[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V9!

Vorador
post May 17 2015, 11:16 PM

Blessed !!!
3,494 posts

QUOTE(alfiejr @ May 17 2015, 10:52 PM)
Probably the culprit could be the psu, could be bad capacitors since you need to uplug and wait for 1 minute(capacitor discharge) , its my assumption anyway but worth the try if you can get your hand on a new psu.

Its ok buying a psu with high power rating since it allows more headroom and allows the psu to run a bit cooler thus prolong the lifespan of it. But yeah since you're not hitting the power rating, the efficiency could go down slightly but its a give or take situation  icon_rolleyes.gif
U know what, speaking of it my comp was shutdown just now. After turn back on left only 2GB ram... (was 6GB ram, typical X58 board problem... doh.gif )

QUOTE(Human10 @ May 17 2015, 11:05 PM)
1. If you are power users and often do heavy rendering, you can consider 5820k as it is just a tad more pricy than 4790k, but it is hexacore vs quadcore of 4790k. But mind you, it not going to be helpful in gaming much (any time soon) and you probably need some overclocking to match the clockspeed of normal i5/i7. Other than that, an entry Haswell-E rig will cost just a little over high end 4790k built (I assume you getting value DDR4 RAM).

2. 970 is a mid high range card which is surprisingly powerful for its price and a beast for 1080p gaming. But as always, if you have the money to burn, the more powerful the better. But practical wise, I will say grab a 970 now and speculate how things develop in the next couple of months (AMD R9 300 series and Nvidia 980TI).

3. Yup, k series is for overclocking. And generally, overclocking don't provide much gaming performance improvement as long as the clock is over 3.5Ghz. Example, gaming wise, i5 4460 probably can handle what i5 4690k can handle.

4. Seperate drive is cheaper and easier to maintain. Hybrid drive is for laptop which having limited HDD bay. It is not a concern (generally) for desktop users.

Budget wise, I will say 4k for rig along provide you with a pretty solid specs for gaming.
Thank you!

Actually, I'm finding and excuse not to go with DDR4 ram, the price (mobo + CPU + ram) is twice the current one...

I really hope my rig can tahan a bit so I can save up for 980ti.
SUSHuman10
post May 17 2015, 11:18 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Vorador @ May 17 2015, 10:43 PM)
Oh may I add 2 more questions?

4. I already have an 240GB SSD + an good old 1TB hd. Is it worth to replace the hd with fusion drive? Is SSD+fusion drive better than SSD+normal hd? (reason is I like to install game on the other hd, and will finish it before start next game)

5.  How many of you are using branded PC set? (like asus ROG) Worth it? (I notice they give some sort of mid-range gear but price seems ok)
You can get cheaper and more optimised specs with custom build as compared to branded prebuild. Custom build also easier to maintain and upgrade as each parts function and warranty independent from another. For example, mobo bios update from mobo from vendors will be more often than branded prebuild.

Another thing to note is different brands have different brand reputation and different price. Generally Asus, gigabyte and MSI will be priced on the high side as compared to other brands.
Vorador
post May 18 2015, 01:27 AM

Blessed !!!
3,494 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ May 17 2015, 11:18 PM)
You can get cheaper and more optimised specs with custom build as compared to branded prebuild. Custom build also easier to maintain and upgrade as each parts function and warranty independent from another. For example, mobo bios update from mobo from vendors will be more often than branded prebuild.

Another thing to note is different brands have different brand reputation and different price. Generally Asus, gigabyte and MSI will be priced on the high side as compared to other brands.
Ok I will build it myself then. Anyway refer to your earlier comment:

- so Hybrid drive will not help me in anyway in terms of gaming? (Let's say, use my existing SSD as O/S drive, and hybrid drive to store whatever and game installation)

I check around the web, looks like most of the gamer are suggesting 4690 as best value CPU, hm... I probably go with this. (Or pay a little more for 4790) Now all I need is patiently wait for 980ti's info. (or any chances for 970ti? drool.gif )
Minecrafter
post May 18 2015, 05:42 AM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(Vorador @ May 18 2015, 01:27 AM)

