QUOTE(nicvoo @ Jul 31 2008, 04:52 PM)
hehe
can rm80 get a levis?
Will a Malaysian earning ringgit never buy jeans if he cannot afford Levis?can rm80 get a levis?
This post has been edited by seantang: Jul 31 2008, 04:56 PM
Working Life in Singapore, Please Share your value Experience
Jul 31 2008, 04:55 PM
6,624 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: singapore & ipoh |
QUOTE(nicvoo @ Jul 31 2008, 04:52 PM) hehe Will a Malaysian earning ringgit never buy jeans if he cannot afford Levis?can rm80 get a levis? This post has been edited by seantang: Jul 31 2008, 04:56 PM |
Jul 31 2008, 05:35 PM
121 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: Australia |
Anybody lives faraway from their work place?....i am damn lucky....i shifted from sengkang to jurong east.....cos my work place is at mandai estate......and then i found a new job at changi after one month....i have been travelling from one end to the other end of the mrt track for few months already....who can beat my record?...
Jul 31 2008, 08:08 PM
4,707 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: where there everywhere |
QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 31 2008, 04:55 PM) well tats y i say wif the sgd so strong its tempting to spnd compared to a myrQUOTE(plplpl @ Jul 31 2008, 05:35 PM) Anybody lives faraway from their work place?....i am damn lucky....i shifted from sengkang to jurong east.....cos my work place is at mandai estate......and then i found a new job at changi after one month....i have been travelling from one end to the other end of the mrt track for few months already....who can beat my record?... i stay tampines my site at jurong i take mrt from tampine to boon lay everyday |
Jul 31 2008, 09:39 PM
545 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 30 2008, 11:07 PM) Press reported that SMU survey of its graduates showed that a high percentage got more than 3K, with the highest few tipping 10K. Let me try clear something here. That article was posted quite sometime... hard to recall all details. In general, SMU students do get around 3K... higher than NUS/NTU graduate. As reported too, SMU students are highly sort after. There was even a duration given, the no. of months, SMU student got their jobs as compared to the rest.. they are no 1. But there is something about this article which went on to mentioned about those sort after ones, which commands pay like 10K.. not many of them. Students are attached to companies for project, these group of students were already attached to some BIG corporation (my understanding, foreign financial companies willing to pay) doing projects. Not just projects, but real and commencial projects which the company benefited eventually becomes their employer. That's why they are being paid that much as the company watch them then. There is an article then too about a group of them.. Just that can't remember. I wonder who'd be insane enough to pay 10K for a fresh grad from a local U?... I mean if that chap is so damn good that you, as an employer, would feel irresistibly compelled to hand him 10K a month, even though he has never done a day of work in his life and is totally unproven - logic dictates that such an overwhelmingly superior individual would have been scouted & spotted long ago, and given a scholarship to Oxbridge, Ivy League, MIT or Stanford during his high school, JC or undergrad days. How come he was stuck, virtually unnoticed & ignored at a backwater uni like SMU, for years until some employer suddenly discovers this, unpolished diamond of a talent? However, only a handful.. so don't be alarmed. FYI, it was reported too, most of SMU students got their jobs before graduation. One thing to note, there are many foreign students studying in SMU, students from EU are also there to study. So don't be alarm, these so call elite student could be these EU people too because they too command higher pay in their own country. Jsut that the report didn't say where the students are from. Reports like that are regular thing in the pres, even ITE and Polytechnic has one of this about student's profile and job opportunity, how long they take to get a job, starting average salary, etc... Added on July 31, 2008, 10:11 pm QUOTE(nicvoo @ Jul 31 2008, 08:08 PM) well tats y i say wif the sgd so strong its tempting to spnd compared to a myr Don't you find it tiring? I once worked in Tuas when MRT only starts at Bedok and ends at jurong. Waking up 4+am in the morning, prepare myself, breakfast, walk 30mins to bedok interchange, only managed to get the 2nd train. At Jurong, have to wait for the 2nd feeder service bus, peak hours 15min bus frequency then. After 1 week, I gave up despite being in a good company. my motion sickness didn't help me at all. but I must say, my department working condition didn't help as being the most hardworking and long hours staff without OT (while others were allowed to claim). I can't take it. Just now, I came back from Redhill to Tampines, partially feeling the ache on my neck.. I can't take it.. That's why my current company is near by home. Can cycle to work, exercise and save on transport cost. Why not shift nearer to your work area?i stay tampines my site at jurong i take mrt from tampine to boon lay everyday My distant relatives and friends (ang mo and chinese borned in UK) from london used to tell me, pleae don't be choosy with jobs because they have problem getting jobs there and even then, housing cost too expensive inside London so much that they have to drive some 2 hrs on the road before reaching office in central London. Its a sacrifice but they except and face it.. Mine is nothing compared to them.. This post has been edited by bbmars: Jul 31 2008, 10:20 PM |
