Public Mutual Funds, version 0.0

MUM
post May 19 2015, 08:05 AM

14,865 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ May 19 2015, 12:01 AM)
Back to Basics.

Annualized Rates and Service Charges.

... moving on from that recent post... "But the annualized rate (which is Compound Annual Growth Rate - CAGR) is 7.2%"

Yes, the annualized rate of 100% ROI in 10 years is 7.2%. This 7.2% would be in the annual report or product highlight sheet. But what is the actual rate after adding in the service charge?

Let's do some quick calculations on how 2 different service charges would affect the above 7.2%.

The 5.5% is what PM usually charges, and the 2.0% is commonly charged in a investment platform, and often less.

1 year.
0.0% service charge - 7.2%
2.0% service charge - 5.1%
5.5% service charge - 1.6%
the % ROI is what we calculated from the variance of NAVs (Assuming no distribution)
therefore the 2.0% annual mgmt. fees (service charge) should NOT be used in your calculation as they had been minused off in the daily NAV.

...the 5.5% Service Charges (initial Sales Charges) is ONE OFF thing...NOT an annual reoccurrence.....IT DOES NOT AFFECT the monies that are already invested. ONLY imposed on NEW monies that invested...therefore the 5.5% is only affected as shown on the above if the investor were to buy in new fund every year and that would affect the (7.2)% ROI calculation.....
Thus the ROI of the previously invested monies would not be affected...example (simple calculation)
previously invested RM 10000
new monies invested RM 1000
assuming 7.2% ROI for that year
The RM 10000 would get 7.2%
The RM 1000 would get 7.2%-5.5%

* just let the readers decide for themselves who is right and who is wrong*, shall we?

This post has been edited by MUM: May 19 2015, 08:42 AM
MUM
post Jun 2 2015, 08:17 AM

14,865 posts

QUOTE(tkwfriend @ Jun 2 2015, 05:56 AM)
Yes there will be charges. 

1 sen, on the best effort hope another one on november
hmm.gif no need to hope.. got distribution or no distribution it will NOT growth my wealth in unit trust. I will NOT have any (Ringgit Malaysia) gain with distribution also.

This post has been edited by MUM: Jun 2 2015, 09:03 AM
MUM
post Jun 2 2015, 08:35 AM

14,865 posts

QUOTE(kwiklee @ Jun 2 2015, 07:31 AM)
Hi

I am new to Unit Trust

I got 100k cash to invest in.

Please tell me how to start with Unit Trust and what funds to buy

What is the risk involved ?

Average returns vs FD ?
since you posted in this Public Mutual fund thread.....
if you cannot get much responses that you liked to get,
you can try call/fax/email them for answers to your questions.....
I think tell will helps
http://www.publicmutual.com.my/ContactUs/WestofMalaysia.aspx

MUM
post Jun 2 2015, 09:10 AM

14,865 posts

QUOTE(kokmengng @ Jun 2 2015, 09:05 AM)
Find a reputable PM agent to serve you. He/she will be more than happy to do so.
pls help him.....
how to find a reputable agent?
what are the criteria?
what are the warning sign that the agent is/are not good?
(getting recommendation from friends are not wise..as the friend(s) maybe noob or they may have their own interest too)
and others...
thanks you

btw, you are definitely right to say he/she will be happy to do so.....with so high (5.5~6%) Sales Charges on RM 100k investment ...... huat-lah..

This post has been edited by MUM: Jun 2 2015, 09:13 AM
MUM
post Jun 2 2015, 10:07 AM

14,865 posts

QUOTE(kokmengng @ Jun 2 2015, 10:00 AM)
There's no such thing as a free lunch and all good things come at a price. Since you are paying it anyway, why not choose a "good" one.

Well, i believe the definition of "good" is vary from one to another. For me, the criteria for a "good" PM agent as follows:-

# Has to be a full time PM agent
# Willing to meet up anywhere anytime at my convenient
# Always keep me posted with new fund launching & promo
# Able to provide summary of my current investment as and when i requested for it
# Must not be pushy for decision
# Etc etc....
hmm.gif
point#1 & 2....can be known at the first meeting (before buying) (These 2 criteria can change after buying too)
the rest of the points?....can only found out after buying lor....too late then?
not much helps to @kwiklee perhaps
MUM
post Jun 26 2015, 08:14 PM

14,865 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Jun 25 2015, 10:09 PM)
So, here's my recommended list of equity funds - short listed based on my own "personal" preferences.

1. Public South-East Asia Select Fund.
2. Public Asia Ittikal Fund.
3. Public Islamic Asia Leaders Equity Fund.
4. Public Strategic Smallcap Fund, or Public Islamic Treasures Growth Fund. (These are the only 2 small cap funds available in PM. Of the 2, I prefer PSSCF.)

