GPS (general: wat is it? how does it work?), Get your answers here!
stimix
Oct 9 2007, 10:02 AM
Dunno
QUOTE(pipedream @ Oct 9 2007, 01:54 AM) yes, but as far as i seen, the software itself shown in 240x240 automatically , only the startup screen is cutted into half Actually lotsa screen will show partially not only the startup..such as the GPS info page, all the utilities pages, & etc....other than the nydot software recommended by krazul which is not free, u can try "reshack" which is free..too bad I lost the link  ..probably google for it..and guides available if u search in the old malsingmaps forum..search for reshack:
pipedream
Oct 9 2007, 12:37 PM
hmm, some problem with mapking though, i got the gps positioned in 3D and loaded malsing maps, but still the cursor doesnt move and the map still remains in kl area..
dokidoki
Oct 9 2007, 01:23 PM
QUOTE(pipedream @ Oct 9 2007, 12:37 PM) hmm, some problem with mapking though, i got the gps positioned in 3D and loaded malsing maps, but still the cursor doesnt move and the map still remains in kl area.. ur GPS activated yet?normally the cursor move once gps avtivated and ur unit is moving..
kerazul
Oct 9 2007, 01:51 PM
Did the unit say "GPS is now functioning"?
If it didn't, even when u select the navigator mode, it will go into 3D but cursor won't move. It is searching for "fixes"
This post has been edited by kerazul: Oct 9 2007, 01:51 PM
THTgadgets.com
Oct 14 2007, 01:01 PM
Guys, i'm seriously considering going for a GPS device... Which are the recommended models for someone on a shoestring budget (i.e. below RM2k)?
Also, i know there is a shop selling only GPS products at Digital Mall... If i'm not wrong, it's located on the GF (outside the building, near KFC) and opposite that kopitiam place... Any1 bought their stuff there before or not?
kerazul
Oct 14 2007, 01:23 PM
umm... if ur at d Digital Mall garmin booth, u can have a look at d Garmin Nuvi. Pretty good and d map looks good as well. Price is abt RM16++ I think
sonyclie77
Oct 14 2007, 11:51 PM
Stressed Personnel
QUOTE(THT United Gadgets @ Oct 14 2007, 01:01 PM) Guys, i'm seriously considering going for a GPS device... Which are the recommended models for someone on a shoestring budget (i.e. below RM2k)? Also, i know there is a shop selling only GPS products at Digital Mall... If i'm not wrong, it's located on the GF (outside the building, near KFC) and opposite that kopitiam place... Any1 bought their stuff there before or not? Get Garmin Nuvi 200. Entry level GPS device at around RM 1,200 only.
Deani_77
Oct 15 2007, 12:48 AM
Or if you already have PPC. You may consider to buy BT GPS
pipedream
Oct 15 2007, 01:39 AM
QUOTE(kerazul @ Oct 9 2007, 02:51 PM) Did the unit say "GPS is now functioning"? If it didn't, even when u select the navigator mode, it will go into 3D but cursor won't move. It is searching for "fixes" yeah, it did say 3D position acquired, but no speed and cursor didnt move.. i was wondering whether its the mapking problem..
TSBaronic
Oct 15 2007, 10:00 AM
Problem?
QUOTE(pipedream @ Oct 15 2007, 01:39 AM) yeah, it did say 3D position acquired, but no speed and cursor didnt move.. i was wondering whether its the mapking problem..  its supposed to say "GPS is now functioning" not 3D position. also, correct map loaded? i'll be going down to asia cafe in ss15 at 12 noon today, opposite taylors and inti. if u free u may come down, i help u configure. i'lve PMed u my number
kerazul
Oct 15 2007, 10:45 AM
Hi Pipedream and Baronic,
haha... I wish I can join u fellas too but drowning in work. *sigh*
And pipedream, the device is supposed to SAY "GPS is now functioning" literally. Not just show it on screen. If I'm not mistaken, for a successful 3D fix, it'll just show on the screen right.
No worries... u r on the right track. Give the device a little more time. Normally if u can get a 3D positioning, all ur settings are correct already. Just wait a little longer and ur GPS will start running.
*EDITED*
This post has been edited by kerazul: Oct 15 2007, 09:50 PM
pipedream
Oct 15 2007, 11:46 AM
QUOTE(Baronic @ Oct 15 2007, 11:00 AM) its supposed to say "GPS is now functioning" not 3D position. also, correct map loaded? i'll be going down to asia cafe in ss15 at 12 noon today, opposite taylors and inti. if u free u may come down, i help u configure. i'lve PMed u my number lol, i would love to, but currently i am not in KL, i am back in my hometown for my holiday.. maybe some other time when i drop by subang ok? hehe Thanks for the offer though
TSBaronic
Oct 15 2007, 06:39 PM
Problem?
