[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V9!

giggs_509
post Jun 6 2015, 10:39 AM

1,475 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Jun 6 2015, 03:47 AM)
Another 5 years for a currently more than 5 years PC is pretty much impossible, both in terms of technology obsoletion and durability. Nowadays even an entry level office PC at RM1k++ can be more powerful and features packed than your PC.

The CPU and mobo platform had being long EOLed. You gonna swap out them all together. Also, the RAM too. If you want to "upgrade", it is pretty much a total overhaul already.

The only possible "upgrade" to current system I will recommend is a SSD. Since your mobo is SATA2, the speed gonna get capped, just get whatever cheapest with longest warranty one will do.

If you want to get a new system, you can potentially reuse back the HDD, DVD ROM and the case. The PSU also possible to be reused if it isn't too dated, but do check if it has Haswell compatibility first. Cooler is potentially reusable too, but you need to find the adapter mountings for it, which can be a real challenging work most of the time.

In short, give us your maximum budget willing to spend for a new PC and we try to work out something from there.
Ahh.. Actually I am trying to avoid having 2 pc. So its possible to use the same case is it? Can suggest a system with a budget of 2.5k? Is it hard to remove old system and install new to the case?

SUSHuman10
post Jun 6 2015, 10:43 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(giggs_509 @ Jun 6 2015, 10:39 AM)
Ahh.. Actually I am trying to avoid having 2 pc. So its possible to use the same case is it? Can suggest a system with a budget of 2.5k? Is it hard to remove old system and install new to the case?
The one posted by mod_po above your post will do.
Just remove the monitor from the build, then add in a GTX960 instead of 750TI, SSD instead of DVD/HDD and find a mobo which have PCIE gen3.

This post has been edited by Human10: Jun 6 2015, 10:45 AM
giggs_509
post Jun 6 2015, 10:57 AM

1,475 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Jun 6 2015, 10:43 AM)
The one posted by mod_po above your post will do.
Just remove the monitor from the build, then add in a GTX960 instead of 750TI, SSD instead of DVD/HDD and find a mobo which have PCIE gen3.
Looks like need to change the power supply as well is it? Which mobo to buy? Can i ask the shop to install all items so that i only need to install on my haf 932 case?

On second thought, should i just sel of my old system and top up my new system? Or is the value too low better keep it?

This post has been edited by giggs_509: Jun 6 2015, 11:02 AM
giggs_509
post Jun 6 2015, 10:59 AM

1,475 posts

**sorry double post**

This post has been edited by giggs_509: Jun 6 2015, 11:02 AM
SUSHuman10
post Jun 6 2015, 11:11 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(giggs_509 @ Jun 6 2015, 10:57 AM)
Looks like need to change the power supply as well is it? Which mobo to buy? Can i ask the shop to install all items so that i only need to install on my haf 932 case?

On second thought, should i just sel of my old system and top up my new system? Or is the value too low better keep it?
No idea how much you can fetch with that.

At your budget, an Asrock H97 pro4 should be possible.

I googled bout your PSU and its model seems pretty dated, it is safer to get a new one in this case.

No, you need to install the mobo on your case first then only mounting other parts, especially GPU.
terence_nwb
post Jun 6 2015, 11:19 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(realblackfox @ Jun 6 2015, 02:57 AM)
hello guys.

can suggest me rigs for RM 3.5k budget? including monitor (excluding mouse,kb, speakers)

Main purpose: gaming
preferably has SSD at least to install windows.

Thanks!
Intel Core i5 4460 - RM 669
MSI B85M-E45 - RM 289
Kingston 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Value RAM - RM 219
Palit GTX970 4GB GDDR5 Reference - RM 1271
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 199
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 194
Thermaltake Versa H25 - RM 135
BenQ GL2450-B monitor - RM 479

Total: RM 3455 (GPU is from Cycom, others are from Viewnet inclusive of GST)

Adding a SSD will cause overbudget but it's up to you sweat.gif

Liteon MU 120GB SSD - RM 229
Liteon S900 128GB SSD - RM 249
Liteon S900 256GB SSD - RM 429
SUSHuman10
post Jun 6 2015, 12:44 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(professor_snape @ Jun 6 2015, 12:21 PM)
the mobo is still useable?  what shoyld i do with the old gc?  simpan in box?
Since it is Z68, high chance it will have PCIE 3.0, which is still the best offer out there by today.

Even if it don't, PCIE 2.0 is still pretty good enough for GTX970. As for CPU, since it is Sandy Bridge, try some overclock to make it perform at the best it can.
SUSHuman10
post Jun 6 2015, 01:25 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(professor_snape @ Jun 6 2015, 01:21 PM)
i took the non clockable version tho.
thanks  for the informations!  =)
Pre-haswell (Ivy and Sandy) CPU support locked overclocking (on Z platform mobo) up to the maximum turbo clock.

