11 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

GPS (general: wat is it? how does it work?), Get your answers here!

Deani_77
post Apr 14 2008, 09:17 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(toto4d @ Apr 13 2008, 09:41 PM)

I just brought a MIO C220 GPS from US. Anyone know how can I modified to work in Malaysia? I guess i need the malaysia map to be installed.

Anyone using MIO C220 in Malaysia?
For unit buy in Malaysia, it already bundled with Mapking navigation software. Since your unit bought from US may be you can check out with local MIO dealer. hmm.gif
Deani_77
post Apr 14 2008, 05:46 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

May be you read herefor more info on how to use N95 GPS with nokia maps.
Deani_77
post Apr 15 2008, 09:50 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(toto4d @ Apr 14 2008, 10:40 PM)
Ya, the map on memory card, but i dunno where to get Msia map... anyone here know?
Malaysia map for which software. If Nokia, go to Nokia Maps

If Garmin and Mapking map, you can go to Malsingmaps.com

Deani_77
post Apr 21 2008, 09:40 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(ashburn98 @ Apr 20 2008, 07:38 PM)
Got to ask the sifus here. I bought HTC Tytn2 and been trying the GPS function. It comes preloaded with Mapking2007 and GPSGate program.

I know to get the GPS working I'll need to open GPSGate first, then Mapking and let it get a lock. But the lock is extremely slow. Like today, I drove 5 minutes in Federal Highway and it still doesn't lock. Only when I'm halfway home, it's gets a lock.

Is GPSGate program any good? If it's the best program available then what setting do I tweak? Or is the slow lock is from rumours I heard about SIRIM sticker interfering with the gps signal?
Never use that type of PDA before, may be my answer not 100% correct. As far as I know no need for you to activate the GPS Gate before running Mapking program. Can you try run Mapking without running GPS Gate?

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Apr 20 2008, 08:37 PM)
can i know if the internal GPSr in N82 or N95 is good pair with Garmin Mobile XT?
not sure whether the internal GPSr of both phone are sensitive enough or not.

the Garmin Mobile XT provide voice navigation as well right?

Yes you can do that but you need to buy Mobile XT software for built-in GPS device. Sensitive or not depends where you put your device, may be it will take sometimes to lock to satellite.

Yes, it provide voice navigation.

Deani_77
post Apr 21 2008, 11:54 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Apr 21 2008, 10:33 AM)
so it is advisable to use Garmin Proxy and Garmin Que (got voice navigation?) instead of Mobile XT?

or are those same softwares?  sweat.gif
If you want to use your PDA for collecting track, those 2 software was most advisable but for navigation purpose you can still use Mapking 2007. Just get the latest map either from Mapking website or you can download it from malsingmaps.com.

Yes, Garmin Que have voice navigation same as Mobile XT. only it don't have 3D navigation mode like Mapking and Mobile XT.

Deani_77
post Apr 22 2008, 07:48 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(kevin23 @ Apr 21 2008, 10:02 PM)
Sometimes when i was speeding,the girl keep on saying "pls slow down"...damn irritating man..lol...
You can turn off that function if you don't like it. tongue.gif

Deani_77
post Apr 30 2008, 09:51 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

Nice tutorial, and you provide the map (for free?) hmm.gif .

Wondering, why the link for Mobile XT software goes to your server, not link to Garmin website. Because we also can download that software directly from Garmin website.
Deani_77
post May 1 2008, 03:54 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(vivi99 @ Apr 30 2008, 07:59 PM)
filefactory.com
or yourfilehost is good for uploading
i think we need to make some free gps software forum here
Perhaps you can write to forum moderator about your suggestion. May be they will consider it. hmm.gif
Deani_77
post May 6 2008, 01:39 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(red-queen @ May 6 2008, 01:33 PM)
hey all,

i just got a new GPS Receiver. its a ProGin N350 running on SiRF star.

anyways, its using mapking2007 software build 0621 and the maps inside it are in .g10 format and for every .g10 map file it has a .kvt format equilavent.

i tried downloading maps from malsingmaps which are in .g10 format into my SD card for my GPS receiver but i'm still unable to see the maps.

i wanna find out what is the .kvt file?

also, the mapking G10 maps and mapking 2007 maps that i downloaded from mapking.com doesn't seem to be in .g10 format after i've unzipped them.
AFAIK latest Mapking (Mapking 2007) using map with the *.m7a extension. for *.g10 extension was use for the earlier version. So if you download map with the extension *.g10 and wanna use it for Mapking 2007. You just change the extension from *.g10 to *.m7a

Deani_77
post May 12 2008, 11:08 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

Garmin Mobile PC - Replacement for Nroute

Navigate through your CarPC/Notebook thumbup.gif

For more info visit here.

user posted image user posted image user posted image user posted image user posted image user posted image

This post has been edited by Deani_77: May 13 2008, 05:26 PM
Deani_77
post May 14 2008, 04:22 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ May 13 2008, 04:53 PM)
any suggestion from u guys which mobile phone/PPC that have good GPSr to go for? Or combination of mobile phone/PPC with external BT GPSr?