So select one of the above, and regularly invest every month in the next 30 years till retirement.
hmm.gif rclxub.gif
MUM
post Aug 12 2015, 04:06 PM

14,865 posts

QUOTE(applekee @ Aug 12 2015, 03:56 PM)
I just invested with my EPF!
great consultant i can recommend if you dont have one..
hmm.gif how many consultants had you experienced before?
how do you know he/she is great?
what do you mean great?
what must he/she do to be great?

MUM
post Aug 27 2015, 12:40 PM

14,865 posts

QUOTE(bcteh @ Aug 27 2015, 12:07 PM)
I predicting market going down till next year. No point keep my money in the fund as value decreasing, I'm willing to sacrifice little bit of service charge.
I plan to buy again when the economy is totally crashed.
My agent suggest me to stay on my investment, and giving me idea that my funds will have more value even market crash ... which I don't understand.  LOL
hmm.gif can you share your agent reasoning for that? notworthy.gif
are you investing in "Gold" billion?

This post has been edited by MUM: Aug 27 2015, 12:42 PM
MUM
post Aug 28 2015, 01:52 PM

14,865 posts

some of the EPF approved funds that has annualised returns < 6% for the last 10 yrs

MUM
post Aug 31 2015, 10:16 AM

14,865 posts

QUOTE(neonikson1 @ Aug 31 2015, 10:05 AM)
I used EPF money to invest and surely the performance of EPF dividend is much better than PB funds.
sure boh?...
read page# 9 post # 166,...what do you think about that? notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by MUM: Aug 31 2015, 10:33 AM
MUM
post Aug 31 2015, 10:21 AM

14,865 posts

QUOTE(neonikson1 @ Aug 31 2015, 10:03 AM)
You have your point, but i was totally misled by the PB mutual person. She clearly said that i need to wait for a few years to see something, that's why it did not prompt me to manage the funds like stock market to buy low sell high on short to mid-term trade.    vmad.gif

Sure i need to know more about mutual funds and how it works, not as straight forward as stocks.
hmm.gif maybe it was due to ....as mentioned in page#2 post#24?

This post has been edited by MUM: Aug 31 2015, 10:24 AM
MUM
post Aug 31 2015, 10:57 AM

14,865 posts

QUOTE(neonikson1 @ Aug 31 2015, 10:41 AM)
this is the time that i wish i was wrong!  cry.gif

PBGF for example, the BAL NAV is RM13,947.54, Amount Paid is RM13,000.
What is my gain?

947/13,000 x 100 = 7.28%

7.28%/3 year = 2.42% per year

Is that Correct?
PBAD seems like is in the negative!  cry.gif
rclxub.gif sad.gif ....
same like yklooi's.... blink.gif blush.gif
but at least your's is much better than his.. biggrin.gif
just hope that the performance of the funds of both of you can see improvement over the longer terms..
(perhaps >5yrs?)...that is what "they" always said..
but have to consider the accumulation of opportunity cost if from EPF sweat.gif

hmm.gif guess,...this "Investment Disclaimer" hold truth.....

Investors are advised that unit prices and distributions payable, if any, may go down as well as up.
There are fees and charges involved and investors are advised to consider the fees and charges before investing in the Fund.
Past performance of the Fund is not an indication of future performance.

community service.... blush.gif
Newbies in reading...take note....of this disclaimer..

This post has been edited by MUM: Aug 31 2015, 11:02 AM
MUM
post Sep 14 2015, 12:53 PM

14,865 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 14 2015, 12:23 PM)
PM "Bashing" continues  laugh.gif  tongue.gif
i guess the response posted earlier in page# 11, post# 208 is appropriate

QUOTE(T231H @ Aug 31 2015, 05:42 PM)
rclxms.gif you said it all..."They are entitled to their opinions, not here to convince anyone to our opinions - that our opinions are right, definitely don't bother to convince anyone whether or not UT is good or not, c'est la vie!",.... thumbup.gif
This post has been edited by MUM: Sep 14 2015, 01:06 PM
MUM
post Sep 18 2015, 09:49 AM

14,865 posts

QUOTE(alexusneoh @ Sep 18 2015, 08:29 AM)
Hey guys, can I seek for some advise here?
I am thinking about to invest my savings in Public Mutual and someone suggest me to go for PAVGEF. However, I wonder is this a good time to invest, as many statistics expect unit trust to slow down in next few years. I will be greatly appreciate if someone provide some advise on it. Many thanks.
hmm.gif looks like you had asked in earlier post too....
this PAVGEF is a new fund.....
is this the only fund that you wanted to own?
this is a 75% single country focused fund
would suggest you form a portfolio of funds
would suggest you seek out some management performance data of "older" funds from morning star to see if you like them or not.
get the help of your UTC...they are there to guide you with your requirements and risk profile

finally go with your instinct.....as there are some advise in page# 11 abt
their own opinion...
their own monies....
read Disclaimer....

page# 2 abt Annualized Rates and Service Charges

This post has been edited by MUM: Sep 18 2015, 11:42 AM
MUM
post Sep 18 2015, 02:39 PM

14,865 posts

QUOTE(alexusneoh @ Sep 18 2015, 01:45 PM)
yes, I post something before.
Can you recommend someone to assist me in forming my portfolio??
Of course, I will just buy from him also.
hmm.gif sorry, i hv no recommendation.
for i did not buy UTs from PM.......you have an agent/UTC for PM funds that you wanted to buy?