Jul 31 2008, 10:23 PM
42 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
Hi guys, anyone here working in any hospitals in singapore? Im currently working in a private medical lab and would like to inquire how is the pay over thr in this field
Aug 1 2008, 10:40 AM
QUOTE(bbmars @ Jul 31 2008, 09:39 PM) Let me try clear something here. That article was posted quite sometime... hard to recall all details. In general, SMU students do get around 3K... higher than NUS/NTU graduate. As reported too, SMU students are highly sort after. There was even a duration given, the no. of months, SMU student got their jobs as compared to the rest.. they are no 1. But there is something about this article which went on to mentioned about those sort after ones, which commands pay like 10K.. not many of them. Students are attached to companies for project, these group of students were already attached to some BIG corporation (my understanding, foreign financial companies willing to pay) doing projects. Not just projects, but real and commencial projects which the company benefited eventually becomes their employer. That's why they are being paid that much as the company watch them then. There is an article then too about a group of them.. Just that can't remember. yeah its tiring damn tiring.damn long story.However, only a handful.. so don't be alarmed. FYI, it was reported too, most of SMU students got their jobs before graduation. One thing to note, there are many foreign students studying in SMU, students from EU are also there to study. So don't be alarm, these so call elite student could be these EU people too because they too command higher pay in their own country. Jsut that the report didn't say where the students are from. Reports like that are regular thing in the pres, even ITE and Polytechnic has one of this about student's profile and job opportunity, how long they take to get a job, starting average salary, etc... Added on July 31, 2008, 10:11 pm Don't you find it tiring? I once worked in Tuas when MRT only starts at Bedok and ends at jurong. Waking up 4+am in the morning, prepare myself, breakfast, walk 30mins to bedok interchange, only managed to get the 2nd train. At Jurong, have to wait for the 2nd feeder service bus, peak hours 15min bus frequency then. After 1 week, I gave up despite being in a good company. my motion sickness didn't help me at all. but I must say, my department working condition didn't help as being the most hardworking and long hours staff without OT (while others were allowed to claim). I can't take it. Just now, I came back from Redhill to Tampines, partially feeling the ache on my neck.. I can't take it.. That's why my current company is near by home. Can cycle to work, exercise and save on transport cost. Why not shift nearer to your work area? My distant relatives and friends (ang mo and chinese borned in UK) from london used to tell me, pleae don't be choosy with jobs because they have problem getting jobs there and even then, housing cost too expensive inside London so much that they have to drive some 2 hrs on the road before reaching office in central London. Its a sacrifice but they except and face it.. Mine is nothing compared to them.. the prob is actually my comp is at bt merah then my damn site staff resigned so i need to come down all the way. anyway i was hoping for some compensation but it turned out tat i was too putting too much hope in my comp they not only did not compensate me but also took the site staff's pay for themselves(this is a damn big company with offices aroudn the world not a chinaman one) tellin me it was a form of reimburstment to the company (wtf reimburst wat ??) well they enlisted me for a small increment which i guess at most would b 10-15% which i got fed up of n i went to get anoter job which is paying me 30% increment and i resigned. well currently serving my 2 months notice left 1 more month soon i'll b free hahaha |
Aug 1 2008, 01:01 PM
5 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
Hi everyone, I'll be going down to Sg soon at the end of Aug to commence my first real job on the 1st of Sept. After reading through the whooping 119 pages in this thread, I hope that I'm a bit better off equipped with information to adapt myself to a new working environment. Thanks for all of those who actually contributed their experience in Sg.
