126 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore, Please Share your value Experience

DeathWing
post Mar 1 2007, 10:02 AM

9V-
3,226 posts

A social visit pass is valid for 14 days. That's all you need if you're trying to look for a job.
Work permit/S pass/Employment Pass is usually applied by your company on your behalf after you've been offered a job.

My advice? Like billy said, try to find a job in SG here, if they're ready to hire Malaysians, they're ready to advertise in local newspaper.
pppooo
post Mar 1 2007, 06:18 PM

54 posts

Indeed Spore co. advertize at Msia newspapers to recruit but it is bare minimum. Spore newspaper The Strait Times (esp Saturday) advertize more and most of the semicon MNCs hire Malayasian as engineers. Pay more notice to those big firms for eg Seagate, HP, Motorola...or Spore GLC, the ST (Spore Technologies) group companys or Sembcorp etc. They are always recruiting and they are kind of fair in terms of package.

ilikehandphones
post Mar 1 2007, 08:45 PM

378 posts

thanks for the info.....are there any jobs that do not require PR status in Singapore?
can give some info on semicon industries there? are the pay good there?....i'm currently working in a fab environment too
billycomeback
post Mar 1 2007, 11:31 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(ilikehandphones @ Mar 1 2007, 08:45 PM)
thanks for the info.....are there any jobs that do not require PR status in Singapore?
can give some info on semicon industries there? are the pay good there?....i'm currently working in a fab environment too
There are many that don't require PR status, because to become a PR you would need to work in Singapore first before you are able or qualify to apply for PR status.

I'm not sure about semi-con here, but to me past few years, semi-con industries shake a lot. Not sure about pay as well, but if engineer, I'm sure it would be paid well.

Take my advice, go to jobstreet , click Malaysia location. Search for engineering key word under Singapore location. Whatever is being advertised on the following pages you get is targeted at Malaysians. Which means, they are recruiting Malaysians. Please look through all the pages for what post you are qualified for and what are the requirements and pay packages offered. So this way you know your market price.

Other popular online job agencies are jobsdb.com, a Singapore newspaper is for Singaporeans to read and if I am the advertiser, if I want to reach the majority of Malaysian Engineers, I will advertised in Malaysia newspaper where Malaysian Engineer would have a better chance of seeing the ad. Advertisers are not stupid and blur-sotong. Companies who only advertised in Singapore newspaper to look for Malaysian engineers are either looking for PR already working in Singapore or they don't have a effective HR department which is in my opinion, not worth your time.

When I said a company is ready to hire foreigners, it means they are ready to pay for your levy(fees) for work permits/s-pass etc., they are ready to send you for medical check-up in Singapore, they have a HR department that knows how to handle problems with immigration forms and will tell you exactly what to bring for your check-ups and applications. Whenever your permit is due for renewal, they will inform you 1 month before hand, and asks you to get ready all your photos and travel documents. These companies will know what they are doing and will advertise accordingly when they need. If you come to Singapore, simply ask any Tom d*** harry company to hire you and they said "yes! yes!", but don't know how to go around handling your application, wouldn't it be more troublesome for you.

Companies are very careful regarding hiring foreigners because they know they will get into trouble if their procedures are suspicious. If the government in Singapore willing to jail a parish Priest for letting people without work-permits to stay in his house, you better realise how serious a message they want to send regarding foreign workers.

If you are a foreigner and want to rent a house, you would need a valid work permit. To check in a hotel you need to show your passport. And your passport stamp is valid only for 2 week stay maximum. Sometime, they just give you less like 1 week or sometimes 3 days. This is up to the immigration officer chopping your passport. If your passport empty and new and you first time coming to Singapore, they might question your motives and reasons for visit and blah blah. My first time I had to show my Malaysian IC and driving license to the immigration officer. When I said I am going to start work in Singapore, they ask me for company name, company adress, my adress in Singapore, my contact number and all that.

All this is what I experienced and heard from other Malaysians I know. So do your research properly, check job agencies online, and keep looking at Malaysian newspaper. Practice your interview and speaking skills, brush up on your English, learn some cultures and important dates in Singapore like National day and such so you can get ready for conversations and such. Be prepared to be bombarded by nonsense conversation from taxi drivers when they know you are Malaysian (they say they can spot a Malaysian from the way we dress.). Good luck.

This post has been edited by billycomeback: Mar 1 2007, 11:32 PM
ilikehandphones
post Mar 2 2007, 10:41 AM

378 posts

well i don't have a degree......i was thinking more of the normal kind of job like a general worker....it's kinda hard to find jobs like that in jobstreet and jobsdb...are jobs like supermarket cashier or waiter available in abundance?
eurekas
post Mar 2 2007, 11:08 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(ilikehandphones @ Mar 2 2007, 10:41 AM)
well i don't have a degree......i was thinking more of the normal kind of job like a general worker....it's kinda hard to find jobs like that in jobstreet and jobsdb...are jobs like supermarket cashier or waiter available in abundance?
yes have alot because this is the job shun by Singaporean. I think you have to come to Singapore and buy the Saturday Strait Times. Saturday paper is super thick and have alot of job advertisement.
Btw, you are guy or girl ? In my opinion girl is easier to get job in service sector.
Maybe I wrong also. smile.gif
pppooo
post Mar 2 2007, 03:13 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(eurekas @ Mar 2 2007, 11:08 AM)
yes have alot because this is the job shun by Singaporean. I think you have to come to Singapore and buy the Saturday Strait Times. Saturday paper is super thick and have alot of job advertisement.
Btw, you are guy or girl ? In my opinion girl is easier to get job in service sector.
Maybe I wrong also.  smile.gif
Both Eurekas and billy are rite in job search method in Spore. Why not u try all their methods.
Singapore service line is flooded with foreigner...restaurants used to have many Msians and now China Chinese...
You could also try your luck in office entry level job for eg recep, coordinator, admin. But please at least ensure you have SPM 5 credits or if better diploma. Otherwise u'll have pblm in applying work permit.

