67 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

GPS (general: wat is it? how does it work?), Get your answers here!

pipedream
post Oct 8 2007, 12:54 AM

2,353 posts

owh icic

anyway the update keep failing, cannot dl the ito.dat, halfway and it crash, i am using maxis gprs..

edit: after doing factory reset it finally can dl, but no changes, maybe its because its cloudy and i am indoors?

This post has been edited by pipedream: Oct 8 2007, 01:07 AM
genkis3
post Oct 8 2007, 02:00 AM

789 posts

anyone know where to get dubai map? wonder which software have Dubai map?

currently using mapking for m'sia and SG, tom tom for europe and Aus...

for those who want get cheap and good gps receiver, can consider holux m1000 with mtk chipset . im using it with 838pro...good signal receiving, accurate and long lasting power. even my car using v-kool also no problem searching for satelite... search in lelong.com.my u'll find good deal.
kerazul
post Oct 8 2007, 02:49 AM

1,176 posts

Hi Stimix,
Haha... thanks for the correction. notworthy.gif

Hi Pipedream,
Have u tried connecting ur device through internet via wifi or activesync and THEN downloading the data? So far, on my 6515 (b4 6965), I have no problem connecting to internet to dl AGPS data.

Hi Genkis3,
Why don't u check Garmin out. They have the widest coverage
pipedream
post Oct 8 2007, 02:55 AM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(kerazul @ Oct 8 2007, 03:49 AM)
Hi Stimix,
Haha... thanks for the correction.  notworthy.gif

Hi Pipedream,
Have u tried connecting ur device through internet via wifi or activesync and THEN downloading the data? So far, on my 6515 (b4 6965), I have no problem connecting to internet to dl AGPS data.

Hi Genkis3,
Why don't u check Garmin out. They have the widest coverage
activesync to my comp and share internet connection doesnt work on my campus network, the service provider block internet sharing

i already done it, by factory reseting the gps quick connect

now it show expiry time

and i still dun understand what does the gps quick connect do.. anyone care to enlighten me on this matter?
Deani_77
post Oct 8 2007, 07:41 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

Wah... GPS become GPRS already ka....
stimix
post Oct 8 2007, 09:30 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(pipedream @ Oct 8 2007, 02:55 AM)
activesync to my comp and share internet connection doesnt work on my campus network, the service provider block internet sharing

i already done it, by factory reseting the gps quick connect

now it show expiry time

and i still dun understand what does the gps quick connect do.. anyone care to enlighten me on this matter?
If u hv notebook wth wifi, goto any free hotspot & download the data....u can also change the default 2 days expire period to 7 days by tweaking the registry. (If u know how- search in the old malsingmaps.com forum)..Or try few more times to acquire the AGPS data via the slow gprs/edge...(6965 having edge anyway...)

To understand more on AGPS, goto the link I given earlier or http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Assisted_GPS

Basically, HP 6515/6965 having the "Not so strong" GPS chipset (as what mentioned by kerasul)...So to enable it acquire GPS faster than others, globallocate (Also the chip producer) came out wth assisted thingy by pinpointing ur latest location via cellphone/internet nearest location and then assisted the low satelite signal to computing the exact location....and thus u get faster fix!...Infact u can get faster fix than a normal superior SIRF111 chipset...(Well I can verified this...my old HP6515 getting faster fix compare to the sirf111 chipset inside my new Asus P535...However interm of accuracy, sirf111 still better than globallocate chipset)

pipedream
post Oct 8 2007, 09:37 AM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Oct 8 2007, 10:30 AM)
If u hv notebook wth wifi, goto any free hotspot & download the data....u can also change the default 2 days expire period to 7 days by tweaking the registry. (If u know how- search in the old malsingmaps.com forum)..Or try few more times to acquire the AGPS data via the slow gprs/edge...(6965 having edge anyway...)

To understand more on AGPS, goto the link I given earlier or http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Assisted_GPS

Basically, HP 6515/6965 having the "Not so strong" GPS chipset (as what mentioned by kerasul)...So to enable it acquire GPS faster than others, globallocate (Also the chip producer) came out wth assisted thingy by pinpointing ur latest location via cellphone/internet nearest location and then assisted the low satelite signal to computing the exact location....and thus u get faster fix!...Infact u can get faster fix than a normal superior SIRF111 chipset...(Well I can verified this...my old HP6515 getting faster fix compare to the sirf111 chipset inside my new Asus P535...However interm of accuracy, sirf111 still better than globallocate chipset)
oh ic.. what if we are located in a jungle with no line? then, its very hard to get a fix is it? and is it possible to rely just on the HP 6965 GPS withoust the AGPS for it to work?
Deani_77
post Oct 8 2007, 10:17 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

As long as you have open sky it can get satellite fix
stimix
post Oct 8 2007, 11:31 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(pipedream @ Oct 8 2007, 09:37 AM)
oh ic.. what if we are located in a jungle with no line? then, its very hard to get a fix is it? and is it possible to rely just on the HP 6965 GPS withoust the AGPS for it to work?
U only need to download the data once every 2 days or 7days mah...(I hope u read what AGPS all about by now)....& then all u hv to do is go outside and acquire the satelite....BTW, hv u sign up as malsingmaps member and read their wiki....there are lotsa things to learn there..try spending about a week exploring what GPS all about...It will be better for u this way..and yes exploring the 20+ pages of this thread is another good way to learn...
kerazul
post Oct 8 2007, 02:09 PM

