Working Life in Singapore, Please Share your value Experience

jimmy79
post Nov 25 2007, 10:09 PM

957 posts

QUOTE(htennek @ Nov 25 2007, 04:55 PM)
I've been working in Singapore for 4 years.

I'm been a PR for 2 years.

This country is a shithole.

Only a fool would want to live here long term

Its even worse now as living expenses are going through the roof.

Working here will be a joy short term, but dont ever think of settling down here.

Btw, 20% of your money goes to CPF, and its just as good as written off, cause realistically, you'll never see a cent of it, not even if you give up your PR until you are 55
Could you please describe why you think the country is so bad? May be you can share your experience with us who just start working in singapore.

jimmy79
post Nov 27 2007, 08:47 PM

957 posts

QUOTE(washabushi @ Nov 27 2007, 04:34 PM)
me not recruitment agency...
but i know some1 can help u with it...
my pay ok ok only la...
but the job i'm working provide good benefit...
they borrow me phone, mp3, n laptop go home...
as the reason "product training"
lol...
omg , got borrow u 32" LCD tv, dvd player as product training or not?
jimmy79
post Nov 28 2007, 03:26 PM

957 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Nov 28 2007, 11:33 AM)
Assuming a person is earning RM4500 a month now in Penanng Malaysia. How much offer do you guys think a Singapore employer must give before it is worth it to start a career in singapore taking into account the higher room rent, food cost and car purchase cost. I heard that room rental in Singapore has escalated up to 80%? True?
room rent = much higher compare to penang.
food cost = dun think it is more expensive than penang
car purchase = no need car at sg unless got family, baby. You can access everywhere with public transport.

All compare above is dollar to dollar. If you convert and compare, for sure every daily expenses in singapore will be much higher than msia.

jimmy79
post Nov 28 2007, 04:01 PM

957 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Nov 28 2007, 03:43 PM)
So the person should expect at least 5K sing to actually have a standard of living better than before?
Not sure why you think need at least 5K sing to have a standard of living.

In general, the living standard in singapore is much lower than malaysia.
For my concern is : after deduct the daily expenses you mention ( basic food and staying). The other left over money will have double value compare RM. This mean when u buy gadjet, travel, electrical item, clothes and etc,your spending power is much higher then in msia.

For me if u earn RM4.5k and can get SGD4.5k. You can have much better life than msia. Even 4k also can have better life than msia.

Just my 2 cents

jimmy79
post Nov 29 2007, 08:47 PM

957 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Nov 29 2007, 01:10 PM)
Ok lets assume that the guy is going to stay there for long term and he currently has a 1100sf apartment, a car etc.
Can he have the EXACT standard of living in Singapore? Does he have to "downgrade" the living standard just to survive in Singapore?

From what I can see, a 1100sf cost around 500k SING which means that it will cost around 2.5K repayment alone to get an apartment this size.

Added on November 29, 2007, 1:19 pm

Because you're thinking from a fresh graduate point of view.
You're thinking from currency exchange point of view and not long term standard of living.

Assuming that you're NOT going to come back to Malaysia (except for CNY, holiday etc) and settling down there and that you're standard of living requires a 1100sf apartment, a small sized car(honda city), as well as some entertainment and enough savings. RM4500 can achieve all these I think in Malaysia but can 4500 sing dollars achieve all these? That's my question.
FYI, I am not a fresh graduate and I have 5 yrs working exp. I previously work in MNC company in KL and just come over here not too long. Even though I din earn that much compare to you, i still can survive with my salary and have some saving for myself. I do have long term plan to settle in singapore as well.

BBmar, i think need your help to explain. icon_question.gif

PS: you do not have to go back to malaysia to enjoy the currency exchange effect.

This post has been edited by jimmy79: Nov 29 2007, 09:13 PM
jimmy79
post Nov 30 2007, 12:50 PM

957 posts

QUOTE(washabushi @ Nov 30 2007, 12:31 PM)
akira got sale...
go c c look look...
planning to buy pillow coz i still dont have any pillow...
Akira not selling electrical item only ?
no pillow how to sleep? hahaha
jimmy79
post Nov 30 2007, 02:46 PM

957 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Nov 30 2007, 02:18 PM)
But a 1100sf apartment will cost 500K sing dollars, can 4500 sing afford to pay for the apartment ?
Please forgive me if I am wrong tongue.gif
I am not sure where u get the 500k value, may be is for private apartment??
If you are going for HDB, 4 rooms type HDB normally is around 1000sqt( getting smaller for new hdb).
For us non singaporean, we cannot buy from HDB thus we need get second hand from free market. The price is range from 200k-350k base on location. The price might be higher now due to the raises.

