6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V9!

SUSHuman10
post May 22 2015, 03:18 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(LovelyPotato @ May 22 2015, 02:59 PM)
I went to sri computer but couldn't find any. Ended up found one in Viewnet at RM89 for 2 USB 3.0 slot and a HDD/SSD holder inside. Quite expensive but I got one unit for the front USB 3.0 speed
Audio ports?
SUSHuman10
post May 22 2015, 03:22 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(LovelyPotato @ May 22 2015, 03:20 PM)
only two USB 3.0. I went for the upgrade and somehow it broke my casing power button so I straight away change a new casing, new casing comes with audio so I didn't bother about it anymore haha
That's a whole different story... sweat.gif

But for RM90, why don't you directly get a proper case with front USB3.0 support?

This post has been edited by Human10: May 22 2015, 03:23 PM
SUSHuman10
post May 22 2015, 03:29 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(LovelyPotato @ May 22 2015, 03:26 PM)
Initially I left my computer at jayacom to install the new motherboard only I go and look for the usb port at viewnet. After buying it only jayacom tell me my casing broken and I bought the port already haha, so no choice and I don't think viewnet is going to accept refund for it lol
LOL, but aren't you suppose to look for one with audio ports at first, instead you settled for one with only USB then only back to Jayacom realizing you need a new case? rclxub.gif

But well, enjoy your new case and front facing USB 3.0. laugh.gif
SUSHuman10
post May 22 2015, 03:38 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(LovelyPotato @ May 22 2015, 03:32 PM)
haha coz all the while i'm using an extension wire from the back so I thought if there isn't any audio one then I'll just leave it as it is lol. Anyway thanks for your suggestions and I've picked the H97 motherboard in the end.

By the way the usb panel got a removable 3.5" space for the HDD where you can remove it and add on another USB panel for 3.5" or floppy disk. There are both 3.5" and 5.25" panel from viewnet with different amount of USB port. Learnt something new today  thumbup.gif
Yup, like the taobao link I posted, there's both diskete and optical bay panel. I bought mine for diskete bay from taobao something under RM30/40 IIRC.

Its called 光驱 (5.25) or 软驱 (3.5).

This post has been edited by Human10: May 22 2015, 03:40 PM
SUSHuman10
post May 23 2015, 06:16 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(ahgan91 @ May 23 2015, 06:11 PM)
Sifu, izzit ok I take PSU Seasonic S 1211 bronze instead of M series Bronze because they dont have M series...

Any diff major diff between this 2 series?
One isn't modular.
SUSHuman10
post May 24 2015, 11:09 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(breekachu @ May 24 2015, 10:53 PM)
Thanks terence!

Anyone have other suggestion for gaming rig 1080p 3k max budjet ? Let me know. I want 3-4 suggestion then ill open poll thread and let you all vote for Me.
No, 3k is pretty tight already. You should be grateful he manage to squeeze in a GTX970 within your budget.

If your point of 3k max is not even the RM30 exceed, opt for i5 4440 instead, it should cost bout RM30 less.

Also, you can nego the final price if you bundle whole system from one or pay in cash.

This post has been edited by Human10: May 24 2015, 11:10 PM
SUSHuman10
post May 24 2015, 11:22 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(breekachu @ May 24 2015, 11:21 PM)
For you,this is the best option on my budjet? Anything you want to change?

I dont mind if exceed rm30 , sokay loorr.

Maybe ill get from idealtech (free postage over 3k right?) or swisspac since im in perlis.
Idealtech pricing and inventories can be quite different, if you want order from him we need to rework the thing.
SUSHuman10
post May 24 2015, 11:36 PM

6,774 posts

i5 4460 (675)
Asrock B85M HDS (269)
Aegis 8GB (249)
Palit GTX970 reference (1299)
FSP Hexa+ (179)
WD Blue 1TB (199)
AEROCOOL GT ADVANCE BLACK/WHITE (115)

Total = RM2985

SUSHuman10
post May 24 2015, 11:40 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(breekachu @ May 24 2015, 11:38 PM)
Idealtech Price expensive? Let Me pm idealtech First,and see how much he can qoute me the Price.