MUM
post Sep 20 2015, 11:01 AM

14,865 posts

QUOTE(AbangCorp @ Sep 20 2015, 03:14 AM)
While I also agree with Xuzen's opinion on the historical data, I also agree with the introduction of new fund because of three things

a. better entrance fee (imho, pavgef & piavgef is not that cheap - can be considered identical if you picked other fund except if purchase 10k and above)

hmm.gif why is that so in your opinion?

MUM
post Oct 30 2015, 11:30 PM

14,865 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 30 2015, 10:09 PM)
In fact, investors can withdraw any amt anytime as it won't affect the value pre n post distribution
rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
MUM
post Dec 5 2015, 07:10 PM

14,865 posts

QUOTE(naTTan @ Dec 5 2015, 06:20 PM)
Guys just want ask, i am a goverment worker planning to invest in a low risk investment with my EPF, is public mutual a good option?
while waiting for value added responses, it might be good to read

page 9, post # 166

page 10, post# 186

page 11, post# 203 and

page 11, post# 207 (some parts of that post hold truth about how some people believes and their response to your post)

what is the Sales charges for your investment with EPF money into public mutual funds?
is there any others that don't have Sales Charges for your investment with EPF money?
(btw,...don't let the Sales Charge be the main driver for fund selection determination, just include it in as part of the fund selection process)

MUM
post Dec 6 2015, 12:17 AM

14,865 posts

QUOTE(naTTan @ Dec 5 2015, 07:54 PM)
Thanks it seem like i came into contact with a wealth advisor from a firm. EB united/limited, i can't remember the full name.

I understand the basic function of the way UT work i guess, but how do firms/wealth advisors make a profit from your investment? is it a commision/percentage like thing?
hmm.gif why don't you ask the wealth advisor from a firm. EB united/limited? biggrin.gif
I could be wrong, but I guess most would make a profits from your investment by charging some Sales Charge during the initial investment and the annual fees for fund monitoring and advise to be provided.
(there are some funds that has 0% sales charges and no monitoring advise required in the market....like some of the PRS funds.)
MUM
post Dec 6 2015, 01:27 PM

14,865 posts

QUOTE(naTTan @ Dec 6 2015, 09:00 AM)
is Unit Trust consider a low risk investment? and is the 1 to 1 insurance coverage as good as it sounds?

I have heard recently of a CIMB retirement scheme how does that hold up?
is Unit Trust consider a low risk investment?
Low risk is NOT no risk....just how low is low? compared to what?
Any investment carries with it an element of risk. Therefore, prior to making an investment, prospective investors should consider the following risk factors.
General Risks of Investing in Unit Trust Funds
http://www.cimb-principal.com.my/Investor_...rust_Funds.aspx
(will "low" risk investment subjected to risk# 5?)

is the 1 to 1 insurance coverage as good as it sounds?
someone , some where, some money had to be used to pay for the insurance plan coverage.
if you want something like this, try this for "exclusive customer" only...(exclusive here means, must get thru them.... biggrin.gif , those that did not get from them will pay for the insurance of those that buy from them? hmm.gif )
they provides 1 to 1 free insurance coverage....(read T n C)
http://www.affinhwangam.com/protect?id=380#.VmPCeOGhe3A

I have heard recently of a CIMB retirement scheme how does that hold up?
sorry to be blunt, this is a PM thread.....you started with Questions on PM....then...wealth advisor firm...then ...insurance...then....CIMB retirement scheme......, there are some other dedicated thread for these relevant topics,...example....(more in LYN)

Funds Investment corners
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2601692/+2180#entry77532088,

Personal Financial Mgmt thread
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3004579/+980#entry77602042

Private Retirement funds thread
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2064127/+1140#entry77591149

btw,...don't forget this advise below.....

QUOTE(ohcipala @ Dec 6 2015, 11:08 AM)
You can roughly tell a fund's risk but looking at its volatility. Different fund has different risk but in general, the higher the risk, the higher the return.

As for the insurance thingy, if you want insurance coverage then it's better to just focus on insurance. If you want investment, then choose something that focuses on investment.
This post has been edited by MUM: Dec 6 2015, 01:55 PM

12 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1150sec    0.86    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:59 AM