In other words, you can lock it at 3.7Ghz (I assume yours is 2500?)

This post has been edited by Human10: Jun 6 2015, 01:26 PM
neoarc
post Jun 7 2015, 03:32 AM

27 posts

OHH sifus please help, for im in a dilemma sad.gif . I wanted to buy a gaming rig but im still cannot choose between 970,980,980ti. I started with a budget of RM5000-5700 and wanted to buy a Gtx 980 but then i heard that a GTx 980ti was coming up. I was excited to hear that my budget could be used to buy the gtx980ti. But then i was advised from my friends that i should instead save my money from buying the GTX 980/980ti and buy the the 970 due to how cost effective the 970. Now im not sure if i should spend most of my budget on 980ti/980 or just buy a 970 and spend the rest on other part of my Rig and buy a new card in the next 1-2 years. Currently im using a 1080p monitor but i totally forgotten the brand. I hope sifus can help me solve this dilemma and give me a rig suggeston. notworthy.gif
SUSHuman10
post Jun 7 2015, 03:51 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(neoarc @ Jun 7 2015, 03:32 AM)
OHH sifus please help, for im in a dilemma  sad.gif . I wanted to buy a gaming rig  but im still cannot choose between 970,980,980ti. I started with a budget of RM5000-5700 and wanted to buy a Gtx 980 but then i heard that a GTx 980ti was coming up. I was excited to hear that my budget could be used to buy the gtx980ti. But then i was advised from my friends that i should instead save my money  from buying the GTX 980/980ti and buy the the 970 due to  how cost effective the 970. Now im not sure if i should spend most of my budget on 980ti/980 or just buy a 970 and  spend  the rest on other part of my Rig  and buy a new card in the next 1-2 years. Currently im using a 1080p monitor but i totally forgotten the brand. I hope sifus can help me solve this dilemma and give me a  rig suggeston.  notworthy.gif
Yes, 970 offers pretty surprisingly great performance for the bucks it ask for (particularly from Nvidia, which is a rare sight), which is also a reason why it is so popular. But again, it is a mid high end card at best (and there's the 3.5GB VRAM fiasco just incase you didn't update bout it).

980TI on the other hand is not too shabby either. A 2x GTX970 SLI which cost the same (on paper, but practically 980TI will cause more due to being new and super rare) to a 980TI only offer bout 10% more performance. For people who can afford to pay over 3k for a GPU, they will prefer a GTX980TI despite the "10%" less performance cause:

1st, single card is hassle free than multicards. SLI require compatible mobo, PSU, drivers and bla bla bla to work, while sometimes it still stutter in performance despite high FPS. Single card of about the same performance is a winner here.

2nd, bout the VRAM part. 4GB (or precisely speaking 3.5GB) is pretty impressive amount of VRAM for last year standards, but with ever growing details and resolutions, it will soon be a norm or even a minimum. On the other hand, 980TI come with 6GB VRAM by default. Extra VRAM also make SLI rig more plausible, since SLI theoretically double (or at least 1.5x) the performance, but not the VRAM. You gonna require more VRAM when you are pusing games at a higher settings. The original 3.5GB VRAM is pretty sufficient for the game setting a single 970 will post (by today), but when double up the performance, it may not be enough.

Now, back to your rig part.

5-5.7k is still somehow limited for a 980TI rig. Reference 980TI from asus cost RM3.3k, which took more than half of your budget already and left you with under 1.7k for the remaining parts.

Unless you can preorder a cheap 980TI at sub 2.8k price, I will suggest you to go for a RM4k+/- rig with GTX970 for better price optimization.

This post has been edited by Human10: Jun 7 2015, 03:57 AM
neoarc
post Jun 7 2015, 04:28 PM

27 posts

What if i bump my budget to something like RM6400 is it still possible then?
Minecrafter
post Jun 7 2015, 04:52 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(neoarc @ Jun 7 2015, 04:28 PM)
What if i bump my budget to something like RM6400 is it still possible then?
I think it will,let's see.. brows.gif An SLI-ready build. brows.gif

Intel Xeon E3-1231 V3 3.4GHz RM949
Gigabyte Z97X-SLI RM556.50
Zotac GTX980Ti Reference 6GB GDDR5 RM2699 - https://www.facebook.com/cyntrixtech
Kingston Value RAM 8GB DDR3 1600MHz RM209
Seagate Barracuda 2TB RM299
Liteon 900S 256GB RM429
CoolerMaster V1000 80+ Gold Fully Modular RM772.74
Corsair Carbide Spec-03 RM219.42
CM Hyper TX3 Evo RM94.34
Total:RM6228
Prices with cents are from Jayacom@LYP,GPU is from CyntrixTech and the rest are from Viewnet@LYP. smile.gif

