[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V9!
terence_nwb
Jun 23 2015, 02:36 AM
QUOTE(eugenelimys @ Jun 23 2015, 01:33 AM) I cant find any info around, can someone tell me how good is the Cooler Master B700 PSU (not sure is it v2 or not, just treat it as v1) Will be using it for GTX980Ti, Xeon 1231, 2 SSD and 1 HDD, Asus Z97M-Plus... Thanks  It's an entry level PSU, recommend you to get a better PSU for your GTX980Ti.
besiegetank
Jun 23 2015, 07:39 AM
Dear sifus,
My current computer rig specs are as below in my signature. It has been about 4-5 years since I last upgraded it so I'm wondering which part should I upgrade first in terms of cost-effectiveness for gaming with a budget of about 1k.
Thanks for the help!
eugenelimys
Jun 23 2015, 10:36 AM
QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jun 23 2015, 02:36 AM) It's an entry level PSU, recommend you to get a better PSU for your GTX980Ti. Actually are there any difference for entry level vs better psu?
SUSHuman10
Jun 23 2015, 12:03 PM
QUOTE(eugenelimys @ Jun 23 2015, 10:36 AM) Actually are there any difference for entry level vs better psu? Better voltage regulations and quality of components. High end GPU can be a power guzzler, entry level PSU may not be designed to sustain such high load for prolonged period. This post has been edited by Human10: Jun 23 2015, 12:06 PM
terence_nwb
Jun 23 2015, 12:33 PM
QUOTE(besiegetank @ Jun 23 2015, 07:39 AM) Dear sifus, My current computer rig specs are as below in my signature. It has been about 4-5 years since I last upgraded it so I'm wondering which part should I upgrade first in terms of cost-effectiveness for gaming with a budget of about 1k. Thanks for the help! I will go for a new GPU + PSU (if needed) first, processor can always comes later than GPU since GPU is the main component when gaming.
besiegetank
Jun 23 2015, 02:47 PM
QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jun 23 2015, 12:33 PM) I will go for a new GPU + PSU (if needed) first, processor can always comes later than GPU since GPU is the main component when gaming. Any recommended GPU for my current rig under RM1k?
terence_nwb
Jun 23 2015, 03:10 PM
QUOTE(besiegetank @ Jun 23 2015, 02:47 PM) Any recommended GPU for my current rig under RM1k? If want to max out 1k budget just for GPU, R9 380/GTX960, GTX960 consumes less power so you might be able to keep your current PSU.
Muhammad Syukri
Jun 23 2015, 03:49 PM
Just a quick question. Is there any lowyat shop that selling the Zotac GTX 960 @ RM699 promo because I would like to build new rig based on that gc.
If not,then i just might buy it from lyn seller.
Minecrafter
Jun 23 2015, 04:21 PM
QUOTE(Muhammad Syukri @ Jun 23 2015, 03:49 PM) Just a quick question. Is there any lowyat shop that selling the Zotac GTX 960 @ RM699 promo because I would like to build new rig based on that gc. If not,then i just might buy it from lyn seller. I think Cycom are selling the Zotac GTX960 at RM726. You can ask CyntrixTech or TechView if the RM699 promo is still going.
Muhammad Syukri
Jun 23 2015, 05:11 PM
QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Jun 23 2015, 04:21 PM) I think Cycom are selling the Zotac GTX960 at RM726. You can ask CyntrixTech or TechView if the RM699 promo is still going. Ic, Im thinking of building my new rig from Jayacom but only for GC i would buy it from lyn seller, do you think they are mind with it coz they offer a bundle price if build a rig from them?
Muhammad Syukri
Jun 23 2015, 05:11 PM
QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Jun 23 2015, 04:21 PM) I think Cycom are selling the Zotac GTX960 at RM726. You can ask CyntrixTech or TechView if the RM699 promo is still going. Ic, Im thinking of building my new rig from Jayacom but only for GC i would buy it from lyn seller, do you think they are mind with it coz they offer a bundle price if build a rig from them?
Minecrafter
Jun 23 2015, 05:13 PM
QUOTE(Muhammad Syukri @ Jun 23 2015, 05:11 PM) Ic, Im thinking of building my new rig from Jayacom but only for GC i would buy it from lyn seller, do you think they are mind with it coz they offer a bundle price if build a rig from them? On that,i have no idea.
