[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V9!

SUSHuman10
post May 16 2015, 05:50 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(icp @ May 16 2015, 05:13 PM)
hi guys i got a quote for the below specs at 2.3k (include gst)

CPU I5 4590
Mobo Asrock H97M Pro4
Ram Corsair 8gb value
SSD Kingston V300 240gb
Casing  Bitfenix Prodigy M
PSU CX600M (80+ Bronze)

rig is currently for work purpose,
but later will fit in 970 gc if i have enough budget
(maybe got luck in garage sales section  whistling.gif )

is the spec ok?
other suggestion is most welcome
especially for mobo and psu
Somewhat overpriced.

Generally, i5 4440 is enough for most people. It should cost under RM700 IINM.
Some stores sell the mobo you quoted for RM320 before tax AFAIK.
8GB value RAM RM230.
Kingston V300 (not exactly a good performer, get liteon OEM drive better) RM430.
Bitfenix prodigy (before GST I recall it cost around RM350?)
Get a Seasonic PSU better, 520W modular at RM300 IIRC.

RM1660 + (670*1.06) = RM2370
terence_nwb
post May 16 2015, 05:52 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(icp @ May 16 2015, 05:13 PM)
hi guys i got a quote for the below specs at 2.3k (include gst)

CPU I5 4590
Mobo Asrock H97M Pro4
Ram Corsair 8gb value
SSD Kingston V300 240gb
Casing  Bitfenix Prodigy M
PSU CX600M (80+ Bronze)

rig is currently for work purpose,
but later will fit in 970 gc if i have enough budget
(maybe got luck in garage sales section  whistling.gif )

is the spec ok?
other suggestion is most welcome
especially for mobo and psu
Intel Core i5 4460 and 4590 is just a slight difference in clock speed but the price difference is RM50, I would use this RM50 to invest in other parts since you are using it for work purpose, even the 4460 is also enough for gaming.
As for SSD, Kingston V300 series is not recommended because Kingston replaced the NAND parts with cheaper parts which significantly reduced the performance. As for PSU, get a good quality Seasonic S12II 620W at same price.

Intel Core i5 4460 - RM 699
Asrock H97M Pro4 - RM 339
Corsair 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Value RAM - RM 229
Liteon S900 256GB SSD - RM 429
Seasonic S12II 620W PSU - RM 339
Bitfenix Prodigy M - RM 339

Total: RM 2374 (Viewnet price inclusive of GST)

This post has been edited by terence_nwb: May 16 2015, 05:53 PM
icp
post May 16 2015, 09:36 PM

478 posts

thanks for the feedback guys!
since my initial budget was 2k,
i thought it was good to max cheapest 240gb ssd,
which in turn is not the wisest choice thanks to your suggestion notworthy.gif

so im thinking of opting only 120gb ssd, mainly for booting my OS
any recommendation? hmm.gif
Minecrafter
post May 16 2015, 09:38 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(icp @ May 16 2015, 09:36 PM)

thanks for the feedback guys!
since my initial budget was 2k,
i thought it was good to max cheapest 240gb ssd,
which in turn is not the wisest choice thanks to your suggestion notworthy.gif

so im thinking of opting only 120gb ssd, mainly for booting my OS
any recommendation? hmm.gif
Liteon 900S 128GB RM269.. brows.gif
Zgames
post May 16 2015, 11:27 PM

- A Tree Loving Lizard -
1,446 posts

Ok so after thinking it through and through I was thinking of either a R9 270 or the R7 260. Will it be good enough to be powered by the FSP 450+?

Quite scared actually. I just hope it can be managed. Since I'm only going to use these cards for only a couple of month before getting another rig later this year.
Minecrafter
post May 16 2015, 11:31 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(Zgames @ May 16 2015, 11:27 PM)
Ok so after thinking it through and through I was thinking of either a R9 270 or the R7 260. Will it be good enough to be powered by the FSP 450+?

Quite scared actually. I just hope it can be managed. Since I'm only going to use these cards for only a couple of month before getting another rig later this year.
Hmm,should be fine.Will be on the edge,though.I'd suggest GTX750Ti if you want to be safe. wink.gif
Zgames
post May 16 2015, 11:32 PM

- A Tree Loving Lizard -
1,446 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ May 16 2015, 11:31 PM)
Hmm,should be fine.Will be on the edge,though.I'd suggest GTX750Ti if you want to be safe. wink.gif
No free game mang, 260X can get 2 free game doe. Too much on the edge or barely?
Minecrafter
post May 16 2015, 11:45 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(Zgames @ May 16 2015, 11:32 PM)
No free game mang, 260X can get 2 free game doe. Too much on the edge or barely?
I thought you NVidia fanboy. whistling.gif

Idk,i'd say not too much but should be alright.
http://www.anandtech.com/show/7503/the-amd...eat-asus-his/16
Zgames
post May 16 2015, 11:49 PM

- A Tree Loving Lizard -
1,446 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ May 16 2015, 11:45 PM)
I thought you NVidia fanboy. whistling.gif

Idk,i'd say not too much but should be alright.
http://www.anandtech.com/show/7503/the-amd...eat-asus-his/16
Still am whistling.gif it's just that there's this one game that they offer and well I want that game but it's blood expensive when convert to MYR, and no the game is not on steam.
lonelystarz
post May 17 2015, 12:31 AM

112 posts

Can someone recommend a Fast and Reliable SSD under the budget of RM600?

terence_nwb
post May 17 2015, 01:01 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(lonelystarz @ May 17 2015, 12:31 AM)
Can someone recommend a Fast and Reliable SSD under the budget of RM600?

