GPS (general: wat is it? how does it work?), Get your answers here!

easirider
post Jan 9 2007, 09:06 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(raist86 @ Jan 9 2007, 04:15 PM)
I'm planning to get a gps bluetooth receiver to pair it with my IPAQ RX3715. Is there any compatibility issues which i need to know about? Which GPSrs should i purchase? Would prefer to hear from people who are actually using the device and not just specification based opinions. Am gonna use it for road navigation in malaysia. What sort of accuracy can i expect?
I am using 1 with the rx3715. Running on Garmin que with gpsproxy. Accuracy mostly depends on the type of gps receiver you're using. Get the 1 with sirIII chipset. There is someone doing a bulk for holux236 gpsr at the bulk section. Price is quite good atr 350(I got mine at rm450 last time).

Since I'm quite hopeless with direction on the road, navigation with que is quite good with malsingmaps.
easirider
post Jan 11 2007, 09:38 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(porkchop @ Jan 11 2007, 06:14 PM)
digital mall got gps shop meh??? if got also i think ground floor the shop selling the most i-tech
It is not a shop. It is a stall at first floor. The seller is a member at malsingmaps.
His name is Kelvin.
easirider
post Jan 13 2007, 07:51 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(THT United Gadgets @ Jan 13 2007, 12:51 AM)
Wah, it is something like a SmartTag then? Has to be affixed to the car? Like dat the best is still a device that can connect to the handheld and provide GPS...
Here's a local seller that carry garmin product, it will give you a general idea of
the pricing and type of gpsr available:
http://www.sltsb.com/products.htm
easirider
post Jan 13 2007, 09:48 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(Deani_77 @ Jan 13 2007, 09:25 AM)
If I buy that software (Mapking). Can it be use with PDA + BT GPS device? or It special for PDA with built-in GPS chip? ANybody ever use it? Advice please...
No problem can use pda+bt gpsr for mapking. Download the trial of mapking and test it out from their website. Trial is for 3 days.
easirider
post Jan 13 2007, 10:05 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 13 2007, 10:00 AM)
Just to add..Dun think Mapking support Palm! Their website only mentioned about PPC version, PC version & Smartphone Version (V7 only)...nothing mentioned about Palm ????
One more thing if you want to use mapking with malsingmap remember that malsingmaps only works with G10 version of mapking.
easirider
post Jan 15 2007, 02:27 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(Andiboi @ Jan 15 2007, 01:13 PM)
hello guys..
i am a newbie in here..
i wanna ask something although it's out of topic.. but still bit related to the topic ^^
i have a Nokia N70..
can i buy GPS reciever only to work with my N70??
Yes can use no problem;. You can use smartcom gps with malsingmaps. I am using 1 now; but it has no routing feature.
You can download the trial and test from here:
http://www.wild-mobile.com/eng/download.php
easirider
post Jan 15 2007, 02:28 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(THT United Gadgets @ Jan 15 2007, 01:10 PM)
That GPS Bluetooth device can work with a Zire 72 or not, just to ask? I was told that MalsingMaps are not able to run with PalmOS handhelds, btw...
Garmin que need garmin gpsr to work or by using gpsproxy or gpsgate. The problem is that both these program are not available in palm format.
easirider
post Jan 15 2007, 10:27 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 15 2007, 10:02 PM)
Mapopolis is outdated & there is no update on this map....but I did a research just for u....u should hv done more homework urself! biggrin.gif

After searching PalmX.org & link to Garmin website, I gathered that the only compartible GPSr for u is Garmin GPS 10

Read this link: Garmin GPS10

However Minimum Palm requirements = Palm OS 5 (enabled with Bluetooth wireless technology), 4 MB program memory

So go look for Garmin GPS 10 (And dun confuse this wth the latest Garmin GPS10X as I dun think this latest GPSr compartible wth Palm O/S..
Actually Gps10x is compatible with palm; but need higher spec:

Minimum Palm Requirements: Palm OS 5.4 or newer (enabled with Bluetooth wireless technology), 8 MB program memory, 128 MB storage card minimum, 2 GB storage card for full coverage see www.garmin.com/mobilephones/ for compatibility of specific devices

http://www.garmin.com/products/garminmobile10/

And you can run on garmin newer mobileXT --3d navigation (something like mapking UI). But this gpsr is a lot more expensive.
easirider
post Jan 16 2007, 08:58 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(THT United Gadgets @ Jan 16 2007, 04:58 PM)
Aiyo, but they still don't have PalmOS-based maps ah? I don't see those guys in the Malsing Forums talking about those maps also...
Malsingmaps is just the "map". Malsingmap "map" can be used on garmin product ; or ppc/palm/pc running garmin que or the newer version garmin mobileXT.