SUSHuman10
Jun 23 2015, 07:33 PM
QUOTE(Muhammad Syukri @ Jun 23 2015, 05:11 PM) Ic, Im thinking of building my new rig from Jayacom but only for GC i would buy it from lyn seller, do you think they are mind with it coz they offer a bundle price if build a rig from them? As long as your rig is not come with Xeon, just tell them you already had a GPU with you or didn't plan to get discrete GPU and ask them assemble it without GPU, don't see anything wrong with that unless their profit margins are too low till they don't bothered to serve you. On the bundle price, practically every shops will have bundled price for complete rig. For the discount, I think it pretty much depend on their profit margins. If you buy less parts from them, they earn less, so naturally they can offer less discounts. This post has been edited by Human10: Jun 23 2015, 07:37 PM
RazerF4ns
Jun 23 2015, 08:59 PM
QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jun 19 2015, 10:40 PM) You better fork out another RM 200 for the OS (Windows 7 Pro OEM), the current rig suggestion is quite tight to squeeze in OS Windows 7 can be upgraded to Windows 10 for free next month. One more question, should I use my 450w old PSU? Its like really really aged. Its was from my first PC that from 8 years back. Its a POWERLOGIC ATX 450w PSU.
terence_nwb
Jun 23 2015, 09:20 PM
QUOTE(RazerF4ns @ Jun 23 2015, 08:59 PM) One more question, should I use my 450w old PSU? Its like really really aged. Its was from my first PC that from 8 years back. Its a POWERLOGIC ATX 450w PSU. Better don't, old PSUs don't always compatible and work well with new hardware.
SUSHuman10
Jun 23 2015, 10:48 PM
QUOTE(RazerF4ns @ Jun 23 2015, 08:59 PM) One more question, should I use my 450w old PSU? Its like really really aged. Its was from my first PC that from 8 years back. Its a POWERLOGIC ATX 450w PSU. Better don't old PSU and modern PSU differ in its load distribution, also, Haswell and newer is more picky on that.
azamalin
Jun 24 2015, 04:37 AM

Hi, i want to ask for a suggestion, which gpu should i take?
MSI Lightning 290X OC Edition OR Sapphire Radeon R9 290X 4GB Vapor-X OC
thanks in advance!
imranlah
Jun 24 2015, 06:26 AM
hi newbie here.
I have a question. Looking for used i3 2100 or i5 2400 desktop system.Saw many used system (i3 2gb around 650++/ i5 2400 around 850-999).
quoted from used seller : xeon E5430, GT 210 512mb, SSD 80gb, HDD 320, gigabyte/asus MB, cooler master casing/psu/cpu, 4gb ram..all for rm1050..is it worth the price?
he said that this is quite good gaming spec. Is it true? tried to search around youtube gaming kind of stutter a lot. what is the problem with this cpu? i think even i3 2100/i5 2400 perform lag free exp (if paired with sufficient gpu). What do u guys think? is i5 2400 perform a lot lot better thank this xeon e5430?my budget is under 1k..
thnks!!
terence_nwb
Jun 24 2015, 11:43 AM
QUOTE(azamalin @ Jun 24 2015, 04:37 AM) Hi, i want to ask for a suggestion, which gpu should i take? MSI Lightning 290X OC Edition OR Sapphire Radeon R9 290X 4GB Vapor-X OC thanks in advance! Get whichever cheaper I would say.
terence_nwb
Jun 24 2015, 11:47 AM
QUOTE(imranlah @ Jun 24 2015, 06:26 AM) hi newbie here. I have a question. Looking for used i3 2100 or i5 2400 desktop system.Saw many used system (i3 2gb around 650++/ i5 2400 around 850-999). quoted from used seller : xeon E5430, GT 210 512mb, SSD 80gb, HDD 320, gigabyte/asus MB, cooler master casing/psu/cpu, 4gb ram..all for rm1050..is it worth the price? he said that this is quite good gaming spec. Is it true? tried to search around youtube gaming kind of stutter a lot. what is the problem with this cpu? i think even i3 2100/i5 2400 perform lag free exp (if paired with sufficient gpu). What do u guys think? is i5 2400 perform a lot lot better thank this xeon e5430?my budget is under 1k.. thnks!! GT210 is a very low end GPU, how can it be called as a good gaming spec? Xeon E5430 is a very old CPU, around 8 years old already. I would recommend you to get a newer rig than this.