Oil & Gas Careers V8, Upstream and Downstream, Crude Oil (WTI): USD 45.22/bbl

Nakaoji
post Jun 24 2015, 06:58 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(rotijon25 @ Jun 24 2015, 12:48 AM)
Hi guys,

Quick question, how does a complete newbie get on a rig as a roustabout or roughneck in msia?

I've always been very interested in offshore work, but due to family pressure, i did accounts instead (dumb idea).

I decided to change while i still can. What is the most basic requirement needed? So far i've been asked to do CSWIPS3.0 at TWI, but im not sure if it will land me a job anot.

Jon
Jon, may I know why you so interested working offshore?

Now that i have been working offshore, I find it "okay okay lah" working offshore. I am one of those people that is very keen to work offshore during my early education and now that I have, i find it so so only. Haha.

As what sifu meonkutu said, you need to find manpower company in order to secure a job as roustabout.

Later on if I went to the rig, i'll ask them which company they are from.

I know one of the company man at Lundin, he used to work as roustabout for 3 years, roughneck for 2 years, derrickman for 4 years, then 20 years as mud engineer and right now working as a company man at Lundin Malaysia BV.

His career progress is crazy. Damn guy. He knows everything. Haha
Nakaoji
post Aug 19 2015, 03:48 AM

102 posts

Just landed my feet on the land after two weeks offshore, suddenly received a retrenchment email. I mean literally. I just got off from the boat crew, received internet line then boom, bad news. Haha.

Luckily I have no commitment at all but sadly I have only be employed for four months. Tough times for a fresh graduate like me. Can't even get a year experience working, already being laid off.
Nakaoji
post Aug 19 2015, 11:43 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(gulagulahacks @ Aug 19 2015, 08:47 AM)
what company bro?
Mudlogging company, mate. The red one. Start with letter D.

Nakaoji
post Aug 19 2015, 12:00 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(leon898 @ Aug 19 2015, 11:47 AM)
DHI?
Spot on, bro. At least right now if people ask me how does it feels working offshore, i could at least share the experience although only for four months. Haha

This post has been edited by Nakaoji: Aug 19 2015, 12:01 PM
Nakaoji
post Sep 3 2015, 10:17 PM

102 posts

Hey guys!

Managed to secure another job from different field. IT to be exact. I guess for those that got retrenched, be positive and keep on applying for another job. Maybe you could try venture into another field at the moment until the oil and gas industry jump back on its feet in few years time. Just a suggestion though.

Good luck people and all the best!

BTW, I have lecture notes regarding drilling operation from A to Z in my pendrive. Thought of sharing it in here but afraid to do so because got my 'Lambang Company' inside the lecture notes. Takut they come and find me later on if tersebar. Haha. But you can always PM me if you want to
Nakaoji
post Dec 25 2015, 02:06 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Dec 24 2015, 08:33 PM)
Operator of block PM307 & SB303
Lundin starts to retrench people ? Damn. Last time i heard they were cutting 20 % salary.

0.0512sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:58 AM