This post has been edited by easirider: Jan 16 2007, 09:50 PM
easirider
post Jan 22 2007, 08:07 PM

327 posts

Wiki on galileo:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Galileo_positioning_system

easirider
post Feb 8 2007, 11:39 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(sonyclie77 @ Feb 8 2007, 10:47 PM)
Try searching for an application called Phone Alarm.

It enables one to keep the backlight on all the time.

I'm using it without any problems at all. smile.gif
Or you could try using gpsproxy2.2a. There is an option to flag permanent backlight on.
easirider
post Feb 20 2007, 09:47 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(ksgam @ Feb 10 2007, 12:07 PM)
It is bcoz CNY is coming, everybody need a GPS to travel mar...! tongue.gif

Added on February 10, 2007, 12:08 pm

Rm400...? Last time I ask somebody from Lelong it quote me RM550 ler!!! blink.gif
Now price drop already. Someone is selling at lelong for 360 only.
easirider
post Feb 22 2007, 09:24 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(sonyclie77 @ Feb 22 2007, 08:11 AM)
RM 360 for Holux GPSlim 240?
Yes. Same person at malsingmaps "Nobitaamon".Check under trading section.
Very good price. Too bad I already have 2 gpsr if not definately would like to get 1.

This post has been edited by easirider: Feb 22 2007, 09:26 AM
easirider
post Mar 8 2007, 08:21 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Mar 8 2007, 01:19 PM)
I'm still hunting for a ~8" SVGA LCD Monitor (touchscreen if possible) for in-car sat navigation to hook up to my notebook. Let me know if you come across one.  icon_question.gif

Thanks, stimix, will be checking out the PDA phones you mentioned, but they all seem a bit bigger than what I'm trying to get. The Dopod S300 would have been ideal but.......  sad.gif

Maybe I'm being impractical.
Kemen / casey , the same guy who's doing the bulk on holux gps on our bulk section is selling a 8.4" touch screen lcd on lelong. Maybe you can ask him.

This post has been edited by easirider: Mar 8 2007, 08:26 PM
easirider
post Mar 9 2007, 04:44 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Mar 9 2007, 09:13 AM)
Thank you, easirider. I think he offered it here in LYN too, but I can't find the thread anymore.

BTW are you still using the GPSr from LeVisGuY? I'm very happy with mine, very good accuracy and trouble free. That was a crazy bulk, right?
Right now using a holux236 slim. LevisGuy gpsr i am lending it to a friend. Definately a very memorable bulk. Accuracy of the solar gpsr is greatly enchanced with an external antenna. Here's the link to the touch screen in lelong:
http://www.lelong.com.my/Auc/List/2007-03D...DEO_MONITOR.htm

Same person casey in who is doing the bulk here for the holux:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=388030&hl=casey

Should pm him and ask him about the touch screen lcd.

This post has been edited by easirider: Mar 9 2007, 04:45 PM
easirider
post Mar 15 2007, 02:16 PM

327 posts

Depend where you get it. Pricing range from RM 1,800 - 2,400. Price would be cheaper if you can get it at Singapore. Bought mine 76csx from here : http://www.sltsb.com/prod02.htm
easirider
post Mar 24 2007, 12:27 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(probiotix @ Mar 23 2007, 11:25 PM)
Mine is using V2007..... visually definately nicer than V10.

Regarding malsing map...... i think can use.  smile.gif
I'm on Build 1116
malaysia map is dated 15 feb 2007(by malsing)
sg map dated 31 Jan 2007
Mapking G10 & mapking 2007 is nearly same version. Just need to rename mapfile
extension for 2007 to use mapking malsingmaps.

G12 cannot use malsingmaps.
easirider
post Apr 4 2007, 10:47 AM

327 posts

Isn't it a lot cheaper just to get a bluetooth receiver? and you can use the receiver with other device; unless of course if you want an all in one device and not lug around another item.
easirider
post Jun 7 2007, 04:24 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jun 7 2007, 01:58 PM)
Hi guys, I actually wanna get a GPS unit to be placed in my car. I do not want just a receiver but the whole unit gps and viewer.

If I were to compare Holux and Garmin, it will be like Intel vs AMD or ATI vs Nvidia.

Which model should I be looking at and which store around klang valley carries the most model for comparison?

I dont know whats my budget but of course try not to be too expensive and maps. Should I worry about maps?
You can try garmin nuvi series. Depending on your budget you can try nuvi 200, 300 or 600 series. Here's a comparison from garmin website:

https://buy.garmin.com/shop/compare.do?cID=...areProduct=6292
easirider
post Oct 1 2007, 11:52 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(zepple @ Sep 30 2007, 09:48 PM)
activated lready, but the position arrow will eventually move out from my map, i have to scroll the map to keep track with the arrow. Are there any lock function that I missed out?
Select the icon that look like a triangle at the bottom of the toolbar of que.

0.0625sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 11:06 AM