ilikehandphones
post Mar 2 2007, 09:29 PM

378 posts

i'm a guy....strait times...got it.....another question though....let's just say i am called by a company in sg to come for interview...if i were to enter from jb...should i tell him that i come for "vacation"? or job hunting?....i'm kinda worried about billy line "This is up to the immigration officer chopping your passport. If your passport empty and new and you first time coming to Singapore, they might question your motives and reasons for visit and blah blah. My first time I had to show my Malaysian IC and driving license to the immigration officer. When I said I am going to start work in Singapore, they ask me for company name, company adress, my adress in Singapore, my contact number and all that." i'm a first-timer very sorry to bombard u guys with question notworthy.gif ....i just wanna make sure i get everything right before i go. since i am not guarantied a job yet which option should i go for? should i lie or just be honest?
vin_ann
post Mar 3 2007, 02:15 PM

10,912 posts

my fren told me that she only spend 600 sing dolar leh.....
per month

is this possible???
cjtune
post Mar 3 2007, 02:24 PM

Melancholic frog
3,544 posts

QUOTE(ilikehandphones @ Mar 2 2007, 09:29 PM)
i'm a guy....strait times...got it.....another question though....let's just say i am called by a company in sg to come for interview...if i were to enter from jb...should i tell him that i come for "vacation"? or job hunting?....i'm kinda worried about billy line "This is up to the immigration officer chopping your passport. If your passport empty and new and you first time coming to Singapore, they might question your motives and reasons for visit and blah blah. My first time I had to show my Malaysian IC and driving license to the immigration officer. When I said I am going to start work in Singapore, they ask me for company name, company adress, my adress in Singapore, my contact number and all that." i'm a first-timer very sorry to bombard u guys with question  notworthy.gif ....i just wanna make sure i get everything right before i go. since i am not guarantied a job yet which option should i go for? should i lie or just be honest?
Just tell the truth. You there just for an interview... and maybe afterwards go shopping in Orchard Road or whatever. It's normal.

BUT, if you tell them you're working in Singapore, and if you can't produce a valid work visa to show them, then they'll get very suspicious.

Added on March 3, 2007, 2:28 pm
QUOTE(vin_ann @ Mar 3 2007, 02:15 PM)
my fren told me that she only spend 600 sing dolar leh.....
per month

is this possible???
Yes it's possible.
But have to be on a tight budget.

It's usually the case for students, and if they eat mostly in campus where the food prices are subsidized, and outside you can get student discounts for most of everything.

This post has been edited by cjtune: Mar 3 2007, 02:28 PM
bbmars
post Mar 3 2007, 03:01 PM

545 posts

FYI, there is the biggest job fair in SG right now at Suntec city. Every year there will be one immediately after the release of the A level results. If you are available, do drop by to see for yourself.

sukkimi
post Mar 4 2007, 06:59 PM

14 posts

Wanna ask where should i look for job in s'pore?
Should i start searching in M'sia The Star
Or go down to S'pore and find from s'pore newspaper daily. (considering accomodation not a problem)- stay in friend's house

Pls help
idcs
post Mar 4 2007, 07:35 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(sukkimi @ Mar 4 2007, 06:59 PM)
Or go down to S'pore and find from s'pore newspaper daily. (considering accomodation not a problem)- stay in friend's house

Pls help
buy spore newspaper easy to find.. biggrin.gif
eurekas
post Mar 4 2007, 07:40 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(sukkimi @ Mar 4 2007, 06:59 PM)

Pls help
Strait Times on Saturday

sukkimi
post Mar 4 2007, 07:42 PM

14 posts

Thanks idcs & eurekas : I will do that.

eurekas
post Mar 4 2007, 07:55 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(sukkimi @ Mar 4 2007, 07:42 PM)
Thanks idcs & eurekas : I will do that.
u planning to apply for what job ?
guest19
post Mar 5 2007, 09:08 AM

Validating
500 posts

i just want to noe..if work permit,does the company give u cpf as in here call epf?
sukkimi
post Mar 5 2007, 10:33 AM

14 posts

i am degree holder in It but dun have working experience in IT. I think i will apply job in exe admistration.
The main reason i'm goin there is- if only my hubby's interview went smooth.Yeap hubby wanna work in s'pore. So i also follow. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by sukkimi: Mar 5 2007, 10:33 AM
the_registered
post Mar 5 2007, 10:48 AM

I'm not crazy, but I'm registered
844 posts

Do I have to pay some fees if I were to drive into Singapore with my Malaysian registered car?
eurekas
post Mar 5 2007, 12:10 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(the_registered @ Mar 5 2007, 10:48 AM)
Do I have to pay some fees if I were to drive into Singapore with my Malaysian registered car?
Yes........... weekend is free.

Added on March 5, 2007, 12:15 pm
QUOTE(guest19 @ Mar 5 2007, 09:08 AM)
i just want to noe..if work permit,does the company give u cpf as in here call epf?
No...
Work Permit, Employment Pass also don't have CPF. Only PR and Singaporean have CPF.
CPF good meh ? At the moment it cut my money every month leh, maybe in the future I will be more happy when get back the money.

This post has been edited by eurekas: Mar 5 2007, 12:15 PM

126 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0222sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:57 AM