- so Hybrid drive will not help me in anyway in terms of gaming? (Let's say, use my existing SSD as O/S drive, and hybrid drive to store whatever and game installation)

I check around the web, looks like most of the gamer are suggesting 4690 as best value CPU, hm... I probably go with this. (Or pay a little more for 4790) Now all I need is patiently wait for 980ti's info. (or any chances for 970ti?  drool.gif )
Gaming performance has nothing to do with SSD/HDD performance.It won't boost nor reduce FPS. tongue.gif

Most of the gamers suggesting i5 4690 is still the best CPU,but for me,Intel Xeon E3-1231 V3 is the best bang for buck.Games are taking advantage of more cores and threads..the latter has 4 cores and 8 threads,the former has 4 cores and 4 threads.

So far,there are no rumours about GTX970Ti.

SUSHuman10
post May 18 2015, 07:34 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Vorador @ May 18 2015, 01:27 AM)

I check around the web, looks like most of the gamer are suggesting 4690 as best value CPU, hm... I probably go with this. (Or pay a little more for 4790) Now all I need is patiently wait for 980ti's info. (or any chances for 970ti?  drool.gif )
Anything you can do on hybrid drive you can do it on SSD + HDD combo too. The best of course is install the game directly onto SSD, but if that isn't possible, some sorts of caching will help a little than purely install on HDD.

Cause many of them opt for overclocking build, and 4690k is the cheapest available. For us, we must pay about RM1k extra (different CPU, mono and 3rd party cooler) to change from non-OC i5 build to OC build, the marginal gain on gaming performance certainly don't justify the RM1k premium. Another thing is their price gapping don't seems as steep as ours. I7 is now almost double that of 4460, before all this price hike or GST saga, it is certainly less than that. Retailers know i7 is premium stuffs and people who planned to get one wouldn't be bothered by few hundreds extra. In short, but you see on the Internet may not be applicable directly on our local market.

This post has been edited by Human10: May 18 2015, 07:40 AM
Ronin_Amin
post May 18 2015, 03:53 PM

490 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ May 18 2015, 05:42 AM)
Gaming performance has nothing to do with SSD/HDD performance.It won't boost nor reduce FPS. tongue.gif
It will still help with loading times right?
Minecrafter
post May 18 2015, 04:00 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(Ronin_Amin @ May 18 2015, 03:53 PM)
It will still help with loading times right?
Mhmm. nod.gif
Shufflerz
post May 18 2015, 05:04 PM

913 posts

[Budget]
- RM3,000

[Purpose]
- 3D design & rendering

[Monitor resolution]
- 1920x1080

[Games & softwares that use frequently]
- After Effect, Premier Pro, Cinema4D, 3Ds Max

[Personal preferences]
- Budget include keyboard & mouse(probably will settle with RM50 Logitech set), and also 23" monitor(probably Dell E series?).
- Minimum spending on casing, probably will settle with CM Elite 311.
- No need DVD Rom

[Location]
- Penang(probably will settle everything in Swisspac)

This post has been edited by Shufflerz: May 18 2015, 05:04 PM
kappaweng
post May 18 2015, 06:11 PM

[Budget] RM3.5k~4k

[Purpose]
-Gaming, Graphic Design

[Hardwares that will be re-use]
-No hardwares to be reuse

[Monitor resolution]
-1366x768

-Dota2, Farcry4, Shadow of Mordor, Adobe AI and PS

[Personal preferences]
-Budget included a normal/average monitor
-Prefer at least 8 gb Ram

[Location]
-KL/SELANGOR
SUSHuman10
post May 18 2015, 07:45 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(kappaweng @ May 18 2015, 06:11 PM)
[Budget] RM3.5k~4k

[Purpose]
-Gaming, Graphic Design

[Hardwares that will be re-use]
-No hardwares to be reuse

[Monitor resolution]
-1366x768

-Dota2, Farcry4, Shadow of Mordor, Adobe AI and PS

[Personal preferences]
-Budget included a normal/average monitor
-Prefer at least 8 gb Ram

