deani_77
post Jan 4 2007, 08:01 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(liewss80 @ Jan 3 2007, 09:37 PM)
You can order it from

http://www.skybees.com.my/webshaper/store/...roductItem=1414

Bout the accuracy, I would like to rectify my earlier statement bout the accuracy of my GPS unit.  The stated accuracy for mine (16CH) is <7m (Non DGPS) and <1m (DGPS)

I attach herewith the tech spec of my product.

[attachmentid=175041]
What is the different between 16 channel and 32 channel? Because I have seen this GPS unit with 32 channel?
Deani_77
post Jan 5 2007, 08:15 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

Kindly asking if there is any GPS user this system for other than road nagivationin the city like off road tracking, sea or land survey. Can tell me more about it. Thanks in advance
Deani_77
post Jan 8 2007, 02:50 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

Any latest GPS device?

This post has been edited by Deani_77: Jan 8 2007, 03:01 PM
Deani_77
post Jan 10 2007, 07:16 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

GSpace Bluetooth GPS Receiver GS-R238, Just asking all member, this device new model or old model. Because I can't find it release date
Deani_77
post Jan 11 2007, 01:35 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(kuokyeow @ Jan 10 2007, 08:02 PM)
im using 818 pro and have order holux gps.
what do i need to install now? pls help.
Your order it online or through shop? How much?
Deani_77
post Jan 12 2007, 10:25 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(THT United Gadgets @ Jan 12 2007, 09:26 AM)
Hmmm, i had better go to LYP for a first-hand look first... Check out those shops given in the earlier post above and then compare the prices...
Please share your breakthrough... rclxms.gif
Deani_77
post Jan 12 2007, 03:10 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

Which GPS software is better for road navigation in Malaysia?
Deani_77
post Jan 12 2007, 03:39 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 12 2007, 03:20 PM)
As mentioned earlier the best so far are those able to run the free Malsingmaps which r updated monthly. And this free maps can only be runed (currently) using the following software:

1) Garmin (For standalone GPSr) + Garmin car navigation h/ware such as Nuvi & Streetpilot
2) Garmin Que + GPS proxy/Gate (For all PPC wth WMS2003/2005 & certain Palm)
3) Mapking G10.2 (1115) - (The maps will not work on V7 & R12)
4) Symbian phone such as N70 or higher but no auto routing - Someone hv just converted whole malsinmaps to symbian format recently  thumbup.gif )

So for car navigation get those PPC wth atleast 320X240 screen and able to view horizontal....such as HP5770....or if u r loaded get those Nuvi & streetpilots which is atleast RM3K++
I'm now using PDA without GPS and my GPS unit that I ordered will arrive tomorrow. Just to prepare my PDA with the right software.

One more thing, which software give like 3D look navigation?
Deani_77
post Jan 13 2007, 09:25 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 12 2007, 04:13 PM)
For 3D definitely Mapking G10.2 ....but this is not a free software. U need to buy the license to enable viewing of the free maps from malsingmaps..For free software download Garmin Que & GPS Proxy (But it will be a very lenghty & frustrating setup for 1st timer....I got my Garmin & GPS proxy running correctly after 3 failed attempts...the worst diff GPSr & diff PDA model having diff com ports settings... rclxub.gif
If I buy that software (Mapking). Can it be use with PDA + BT GPS device? or It special for PDA with built-in GPS chip? ANybody ever use it? Advice please...
Deani_77
post Jan 13 2007, 06:50 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

Just received my BT GPS today, very excited. after complete setup the device I connect it and start using it with garmin que. the problem now the signal from virtual pot always lost and it keep searching, find and lost again. why it happen?

11 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0293sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:44 PM