4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

GPS (general: wat is it? how does it work?), Get your answers here!

THTgadgets.com
post Jan 3 2007, 12:18 AM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Speaking of BT GPS, how to go about? Of course there is still the need to get the GPS receiver ya?

Sorry guys, a bit on the clueless side here and furthermore, i had problems accessing the 'Net which means i would have missed out on the earlier postings! icon_rolleyes.gif
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 5 2007, 02:42 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Just to ask, there was a post in another thread mentioning about the Malsing Maps (covering MY and SG)... Are those dedicated GPS maps or also used as normal electronic map? huh.gif
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 5 2007, 06:34 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Icic, i was thinking whether the Malsing maps can also function as an electronic version of the standard paper-based maps, if i don't have a GPS service...
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 5 2007, 10:42 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Thanks... I'll do that as soon as possible... Need such a map in electronic form, at least not so ma-fan to carry a paper-based one! smile.gif
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 6 2007, 12:55 AM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

True true... Looks like both the GPS-enabled electronic maps as well as the standard paper-based ones have their own set of advantages... The best is still to have a paper map together with the electronic version complementing each other... Thats what GPS is for also right? thumbup.gif
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 8 2007, 02:28 AM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Cool... So it has to be very effective for u eh?
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 8 2007, 08:26 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Still, at least it gives u alternative routes to take if there is a traffic jam... It has to be very useful then, but how much does the service cost, btw?

And since i'm using a Z72s, how do i actually activate my Palm to become a GPS tracker? Obviously there is a need to purchase an extra device to take advantage of this capability ya?
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 8 2007, 10:19 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Oh ok, that is cool... Thanks for the info though... And the PalmX link really helps explain everything! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by THT United Gadgets: Jan 8 2007, 10:22 PM
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 8 2007, 10:23 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 8 2007, 10:16 PM)
From Malsingmaps WIKI only the following Palms are able to use Garmin Que:

Sony Clie UX50
PalmOne Tungsten T3
Sony Clie TH55
PalmOne Treo 650
Sony Clie TJ37
PalmOne TX
PalmOne Tungsten E2
The map setup/upload is similar to PocketPC.
Whoa, looks like my Z72s is out... Too bad, but there are other ways to access GPS using my handheld ya?
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 9 2007, 11:46 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Well, so its similar to WiFi spot hunting lah, whereby u have to drive around until a location with strong signals is detected... So how are u guys finding your respective GPS devices and services, btw?

At least i can gauge your responses before really considering getting a unit... biggrin.gif
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 10 2007, 11:53 AM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 10 2007, 09:35 AM)
Not really..satelite requred clear sky and all the 24 satelites are up there the stumbling blocks are those highrises, mountains, thick vegetation or u r inside a car wth Vcool tint or even inside a house.. Reason being satelite signals are very-very weak and thus required open sky.. To mitigates these problems, normally hardcore GPS addicts will hooked up their unit to an external antenna just to get "clearer Sky"

However during cold start (First getting satelite fix) u will need atleast 5 minutes to detect the signal but the nxt acquisition of signal should be fast probably less than a min especialy those wth QuickGPS built-in GPSr (HP6515/HP6965)
Well well, looks like i will have problems with receiving GPS signals... My car is coated with V-Cool actually, but what type of antennas can be hooked up with the GPS unit? Can't be those normal radio antennas, right?
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 10 2007, 12:07 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Where to get it then? Should be from computer shops lah right? And how much is it?
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 10 2007, 03:44 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

I should be going to Ikano Center later today... Dunno whether the IT Planet store there has any GPS units for demo or not leh? huh.gif
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 11 2007, 01:57 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Any specialist GPS shop around town, btw?
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 11 2007, 05:08 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Thanks for the reference... Which floor is that GPS shop located in Digital Mall? That's the closest place to my office (i'm based in Sec. 19, btw)...
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 12 2007, 09:26 AM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Hmmm, i had better go to LYP for a first-hand look first... Check out those shops given in the earlier post above and then compare the prices...
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 12 2007, 12:33 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

No worries, mate... The only problem is finding the time to go to LYP though! laugh.gif

Thats y the digital mall or those IT shops in 1U are the best bets... Those places are much closer to where i work (in Sec. 19 PJ)...
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 12 2007, 01:21 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Icic, but its a bit on the "far" side though... I guess the best for a wider range is in LYP or Imbi ya? But how about the shops in the IT @ Sg. Wang?
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 12 2007, 04:19 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 12 2007, 02:04 PM)
Not so sure whether ther is any in Sg Wang...btw what kind of GPSr u r looking for? judging from your Palm model chances is it might not run the free Garmin Que or even Mapking.& u r not interested in the PPC cum BT GPSr.....so if my instinct is correct u r looking for a totally standalone handheld GPSr such as Garmin 60Csx or 76Csx?

Just a note if u r interested on the standalone offroad GPSr,,, This is a durable waterproof unit, very accurate signal acquisition and batt last very long....However  the screen size is smaller than even the smaller PDA, U can only view in 2D & no way of using Mapking 3D version. It is suitable for hardcore trackers/ mappers, offroad tracking, jungle, fishing & etc.

For normal car navigation, it is a littlebit small...so check on what u want to do wth ur GPS....
Icic... I will still go to those GPS-specialist shops to see whether they can recommend any good stand-alone product or if available, an add-on product to my Zire for enabling GPS connectivity (my preferred choice)...
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 13 2007, 12:51 AM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Wah, it is something like a SmartTag then? Has to be affixed to the car? Like dat the best is still a device that can connect to the handheld and provide GPS...

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0193sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 12:22 AM