Budget if possible not more than 1.5k

Perhaps you can read it here. One of the member already ask about it. tongue.gif
Deani_77
post May 21 2008, 10:16 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(~Battousai~ @ May 20 2008, 08:47 PM)
i have an overseas set of eten m800.. what version and what kind should i load ? i dont mind paying for original software if that's the best choice tongue.gif
Since this PDA already have built-in GPS chip. You can choose either one of these three setup.

1. Mapking (Free software but you must buy the map license)
2. Mobile XT (paid software but you can get a map for free)
3. GPS Proxy + Garmin Que (can get the software for free + map)

My own choice, I prefer Mobile XT since it have very nice GUI also availability of details map for Malaysia/Singapore.

Deani_77
post May 21 2008, 12:21 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(ben_ang @ May 21 2008, 12:12 PM)
i thought mapking r not free?
Yes, you can get the software for free. But you need to buy the map license for each country in order to use the map even to use free map from malsingmaps you need to have map license for malaysia and singapore (2 license). Without the map, that software are useless...

Added on May 21, 2008, 12:24 pm
QUOTE(~Battousai~ @ May 21 2008, 11:56 AM)
ok with mobile XT, i get only 1 map or when they have an update i can get the new map for free also ?

how to purchase it ?

and seeing it's a memory card, do i need to use it to operate or can i buy a 4gb memory card and put whatever is inside the original Mobile XT card into the 4gb and be done with it ? tongue.gif
For Mobile XT, you can try to find it from local Garmin distributor. I have seen one in Digital Mall but other place I have no idea.

Some member have try that. But I'm not sure it working or not. May be you can try it out once you get the software. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Deani_77: May 21 2008, 12:24 PM
Deani_77
post May 21 2008, 01:22 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(~Battousai~ @ May 21 2008, 01:00 PM)
wow so everytime have to keep changing ah... mafan le.. sweat.gif

Added on May 21, 2008, 1:12 pmoh ya the new map whether it's free or not thing no one answered me yet tongue.gif
You can look at malsingmaps.com for free map, but to get the update map you need to contribute in order to make the map better ( contribution by track new place, POI or error report).

Deani_77
post May 22 2008, 09:48 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(ben_ang @ May 21 2008, 06:59 PM)
if didnt contribute also can, but only can download not tat updated version lo..
Yes, if you are newbie which only started using GPS or you are parasite type of people tongue.gif
Deani_77
post May 26 2008, 09:15 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(icehart85 @ May 25 2008, 06:12 AM)
Hey guys I don't know whether this question is relevant or not.

Can we use GPS to track stolen cars?? I am not talking about standard GPS. What I mean is a device where we install it somewhere hidden and safe in the car where no one knows and then if the car is stolen then we only activate the device and track the location of our car. Is there such a device??
Yes, you can do that. There is company outside there offered that service. It can give you location of your vehicle to your phone by SMS. That device used integrated GSM/GPS signal.

Deani_77
post May 30 2008, 10:43 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(~Battousai~ @ May 27 2008, 11:20 AM)
i was looking around at mapking, and i see that there's 3D version and 2007 version for PPC

what's the difference between them ? and what price are they ?
I have not seen R12 version, Only Mapking G10 and 2007, But I believe all of them are in 3D Navigation. hmm.gif

Different... Just get the latest version, 2007 tongue.gif

For pricing list, you can checkout here...
Deani_77
post May 30 2008, 11:44 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(aneip @ May 30 2008, 10:50 AM)
I have use mapking and garmin mobile xt and believe MXT GUI much better. Most versatile in term of usage would be garmin que. But that's old version which graphic is so-so only.
Most of the GPS user prefer to use GMXT, but some of the PDA seller already bundle Mapking in their package. To use GMXT you need to invest more either buying that program or buying Mobile 10x BT GPS. If you already have licensed for Mapking why not continue using it. If you have more budget available then you can change to GMXT. tongue.gif

Deani_77
post May 30 2008, 12:16 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(~Battousai~ @ May 30 2008, 11:56 AM)
uh which one is for malaysia ? there never specify sweat.gif
Search it under Product Category>Pocket PC Map>Asia Cities>Peninsular Malaysia. Choose full version, not the upgrade version. It cost you HK$554. tongue.gif

Deani_77
post Jun 1 2008, 07:19 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(~Battousai~ @ May 31 2008, 10:01 PM)
uh within mapking 2007 there's few version ?

2) what i mean is when i buy, i'll be given official software right.  and malsing unofficial maps is more updated and more widely used  (i believe tongue.gif)

so, how would i know whether the newer updated unofficial malsing maps, has the corrected or add on locations im about to give from my official software ?
I think within Mapking not Mapking 2997. hmm.gif

As per map update. You can base on date map published. Or you can try to compare it both version.

11 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0232sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 08:38 PM