I'll update after idealtech give me the Price so you guys can help me which part need to change.  Thanks!
This is what I can came out with the price list from his site.
QUOTE(Human10 @ May 24 2015, 11:36 PM)
i5 4460 (675)
Asrock B85M HDS (269)
Aegis 8GB (249)
Palit GTX970 reference (1299)
FSP Hexa+ (179)
WD Blue 1TB (199)
AEROCOOL GT ADVANCE BLACK/WHITE (115)

Total = RM2985
But since you are PMing him, just ask him to quote a RIG for 3k and we see how it goes.

This post has been edited by Human10: May 24 2015, 11:41 PM
SUSHuman10
post May 26 2015, 12:37 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(breekachu @ May 26 2015, 12:31 AM)
So im PM 2 member of idealtech and this is the result for Gaming RIG 1080p (3K budjet)

Option 1

Items Type Price
CPU Intel Core i5 4460 RM675
MOBOASUS B85M-G * RM315
RAMGskill Aegis 8GB 1600mhz DDR3RM249
HDDWD 1TB Caviar BlueRM199
ChasisThermaltake Versa H25 *RM135
GPUPalit GTX970 Reference 4GB DDR5RM1299
PSUFSP HEXA+ 550W PSURM179
RM3050

Option 2
Items Type Price
CPU Intel Core i5 4460 RM675
MOBOAsrock B85M HDS * RM269
RAMGskill Aegis 8GB 1600mhz DDR3RM249
HDDWD 1TB Caviar BlueRM199
ChasisThermaltake Versa H23 *RM135
GPUPalit GTX970 Reference 4GB DDR5RM1299
PSUFSP HEXA+ 550W PSURM179
RM3005
The different at MOBO and CHASIS only.

terence_nwb Minecrafter Human10  icon_question.gif
About the same, the asus mobo just having 4 RAM slots over the asrock one with just 2. Shouldn't be a problem for most people.

But if you insist 4 slots, might as well take a look at Asrock H97m Pro4. Slightly pricier than the asus but much more worthwhile.

As for the case, both are pretty much the same, google for it and take the one with the look you prefer.

This post has been edited by Human10: May 26 2015, 12:50 AM
SUSHuman10
post May 26 2015, 12:53 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(breekachu @ May 26 2015, 12:51 AM)
if you in my place. which one you choose? option 1 or option 2?  hmm.gif

p/s if i can get extra money, ill get asrock H97m Pro4. just rm34 different between  ASUS B85M-G  nod.gif
I can't comment much cause I am the type of person which either go cheap or overpaid till it is worth...

Which in this case, Asrock B85/H97
SUSHuman10
post May 26 2015, 01:04 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(breekachu @ May 26 2015, 12:59 AM)
BOOM icon_idea.gif  . ill take option 2. if i can get extra money within a week surely ill get h97.

Thank you master!  thumbup.gif
Good choice.

You lose out nothing but 2 RAM slots.

Since you currently on 8GB single stick, the most you want to find is another 8GB in future. In theory, 16GB should be pretty enough (not include those who do heavy CAD/render works, they need as much RAM as possible) in coming years till your whole system become obsolete, unless there's a sudden boom of technology which we can't foresee (but still by then DDR3 already completely EOLed and phased out similar to what DDR2 are today, not worth invest in anymore).
SUSHuman10
post May 26 2015, 01:16 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(breekachu @ May 26 2015, 01:11 AM)
ahhh nice point you got there sir  thumbup.gif

Q: can i use different type of ram? like Gskill Aegis 8GB 1600mhz DDR3 + TridentX DDR3 + RipjawsX XL DDR3 . as long its DDR3 its okay right?  rclxub.gif
Generally yes, since DDR3 is at its end of development, so probably no more new variants will come out (except DDR3L). So that means any 8GB you can find now will be the same as 8GB you can find in future (the "same" refers to the chips specifications).

But still, you should take note on 2 things, latency and speed. Sometimes different latency and speed RAM can't work together.

And no, you can only use OEM key once on 1 device.

For retails key, you can transfer it quite a few times by contact Microsoft, but still only one at a time.
SUSHuman10
post May 29 2015, 10:44 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(kopicat123 @ May 29 2015, 10:19 AM)
Hello all Sifus, thank you for the kind advice in building up my gaming rig, it's now up and running.

