[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V9!

SUSHuman10
post Jun 3 2015, 06:04 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Hezegroth @ Jun 3 2015, 05:59 AM)
noted

but will the performance drop more if im using the old board such msi p55-gd65.
my 2nd rig only pcie 2.0
Technically gen2.0 x8 is still pretty acceptable for today's standard, but SLI/Crossfire rarely provide decent experience than getting a new card,
http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Intel/I...Scaling/23.html
http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/NVIDIA/...Scaling/21.html

We don't usually suggest SLI/Crossfire unless for top of the line cards fresh at the market.

This post has been edited by Human10: Jun 3 2015, 06:06 AM
SUSHuman10
post Jun 4 2015, 11:30 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(lytros @ Jun 4 2015, 10:21 PM)
Thanks guys for the recommendation, i won't get a new cpu immediately, maybe 3-6 months down the road. Most likely will ask again when I'm ready. The 16GB RAM thing is in hopes my pc would last for the next 5-7 years. Current PC already 7 years old.
Broadwell should had landed by then.
SUSHuman10
post Jun 6 2015, 03:42 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(professor_snape @ Jun 6 2015, 02:28 AM)
hi.  i have a desktop built early 2012

intel i5
gtx 560 ti
z68 mobo
750watt antec psu
8gb ram kingston hyper x
500gb hdd
haf 922 mid tower
24inch asus monitor
logitech g500 mouse
belkin wireless adaptor stick
logitech keyboard.

i know the build is not balanced because i noob at that time.  now i think i want to upgrade so i can play maxed out witcher 3,  dota 2, farcry 4, incoming fallout 4, etc

can u guys comments  me on what to do?  build a fresh new rig or just replace some of the hardware.  what should i do with the old hardware if im not making a fresh rig?
Just throw in a GTX970/R9 290X and you are pretty much good to go (though for "maxed out", we can't guarantee you can max out on every game, certain game is really demanding for highest settings).

If you are rich, consider getting GTX980TI.

This post has been edited by Human10: Jun 6 2015, 03:42 AM
SUSHuman10
post Jun 6 2015, 03:47 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(giggs_509 @ Jun 6 2015, 01:44 AM)
Guys need opinion. My old pc spec as below:

Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0GHz  (socket 775)
ASUS P5Q Motherboard
CORSAIR 2Gb x 2 DDR2 800MHz Gaming RAM
896Mb DDR3 PALIT GTX 260 Sonic
WESTERN DIGITAL 320GB 7200rpm SATA II Hard Disk
Cooler Master HAF 932
Cooler Master v8 cooler
PIONEER DVD-RW
Silverstone ST56F 560Watt PSU

Now my pc somehow become slower, for example it takes some time to load to windows 7. So I think its time to upgrade so it can perform well for another 5 years at least? Which item should i upgrade to save budget? I am looking at the processor and motherboard for priority, then perhaps ssd..
Another 5 years for a currently more than 5 years PC is pretty much impossible, both in terms of technology obsoletion and durability. Nowadays even an entry level office PC at RM1k++ can be more powerful and features packed than your PC.

The CPU and mobo platform had being long EOLed. You gonna swap out them all together. Also, the RAM too. If you want to "upgrade", it is pretty much a total overhaul already.

The only possible "upgrade" to current system I will recommend is a SSD. Since your mobo is SATA2, the speed gonna get capped, just get whatever cheapest with longest warranty one will do.

If you want to get a new system, you can potentially reuse back the HDD, DVD ROM and the case. The PSU also possible to be reused if it isn't too dated, but do check if it has Haswell compatibility first. Cooler is potentially reusable too, but you need to find the adapter mountings for it, which can be a real challenging work most of the time.

In short, give us your maximum budget willing to spend for a new PC and we try to work out something from there.

