QUOTE(jingga @ Jun 23 2015, 05:36 PM)
have you checked out Muhibbah recently?Oil & Gas Careers V8, Upstream and Downstream, Crude Oil (WTI): USD 45.22/bbl
Oil & Gas Careers V8, Upstream and Downstream, Crude Oil (WTI): USD 45.22/bbl
Jun 23 2015, 10:30 PM
809 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
Jun 23 2015, 11:24 PM
1,356 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: somewhere in Perak... |
QUOTE(Gino89 @ Jun 23 2015, 09:24 PM) my previous place never calibrated this. but i'm sure it can be calibrated. it always best practice to ensure your equipment is calibrated to avoid argument after installation(^__^) |
Jun 23 2015, 11:34 PM
98 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Semenyih, Selangor |
Jun 24 2015, 12:48 AM
170 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
Hi guys,
Quick question, how does a complete newbie get on a rig as a roustabout or roughneck in msia? I've always been very interested in offshore work, but due to family pressure, i did accounts instead (dumb idea). I decided to change while i still can. What is the most basic requirement needed? So far i've been asked to do CSWIPS3.0 at TWI, but im not sure if it will land me a job anot. Jon |
Jun 24 2015, 05:49 AM
1,597 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
QUOTE(rotijon25 @ Jun 24 2015, 12:48 AM) Hi guys, Jon,Quick question, how does a complete newbie get on a rig as a roustabout or roughneck in msia? I've always been very interested in offshore work, but due to family pressure, i did accounts instead (dumb idea). I decided to change while i still can. What is the most basic requirement needed? So far i've been asked to do CSWIPS3.0 at TWI, but im not sure if it will land me a job anot. Jon From what i know many of the roustabouts start their career from catering crew/galleyhand. For example, when a roustabout got promoted to roughneck, the rig normally will fill in the empty spot by promoting the galleyhand. of course they will look for someone that willing to learn and young! Also there is a case you straight join as a painter and then to roustabout or straight to roustabout. Normally the above positions come from manpower company. Some of the companies that you can search are; Bayong Resources (based in Miri and most of the crews are from Sarawak and Sabah) Gas Offshore OCB - http://www.ocbme.com/careers.html Sodexo Adecco The certificate required are BOSIET and Offshore Medical. The company will pay for the training cost. But for the start, I guess you have to pay it for yourself.. Bear in mind that there are many rigs currently finished the contract and many of the rigs are stack(cold or warm) and more are coming to join the 'stack' fleet. So many of the rig crews are released after the rigs stack. Goodluck! I knew one banking graduate joined the rig as a roustabout (from Bayong) and currently he works with halliburton. |
Jun 24 2015, 06:58 AM
102 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
QUOTE(rotijon25 @ Jun 24 2015, 12:48 AM) Hi guys, Jon, may I know why you so interested working offshore?Quick question, how does a complete newbie get on a rig as a roustabout or roughneck in msia? I've always been very interested in offshore work, but due to family pressure, i did accounts instead (dumb idea). I decided to change while i still can. What is the most basic requirement needed? So far i've been asked to do CSWIPS3.0 at TWI, but im not sure if it will land me a job anot. Jon Now that i have been working offshore, I find it "okay okay lah" working offshore. I am one of those people that is very keen to work offshore during my early education and now that I have, i find it so so only. Haha. As what sifu meonkutu said, you need to find manpower company in order to secure a job as roustabout. Later on if I went to the rig, i'll ask them which company they are from. I know one of the company man at Lundin, he used to work as roustabout for 3 years, roughneck for 2 years, derrickman for 4 years, then 20 years as mud engineer and right now working as a company man at Lundin Malaysia BV. His career progress is crazy. Damn guy. He knows everything. Haha |
Jun 24 2015, 05:30 PM
5,464 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
Jun 24 2015, 06:55 PM
920 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
QUOTE(Urbanbeast @ Jun 23 2015, 08:31 PM) Hi all, Can do mech package engineering also. May i know what are the sector or scope of work of mechanical engineer in oil and gas industry As far as i know, piping and drilling r one of them Hope to know more about this, share some of your knowledge otai otai Rotating, static, even pipeline also can. |
Jun 24 2015, 06:58 PM
QUOTE(Sdern75 @ Jun 21 2015, 04:44 PM) Hi guys, anyone heard of East One Zero One? Have check out their website but would like to know more about this company. East101 focuses on process simulations. Hysys all those stuff. They are experts in process studies and generating reports.This post has been edited by jianh: Jun 24 2015, 06:58 PM |
Jun 24 2015, 11:18 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
3,256 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Mars not Venus Status: In a Relationship |
Jun 24 2015, 11:31 PM
Jun 25 2015, 08:53 AM
21 posts Joined: May 2013 |
Jun 25 2015, 09:00 AM