[Location]
-KL/SELANGOR
QUOTE(Minecrafter @ May 17 2015, 08:59 PM)
Intel Xeon E3-1231 V3 3.4GHz RM954
Asrock H97-Pro4 RM348.74
Zotac GTX970 Reference 4GB GDDR5 RM1271
Corsair Value RAM 8GB DDR3 1600MHz RM229
WD Caviar Blue 1TB RM199
Seasonic M12II Evo 520W 80+ Bronze Fully Modular RM299
Thermaltake Versa H25 RM135
BenQ GL2460HM 24" RM579
Total:RM4014.74
Optional:CM Hyper TX3 Evo RM94.34
Prices of the CPU,MoBo and optional CPU Cooler are from Jayacom@LYP,GPU is from Cycom@LYP and the rest are from Viewnet@LYP. smile.gif
Vorador
post May 18 2015, 09:16 PM

Blessed !!!
3,494 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ May 18 2015, 05:42 AM)

Most of the gamers suggesting i5 4690 is still the best CPU,but for me,Intel Xeon E3-1231 V3 is the best bang for buck.Games are taking advantage of more cores and threads..the latter has 4 cores and 8 threads,the former has 4 cores and 4 threads.

So far,there are no rumours about GTX970Ti.
Thank you! In this case I might consider i7... (4790, non-k, since I'm not buying it every month, mah as well invest a bit)

QUOTE(Human10 @ May 18 2015, 07:34 AM)
Anything you can do on hybrid drive you can do it on SSD + HDD combo too. The best of course is install the game directly onto SSD, but if that isn't possible, some sorts of caching will help a little than purely install on HDD.

Cause many of them opt for overclocking build, and 4690k is the cheapest available. For us, we must pay about RM1k extra (different CPU, mono and 3rd party cooler) to change from non-OC i5 build to OC build, the marginal gain on gaming performance certainly don't justify the RM1k premium. Another thing is their price gapping don't seems as steep as ours. I7 is now almost double that of 4460, before all this price hike or GST saga, it is certainly less than that. Retailers know i7 is premium stuffs and people who planned to get one wouldn't be bothered by few hundreds extra. In short, but you see on the Internet may not be applicable directly on our local market.
Oh that's very clear! So will stick to my SDSD+HDD combo. Now rumor are spreading around that 980ti will be end of this month, let's see then. cool.gif (Currently using 680, thinking upgrade to 970 is not that major that's why...)

This post has been edited by Vorador: May 18 2015, 09:19 PM
SUSHuman10
post May 18 2015, 09:23 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Vorador @ May 18 2015, 09:16 PM)
Thank you! In this case I might consider i7... (4790, non-k, since I'm not buying it every month, mah as well invest a bit)
Oh that's very clear! So will stick to my SDSD+HDD combo. Now rumor are spreading around that 980ti will be end of this month, let's see then.  cool.gif (Currently using 680, thinking upgrade to 970 is not that major that's why...)
Nah, my bet is we won't see 980TI until AMD's R9 390X is launched, that's the main reason for Nvidia to launch it.

680 and 970 is about 20-30% different in term of performance. The main reason 970 is recommended is for its price.
http://www.geforce.com/hardware/desktop-gp...970/performance
Vorador
post May 18 2015, 09:30 PM

Blessed !!!
3,494 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ May 18 2015, 09:23 PM)
Nah, my bet is we won't see 980TI until AMD's R9 390X is launched, that's the main reason for Nvidia to launch it.

680 and 970 is about 20-30% different in term of performance. The main reason 970 is recommended is for its price.
http://www.geforce.com/hardware/desktop-gp...970/performance
That's why I'm thinking to save up more for 980ti... (saw the "leaked" benchmark, only a little below Titan X)
ahgan91
post May 19 2015, 12:28 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ May 15 2015, 05:40 PM)
If you are using a mATX case, then you need to get mATX mobo, what Minecrafter suggested is an ATX mobo, so change it to H97M-Pro4 if want the same model or cheaper B85M-HDS.