EDITED: I think apartment cost more than 500k in singapore. So the answer 4.5k cannot afford 500k apartment.

This post has been edited by jimmy79: Nov 30 2007, 03:04 PM
jimmy79
post Nov 30 2007, 04:39 PM

957 posts

QUOTE(nameless @ Nov 30 2007, 04:23 PM)
Have you forgotten currently the rental rate is pretty high in Singapore?
You can rent out some rooms with very good price to help to pay the repayment,
this is what most Singaporean do to afford to own a house.
Not agree with you, if I can afford a private apartment in singapore why would I share my apartment with other ppl?

jimmy79
post Dec 1 2007, 07:30 AM

957 posts

QUOTE(htennek @ Dec 1 2007, 02:49 AM)

However, if you can put aside the 'pressure cooker' crampiness feeling of Singapore and settle for a 'very' small living space, you may be able to have a slightly higher standard of living in Singapore for SGD 4500.
I do warn you guys coming over, that there is a great temptation to spend in Singapore. Technology is more advance here, everyone change phones and buy gadgets a lot. You might end up spending more than you want to if you get caught up. When the culture around you is like this, you will tend to follow it.
Beside the advance technology, i think the currency play a role as well because the gadjet take up small percentage of ur salary only. Example a normal PC cost Rm3k but here cost SGD1.5k. you will think to buy it because you "feel" it is much more cheaper.
jimmy79
post Dec 3 2007, 03:15 PM

957 posts

QUOTE(cktwai @ Dec 2 2007, 02:17 PM)
aiyah bbmars.. let them stay in Msia la... no need to explain to them... we enjoy ourselves in SG  laugh.gif
Everyone has their own preference, we cannot force them.
For the comfortable of living, I think those ppl who has work in both places know the differences very well.
jimmy79
post Dec 4 2007, 08:32 AM

957 posts

QUOTE(CreamMilk @ Dec 3 2007, 08:16 PM)
I am wondering, how you guys manage to find a job in sg? Through agent? Or go to sg straight away and stay at relative's house then look for a job there?

Izzit going to work if apply through website like jobseek.com.sg? How the employer interview you? Phone? Or must purposely go all the way down to sg for interview? I am from kl...
Nothing come with free. For my case I have come to sg for few interview before I accept this offer. I even have cases work in kl till 6pm then take bus to singapore, stay at friend over night, tomorrow morning go interview and go back KL again.

I am applying jobs through those job seeking website.

jimmy79
post Dec 5 2007, 01:31 PM

957 posts

washa is damn tall. hahahaha.
jimmy79
post Dec 10 2007, 11:27 AM

957 posts

For the hp package.
If your job is not the type will keep receive the incoming call and you plan to call out a lot. Singtel prepaid is the most worth package to use if u using Hot 100 even compare with postpaid.

You pay SGD28 only for Hot 100( normally I pay SGD24.5 or SGD25) and you get SGD72 dollar for local charges and SGD28 for IDD international call.
The calling rates also cheaper than postpaid if most of your call is after 8pm because it only charges 8cent per minutes compare 16cent per minutes on postpaid line.
If you make call on day time before 8pm, the rate is same with postpaid which is 16cents.

so imagine SGD72 can call for how long? My gf call me using this package and normally the SGD25 can last for 1 month or more with average she call me 30 mins per night.
My postpaid SGd30 with free IDD only come with 80 minutes free call and 500 sms and free incoming call.

Dun forget about the SGD28 IDD international call as well. Just add 019 to any international number you want and u will call it using local rate which is 8cents per minutes after 8pm( b4 8pm is 16cents or more). So u can keep contact with your family in msia quite often. The weekend rate for this package is 8cents for whole days as wel.

However, this Hot 100 value need to be top up every 50 days, if not your value inside will be deleted.Normal prepaid in singapore has life span 6 months compare maxis 30 days with top up of SGD10 dollar.

Another benefit of postpaid is you get free caller id display, postpaid normally give u free callerID on first 3 months but charge u SGD5 after that.

lol, i seems help singtel promote their hot 100.