Liteon S900 series is not a bad choice. 256GB at RM 429.
lonelystarz
post May 17 2015, 01:04 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ May 17 2015, 01:01 AM)
Liteon S900 series is not a bad choice. 256GB at RM 429.
but i thought the write speed is much much slower compared to others?
terence_nwb
post May 17 2015, 01:44 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(lonelystarz @ May 17 2015, 01:04 AM)
but i thought the write speed is much much slower compared to others?
Liteon is best for the buck for cheap and reliable SSD. If you want to max out your RM 600 budget, look for Samsung 850 EVO or Intel 530 series, their prices are almost the same, but the so-said extra 100MB+/- write speed is not really worth my money whistling.gif
lonelystarz
post May 17 2015, 02:27 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ May 17 2015, 01:44 AM)
Liteon is best for the buck for cheap and reliable SSD. If you want to max out your RM 600 budget, look for Samsung 850 EVO or Intel 530 series, their prices are almost the same, but the so-said extra 100MB+/- write speed is not really worth my money  whistling.gif
thanks for the advise.
LimitEDition
post May 17 2015, 09:31 AM

273 posts

Hi sifuus need your help

Budget RM3.5
Gaming purpose [want to play BF4, witcher III, gtaV smoothly]
Perferably nVidia gfx [personal preference]
KL

Planning to get monitor BenQ XL27 later.

Thank you

Minecrafter
post May 17 2015, 09:46 AM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(LimitEDition @ May 17 2015, 09:31 AM)
Hi sifuus need your help

Budget RM3.5
Gaming purpose [want to play BF4, witcher III, gtaV smoothly]
Perferably nVidia gfx [personal preference]
KL

Planning to get monitor BenQ XL27 later.

Thank you
Intel Xeon E3-1231 V3 3.4GHz RM954
Asrock H97-Pro4 RM348.74
Zotac GTX970 Reference 4GB GDDR5 RM1271
Corsair Value RAM 8GB DDR3 1600MHz RM229
WD Caviar Blue 1TB RM199
Seasonic M12II Evo 520W 80+ Bronze Fully Modular RM299
Thermaltake Versa H25 RM135
CM Hyper TX3 Evo RM94.34
Total:RM3530.08
Prices of the CPU,MoBo and CPU Cooler are from Jayacom@LYP,GPU is from Cycom@LYP and the rest are from Viewnet@LYP. smile.gif
LimitEDition
post May 17 2015, 10:41 AM

273 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ May 17 2015, 09:46 AM)
Intel Xeon E3-1231 V3 3.4GHz RM954
Asrock H97-Pro4 RM348.74
Zotac GTX970 Reference 4GB GDDR5 RM1271
Corsair Value RAM 8GB DDR3 1600MHz RM229
WD Caviar Blue 1TB RM199
Seasonic M12II Evo 520W 80+ Bronze Fully Modular RM299
Thermaltake Versa H25 RM135
CM Hyper TX3 Evo RM94.34
Total:RM3530.08
Prices of the CPU,MoBo and CPU Cooler are from Jayacom@LYP,GPU is from Cycom@LYP and the rest are from Viewnet@LYP. smile.gif
Tq thumbup.gif
I'll add up few other stuff (like ssd / liquid cooling) it should be <4k. nod.gif
karthyhu
post May 17 2015, 10:42 AM

1,165 posts

QUOTE(karthyhu @ May 15 2015, 02:44 PM)
Hi Guys,

Opinions needed.  rclxms.gif

Spec 1

CM Elite 120 Advanced
Asus J1900I-C 
Kingston 8gb SoDimm
Logitech MK240

Spec 2

CM Elite 120 Advanced
Intel G3240 
Asrock H81M-ITX
Kingston 8gb Dimm
Logitech MK240
intend to use as a htpc for watching movies , torrenting , downloading and browser games.
it wont be on 24/7 . for torrenting / download mostly is when im sleeping.

i have a unused graphic card ( forgot model could be hd5450 ) , a 3tb hd and a 5.1speaker

which specs is better or recommend a better cheaper spec . budget keep it as cheap as possible.

thx
icon_question.gif notworthy.gif
SUStlts
post May 17 2015, 10:52 AM

pee poo pee poo
1,891 posts

QUOTE(Zgames @ May 16 2015, 11:27 PM)

u abandon the gtx750ti GS liao?
Zgames
post May 17 2015, 11:04 AM

- A Tree Loving Lizard -
1,446 posts

QUOTE(tlts @ May 17 2015, 10:52 AM)
u abandon the gtx750ti GS liao?
If it's for Skem Sitizen then no regret . Atleast the 260X is on par with 750 Ti. As Nfanboy I've failed myself.

Don't know why got reported. Maybe I'll edit some word.

This post has been edited by Zgames: May 17 2015, 01:52 PM

126 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0323sec    1.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 09:54 PM