Or,an overkill build. tongue.gif

Intel Core i7 5820K RM1441.60
MSI X99S SLI PLUS RM974.14
Zotac GTX980Ti Reference 6GB GDDR5 RM2699 - https://www.facebook.com/cyntrixtech
Corsair Value RAM 8GB DDR4 2133MHz RM469
WD Caviar Blue 1TB RM194
Seasonic S12II 620W 80+ Bronze RM339
CM N300 RM189 - Estimated.
CM Hyper TX3 Evo RM94.34
Total:RM6477.28
Prices with cents are from Jayacom@LYP,GPU is from CyntrixTech and the rest are from Viewnet@LYP. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Minecrafter: Jun 7 2015, 04:53 PM
tritonite
post Jun 7 2015, 05:31 PM

337 posts

Looking for some help to attempt to spec a new system with the criteria below with a budget of RM3800 or so. Priorities are quiet operation and easy maintenance as it will mostly be left on 24/7, maybe with a reboot every 2-3 weeks.

- Xeon E3-1231 V3, or whatever the latest version is
- H97 mobo, since I don't plan to OC
- 8GB of RAM
- GTX970, if possible... I heard Zotac is good value?
- SSD + HDD
- mini-ITX... or mATX, at least. Prefer a small form factor to save on room
- PSU, cooling and fans, to suit, with above-mentioned priority on low noise
- suitable casing, preferably with removable dust filters for easy cleaning
- system will be under a desk, in case that is a factor
- NO monitor, optical drive, keyboard, mouse or speakers needed.

Any help is appreciated.
terence_nwb
post Jun 7 2015, 05:52 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(tritonite @ Jun 7 2015, 05:31 PM)
Looking for some help to attempt to spec a new system with the criteria below with a budget of RM3800 or so. Priorities are quiet operation and easy maintenance as it will mostly be left on 24/7, maybe with a reboot every 2-3 weeks.

- Xeon E3-1231 V3, or whatever the latest version is
- H97 mobo, since I don't plan to OC
- 8GB of RAM
- GTX970, if possible... I heard Zotac is good value?
- SSD + HDD
- mini-ITX... or mATX, at least. Prefer a small form factor to save on room
- PSU, cooling and fans, to suit, with above-mentioned priority on low noise
- suitable casing, preferably with removable dust filters for easy cleaning
- system will be under a desk, in case that is a factor
- NO monitor, optical drive, keyboard, mouse or speakers needed.

Any help is appreciated.
Intel Xeon E3 1231 V3 - RM 949
Asrock B85M-ITX - RM 329
Kingston 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Value RAM - RM 209
Palit GTX970 4GB GDDR5 Reference - RM 1271
Seasonic M12II EVO 520W - RM 319
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 194
Liteon S900 128GB SSD - RM 269

Total: RM 3540 (GPU is from Cycom, others are from Viewnet inclusive of GST)

Case choice (all with removable dust filters):
Corsair Obsidian 250D - RM 359
Bitfenix Prodigy - RM 349
Phanteks Enthoo EVOLV ITX - RM 329

llk
post Jun 7 2015, 07:15 PM

4,158 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Jun 7 2015, 04:52 PM)
I think it will,let's see.. brows.gif An SLI-ready build. brows.gif

Intel Xeon E3-1231 V3 3.4GHz RM949
Gigabyte Z97X-SLI RM556.50
Kingston Value RAM 8GB DDR3 1600MHz RM209
Seagate Barracuda 2TB RM299
Liteon 900S 256GB RM429
CoolerMaster V1000 80+ Gold Fully Modular RM772.74
CM Hyper TX3 Evo RM94.34
Total:RM6228

Or,an overkill build. tongue.gif

Intel Core i7 5820K RM1441.60
MSI X99S SLI PLUS RM974.14
Corsair Value RAM 8GB DDR4 2133MHz RM469
WD Caviar Blue 1TB RM194
Seasonic S12II 620W 80+ Bronze RM339
CM N300 RM189 - Estimated.
CM Hyper TX3 Evo RM94.34
Total:RM6477.28
Do you mind to point me where do you get the price for Corsair Value RAM 8GB DDR4 2133MHz RM469? I have looking at Viewnet pricelist up & down but can't find sweat.gif

Found it

This post has been edited by llk: Jun 7 2015, 07:20 PM
Vortexx22
post Jun 8 2015, 01:33 AM