Added on December 10, 2007, 11:52 am
QUOTE(cktwai @ Dec 10 2007, 10:09 AM)
for myself, I use Maybank2U. Yes there's a Maybank2u in Singapore. You can do online transfer from SGD (in Maybank2U SG) to RM (in Maybank2U MY). The rates are pretty reasonable as well (I think it's SGD 2 or SGD 5). Althernatively I think banks like HSBC, Citibank, UOB and etc (foreign banks) can do the same. Just make a phone call to these foreign banks and ask.
cktwai, so we need open maybank account in singapore to let us use the sg maybank2u?Currently I am using remittance services and everytime they charge SGD10, if got other method which can save money I will like to know. Last time I ask singapore maybank on the remittance and service fee they charge is SGD30, so need to know more about the method you use. Thanks.

This post has been edited by jimmy79: Dec 10 2007, 11:52 AM
jimmy79
post Dec 10 2007, 01:18 PM

957 posts

QUOTE(darrenboy @ Dec 10 2007, 12:26 PM)
Jimmy,

I dont quite get what u mean by this sentence -

You pay SGD28 only for Hot 100( normally I pay SGD24.5 or SGD25) and you get SGD72 dollar for local charges and SGD28 for IDD international call.

Btw, I check with Maybank in Msia, and the person advised to just use their ATM machine and the money will convert using the prevailing exch rate. No fees imposed.
Try and see if it works or not and then please let me know.

Regards
Hi darren,
you pay SGD28 ( suggest price ) for HOT 100 top up card which contain the value of SGD72 for local call/sms and SGD28 value for IDD, international call/sms. So total is SGD100 worth value, thats y it call HOT 100. Sounds unbelievable right?

http://home.singtel.com/upload_hub/consume...onus_nov07.html

This post has been edited by jimmy79: Dec 10 2007, 01:22 PM
jimmy79
post Dec 11 2007, 09:05 AM

957 posts

QUOTE(darrenboy @ Dec 11 2007, 08:25 AM)
About CPF contribution, does non-PR need to contribute ? Actually if contribute I feel better because the employer contribute too - so your remuneration/benefit is more, right?

WASHABUSHI/Jimmy - does your employer deduct CPF contribution? What about Socso? Mind if share normally how many % of your salary constitute the variable portion (I'm not talking abt the 13th month)?
Non PR does not contribute CPF. I think you can ask your employer say you want to contribute even not PR but not sure the employer will contribute their part or not.

I do not have CPF contribution. I have no sosco deduct from salaryas well, so the pay you receive is the net pay.

What variable portion? Not really get what you mean.

jimmy79
post Dec 13 2007, 09:52 AM

957 posts

QUOTE(darrenboy @ Dec 13 2007, 09:08 AM)
Between 2.5% and 4% only? That's about the rate of only fixed deposit. Outrageous. Even our EPF pays better.
pay back? You mean, instead of paying to CPF, the employer pays you direct?
Singapore FD does not pay you 2.5% till 4% per annum. FD in singapore only give you from 0.3 till 1% only( FD below 50k)
jimmy79
post Dec 13 2007, 11:57 AM

957 posts

my employer din pay my CPF part now, the only hope is wait till get my PR only. But that time the salary will drop 20% cry.gif
jimmy79
post Jan 23 2008, 02:06 PM

957 posts

QUOTE(ibmsege @ Jan 23 2008, 12:36 PM)
yup, you are right, so by comparing properties price/income ratio.... malaysia infact is better than singapore/hongkong.... imagine one need to use whole life to pay for a house...
Please dun mislead other with your own thinking/assumption

This post has been edited by jimmy79: Jan 23 2008, 02:13 PM
jimmy79
post Jan 25 2008, 09:17 AM

957 posts

QUOTE(cktwai @ Jan 24 2008, 10:31 PM)
Well I for one went by EP working now without any med check ...

It depends one ler dude...  laugh.gif
First time I know can get EP without doing med check. What is the condition?

jimmy79
post Jan 28 2008, 09:05 AM

957 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Jan 27 2008, 11:50 PM)
true..tats y i desperately wanted to get a job there hehe
plan to get my parents a 42" LCD hehe
if you plan to get into msia, you will get taxed unless you smuggle it

This post has been edited by jimmy79: Jan 28 2008, 09:07 AM

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0519sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:16 PM