One question, even though I have a 600w PSU, Xeon E3, and GTX970 (which looks energy consuming when playing games), will it still consumes that much of electrical energy if I just leave my PC idle for download only?

I'm afraid the electrical bill might cost a bomb if I never turn off my PC for download sweat.gif
Nah, 600W PSU don't mean it consume 600W at all time, it just mean 600W (+ the inefficiency of your PSU model) will be the max power draw by from your wall socket.

GTX970 is a magnificent piece of engineering when it come to energy efficiency. Even at full load (assume stock clock), it consume less than 150W. On idle, it will be much less than that.
http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/ASUS/GT...TRIX_OC/23.html

This post has been edited by Human10: May 29 2015, 10:46 AM
SUSHuman10
post May 30 2015, 01:14 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(y2ou @ May 30 2015, 01:02 AM)
hi sifus,

I want to build a rig with a budget under 5k. Just rig only. Would u all kindly help me. haha..

Thx!
Gaming or workstation or both?
SUSHuman10
post May 31 2015, 06:32 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(kopicat123 @ May 31 2015, 05:27 PM)
I think I might have found a solution online, by changing the PCI-E setting in Bios for my GPU from "Auto" to "Gen-3". So far so good  icon_rolleyes.gif

One question, I realize that temparature of my GTX-970 at full load always hover between 80c to 90c. May I know if that's normal? Perhaps someone can advice me on suitable cooler for GPU?  notworthy.gif
970 normally have a temperature control and throttle at below 85 degree Celsius, 90 is definitely out of the range already. Check your settings in MSI afterburner.

Improve on your cable management and air inflow.

Use afterburner to ramp up the fan speed to 70% if it hasn't already reach that.

Lastly, contact MSI regarding this and enquire if they allow you to repaste the thermal paste yourself without RMA it.

This post has been edited by Human10: May 31 2015, 06:35 PM
SUSHuman10
post Jun 1 2015, 09:29 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(ChocChristy @ Jun 1 2015, 09:23 AM)
Yes, I am aiming for cheaper SSD. There's another Lite-On that's cheaper than S900. Is that worth it? I am looking at Czone's price list. Are there any other cheap recommended brands besides Lite-on and Plextor?
Transcend and Crucial (may not be as cheap sometimes).
SUSHuman10
post Jun 1 2015, 07:13 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(ikhwan1 @ Jun 1 2015, 11:52 AM)
Sifu, have anyone tried buying graphic card from amazon. This is the amazon link http://www.amazon.com/EVGA-GeForce-Super-C...eywords=gtx+970

They provide free shipping to malaysia. And if I convert the US dollar to Malaysian dollar using current citibank conversion rate, I can still safe a bout 250 ringgit. Have anyone tried to do this before? And will there be any gst charge at the kastam?
Free shipping from foreign site rarely for international.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/help/id=sss/ref=aw_d_sss_pc

Even if they do, Malaysia also never on the list (except may be Aliexpress). On some occasion SG will be in the list though.

This post has been edited by Human10: Jun 1 2015, 07:16 PM
SUSHuman10
post Jun 2 2015, 05:12 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Hezegroth @ Jun 2 2015, 04:52 PM)
wta if i have

sapphire 7970 ghz edition vapor x

can i pair it with other type/brand 7970 ghz  card ?
Yes, you can even pair it with R9 280X (7970 rebrand) or even more powerful cards if you want since AMD Crossfire don't limit you too same cards.

But one thing, do make sure you have at least 2x PCIE 3.0 slots running at X8 to reach the optimal performance, such mobo usually only start from RM400 and above.
SUSHuman10
post Jun 2 2015, 11:47 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(phantom_zero @ Jun 2 2015, 11:38 PM)
Do gpu is needed for the task? Or cpu is suffice?
Some softwares do use it a little.

Another thing is the Xeon in the build had no iGPU, so you can't use it without a discrete GPU.

If you seriously don't want a discrete GPU, dump it and the Xeon and slot in a i7 4790.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0377sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 04:10 AM