This post has been edited by Human10: Jun 6 2015, 04:10 AM
SUSHuman10
post Jun 6 2015, 10:43 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(giggs_509 @ Jun 6 2015, 10:39 AM)
Ahh.. Actually I am trying to avoid having 2 pc. So its possible to use the same case is it? Can suggest a system with a budget of 2.5k? Is it hard to remove old system and install new to the case?
The one posted by mod_po above your post will do.
Just remove the monitor from the build, then add in a GTX960 instead of 750TI, SSD instead of DVD/HDD and find a mobo which have PCIE gen3.

This post has been edited by Human10: Jun 6 2015, 10:45 AM
SUSHuman10
post Jun 6 2015, 11:11 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(giggs_509 @ Jun 6 2015, 10:57 AM)
Looks like need to change the power supply as well is it? Which mobo to buy? Can i ask the shop to install all items so that i only need to install on my haf 932 case?

On second thought, should i just sel of my old system and top up my new system? Or is the value too low better keep it?
No idea how much you can fetch with that.

At your budget, an Asrock H97 pro4 should be possible.

I googled bout your PSU and its model seems pretty dated, it is safer to get a new one in this case.

No, you need to install the mobo on your case first then only mounting other parts, especially GPU.
SUSHuman10
post Jun 6 2015, 12:44 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(professor_snape @ Jun 6 2015, 12:21 PM)
the mobo is still useable?  what shoyld i do with the old gc?  simpan in box?
Since it is Z68, high chance it will have PCIE 3.0, which is still the best offer out there by today.

Even if it don't, PCIE 2.0 is still pretty good enough for GTX970. As for CPU, since it is Sandy Bridge, try some overclock to make it perform at the best it can.
SUSHuman10
post Jun 6 2015, 01:25 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(professor_snape @ Jun 6 2015, 01:21 PM)
i took the non clockable version tho.
thanks  for the informations!  =)
Pre-haswell (Ivy and Sandy) CPU support locked overclocking (on Z platform mobo) up to the maximum turbo clock.

In other words, you can lock it at 3.7Ghz (I assume yours is 2500?)

This post has been edited by Human10: Jun 6 2015, 01:26 PM
SUSHuman10
post Jun 7 2015, 03:51 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(neoarc @ Jun 7 2015, 03:32 AM)
OHH sifus please help, for im in a dilemma  sad.gif . I wanted to buy a gaming rig  but im still cannot choose between 970,980,980ti. I started with a budget of RM5000-5700 and wanted to buy a Gtx 980 but then i heard that a GTx 980ti was coming up. I was excited to hear that my budget could be used to buy the gtx980ti. But then i was advised from my friends that i should instead save my money  from buying the GTX 980/980ti and buy the the 970 due to  how cost effective the 970. Now im not sure if i should spend most of my budget on 980ti/980 or just buy a 970 and  spend  the rest on other part of my Rig  and buy a new card in the next 1-2 years. Currently im using a 1080p monitor but i totally forgotten the brand. I hope sifus can help me solve this dilemma and give me a  rig suggeston.  notworthy.gif
Yes, 970 offers pretty surprisingly great performance for the bucks it ask for (particularly from Nvidia, which is a rare sight), which is also a reason why it is so popular. But again, it is a mid high end card at best (and there's the 3.5GB VRAM fiasco just incase you didn't update bout it).

980TI on the other hand is not too shabby either. A 2x GTX970 SLI which cost the same (on paper, but practically 980TI will cause more due to being new and super rare) to a 980TI only offer bout 10% more performance. For people who can afford to pay over 3k for a GPU, they will prefer a GTX980TI despite the "10%" less performance cause:

1st, single card is hassle free than multicards. SLI require compatible mobo, PSU, drivers and bla bla bla to work, while sometimes it still stutter in performance despite high FPS. Single card of about the same performance is a winner here.

2nd, bout the VRAM part. 4GB (or precisely speaking 3.5GB) is pretty impressive amount of VRAM for last year standards, but with ever growing details and resolutions, it will soon be a norm or even a minimum. On the other hand, 980TI come with 6GB VRAM by default. Extra VRAM also make SLI rig more plausible, since SLI theoretically double (or at least 1.5x) the performance, but not the VRAM. You gonna require more VRAM when you are pusing games at a higher settings. The original 3.5GB VRAM is pretty sufficient for the game setting a single 970 will post (by today), but when double up the performance, it may not be enough.