QUOTE(Urbanbeast @ Jun 25 2015, 08:53 AM) Usually these job is done by contractor or ? Depends lo. Consultant, operators, oil service, contractors, subcons also got.Any recommendation of company doing these? Not much exposed to this field yet Hope to get more info Thanks for sharing =) For list of companies, here's a useful link: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/255573 Looking for job? haha This post has been edited by jianh: Jun 25 2015, 09:05 AM |
Jun 25 2015, 11:30 PM
Rigzone 2Q Survey Reveals Oil, Gas Companies Reluctant to Hire
Still grappling with market uncertainty, 51 percent of global hiring managers decreased their hiring efforts in the past three months, according to Rigzone’s latest global hiring survey. Additionally, 13 percent have completely frozen their recruitment plans. Since oil prices bottomed out in mid-March, the industry has seen slight increases in oil price per barrel, but not enough for oil and gas companies to feel comfortable enough to actively increase hiring plans in the near future, the survey revealed. In fact, 54 percent of global hiring managers said they believe job cuts are more likely in the next six months and 65 percent expect to experience a loss of budget for approved headcount in 2015. Since the beginning of the downturn, globally, the oil and gas industry has already seen more than 150,000 jobs lost. A very valid concern among oil and gas companies during a downturn, especially with the continued challenge of the Great Crew Change, is employee attrition. According to the same hiring survey, almost 70 percent of global hiring managers expect an anticipated decline in voluntary departures of employees throughout the next six months. Despite the decreased hiring and recruitment efforts, opportunities still exist for oil and gas companies to secure skilled workers, with 81 percent of global hiring managers expressing that the candidate pool has grown in the last three months and 34 percent said the time to fill open positions has shortened in the last three months. Additionally, 70 percent indicated candidates are not asking for more compensation compared to three months ago. Article Date: Thursday, June 25, 2015 |
Jun 26 2015, 12:14 AM
3,256 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Mars not Venus Status: In a Relationship |
Jun 26 2015, 01:08 AM
566 posts Joined: Mar 2015 |
QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Jun 25 2015, 11:30 PM) Rigzone 2Q Survey Reveals Oil, Gas Companies Reluctant to Hire Difficult year for the industry.Still grappling with market uncertainty, 51 percent of global hiring managers decreased their hiring efforts in the past three months, according to Rigzone’s latest global hiring survey. Additionally, 13 percent have completely frozen their recruitment plans. Since oil prices bottomed out in mid-March, the industry has seen slight increases in oil price per barrel, but not enough for oil and gas companies to feel comfortable enough to actively increase hiring plans in the near future, the survey revealed. In fact, 54 percent of global hiring managers said they believe job cuts are more likely in the next six months and 65 percent expect to experience a loss of budget for approved headcount in 2015. Since the beginning of the downturn, globally, the oil and gas industry has already seen more than 150,000 jobs lost. A very valid concern among oil and gas companies during a downturn, especially with the continued challenge of the Great Crew Change, is employee attrition. According to the same hiring survey, almost 70 percent of global hiring managers expect an anticipated decline in voluntary departures of employees throughout the next six months. Despite the decreased hiring and recruitment efforts, opportunities still exist for oil and gas companies to secure skilled workers, with 81 percent of global hiring managers expressing that the candidate pool has grown in the last three months and 34 percent said the time to fill open positions has shortened in the last three months. Additionally, 70 percent indicated candidates are not asking for more compensation compared to three months ago. Article Date: Thursday, June 25, 2015 Brace yourselves. |
Jun 26 2015, 07:21 AM
102 posts Joined: Jun 2013 |
Jun 26 2015, 08:08 AM
9,417 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Bladin Point, Northern Territory |
My contract was extended on APLNG but I might make the move to WorleyParsons if the money is good for a QGC BG Group job or fingers crossed a near permanent secondment to Saudi Aramco for the Al-Khobar project.
Never lived in Saudi, any good? |
Jun 27 2015, 02:36 AM
192 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
why surveyor in malaysia almost being underpaid?
Jun 27 2015, 06:33 AM
QUOTE(eikhwan4 @ Jun 27 2015, 02:36 AM) which surveyor that we are talking here? I guess it is not a class surveyor or marine surveyor. I have a few friends enjoy their good basic salary and great allowances. Their expenses claim can reached rm20k/mth.One friend at Petronas Maritime travel 3-4 times a month to perform OSVIS and his claim as what i mentioned earlier..I think same goes to MWS.Probably one who works with as offshore surveyor (i.e fugro) didnt get high basic salary but the offshore allowance could compensate the total take home $$.... Good prospect for surveyor that they have a great chance to do freelance and when this happened, they set their own price. my 1.5cents...0.5cents used for sahur... Goodluck |
| Change to: | 0.0263sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:02 AM |