183 posts

[Budget] RM3k

[Purpose] Gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] CPU and motherboard

[Monitor resolution] 1920x1080

[Games & softwares that use frequently] GTA V, Dota 2, some online games

[Personal preferences] GTX970

Thanks in advance notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Vortexx22: Jun 8 2015, 01:35 AM
Minecrafter
post Jun 8 2015, 01:51 AM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(Vortexx22 @ Jun 8 2015, 01:33 AM)
[Budget] RM3k

[Purpose] Gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] CPU and motherboard

[Monitor resolution] 1920x1080

[Games & softwares that use frequently] GTA V, Dota 2, some online games

[Personal preferences] GTX970

Thanks in advance  notworthy.gif
What's the CPU and motherboard do you've?Just curious.

Zotac GTX970 Reference 4GB GDDR5 RM1271
MSI GTX970 Tiger OC 4GB GDDR5 RM1419.34
WD Caviar Blue 1TB RM194/Seagate Barracuda 2TB RM299
Liteon 900S 256GB RM429
Seasonic M12II Evo 620W 80+ Bronze Fully Modular RM379
Total:RM2949.76/RM3054.76
Price with cents are from Jayacom@LYP and the rest are from Viewnet@LYP. smile.gif
noway555
post Jun 8 2015, 06:06 AM

hi, i would like to buy a rig for gaming purpose from idealtech.
my budget will be around RM4k to 4.5k for the rig.
after some searching and i am planning to get this kind of built:

Intel Xeon E3 1231 V3
Asrock H97 Pro4
Gskill Aegis 8GB DDR3 1600MHz RAM
Leadtek GTX970 Hurricance 4GB GDDR5
Samsung 850 EVO 120GB SSD
WD Blue 1TB HDD
Seasonic S12II 620W
Cryorig H5 (CPU cooler)
Thermaltake Versa H25
Windows 7 Pro OEM

is it ok with my build? do i really need to get a cpu cooler ?
can anyone suggest monitor around rm500?

thanks smile.gif

mod_po
post Jun 8 2015, 09:30 AM

im a dragon in cat costume
1,462 posts

QUOTE(noway555 @ Jun 8 2015, 06:06 AM)
hi, i would like to buy a rig for gaming purpose from idealtech.
my budget will be around RM4k to 4.5k for the rig.
after some searching and i am planning to get this kind of built:

Intel Xeon E3 1231 V3
Asrock H97 Pro4
Gskill Aegis 8GB DDR3 1600MHz RAM
Leadtek GTX970 Hurricance 4GB GDDR5
Samsung 850 EVO 120GB SSD
WD Blue 1TB HDD
Seasonic S12II 620W
Cryorig H5 (CPU cooler)
Thermaltake Versa H25
Windows 7 Pro OEM

is it ok with my build? do i really need to get a cpu cooler ?
can anyone suggest monitor around rm500?

thanks  smile.gif
if u fine with idealtech choice of hardware n the price, so ur build just fine,
the cooler is not a must as u not using any cpu intensive software,
but it is recomended to get one, but still, stock cooler will do just fine,

u can consider BenQ 24" GL2450 RM479

alternatively u can this price from techview (there is gve n take between dealer price, selection of hardware, after sales service...etc)

intel Xeon 1231 V3 RM949
ASUS B85M-G RM291
Kingston 8GB Value ram RM235
Zotac GTX970 Ref RM1240
WD 1TB RM191
Liteon 900S 256GB RM378
Seasonic S12II RM319
Thermaltake H25 RM130
BENQ 24” GL2450 RM454

RM4187 (excluding OS)

This post has been edited by mod_po: Jun 8 2015, 09:38 AM
noway555
post Jun 8 2015, 12:37 PM

QUOTE(mod_po @ Jun 8 2015, 09:30 AM)
if u fine with idealtech choice of hardware n the price, so ur build just fine,
the cooler is not a must as u not using any cpu intensive software,
but it is recomended to get one, but still, stock cooler will do just fine,

u can consider BenQ 24" GL2450 RM479

alternatively u can this price from techview (there is gve n take between dealer price, selection of hardware, after sales service...etc)

intel Xeon 1231 V3 RM949
ASUS B85M-G RM291
Kingston 8GB Value ram RM235
Zotac GTX970 Ref RM1240
WD 1TB RM191
Liteon 900S 256GB RM378
Seasonic S12II RM319
Thermaltake H25 RM130
BENQ 24” GL2450 RM454

RM4187 (excluding OS)
actually i am getting from penang, so it will be convenient for me if i get from idealtech

thanks for your advice thumbup.gif notworthy.gif

126 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0284sec    0.87    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:38 PM