Now, back to your rig part.

5-5.7k is still somehow limited for a 980TI rig. Reference 980TI from asus cost RM3.3k, which took more than half of your budget already and left you with under 1.7k for the remaining parts.

Unless you can preorder a cheap 980TI at sub 2.8k price, I will suggest you to go for a RM4k+/- rig with GTX970 for better price optimization.

This post has been edited by Human10: Jun 7 2015, 03:57 AM
SUSHuman10
post Jun 8 2015, 06:28 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(eugenelimys @ Jun 8 2015, 05:26 PM)
Guys, i7 4790K vs i7 5820K, which one is better, gaming wise?
Playing MMORPG more
Do note that 5820k have lower clock speed by default (not like you won't be OC what...), and I don't think there's much MMORPG out there which is hexacore and 12t ready?

Other than that 5820k have nothing inferior to 4790k.
SUSHuman10
post Jun 9 2015, 02:06 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(eugenelimys @ Jun 9 2015, 01:58 AM)
Doesnt seem to be quite cost efficient... Lol... How long do you think GTX980Ti and 4790k can last?
Import your own DDR4 from other cheaper sources (taobao, pchome and others which do cheap shipping).
http://global.pchome.com.tw/prod/DRAC4S-A9...NPX?q=/S/DRAC5M

With the right overclocking, they can last pretty damn long. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Human10: Jun 9 2015, 02:09 AM
SUSHuman10
post Jun 16 2015, 03:27 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(GearX_SaM @ Jun 16 2015, 02:59 PM)
Hi, If my budget stretch until 2.5k for CPU + another RM500 allocate for LCD (BenQ).
Can i get a GTX960 rig?
Possible, cheapest GTX960 is the single fan (reference) one by Zotac, currently on a promo price of RM699 by Cyntrix Tech and other retailers (but that is last week, just now I check on their Facebook can't seems to find such info again, better double check if you interested).
SUSHuman10
post Jun 16 2015, 04:01 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Jun 16 2015, 03:46 PM)
I was thinking should I either get Core i7-4790 without dedicated GPU or get Xeon V3 + Mid tier GPU due to budget tight.

NEW Hardware need: CPU, HDD, MOBO, RAM, PSU, Cooler, Chasis, ODD (GPU Optional)
Hardware re-use: Liteon 900S 256GB
Budget: RM2600
Purpose: Photoshop, Illustrator, Coreldraw (no 3D render) need snappy read/write performance only.
If can wait, the best of both world is the upcoming Broadwell i7, unlocked, more powerful than Haswell and insanely powerful iGPU (can almost rival GTX750).

This post has been edited by Human10: Jun 16 2015, 04:02 PM
SUSHuman10
post Jun 16 2015, 04:37 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Jun 16 2015, 04:31 PM)
Time length? hmm.gif
No idea, but since it is officially announced in June, I guess won't take more than 1 or two months.
SUSHuman10
post Jun 16 2015, 04:52 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Jun 16 2015, 04:45 PM)
I think then can't wait lol need for working purposes. laugh.gif
Get i7 then, in some way it is still more powerful than Xeon. Also, if there's anything insufficient at least can topup on GPU than need to change parts. But again I don't think GPU will be much useful in programs you stated.

This post has been edited by Human10: Jun 16 2015, 04:55 PM
SUSHuman10
post Jun 20 2015, 01:34 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(frostfox @ Jun 20 2015, 01:29 PM)
is thermaltake versa h25 necessary for this setup?
It's a case, so if you hadn't have your own case, yes it is necessary (unless you plan to use your PC naked lying outside).

This post has been edited by Human10: Jun 20 2015, 01:35 PM
SUSHuman10
post Jun 20 2015, 01:49 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(frostfox @ Jun 20 2015, 01:43 PM)
table casing  wub.gif
any thermal cooler recommendations?
this rig is going to be used for heavy gaming.
also thinking of changing the GPU to gigabyte instead of zotac
CPU cooler? Since the CPU is locked and you can't OC on it, just find whatever aftermart cooler under RM150 and have the design which suit your taste and fit in your case.