Aug 1 2008, 03:51 PM
ahah welcome to the rat race haha
Aug 1 2008, 04:14 PM
48 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
hi~~
been reading lots frm dis topic n finally moving down nex week to star my work ther~~ hope all this sharing of experience will b usefull..hehe |
Aug 1 2008, 07:50 PM
55 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
hey, share sth that is beneficial...what levi jeans pulak...
Aug 1 2008, 09:06 PM
QUOTE(phat_ox @ Jul 31 2008, 10:23 PM) Hi guys, anyone here working in any hospitals in singapore? Im currently working in a private medical lab and would like to inquire how is the pay over thr in this field Sorry, I have no information for you, but I do recall advertisement for staff in Gov hospitals and the pay kind of thing. There are to my knowledge whenever I visit the hosipital... .most private ones, there are many foreigners working there, Chinese and Philippinos which I come into contact more often. There are other nationals too but can't recall any..Added on August 1, 2008, 9:07 pm QUOTE(nicvoo @ Aug 1 2008, 10:40 AM) yeah its tiring damn tiring.damn long story. Oh... then good news lah.... at least you get better pay package.. just waiting to gothe prob is actually my comp is at bt merah then my damn site staff resigned so i need to come down all the way. anyway i was hoping for some compensation but it turned out tat i was too putting too much hope in my comp they not only did not compensate me but also took the site staff's pay for themselves(this is a damn big company with offices aroudn the world not a chinaman one) tellin me it was a form of reimburstment to the company (wtf reimburst wat ??) well they enlisted me for a small increment which i guess at most would b 10-15% which i got fed up of n i went to get anoter job which is paying me 30% increment and i resigned. well currently serving my 2 months notice left 1 more month soon i'll b free hahaha This post has been edited by bbmars: Aug 1 2008, 09:07 PM |
Aug 1 2008, 10:22 PM
42 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
QUOTE(bbmars @ Aug 1 2008, 09:06 PM) Sorry, I have no information for you, but I do recall advertisement for staff in Gov hospitals and the pay kind of thing. There are to my knowledge whenever I visit the hosipital... .most private ones, there are many foreigners working there, Chinese and Philippinos which I come into contact more often. There are other nationals too but can't recall any.. Yeah..thanks..been through this thread but didnt get much info about jobs in hospitals or private labs Anybody doing pharmaceuticals sales? Please share some experience |
Aug 1 2008, 10:35 PM
All major pharmaceutical MNCs have a regional HQ in Sg. Several have substantial R&D and/or supply chain centers there as well. Pharmaceutical manufacturing is a major high value add industry, substantially promoted by the Sg govt. Hospitals and health care is another growth industry and Sg is actively promoting medical tourism.
Aug 2 2008, 08:25 AM
57 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
Hi Seantang and nicvoo, both of you have been giving us valuable information and experience. Seems like you are all very familiar with SG culture and working environment.
Mine to share how long have u been working here and what is ur job here? |
Aug 2 2008, 10:39 AM
QUOTE(XfX @ Aug 2 2008, 08:25 AM) Mine to share how long have u been working here and what is ur job here? Been in Sg 3+years, doing finance. Why do you ask? |
Aug 2 2008, 12:43 PM
516 posts Joined: May 2007 |
MNC company
what means by MNC ? anyone here can help me ? thanksssssssssssssssssssssss |
Aug 2 2008, 01:11 PM
623 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
Aug 2 2008, 01:20 PM
QUOTE(phat_ox @ Aug 1 2008, 10:22 PM) Yeah..thanks..been through this thread but didnt get much info about jobs in hospitals or private labs So you are into medical sales? I just read, there are numerous jobs advertisement from Hospital, including John Hopkins; for nurses and staff in the Saturday main classified ads. quite a bit one though.Anybody doing pharmaceuticals sales? Please share some experience |
Aug 2 2008, 02:53 PM
516 posts Joined: May 2007 |
Aug 2 2008, 03:26 PM
110 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
i work as Service Engineer(SGD 2k) oil n gas field in sg almost 4 months.....i hav 4 yrs working exp back in msia.....am i underpaid?.....plus i'm not happy work here......currently msia automotive company call me for interview.....salary wise rm2.5k~rm3400......i still not yet make decision go for interview or not.....thanks
This post has been edited by lim_ryan: Aug 2 2008, 03:31 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0205sec
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:12 PM |