SUSsupersound
post May 8 2015, 08:30 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(T3ngK0raK @ May 8 2015, 07:15 PM)
Totally agreed on this one.
nod.gif
Nowadays people having mental stress and you just need a trigger point to blow doh.gif
Boy96
post May 8 2015, 08:42 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(IpohLad @ May 8 2015, 06:33 AM)
The Pajero Sport don't come with side nor curtain airbag. Those are not airbags, it's just interior liner falling apart.

[attachmentid=4440003]
Its the limited edition Euro Pajero Sport VGT. RM180k. 6 airbags but without ESC
TSDwango
post May 9 2015, 11:36 AM

491 posts

The investigation was already wrapped up by police and experts by now but there was no mention on the details of the accident other than the accused being brought to justice. Looks like the media may not be interested in publishing the details? I only read about articles implementing safety seatbelts for baby seats and a full page on The Star or News Straits Times on MIROS president Dr Wong supporting the use of safety seatbelts and overall driving ethics.

It would be surprising if the driver (deceased) in the Pajero Sport did not have his seat belt on. If it was on, whether the seatbelt had snapped through the impact. Also, there is no mention whether the wife is sitting at the front passenger seat or the back seat. I was wondering why the media did not publish these details. Does anybody have the details or report of the accident apart from the Myvi grazing the Pajero and another Myvi colliding head-on to the Pajero that caused it to overturn several times?

In the news today, saw Siti Noor Aini and Mohammad Fizal being charged at the magistrate's court with Siti covering her face with a scarf.
andrekua2
post May 9 2015, 01:16 PM

13,477 posts

The pajero driver did right was to die? Where did that came from?

Whatever the cause maybe, who caused it, this debate wont reverse what already happened. Instead, we should focus on how to improve safety and enforcement to ensure road safety for everyone.
kadajawi
post May 9 2015, 06:07 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ May 9 2015, 01:16 PM)
The pajero driver did right was to die? Where did that came from?

Whatever the cause maybe, who caused it, this debate wont reverse what already happened. Instead, we should focus on how to improve safety and enforcement to ensure road safety for everyone.
It would be good if he and the Pajero passengers get most of the blame, because what they could have done to avoid certain death is rarely done by Malaysians. But it is easier to blame a few racers. Not that what they did was ok, but we can't stop others from doing stupid things (and trying to do so is dangerous and illegal). All we can do is protect ourself in case someone else causes an accident and try not to be the one that does.

In this case the person causing it was racing. In another case it may be unsecured freight. Tyres used long past their prime. Someone falling asleep at the wheel, or being too busy with their phone. Getting distracted by a kid. etc.
dares
post May 9 2015, 07:49 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ May 9 2015, 06:07 PM)
It would be good if he and the Pajero passengers get most of the blame, because what they could have done to avoid certain death is rarely done by Malaysians.
There is no conclusive evidence that they did not wear their seatbelts, and sleepwalker has already mentioned the regular 3-point seatbelts is not foolproof especially in a rollover.
sleepwalker
post May 9 2015, 08:02 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(Dwango @ May 9 2015, 11:36 AM)
The investigation was already wrapped up by police and experts by now but there was no mention on the details of the accident other than the accused being brought to justice. Looks like the media may not be interested in publishing the details? I only read about articles implementing safety seatbelts for baby seats and a full page on The Star or News Straits Times on MIROS president Dr Wong supporting the use of safety seatbelts and overall driving ethics.

It would be surprising if the driver (deceased) in the Pajero Sport did not have his seat belt on. If it was on, whether the seatbelt had snapped through the impact. Also, there is no mention whether the wife is sitting at the front passenger seat or the back seat. I was wondering why the media did not publish these details. Does anybody have the details or report of the accident apart from the Myvi grazing the Pajero and another Myvi colliding head-on to the Pajero that caused it to overturn several times?