QUOTE(kerazul @ Oct 15 2007, 10:45 AM) Hi Pipedream and Baronic, haha... I wish I can join u fellas too but drowning in work. *sigh* And pipedream, the device is supposed to SAY "GPS is not functioning" literally. Not just show it on screen. If I'm not mistaken, for a successful 3D fix, it'll just show on the screen right. No worries... u r on the right track. Give the device a little more time. Normally if u can get a 3D positioning, all ur settings are correct already. Just wait a little longer and ur GPS will start running. u mean GPS is NOW functioning lol. no problem. i think pipedream's GPS is functioning la, just gotta wait a bit. must do outdoors u know. right map loaded also.
THTgadgets.com
Oct 16 2007, 06:52 PM
QUOTE(sonyclie77 @ Oct 14 2007, 11:51 PM) Get Garmin Nuvi 200. Entry level GPS device at around RM 1,200 only.  Where is it sold? I went to the Garmin dealer in Digital Mall (Geopac Sdn. Bhd.) and they showed me the Nuvi 200W which is going for around M$1900... It is much more expensive when compared with the entry-level Nuvi 200, thats for sure... However, the device functions quite well when i did the simulation in Penang (i'm going there for hols next month actually!)... It managed to give a reasonably accurate guide on how to get to Gurney Plaza from, say, the Bridge... Still, i plan to check out the 200 mainly due to price difference... Where to get it ya? KLCC / Lowyat / Digital / etc.?
stimix
Oct 16 2007, 07:33 PM
Dunno
QUOTE(THT United Gadgets @ Oct 16 2007, 06:52 PM) Where is it sold? I went to the Garmin dealer in Digital Mall (Geopac Sdn. Bhd.) and they showed me the Nuvi 200W which is going for around M$1900... It is much more expensive when compared with the entry-level Nuvi 200, thats for sure... However, the device functions quite well when i did the simulation in Penang (i'm going there for hols next month actually!)... It managed to give a reasonably accurate guide on how to get to Gurney Plaza from, say, the Bridge... Still, i plan to check out the 200 mainly due to price difference... Where to get it ya? KLCC / Lowyat / Digital / etc.? Get a GPS10X BT unit for ~RM700-RM800. it's performed the same thing as NUVI..I tot u oledi looking for thsi GPS10X since begining of the year
THTgadgets.com
Oct 17 2007, 04:46 PM
Yups, but due to budget constraints, i did not really go about my pursuit for the GPS... Now, its a different story... I've been travelling out of town more often (mainly for holidays!  ) and seems to me that a GPS will really come in handy for this... Well, bro stimix, that unit u mentioned is really affordable... But where can i check it out for a "test-drive"?
dokidoki
Oct 17 2007, 05:47 PM
i m trying to use garmin que on my p535..but the problem is..how to switch the garmin map into 3D view?.. like this  i cant seem to switch it to 3d view like above  mine 1 only normal map mode.. i m using garmin que 2.90
stimix
Oct 17 2007, 07:13 PM
Dunno
QUOTE(THT United Gadgets @ Oct 17 2007, 04:46 PM) Yups, but due to budget constraints, i did not really go about my pursuit for the GPS... Now, its a different story... I've been travelling out of town more often (mainly for holidays!  ) and seems to me that a GPS will really come in handy for this... Well, bro stimix, that unit u mentioned is really affordable... But where can i check it out for a "test-drive"? U can check wth the GPS shop that I recommended mths bck at Digital Mall S14. They hv expanded and having another bigger shop just beside the entrance. Look for Kelvin. Added on October 17, 2007, 7:15 pmQUOTE(dokidoki @ Oct 17 2007, 05:47 PM) i m trying to use garmin que on my p535..but the problem is..how to switch the garmin map into 3D view?.. like this  i cant seem to switch it to 3d view like above  mine 1 only normal map mode.. i m using garmin que 2.90 That one is Garmin Mobile XT & not Garmin Que. To use that software u must buy the BT Garmin 10X which I recomended to THT United earlier. Garmin Que has no 3D function. Alternatively u can try Mapking for 3D rendering. This post has been edited by stimix: Oct 17 2007, 07:15 PM
Deani_77
Oct 18 2007, 12:14 PM
Or you can buy Mobile XT software make for built in GPS chip PPC. Check out at Garmin website. This post has been edited by Deani_77: Oct 18 2007, 12:17 PM
kerazul
Oct 18 2007, 04:17 PM
malsingmap lags? What device and what software r u using? Lagging has nothing to do with the map. If ur asking whether it's updated then yes it's updated