Public Mutual Funds, version 0.0

sl3ge
post Jan 3 2025, 07:10 PM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(1mr3tard3d @ Jan 3 2025, 06:01 PM)
PIEBF for instance:
total unit = 1,000 on declaration date
distribution = 5.5 sen per unit
1,000 x 0.055 = RM 55
RM 55 / NAV of Declaration date + 1 = unit distributed: RM 55 / RM 1.2005 = 45.81 unit
RM 55 / NAV of Declaration date "+ 1" = unit distributed: RM 55 / RM 1.2005 = 45.81 unit
"+1" mean what?
since RM 55 / RM 1.2005 = 45.81 unit <-no involved "+1"

And regarding ur example, i need to know the fund price of PIEBF during declaration date right?
But at www.publicmutual.com.my/Fund-Price-UT, we only can see current price, cant see previous price.
(since i would like to half yearly help me family member calculate)

Thanks in advance smile.gif

This post has been edited by sl3ge: Jan 3 2025, 07:11 PM
MUM
post Jan 3 2025, 07:30 PM

14,857 posts

QUOTE(sl3ge @ Jan 3 2025, 07:10 PM)
RM 55 / NAV of Declaration date "+ 1" = unit distributed: RM 55 / RM 1.2005 = 45.81 unit
"+1" mean what?
since RM 55 / RM 1.2005 = 45.81 unit  <-no involved "+1"

And regarding ur example, i need to know the fund price of PIEBF during declaration date right?
But at www.publicmutual.com.my/Fund-Price-UT, we only can see current price, cant see previous price.
(since i would like to half yearly help me family member calculate)

Thanks in advance  smile.gif
Googled and found this, ...
Looks like playing with the date can see.
https://www.publicmutual.com.my/Fund-Price-UT

But you may need to know when is the (before and after) or exact EX Date too

1mr3tard3d
post Jan 3 2025, 11:47 PM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(sl3ge @ Jan 3 2025, 07:10 PM)
"+1" mean what?
since RM 55 / RM 1.2005 = 45.81 unit  <-no involved "+1"
it's "declaration date + 1 business day"
the day of NAV being referred to
cckkpr
post Jan 25 2025, 11:52 AM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 9 2024, 11:49 AM)
What kind of this bullshit dividen fund and either loss or pay peanut?

Fun manager gaji buta.
So I am a few of those that make money from Public Select Dividend fund.

ironman16
post Jan 25 2025, 12:01 PM

2,437 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Jan 25 2025, 11:52 AM)

the answer is yes, but how long u how this fund oledi? hmm.gif
cckkpr
post Jan 25 2025, 12:36 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(ironman16 @ Jan 25 2025, 12:01 PM)
the answer is yes, but how long u how this fund oledi? hmm.gif
Yes, it has been quite sometime, more than 10 years. I didn’t check on the performance except that the agent will call me from time to time to tell me how much I make.
But the last 5 years was not good.
A few years back, agent keep asking me to switch to China centric funds but I told her no. That saved me from losing a big portion of my funds.
Yeah I agree that PM is not the right investment now due to its high charges n there are so many options. And being financial literate n doing due diligence will minimize the losses.
ironman16
post Jan 25 2025, 03:26 PM

2,437 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Jan 25 2025, 12:36 PM)
Yes, it has been quite sometime, more than 10 years. I didn’t check on the performance except that the agent will call me from time to time to tell me how much I make.
A few years back, agent keep asking me to switch to China centric funds but I told her no. That saved me from losing a big portion of my funds.
Yeah I agree that PM is not the right investment now due to its high charges n there are so many options. And being financial literate n doing due diligence will minimize the losses.
agree with u....lucky u didn't switch to china centric.....me kena burn that time cry.gif
ozak
post Jan 25 2025, 03:39 PM

17,018 posts

I use the remaining money to invest into the stock.

Between 7 mth, I already get back 2x the loss. Fark the Public Mutual Fund.

cckkpr
post Jan 25 2025, 06:07 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 25 2025, 03:39 PM)
I use the remaining money to invest into the stock.

Between 7 mth, I already get back 2x the loss. Fark the Public Mutual Fund.
PBB Group has a very loyal group of customers, in banking, unit trusts n insurance. And if you spent sometime in the bank, you will notice many elderly customers renewing their FDs at super low rates now. That’s Brand Loyalty, my fren!