In the news today, saw Siti Noor Aini and Mohammad Fizal being charged at the magistrate's court with Siti covering her face with a scarf.
Since they are charged in court, all details will be withheld as evidence until the court hearing and judgement. Only then will they be able to publish the findings otherwise it would interfere with the jury's decisions.
unitron
post May 10 2015, 12:07 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ May 9 2015, 08:02 PM)
Since they are charged in court, all details will be withheld as evidence until the court hearing and judgement. Only then will they be able to publish the findings otherwise it would interfere with the jury's decisions.
Someone correct me... but AFAIK Malaysia judiciary do not use the jury system.... the judge will decide.. i.e one man/woman.
sleepwalker
post May 10 2015, 12:56 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(unitron @ May 10 2015, 12:07 AM)
Someone correct me... but AFAIK Malaysia judiciary do not use the jury system.... the judge will decide.. i.e one man/woman.
We used to have juries. Last jury case in 1994. I still used to using the words jury. Judge or jury doesn't matter. It's an on going case which they cannot publish the results of the findings until the case is over.
KennyKB
post May 10 2015, 01:36 PM

1,765 posts

What this tells me is that Pajero isn't a very safe vehicle. Look at the condition of the Pajero, almost broken into half. No structural strength at all.

This post has been edited by KennyKB: May 10 2015, 01:37 PM
SUSsupersound
post May 10 2015, 02:38 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ May 10 2015, 01:36 PM)
What this tells me is that Pajero isn't a very safe vehicle. Look at the condition of the Pajero, almost broken into half. No structural strength at all.
No vehicle are safe nowadays, 5 star CAP are just meant for marketing, to charge more, that's all.
Does a Porsche a safe racing car? Yes indeed it is. But the recent accident that cause that stupid racer's brain to splash on another car makes the Porsche not "safe". But if you managed to look at the photo, the whole car almost deformed but the seat structure still intact. What makes that car not "safe" is because that jerk never wear seatbelt.
SportyHandling
post May 10 2015, 10:59 PM

623 posts

Some people are still oblivious to the perils of not taking seatbelts seriously even after this recent news. This photo was taken 2 days ago. There are 2 young kids on the front passenger seat without any seatbelts.

SUSsupersound
post May 10 2015, 11:32 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ May 10 2015, 10:59 PM)
Some people are still oblivious to the perils of not taking seatbelts seriously even after this recent news. This photo was taken 2 days ago. There are 2 young kids on the front passenger seat without any seatbelts.

Then whistling.gif
In Seremban, there's a family driving below a bridge's roundabout, the small boy are jumping inside the front passenger seat and thrown out then ramp by a truck.
Yours are nothing since nothing happen shakehead.gif
kadajawi
post May 11 2015, 12:23 AM

544 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ May 9 2015, 08:02 PM)
And that is a bloody shame. At this point the incident could still be used to educate people and move some to wear seatbelts and use child seats. By the time the trial is on no one cares anymore, and it will be a footnote.

Not surprised those kids weren't wearing any seatbelts or using child seats (with seatbelts). All the media and the public focus on is the Myvi racers. While those did cause the accident to happen in the first place, it is (probably) caused by

http://www.lieffcabraser.com/Personal-Inju...-Failures.shtml
This source is trying to paint a bleak picture about seatbelts... as they want to start a class A lawsuit. But even so they say that: "Almost 2,000 of the over 10,000 persons that died in rollover accidents were wearing their seat belts, and about 1,000 of these persons were partially or fully ejected from the vehicle." 2000 out of 10000 deaths were wearing a seatbelt, which makes it pretty clear that it is much more likely to die without a seatbelt (I'm sure somewhere there are stats that show that Americans aren't too bad with wearing seatbelts, though nowhere near perfect). Half of those with a seatbelt did get ejected out of the car. Now, how likely is it that the seatbelt failed for all 3 passengers, when the chance of the seatbelt failing is already pretty small for even one passenger?

It should be quite safe to assume that the people in the Pajero did not protect themselves, yet there is nothing about that in the media, is there? It would have been a great chance to increase awareness and change behavior in the public, so that at least something good comes out of this tragic accident. Instead people focus their hate on Myvis.

(If I was cynical enough I'd say Proton sponsors those media reports... anyone out there who still wants to buy a Myvi? And is Perodua trying to do damage control?)

This post has been edited by kadajawi: May 11 2015, 12:25 AM
kennie
post May 11 2015, 12:42 AM

155 posts

to me,
its a highway, crusing at speed is normal,
kena knock til lost control is not normal,
duno how to react is normal (malaysia driving school standard),
stunned/slow reaction for out of sudden situation is normal,
a vehicle suddenly came into your way from horizontal direction is not normal
attitute is a problem,
all pasengers kena thrown out is not normal.