1,176 posts

Wah... stimix = GPS sifu! biggrin.gif

Hi pipedream,

Yes, even if u don't download d aGPS data, u can still connect but it'll take forever. Even after u found ur destination manually, I don't think u've got a fix
dokidoki
post Oct 8 2007, 02:13 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

aih...my gps this afternoon..when load..take forever to locate my location...dunno y...i m using asus p535...this morning when test on it on the road still ok..but then afterward just now test cannot pula..
stimix
post Oct 8 2007, 04:06 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(dokidoki @ Oct 8 2007, 02:13 PM)
aih...my gps this afternoon..when load..take forever to locate my location...dunno y...i m using asus p535...this morning when test on it on the road still ok..but then afterward just now test cannot pula..
Are u somewhere inside shelter or beside any highrises?..If yes...then it is normal. Sirf111 chipset of P535 although superior interm of quality but as it is not assisted, getting satelites fix surrounded by highrises is not easy when at any one time it can only see about 2-4satelites whereas if u r at open space without any buildings & trees blocking u probably can get about 8-12 satelites on sight.

When I was at Mid Valley on Saturday, I was standing in between Mid-Valley, boulevard hotels & Northpoints...and wth these 2 high buildings blocking my view I can only see max 3 satelites and signals was so low where acquiring the signal took me more than 5Minutes!...Well what to do I need to track, so no choice but to wait 5min...

If I hv used my old HP6515 which is an AGPS system, time to acquire satelite will be faster i.e.. probably <3Min at the same location...but as mentioned few posting above, Sirf111 is still superior interm of accuracy compare to AGPS but time of acquisition migh be slower as it is not assisted. biggrin.gif
pipedream
post Oct 8 2007, 04:11 PM

2,353 posts

Yeah, finally connected and acquired a 3D position, the first startup took a long time , but the 2nd time took only 1 minute to startup

hmm, dunno why my map shows blank, i am using mapking, i dled the kl plus map
stimix
post Oct 8 2007, 04:24 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(pipedream @ Oct 8 2007, 04:11 PM)
Yeah, finally connected and acquired a 3D position, the first startup took a long time , but the 2nd time took only 1 minute to startup

hmm, dunno why my map shows blank, i am using mapking, i dled the kl plus map
Check the version of the map. If u'r using Mapking G10 u can only diwnload G10 map version & if u want to use 2007 version, u need to rename the ext from g10 to m7a.
pipedream
post Oct 8 2007, 04:26 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Oct 8 2007, 05:24 PM)
Check the version of the map. If u'r using Mapking G10 u can only diwnload G10 map version & if u want to use 2007 version, u need to rename the ext from g10 to m7a.
i already change the extension, but still it shows a blank map.. and one thing is, do the gps know if we are moving, because even though i am moving the pointer remains stationary
stimix
post Oct 8 2007, 04:49 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(pipedream @ Oct 8 2007, 04:26 PM)
i already change the extension, but still it shows a blank map.. and one thing is, do the gps know if we are moving, because even though i am moving the pointer remains stationary
Actually what version of the maps r u using? - U mentioned u r using HP6965, this model is having 240X240 square screen format and required special version from Mapking..Hv u install this 6965/6515 Mapking version of either G10 or 2007?..If u haven't ur unit will show funny/messy image on bottow 1/4 of the screen...

If u r using Mapking 2007, Can u goto tools> Open Map & click on the KL Plus to ensure u choose the correct maps..If u can't see any maps this means the map is incompartible. (On other Mapking probably try & find change map in the menu...)
pipedream
post Oct 8 2007, 04:56 PM

2,353 posts

In the download section i only see one, that is Mapking 2007

sad.gif maybe thats why i feel so hard to control the thing, its like really lacking of controls, but the screen fits fine

maybe i should switch to garmin que instead? i kinda hate it cz its map are really confusing
stimix
post Oct 8 2007, 05:13 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(pipedream @ Oct 8 2007, 04:56 PM)
In the download section i only see one, that is Mapking 2007

sad.gif maybe thats why i feel so hard to control the thing, its like really lacking of controls, but the screen fits fine

maybe i should switch to garmin que instead? i kinda hate it cz its map are really confusing
Actually u will luv garmin que more after using it (I hardly use Mapking nowadays.).....Probably switch bck to Mapking G10 wth HP6965/6515 version and download the Malaysia maps & not KL Plus(If KL Plus u can see KL only)..BTW hv u try Mapking's malsingmaps?
kerazul
post Oct 8 2007, 10:35 PM

1,176 posts

Hi Pipedream,

note that even when u use Garmin, it will not show the bottom part of the software as it is built for 240 x 320 screens and not 240 x 240 screens.

To enable it to work on ur 6965, u'll need to install a virtual screen program called NYDITOT. Check it out here
pipedream
post Oct 9 2007, 01:54 AM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(kerazul @ Oct 8 2007, 11:35 PM)
Hi Pipedream,

note that even when u use Garmin, it will not show the bottom part of the software as it is built for 240 x 320 screens and not 240 x 240 screens.

To enable it to work on ur 6965, u'll need to install a virtual screen program called NYDITOT. Check it out here
yes, but as far as i seen, the software itself shown in 240x240 automatically , only the startup screen is cutted into half

67 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0271sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:45 PM