Good for you to get back your investment losses. Well done!
MUM
post Jan 25 2025, 06:17 PM

14,857 posts

With me and my spouse still hv $10k unit trust each with PM. Just for the purpose to buy into the mutual life 2 critical & life insurance
ozak
post Jan 25 2025, 06:39 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Jan 25 2025, 06:07 PM)
PBB Group has a very loyal group of customers, in banking, unit trusts n insurance. And if you spent sometime in the bank, you will notice many elderly customers renewing their FDs at super low rates now. That’s Brand Loyalty, my fren!

Good for you to get back your investment losses. Well done!
If they learn, plenty choice outside.

Otherwise stay with "Brand Loyalty" if they have no choice.

cckkpr
post Jan 26 2025, 03:54 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 25 2025, 06:39 PM)
If they learn, plenty choice outside.

Otherwise stay with "Brand Loyalty" if they have no choice.
I presumed many are also long term investors in Public Bank n have been rewarded handsomely. So, subscribing to anything on PBB is good.
I have a number of friends who took up unit trusts recommended by officers of Stanchart n Maybank n hv lost close to half of their investments. It was so bad for the
Stanchart officer with clients cursing n swearing at her that she went missing, either transferred or resigned.
ozak
post Jan 26 2025, 09:07 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Jan 26 2025, 03:54 PM)
I presumed many are also long term investors in Public Bank n have been rewarded handsomely. So, subscribing to anything on PBB is good.
I have a number of friends who took up unit trusts recommended by officers of Stanchart n Maybank n hv lost close to half of their investments. It was so bad for the
Stanchart officer with clients cursing n swearing at her that she went missing, either transferred or resigned.
I invest 1/2m in CIMB wealth unit trust for 16yrs. Go through up and down. The agent and fund manager take care very well.

Finally I cash out last yrs for better opportunity.
MUM
post Jan 26 2025, 09:52 PM

14,857 posts

Wow, 1/2 mil,
Assuming the annual mgm fees + trustee fees + all other fees, is just 2%
That is 10k annually X 16 yrs = 160k
ozak
post Jan 27 2025, 09:04 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 26 2025, 09:52 PM)
Wow, 1/2 mil,
Assuming the annual mgm fees + trustee fees + all other fees, is just 2%
That is 10k annually X 16 yrs = 160k
No problem if she can make profit for me. Cause I don’t no about investments back then.

After I learn and experience, I took back and invest myself.

togekiss
post Jan 27 2025, 10:01 AM

429 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Jan 25 2025, 12:36 PM)
good foresight on not switching to china centric funds.
MUM
post Jan 27 2025, 11:17 AM

14,857 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 27 2025, 09:04 AM)
No problem if she can make profit for me. Cause I don’t no about investments back then.

After I learn and experience, I took back and invest myself.
Very good thinking about that.

Btw,
Mind sharing what or how is the portfolio composition between your CIMB Wealth fund that you bought that make money while the MF that your family bought losses 50% of the money.
Is there any major portfolio variance in the composition of focused areas or just heavy in 1 country, or sector or region or both are of about the same balanced composition?
For, if still stick to the same country, region or sectors after long period of time, .... the impact of having selected the wrong portfolio of MF will be large.

What are you investing in now with the money you took out from CIMB Wealth?
The one that you invested in will still be of focused sector/region and does the performance need to be reviewed after some time or it is just buy and forget thing?

This post has been edited by MUM: Jan 27 2025, 11:43 AM
Eugenet
post Feb 2 2025, 04:40 PM

125 posts

Here's a quick analysis for those who care to read. Based on PM website, both funds has done well long-term.

PUBLIC DIVIDEND SELECT FUND
Annualized return of 6.27% since inception (2005)

PUBLIC EQUITY FUND
Annualized return of 6.70% since inception (2001)

However, the last 10 years has been very poor at 1.91% and 1.46% respectively. Serious questions needs to be asked of the fund manager if he can't beat 3% fixed deposit over 10 years.

Customers have put a lot of trust in Public Mutual. They have to improve significantly.
puputeh24
post Jun 29 2025, 07:19 PM

416 posts

May I ask if can close account via online or have to walk in? Will the Unit trust automatically be sold if close account? Thank you.
MUM
post Jun 30 2025, 07:43 AM

14,857 posts

QUOTE(puputeh24 @ Jun 29 2025, 07:19 PM)
May I ask if can close account via online or have to walk in? Will the Unit trust automatically be sold if close account? Thank you.
While waiting for value added responses to your query, I guess and bet that ......
You may write in to them to ask for account closure or they may just tell you to leave the account as it is if there is no more holdings inside your account as it cost you nothing to keep it open.
You will hv to fully clear all your investment holdings in the PM account yourself before closing your account.

This post has been edited by MUM: Jun 30 2025, 07:46 AM

148 Pages « < 145 146 147 148 >Top

0.0188sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:59 PM