All in all, its an accident....wan speed and zig zag pls do with skills, mayb if tat 2nd myvi skillful know how to do 180 degree emergency spin can impact with pajero from side, then mayb no ppl die, or mayb myvi driver head knock into mirror and kill herself, or mayb another real sport car/pajero from behind sandwich her and kill her

haiz, to me i blame government, 2pid uneven highway, imba driving schools standard, imba regulation enforcement, imba vehicle quality standards, imba infrastructure causing driving is compulsary, lauzy road designs/engineering/development planning etc~~~~~
kadajawi
post May 11 2015, 12:45 AM

544 posts

QUOTE(kennie @ May 11 2015, 12:42 AM)
to me,
attitute is a problem,

All in all, its an accident....wan speed and zig zag pls do with skills, mayb if tat 2nd myvi skillful know how to do 180 degree emergency spin can impact with pajero from side, then mayb no ppl die, or mayb myvi driver head knock into mirror and kill herself, or mayb another real sport car/pajero from behind sandwich her and kill her

haiz, to me i blame government, 2pid uneven highway, imba driving schools standard, imba regulation enforcement, imba vehicle quality standards, imba infrastructure causing driving is compulsary, lauzy road designs/engineering/development planning etc~~~~~
Is it really the governments fault that people are too stupid to put on their seatbelts? It's in their own interest.

Though maybe they are to blame...
Valentino46
post May 11 2015, 03:05 AM

638 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ May 9 2015, 06:07 PM)
It would be good if he and the Pajero passengers get most of the blame, because what they could have done to avoid certain death is rarely done by Malaysians. But it is easier to blame a few racers. Not that what they did was ok, but we can't stop others from doing stupid things (and trying to do so is dangerous and illegal). All we can do is protect ourself in case someone else causes an accident and try not to be the one that does.

In this case the person causing it was racing. In another case it may be unsecured freight. Tyres used long past their prime. Someone falling asleep at the wheel, or being too busy with their phone. Getting distracted by a kid. etc.
u sounds like the same people blaming ladies wearing too sexy for being rape

i don't care whether the pajero ppl wear seatbelt or not,i don't care whether the myvi was racing dangerously on PUBLIC ROAD

the thing is you knock people at warp speed,now you are completely wrong

even the pajero passenger didn't flung out,a piece of metal could pierce them and die either,there are a thousand scenario you could die as long as you get hit at high speed
kadajawi
post May 11 2015, 07:54 AM

544 posts

QUOTE(Valentino46 @ May 11 2015, 03:05 AM)
u sounds like the same people blaming ladies wearing too sexy for being rape

i don't care whether the pajero ppl wear seatbelt or not,i don't care whether the myvi was racing dangerously on PUBLIC ROAD

the thing is you knock people at warp speed,now you are completely wrong

even the pajero passenger didn't flung out,a piece of metal could pierce them and die either,there are a thousand scenario you could die as long as you get hit at high speed
That is clearly not my intention, it is too unfortunate that that connection can be drawn.

But everyone should know that they should put on their seatbelts to protect themselves and their loved ones. You don't do that, you risk your life. Point proven by the Pajero folks.

You can't stop others from doing stupid shit, and sometimes we ourselves, no matter how careful, will do a mistake. That is HUMAN. You only need to misjudge things once. Be a bit too tired when driving. And you can crash. Given that a crash can ALWAYS happen, heck, even in a car park, it is only sensible to put on your seatbelt. Should anything happen you have got the most important protection that you can have already covered.

The wrecked Pajero btw. looks pretty decent, I've seen much worse car wrecks that the passengers have survived... because they were wearing seatbelts!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZyigWhdSqco
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=abuaYiyk-xQ

Staying in the car helps a lot in not getting killed.
Intrigue
post May 11 2015, 09:44 AM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

from my POV... based on the CCTV, the 4x4 were on the right most lane (fast lane and travelling quite fast) and upon seeing those myvi (racing), he switched to the middle lane but those myvi would assume that the 4x4 wouldn't change lane, thus overtake on the mid lane, at the speed they are going... fail to slow down/avoid the 4x4 that change lane thus the crash

Frankly, we have seen those racing on the road and most of the time, it doesn't gives a shit for u to switch lane even with signal indicator. Saw too many on NSE

This post has been edited by Intrigue: May 11 2015, 09:45 AM
SUSsupersound
post May 11 2015, 11:10 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(kennie @ May 11 2015, 12:42 AM)
to me,
attitute is a problem,

Just drive at 140km/h and apply sudden brake, see will those so-called superior safety features will help to balance your car or not?
If we do our part with the right attitude, then everyday no need to have 15-20 people died on road accidents unsure.gif

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0251sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:44 PM