If you buy all parts from them, no extra charge for assembling.
Many thanks for your advise... kindly suggest me reliable and affordable VGA cooler from Viewnet ?

Thanks in advance
kappaweng
post May 19 2015, 12:45 AM

QUOTE(Human10 @ May 18 2015, 07:45 PM)

Hello, thanks for the info, appreciate it, with these setup I can run pretty much most of the recent triple A games without many problems right?
terence_nwb
post May 19 2015, 01:19 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Shufflerz @ May 18 2015, 05:04 PM)
[Budget]
- RM3,000

[Purpose]
- 3D design & rendering

[Monitor resolution]
- 1920x1080

- After Effect, Premier Pro, Cinema4D, 3Ds Max

[Personal preferences]
- Budget include keyboard & mouse(probably will settle with RM50 Logitech set), and also 23" monitor(probably Dell E series?).
- Minimum spending on casing, probably will settle with CM Elite 311.
- No need DVD Rom

[Location]
- Penang(probably will settle everything in Swisspac)
Intel Core i5 4460 - RM 689
Gigabyte B85M-HD3 - RM 294
Kingston 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Value RAM - RM 237
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 214
Leadtek GTX750 2GB GDDR5 OC - RM 504
Corsair VS450 - RM 171
CM Elite 311 - RM 163
Dell E2414H - RM 624

Total: RM 2896 (Swisspac price inclusive of GST)

Less hardware choice if you choose to buy all parts from Swisspac, you could get a Xeon build with 3k budget but they don not carry this processor, if you do not mind to get from KL, can try Idealtech, they have free shipping for 3k rig and above.

QUOTE(ahgan91 @ May 19 2015, 12:28 AM)
Many thanks for your advise... kindly suggest me reliable and affordable VGA cooler from Viewnet ?

Thanks in advance
VGA cooler? Stock is fine unless you have extra budget for liquid cooling for your GPU.

QUOTE(kappaweng @ May 19 2015, 12:45 AM)
Hello, thanks for the info, appreciate it, with these setup I can run pretty much most of the recent triple A games without many problems right?
Can run, but the playable settings and frame rate are totally depending on developer's optimization on the game.
kappaweng
post May 19 2015, 01:27 AM

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ May 19 2015, 01:19 AM)
Can run, but the playable settings and frame rate are totally depending on developer's optimization on the game.
I just wish I can escape the ultra low setting hell.
ahgan91
post May 19 2015, 10:30 AM

40 posts

As far I see, only Idealtech onli have sell GPU cooler ? Wanna buy from them but they charges labour charges for installation...

Btw, Excellent Customer Service from Idealtech.

Viewnet have sell the GPU cooler ?

This post has been edited by ahgan91: May 19 2015, 11:39 AM
SUSHuman10
post May 19 2015, 11:17 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(kappaweng @ May 19 2015, 12:45 AM)
That't pretty much the most you can squeeze out of a 4k budget.

Performance wise, on 1080p its easy peasy, unless the game is a seriously sucks console ports.
SUSHuman10
post May 19 2015, 11:21 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(ahgan91 @ May 19 2015, 10:30 AM)
The liquid cooler for GPU average how much ar ? Haha...

Similar to CPU there's two type, one is AIO while another is waterblock with custom loop.

AIO build should cost what an AIO will cost + the NZXT Kraken kraken G10 for make it copatible. But unlike CPU cooling which is easy, direct and spot on, on some situations, it is not recommended to use AIO cooling on GPU. AIO only can cool the cheap, not other components on the board. One such example is when the VRM is running extremely hot (such as the case of R9 290X last time), as unlike stock cooler, it don't have efficient heatsink connected to it to cool them down.

For custom loop, I can't commend much since I don't own one before, but I can promise to you, it won't be cheap.

This post has been edited by Human10: May 19 2015, 11:25 AM

126 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0385sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:30 AM