For case fans, just grab some cooler master jetflo. I personally is a cheapskate which prioritize performance and value over aesthetic, so you will see me importing generic OEM fans from taobao instead of getting normal fans out there in the market.
http://s.taobao.com/search?q=12025+pwm&img...0150620&ie=utf8

As for the GPU, do note that Gigabyte's 970 priced at about RM1.6k, but if you have the money to spend, we won't stop you. But again, at 1.6k, I will rather wait for AMD's R9 390 which should offer better performance, 5.5GB more VRAM but still cost lower/about the same.

This post has been edited by Human10: Jun 20 2015, 02:02 PM
SUSHuman10
post Jun 22 2015, 11:37 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Jun 22 2015, 11:28 AM)
Human10terence_nwb
Guys, since last weeks you people recommend me to wait for new Broadwell Intel Chip incoming to Malaysia markets, but do it really worthy to wait in following situation?

1) More CPU Raw power performance boosts on Broadwell, is there new Broadwell Xeon coming out?
2) Will be the current Haswell CPU get price slash when Broadwell coming to Malaysia market? zhen^wei
3) I'm going to get a mid tier GPU, does the IRIS Pro benefit to me?

Anyway, I just want to build another working station that gonna last for another 7-9 years which spareparts available. Current one is already aging (since 2007-08), so Broadwell is not "much" worthy to waiting based on my need, then I just settle for Xeon E3 1230 V3.

Budget: RM3,000 (updated)
Hardware: Everything in the rigs except SSD (Liteon 900S 256GB to reuse)
Personal preferences: last year I build a smilar rigs like Xeon + 750ti + 16GB ram etc.
Purpose/Program use: Adobe Illustrator, Adobe Photoshop, Coreldraw (might going to do some video editing soon, software yet to be confirm)
No, Intel only intend to launch 2 broadwells for desktop, one is i5 and another is i7, so no Xeon for that. Intel is launching broadwell for the LOL, their main efforts are with the skylake which rumored to come by late of this year.

Price slash? May be a little towards 4590k and 4790k since broadwells are direct successor to them. Others I don't think so.

Iris Pro is pretty much a GTX750 already, which pack a serious punch in workstation when you need them.
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/intel-...ell,4169-7.html

Hmm, 7-9 years, that's really hard. If that way, I certainly advice you to wait for skylake and DDR4. DDR3 is at its end of life already, it will be as rare and irrelevant as ddr2 of today in 3-5 years to go. H97 mobo also end here, and will be pretty much disappear from market in 2-3 years to come. Better invest on newer mobo and RAM, those two stuffs are hard to find replacement when it gets older.

This post has been edited by Human10: Jun 22 2015, 11:47 AM
SUSHuman10
post Jun 23 2015, 12:03 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(eugenelimys @ Jun 23 2015, 10:36 AM)
Actually are there any difference for entry level vs better psu?
Better voltage regulations and quality of components.

High end GPU can be a power guzzler, entry level PSU may not be designed to sustain such high load for prolonged period.

This post has been edited by Human10: Jun 23 2015, 12:06 PM
SUSHuman10
post Jun 23 2015, 07:33 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Muhammad Syukri @ Jun 23 2015, 05:11 PM)
Ic, Im thinking of building my new rig from Jayacom but only for GC i would buy it from lyn seller, do you think they are mind with it coz they offer a bundle price if build a rig from them?
As long as your rig is not come with Xeon, just tell them you already had a GPU with you or didn't plan to get discrete GPU and ask them assemble it without GPU, don't see anything wrong with that unless their profit margins are too low till they don't bothered to serve you.

On the bundle price, practically every shops will have bundled price for complete rig. For the discount, I think it pretty much depend on their profit margins. If you buy less parts from them, they earn less, so naturally they can offer less discounts.

This post has been edited by Human10: Jun 23 2015, 07:37 PM

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0533sec    1.03    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 08:33 PM