GPS (general: wat is it? how does it work?), Get your answers here!

pipedream
post Oct 7 2007, 11:48 PM

2,353 posts

hi, i just got a HP 6965, but i am quite new to those GPS stuff, and i am quite lazy to go back on those 22 pages, so i will just ask .. sorry blush.gif

1) Its pretty hard to get a fix on my 6965, it detect but still no fix is acquired, must i wait a long time?
2) what are cold start? meaning start up for the first time?
3) can the gps tell me the position that i am located and change the map accordingly?
4) which is better? garmin que or mapking?
5) its pretty laggy when loading the maps, any way to improve it?

thanks and please dun flame me
pipedream
post Oct 8 2007, 12:35 AM

2,353 posts

thanks for the quick reply, i havent done the update yet, so when i am done i will update the status blush.gif

3) can the gps tell me the position that i am located and change the map accordingly? Yes..but not change the map, the pointer will move the maps as & when u move

anyway what i meant is, if the default map is at KL area but i off the gps until i reach let say kajang, then reactivate gps, then will the map change accordingly or i will have to change it manually?
pipedream
post Oct 8 2007, 12:54 AM

2,353 posts

owh icic

anyway the update keep failing, cannot dl the ito.dat, halfway and it crash, i am using maxis gprs..

edit: after doing factory reset it finally can dl, but no changes, maybe its because its cloudy and i am indoors?

This post has been edited by pipedream: Oct 8 2007, 01:07 AM
pipedream
post Oct 8 2007, 02:55 AM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(kerazul @ Oct 8 2007, 03:49 AM)
Hi Stimix,
Haha... thanks for the correction.  notworthy.gif

Hi Pipedream,
Have u tried connecting ur device through internet via wifi or activesync and THEN downloading the data? So far, on my 6515 (b4 6965), I have no problem connecting to internet to dl AGPS data.

Hi Genkis3,
Why don't u check Garmin out. They have the widest coverage
activesync to my comp and share internet connection doesnt work on my campus network, the service provider block internet sharing

i already done it, by factory reseting the gps quick connect

now it show expiry time

and i still dun understand what does the gps quick connect do.. anyone care to enlighten me on this matter?
pipedream
post Oct 8 2007, 09:37 AM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Oct 8 2007, 10:30 AM)
If u hv notebook wth wifi, goto any free hotspot & download the data....u can also change the default 2 days expire period to 7 days by tweaking the registry. (If u know how- search in the old malsingmaps.com forum)..Or try few more times to acquire the AGPS data via the slow gprs/edge...(6965 having edge anyway...)

To understand more on AGPS, goto the link I given earlier or http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Assisted_GPS

Basically, HP 6515/6965 having the "Not so strong" GPS chipset (as what mentioned by kerasul)...So to enable it acquire GPS faster than others, globallocate (Also the chip producer) came out wth assisted thingy by pinpointing ur latest location via cellphone/internet nearest location and then assisted the low satelite signal to computing the exact location....and thus u get faster fix!...Infact u can get faster fix than a normal superior SIRF111 chipset...(Well I can verified this...my old HP6515 getting faster fix compare to the sirf111 chipset inside my new Asus P535...However interm of accuracy, sirf111 still better than globallocate chipset)
oh ic.. what if we are located in a jungle with no line? then, its very hard to get a fix is it? and is it possible to rely just on the HP 6965 GPS withoust the AGPS for it to work?
pipedream
post Oct 8 2007, 04:11 PM

2,353 posts

Yeah, finally connected and acquired a 3D position, the first startup took a long time , but the 2nd time took only 1 minute to startup

hmm, dunno why my map shows blank, i am using mapking, i dled the kl plus map
pipedream
post Oct 8 2007, 04:26 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Oct 8 2007, 05:24 PM)
Check the version of the map. If u'r using Mapking G10 u can only diwnload G10 map version & if u want to use 2007 version, u need to rename the ext from g10 to m7a.
i already change the extension, but still it shows a blank map.. and one thing is, do the gps know if we are moving, because even though i am moving the pointer remains stationary
pipedream
post Oct 8 2007, 04:56 PM

2,353 posts

In the download section i only see one, that is Mapking 2007

sad.gif maybe thats why i feel so hard to control the thing, its like really lacking of controls, but the screen fits fine

maybe i should switch to garmin que instead? i kinda hate it cz its map are really confusing
pipedream
post Oct 9 2007, 01:54 AM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(kerazul @ Oct 8 2007, 11:35 PM)
Hi Pipedream,

note that even when u use Garmin, it will not show the bottom part of the software as it is built for 240 x 320 screens and not 240 x 240 screens.

To enable it to work on ur 6965, u'll need to install a virtual screen program called NYDITOT. Check it out here
yes, but as far as i seen, the software itself shown in 240x240 automatically , only the startup screen is cutted into half
pipedream
post Oct 9 2007, 12:37 PM

2,353 posts

hmm, some problem with mapking though, i got the gps positioned in 3D and loaded malsing maps, but still the cursor doesnt move and the map still remains in kl area..
pipedream
post Oct 15 2007, 01:39 AM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(kerazul @ Oct 9 2007, 02:51 PM)
Did the unit say "GPS is now functioning"?

If it didn't, even when u select the navigator mode, it will go into 3D but cursor won't move. It is searching for "fixes"
yeah, it did say 3D position acquired, but no speed and cursor didnt move.. i was wondering whether its the mapking problem.. sad.gif
pipedream
post Oct 15 2007, 11:46 AM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Oct 15 2007, 11:00 AM)
its supposed to say "GPS is now functioning" not 3D position.

also, correct map loaded? i'll be going down to asia cafe in ss15 at 12 noon today, opposite taylors and inti.

if u free u may come down, i help u configure.

i'lve PMed u my number
lol, i would love to, but currently i am not in KL, i am back in my hometown for my holiday.. maybe some other time when i drop by subang ok? hehe

Thanks for the offer though smile.gif
pipedream
post Apr 14 2008, 07:29 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(Renginez @ Apr 14 2008, 08:12 PM)
Hi guys,

i owned a hp6515 using a mapking, as i knew previously i did not had problem detecting my gps, but this time it had a hard time detecting it. When i click search for gps, it could not find any gps internally? i had not upgrade firmware or kacau anything...y suddenly like that? anyone overcome this or has any solution?  i would really appreciate....btw its not about getting a fix, its bout getting gps detected internally.... haih....
hmm thats weird, have u try other program other than mapking? usually the program won`t prompt for searching for gps after the first time u set it to internal one..

If all fails, try hard reset ur 6515 and reinstall the program, some *ahem*ed program after some period of time will maybe expired or something, which will only detect the gps device of their line, example is garmin xt, the un*ahem*ed one will only detect their own bluetooth garmin gps and not the internal one

cheers
pipedream
post Aug 2 2008, 10:23 PM

2,353 posts

Guys, i am using Garmin Mobile XT and Mapking on my TYTN 2, no qualms about the program, but the maps aren`t that complete, anyone knows where to get a malaysia map that is very updated ( at least the most updated )?

Sigh, my college isn`t located on the map, but a much smaller and ulu college IS doh.gif
pipedream
post Aug 3 2008, 12:17 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(Deani_77 @ Aug 3 2008, 10:25 AM)
You can drop by to malsingmaps.com for free map. Eventhough you need to contribute for the latest map but their open map was quite OK. You can download map for both application (mapking and GMXT).
Hey thanks, I downloaded the Not for Symbian MXT version since i am using a ppc version of MXT, does that means that the map can both be used in Mapking and GMXT?

Also, i downloaded some POIs, how to merge them into the .img?

0.0326sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:45 AM